Advertising Disclosure

We may earn money from our partners when you click a link, complete a form or call a phone number.

We believe everyone deserves to make thoughtful, informed purchase decisions. As a result, we provide our buyers guides and local guides free for consumers. We may receive compensation from our partners. However, Retirement Living independently researches companies, and the compensation we receive does not affect the analysis of our staff. Retirement Living will not include companies on our guides that do not meet our quality standards. The compensation we receive from our partners may impact how and where companies appear on our site, including the order in which they appear. As an Amazon Associate Retirement Living earns from qualifying purchases.

Retirement Living independently researches companies, and we use editorial discretion to award companies with special recognition (i.e. Great Value) based on our staff's judgment. We do this to help you identify companies that will meet your specific buying needs, and we do not receive compensation for these designations.

Get Insider Access

Get special offers, advice and tips from Retirement Living delivered to your inbox.

American Home Shield Home Warranty

4.6 Stars (32 Reviews)
Updated: January 19, 2023
By: Jonathan Trout
Jonathan Trout
Content Manager
Jonathan is a former product and content manager for Retirement Living. His background spans sales/marketing, finance, and telecommunications. Jonathan’s expertise in consumer wellness and research-backed data stories helped educate seniors on financial planning, retirement, and community resources. Jonathan graduated from Oklahoma State University with a B.S. in Environmental Sociology.
Content Manager
Edited by: Jeff Smith
Jeff Smith
Sr. Content Manager
As Retirement Living’s senior content manager, Jeff oversees the product and publishing of all retirement, investing, and consumer wellness content on the site. His extensive expertise in brand messaging and creating data-driven stories helps position Retirement Living as a top authority for senior content and community resources.
Sr. Content Manager

American Home Shield offers multiple home warranty plans including one you can customize to cover exactly what you need. We discuss their build-your-own plan and others, as well as pricing, exclusions and consumer reviews.

AHS Logo

Editorial Breakdown

Service Quality 4.3 Stars
Affordability 4.5 Stars
Coverage Area 4.9 Stars
Customer Service 4 Stars

Overall Rating 4.4 Stars

Bottom Line

Home warranties, like those from American Home Shield, can offer peace of mind when it comes to unexpected home repairs. To see our top picks for home warranty companies, click below to read our guide.

32 American Home Shield Reviews

Write Review
2 Stars

March 24 2019 2:45AM

I’ve been a member of AHS for approximately 15 years. The company used to be an upstanding business until later years. It took them 3 months to determine my heating system was not repairable and that they couldn’t find the system and offered me a payout. The repair company they sent to do the work, took their time with a decision. Needless to say I ended up going through most of the winter without heat and paying over $400.00 out of pocket along with what they offered to get a new system. Their motto is “if it can’t be repaired they will replace product.” That’s the biggest snow job ever. Don’t believe the hype.

Catherine B.
Baltimore, MD
1 Star

March 02 2019 4:03AM

We have a contract with AHS dating back 7 to 10 years. While we've had no major problems in our home and pay in excess of $50 a month. They replaced a drop in stove with a GE glass top a few years ago. We use the stove every day. The glass top broke while I was pushing ribeye steaks down in a plastic bag to marinate on top of it. Very little pressure, since I'm a woman of 61 years. They sent a technician out and then denied the claim because of "abuse". What a crock. Previously, they replaced a dishwasher that we use once every few months, only when a big dinner with company occurs. It went bad within 12 uses. They sent a technician once who reset the unit and it worked once. It quit again and the next technician said the panel had a roach infestation. I've never had roaches but they again denied the claim. Synopsis; pay over $600 a year and get very little return. After paying all that money for this service, we had to pay to get another dishwasher ourselves and now, because they like, we will have the expense of replacing the stove when we can save enough to buy it.

Phillip and Penny F.
Columbia, TN
1 Star

February 25 2019 6:29PM

I set up an appointment on a Sunday because my heater went out during a snow storm. Because I could not get an appointment until the following Thursday, I had it fixed at my own expense. I canceled the appointment 3 days in advance and was told online at that time that my money if charged, would be reimbursed within 2 business days. I was charged the fee the day of the appointment. I waited 2 business days before reaching out to American Home Shield but was not reimbursed. After sitting on hold for 15 minutes waiting to speak to someone, I decided to try chat online instead. I was told that there was a system error and that the charge shouldn't have been charged. Because it was, I now have to wait 10 business days before a physical check is mailed. I explained that since the error was not on my part, this was not right. The agent refused to give me a supervisor and said that it is what it is. I will NEVER renew my policy with them and will share my experience with as many people that will listen. DO NOT CONDUCT BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY.

Derek T.
Hesperia, CA
1 Star

February 14 2019 8:20PM

Stay away from American Home Shield (AHS) at all costs. AHS is probably one of the worst companies with which I have done business. Indeed, if AHS does not solve my problem or return my money today, I will sue them. AHS sent a technician to my home on January 25 to repair a dishwasher, a refrigerator, and an oven. The technician called AHS for authorization to get the parts that were needed for the repair. On January 25, but there was no one at AHS who could authorize the needed parts. The repair company AHS sent to my home called AHS a number of times to get the needed authorization, but there was never anyone at AHS who could authorize the needed parts. I called AHS on numerous occasions, and could not get any information from AHS on the status of AHS's approval of the needed parts. Indeed, on most of my calls to AHS, I was put on hold for more than 30 minutes after which I was cut off. It is now February 14, and neither I nor the repair company has been able to find someone at AHS who could authorize the needed parts. It is my personal, subjective opinion, belief, and interpretation that AHS disappears when expensive parts are required for a covered repair. I personally believe that I was ripped off by AHS.  Therefore, it is my personal, subjective opinion, belief, and interpretation that AHS is dishonest and unethical.  The foregoing review solely provides my personal, subjective opinions, beliefs, and interpretations.

