Advertising Disclosure

We may earn money from our partners when you click a link, complete a form or call a phone number.

We believe everyone deserves to make thoughtful, informed purchase decisions. As a result, we provide our buyers guides and local guides free for consumers. We may receive compensation from our partners. However, Retirement Living independently researches companies, and the compensation we receive does not affect the analysis of our staff. Retirement Living will not include companies on our guides that do not meet our quality standards. The compensation we receive from our partners may impact how and where companies appear on our site, including the order in which they appear. As an Amazon Associate Retirement Living earns from qualifying purchases.

Retirement Living independently researches companies, and we use editorial discretion to award companies with special recognition (i.e. Great Value) based on our staff's judgment. We do this to help you identify companies that will meet your specific buying needs, and we do not receive compensation for these designations.

Get Insider Access

Get special offers, advice and tips from Retirement Living delivered to your inbox.

Acorn Stair Lifts

4 Stars (102 Reviews)
Updated: January 25, 2023
By: Jonathan Trout
Jonathan Trout
Content Manager
Jonathan is a former product and content manager for Retirement Living. His background spans sales/marketing, finance, and telecommunications. Jonathan’s expertise in consumer wellness and research-backed data stories helped educate seniors on financial planning, retirement, and community resources. Jonathan graduated from Oklahoma State University with a B.S. in Environmental Sociology.
Content Manager
Edited By: Jeff Smith
Jeff Smith
Sr. Content Manager
As Retirement Living’s senior content manager, Jeff oversees the product and publishing of all retirement, investing, and consumer wellness content on the site. His extensive expertise in brand messaging and creating data-driven stories helps position Retirement Living as a top authority for senior content and community resources.
Sr. Content Manager

For over 25 years, Acorn has worked to set new standards in both quality and innovation in the stairlift industry. Acorn Stairlifts has grown to become the world's leading independent company specializing solely in the manufacture and installation of stairlifts, pioneering designs and high engineering standards. Acorn was the first company to introduce DC batteries to power their stairlifts during a power outage.

Editorial Breakdown

Customer Service 4.3 Stars
Customization 3.8 Stars
Warranty 4 Stars
Price 4.5 Stars

Overall Rating 4 Stars

Bottom Line

Acorn designs and sells three models of stair lifts – one for straight stairs, curved stairs and outdoor use. Its stair lifts are designed to easily mount on your stairs instead of the wall and require no structural changes to your home. Check out our picks for the best stair lift companies by clicking the link below.

102 Acorn Stair Lifts Reviews

Write Review
2 Stars

February 09 2021 6:50AM

I have bought two Acorn lifts, one used and one very expensive brand new unit. Dealing with this company has been a nightmare! I laugh because on their site it says fast installation!!

They have one installer in Saskatchewan apparently because I have had a terrible time trying to get them to install both units!

I started dealing with them weeks before my father was to come home, it was 3 weeks after he arrived before they would come and install the used unit just to hold us off until we could get the new unit. 3 weeks is unacceptable!

Now we are going through the same thing all over again. We were told we had to wait 2 weeks and the day they were due to arrive we got a phone call to reschedule another 2 weeks!!! Almost 2 months before we can properly get my father upstairs!!

For a senior with a degenerative disease this is way too long! 15,000$ we have spent with this company. Completely unacceptable. If you want a huge headache, buy an Acorn lift. I give them 2 stars because their salesman was the best and only good part of the experience.

J D.
Saskatoon, SELECT A STATE
5 Stars

January 16 2021 1:02AM

We purchased our Acorn stairlift in 2013. We’ve had it serviced only twice. In both cases, the service rep was at our house the next day. The service rep was clean & courteous. The problem was diagnosed & repairs were made swiftly. We are both in our 80s & plan to keep using our Acorn stairlift for at least 10 more years, Lord willing.

James F M.
Baytown, TX
1 Star

October 19 2020 4:56PM

Six year old lift in my Church has been out of service for months. I have been trying to get it serviced but it seems as though Acorn has no servicemen in our half of the state of Maine.

I finally was referred to a service company that I don't believe is an authorized agent but they would help. I told them that the units batteries were dead and that the charging function was not working. They assured me that changing the batteries would fix the problem.

For $300 plus they replaced the batteries and then noticed that the charging system wasn't working.

