American Standard Moving & Storage
Caption: American Standard Moving & Storage

American Standard Moving & Storage Review

American Standard was founded in 2017 and is based in Florida. Although fairly new, it has already established itself well enough to have opened offices in Maine and Missouri and has about 180 employees around the United States.

American Standard is a moving broker that helps coordinate services with reputable movers. Working with a broker is a very efficient way to save money and time when it comes to planning your move. A broker can often find lower prices through the relationships it has with trucking companies. We recommend that you still do some research on the movers a broker recommends.

American Standard got our award for a great choice for safe delivery on our Best Long Distance Moving Companies guide. According to online customer reviews, American Standard seems to make the process of setting up a move reasonably easy, whether it is across town or the country. Having experts to turn to while planning a move will likely provide you with an additional sense of protection for your belongings. American Standard provides you with a personal moving coordinator who helps you figure out what services you need. There are packing services if you need them, they can coordinate and execute out-of-state moves and even move your vehicles.

Pros
  • Moving coordinator to help you find the best price
  • Free online estimates
  • Helpful chat feature on their website for getting quick answers from agents
  • Blanket-wrapped packing
  • Intrastate and interstate moves
  • Storage offered
  • Vehicle transportation
Cons
  • Subcontractors are not all equally reputable

Brokers like American Standard are required to register with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA), the arm of the U.S. Department of Transportation that monitors movers and other shipping companies. FMCSA regulations require brokers to operate under full transparency, providing customers with information about their rights and responsibilities with a relocation.

Moving brokers are required to contract on behalf of the customer with moving companies that are also registered with the agency to ensure only ethical movers are used. A subcontracted moving company that owns the truck and hires its own staff carries out the move.

American Standard Moving & Storage Services

American Standard prides itself on providing a high level of protection for furniture by blanket-wrapping each item as a precaution before loading the truck. If you need help with packing a few things or everything at once, American Standard offers professional packing services.

You can buy moving insurance through the company to protect anything that may happen such as cracks or breaks while in transit. Keep in mind that movers are required to offer basic insurance on your belongings and this insurance will not cover more valuable items. Ask about full-value coverage for your move.

Those moving from one state to another or cross-country can hire American Standard to coordinate moving your car or other vehicles like boats and motorcycles, also with the benefit of insurance. The vehicle moving services include door-to-door pickup, and the website quotes shipping costs between 50 cents to $1.25 per mile.

For commercial customers relocating a business, American Standard offers similar protections along with a personal relocation team to help plan your move. Having a team of experts dedicated to business moves helps to reduce company downtime, which is crucial to your company’s bottom line.

Additionally, American Standard offers short- and long-term storage, in temperature controlled environments.

American Standard process

Source: American Standard Home Page

American Standard Moving & Storage Pricing

American Standard will work to find solutions to fit your budget, and with a variety of budgets, quotes can vary wildly. You could get a lower quote through American Standard for the same moving company who gave you a different quote directly. The cost savings is one of the potential benefits of working with a broker.

The cost of a move depends on where you live, how far you are moving, the number of belongings you have and how much they weigh cumulatively, as well as the time of the week and year you choose to move. On average, a local move within 100 miles, in the same state with one truck and two movers costs about $80-$100 per hour. A cross-country or interstate move or one that is more than 100 miles runs anywhere from $2,000 to $5,000 on average, but could include extra charges averaging about 50 cents per additional pound.

Home Size Move Type Hours Avg. Price Extras
2 Bedroom Local (in-state, within 100 miles) 5-7 $200 – $500 Up to $50 per hour,
per extra mover
3 Bedroom Local (in-state, within 100 miles) 7-10 $500 – $1000 Up to $50 per hour,
per extra mover
4+ Bedroom Local (in-state, within 100 miles) 10+ $800 – $2,000+ Up to $50 per hour,
per extra mover
Any Size Interstate or more than 100 miles 10+ $2,000 – $5,000 50 cents per pound
on average

American Standard Moving & Storage Complaints

Online customer reviews talk about the ease, simplicity and efficiency of American Standard’s process.