JEFFREY P.
PEBBLE BEACH, CA
2 Stars

January 23 2019 9:40PM

Carpet very wet around, Toilet base and by bathtub and wooden cabinet. Small area. First plumber from AHS said bathtub getting carpet wet when I shower. $125. Two/three months later, same area all wet. No one was using that same shower I might add! AHS sent out plumber again who said I had Crack in Toilet tank. Toilet wasnt wet anywhere? I don't have money to hire plumber to install new Toilet assembly.

Sandra S.
Dallas, TX
2 Stars

October 27 2018 2:44PM

I contacted AHS because my gas dryer was spinning intermittently and then stopped altogether. AHS assigned an out-of-state repair service that said it could not get to me for 10 days. I told them that was unacceptable and after saying they would immediately reissue the repair assignment, I did not hear from them for two days. I called them back only to be on hold for 16 minutes. I was then told they would get back to me with some information. The information: All the repair companies in my area were busy; hence, I was assigned and was to contact for a repair date the same-out of-state company. I declined. I called two local out-of-AHS-network repair companies, both of whom could schedule me within a day or two. I find my experience with AHS thus wholly unsatisfactory. I rated them a two rather than one because the AHS representative were cordial.

Yazmin S.
1 Star

October 27 2018 12:23AM

In my experience, the WORST company EVER! So, two months ago, oven not heating, sent a guy, he yelled at me in front of my daughter, and then, my husband! The oven never did get fixed. The dryer broke, they were going to send same company, I said HELL NO, so they sent a different company. The guy BLEW UP our dryer and our electric circuit. Blamed it on our electricity. SO, they sent an electrician, he fixed it. It blew again, the electrician came again, fixed it, looked and said the dryer is melted inside and that it is burned up and the electric is not the problem and that the dryer has a short in it. I called the owner back and told him the guy he sent ruined the dryer and blew up circuit breaker. The OWNER came and "fixed" the dryer. I did a load of laundry and it BURNED my husbands expensive work clothes. I called the owner, said I was going to call Home Shield. He said I was lucky to have him because someone else would take a minimum of two to three weeks, maybe more, before they would be able to look at my dryer. I told him I was concerned about his guy blowing up my dryer (by the way he didn't know his employee's name, he said he goes through them a lot).

A guy at my husband's work said if it had so much electric going through it that the circuit breaker broke and it was melted inside, it would never be the same. So, he "fixed" it again. I did another load of laundry and it BURNED my husband's other expensive work clothes. NOW, the appliance guy told American Home Shield that he never found any problem with the dryer?! Really?! So, their first guy, over the oven yells at me in my home in front of my daughter and the second guy, who blew up my, still not working dryer, it has now been about a month, said he found nothing wrong with the dryer?! Who are these people they are sending to my house? CRIMINALS? Apparently. THEIR electrician said it was the dryer. NOW, after calling them for a month, having a shady people in my house, they want to have someone else come to my house. I said I really think after everything you have put me through I should have a NEW DRYER, because your guy BLEW mine up and it WASN'T blown up before! AND for ALL of his HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE inconvenience (just got off phone, now having ANOTHER guy come to my house)!

This has really added a lot of unneeded stress to my life. UPDATE: THEY SENT AN 8TH PERSON TO FIX DRYER AND THEY WERE A NO SHOW! WORST COMPANY EVER! Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend.

Adriene B.
5 Stars

October 09 2018 11:31PM

I am considering getting a home warranty coverage plan while I prepare to move and for the benefit of the peace of mind of new owners and am going to see what is available out there now. I had American Home Shield on two homes in the past and was nothing but happy with them. This is when a service call was $45, between 1995 and 2007. During that time they replaced a propane water tank that would have cost me over $700, replaced a portion of my air conditioner system, fixed my outdoor spa replacing many of the parts, saving me hundreds of dollars, and most importantly fixed the pump on my well at one house. They sent someone immediately that time and I had my water restored within hours. Other times a person always came promptly to make repairs. This was in Austin, Texas area so location may have played a part in getting reliable service people. Results would likely depend on the availability of good qualified service providers in your local area.

Diane T.
1 Star

July 08 2018 3:03PM

This company subcontracted with a company who sent a green, unqualified workman to my house who literally did NOTHING to fix the toilet. I had to have another company come out to complete the work. When I contacted AHS, they couldn't have cared less. They don't care about you at all, you are just a monthly check until you actually need help. You will never get the time back you waste with their unknowledgeable and apathetic service people who you reach only after literally 45 min to an hour of hold time. This was a waste of money for me for YEARS. STAY AWAY

Terry G.
1 Star

June 29 2018 11:24AM

I call only to be put on hold, told their computers are down, or disconnected with no return call. It's taken over a month to get my air conditioner compressor replaced. It is still not fixed. The people they hire are inexperienced and rarely show up. The electricians they sent left gaping holes around the outlets they replaced. I had a sewage stoppage. Their plumbers took 3 days to get out and look at it, only to tell me it wasn't covered. In the meantime, I couldn't use my water and had 4 inches of sewage in my shower. So far I have had to pay $225 in fees for their people to come out and not one thing has been fixed correctly. It is beyond frustrating.

Kelsey V.