They looked at the power supply transformer and didn't think it was the right one for the lift although it was putting out the right voltage and ordered a replacement for another $200 plus.

Surprise, it still doesn't work! Now after putting over $500 into it the unit might might make a decent boat anchor. Do not buy!

Carl S.
Lincoln, ME
2 Stars

October 08 2020 3:15PM

I had to quickly purchase a stairlift to support my mother moving in with us in 2012. Bought a model 180 curved lift. Sale and installation went great, at around 15k. Problems started immediately - the lift kept “losing” the start and end of the track.

At $400 a pop, service calls added up. After at least 6 repair calls, the “floater expert” came to fix it once and for all. That lasted a couple months.

Calls to their support line were insulting, trying to sign us up for extended warranty and extra service - clearly more interested in getting more money from us than providing quality service. The local tech was nice and helpful, but struggled getting the lift to operate reliably.

8 years later and several expensive upgrades and battery replacements, my mother has passed, we’re selling our house and our agent tells us to get it outa here.

Seeing Acorn won’t allow anyone else to install or service the lift, we had zero luck reselling it - and are now paying a company $600 to remove the lift and dispose of it.

Acorn is a profit motivated company trying to take advantage of elderly folks who need help. Shame on them. Find another vendor if you need a lift - Acorn will rob you blind.

David A.
Sterling, MD
1 Star

September 24 2020 10:44PM

Have had the Acorn chair lift for under 18 months, six of which it is not used. I have had a repair person out about 10 times and once again, the chair is broken.

I had to buy the yearly maintenance agreement for $750.00 because the mother board went about 6 weeks ago or I would have paid more that to replace it. The chair broke on a Wednesday and they said a repair person couldn’t come until Monday!

I asked how I was suppose to get up the stairs for 4 days, and received no response. I don’t think Acorn understands that people purchase a stair lift because THEY NEED IT!

For the price paid and the exorbitant maintenance service price, and the amount of time it is inoperable, I would never purchase Acorn Chair Lifts again and I could never recommend it!

Linda D.
Cheshire, CT
1 Star

August 31 2020 2:09PM

This product, costing over $12,000.00, with a yearly maintenance fee of approx. $500.00, dead battery $250.00 approx. every 12 mo., has been the very worst investment in MY 80 years of living. Battery is NOT covered by yearly fee.

Do not waste YOUR money! The reason for the (1) VERY BAD rating today is that the chair started screeching when it runs over the joint in the curved rail.

When I called for an appointment right away, today, Aug. 31, 2020, so I didn't continue using it and possibly making the problem worse, I was given the next appointment date of DECEMBER 1, 2020!!!! Is this hard to believe?

If Acorn built a better product they might not have as many service calls requiring customers to wait THREE (3) months for a technician to show up. How did the BBB give the company a good rating?

ANITA A.
Toronto, OH
1 Star

August 19 2020 8:52PM

I purchased a $12,000 chairlift for my 89-year-old parents who depend on the lift to be able to move from the ground floor to the bedroom and bathroom on the 2nd floor.

The chair stopped working and they have been told to wait 3 days before someone can even look at it. Don't believe their phony promises of first-rate service. Avoid this company at all cost.

Steven G.
New York, NY
3 Stars

August 10 2020 8:29PM

Contact is professional, but warranty is only 1 year. Then they want to charge you around 600$ a year to keep from being robbed by Various service issues. In 5 years we would have been paying for our whole device again.

Every service call begins with $150 charge. Made us feel violated. It seemed it would almost be cheaper to buy a new one every 5 years.

Nancy W.
Mount Pleasant, SC
2 Stars

August 07 2020 11:24PM

During a recent power outage 2 1\2 days we had to listen to beeping from the chairlift every 15 seconds with no way to turn it off. It was like Chinese torture. They wanted to charge is us $150 to turn it off and another $150 to turn it back on when power returned. Very disappointed.

Charlotte K.
PomptonPlains, NJ
5 Stars

July 25 2020 8:15PM

I paid a $500 deposit on a stairlift as my wife and I were bringing her father to live in our home. Since this was during the COVID-19 pandemic, he took a severe turn for the worse and we were unable to move him into our house.

I notified our representative "Anny" and she assured us a refund in 4-6 weeks. Our refund check arrived 4 weeks to the day. These are reputable people.

William D.
LONDON, KY