MyMovingReviews.com rates American Standard 4 out of 5 stars based on 41 consumer reviews. Comments include “Stress-free,” “Went off without a hitch” and “The crew at American Standard made me have a whole new take on hiring a moving crew.” Google Reviews rate the company 3.8 out of 5 stars based on 193 reviews. Some of the comments include “smooth and simple,” “very responsive and willing to help,” and “no hidden or surprise fees.”

Negative reviews typically involved a small number of regional movers working with American Standard who made errors such as doubling the quoted estimate. Consumers who follow the recommendations of the FMCSA’s Mover’s Rights and Responsibilities should be prepared to handle situations like these before they occur. You should receive a copy of that document from American Standard or the moving company before you have to sign a contract, or you can download FMCSA’s Mover’s Right and Responsibilities yourself.

moving boxes

Source: Getty

American Standard Moving & Storage Product-related Q&A

  • What can I do to make sure my mover is reputable?
    Representatives from the multiple companies American Standard provides you should visit your home in person to give you written estimates. Compare the quotes and question those that are unusually high or low. Never use a trucking company that does not send someone to your home to come up with the initial, non-binding estimate.

  • Does American Standard move homes and offices on weekends?
    Technically, yes, but it will cost you. Movers who operate on weekends charge a premium for the service. Some local movers who work with American Standard that may not move on Sundays, so be sure to ask if it’s important to you. The time of year in which you plan to relocate can also impact the price.

  • How far in advance should I plan a move?
    Experts say start planning a move as far in advance as you can to book the time, services and terms you want. Even if you don’t have a move date yet, getting a head start allows plenty of time to compare moving companies and get a few non-binding estimates.

  • What’s the 110 percent rule?
    At delivery, movers cannot charge more than 110 percent of the original non-binding estimate. That doesn’t mean that you won’t pay more. You may pay up to an additional 10-15 percent for other operations charges, as mentioned above.

  • What is a DOT number?
    The DOT number is an ID for movers and other drivers who haul heavy or hazardous cargo intrastate. It’s not only required by the federal government but by 36 state governments as well. The DOT number is used to track company reviews and complaints, regular inspections and more. The FMCSA has an online mover search tool on its homepage to help you look up the moving company American Standard selected as well as other local movers. Pay attention to the history of complaints when considering and comparing moving companies.

  • American Standard free estimate

    Source: American Standard Home Page
  • What types of vehicles can a transport service move?
    All types–from regular cars, trucks and SUVs, to boats, motorcycles, exotic cars and more. You should have higher-valued vehicles moved in a closed trailer, which will cost more but provides the highest protection for the car, boat or other vehicle. Most cars can be moved more economically on an open trailer.

  • What if I have to cancel my move?
    You must cancel in writing or via email, within 72 hours of signing the agreement to receive a full refund minus a 10 percent service fee that American Standard takes for their costs. Otherwise, the move is nonrefundable but you can postpone to a time within two years of the original agreement.

Conclusion

Moving is a complicated process. A broker can make the process easier. Going by online consumer reviews, American Standard is a great option, and it has customers excited about the success of their recent moves. When you’re talking about a process as complicated as moving, customer excitement is a significant sign that you can trust the broker. Additionally, American Standard can arrange cross-country moves and vehicle transports from state to state, which not every moving broker can do. Considering American Standard’s free online quote capability and live online chat, working with the company is a straightforward process.

American Standard Moving & Storage Reviews

Recent Reviews

September 16 2020 2:22PM

I provided them with accurate inventory, went through the items in an interview, provided pictures and when their contract mover showed up they claimed I have too much. I have one-bedroom and they kept saying my queen size bed with metal frame is too large.

They wanted 50 percent more. Do not use them, they contract others to do the move and should be avoided.

Ray J.
Lincoln, MA
August 27 2020 3:14PM

I was in the process of setting up a move with the Scamming Fraudulent company that brokers out your move to the lowest bidder bottom feed moving company.

An hour after giving deposit of $2420.00 I called and canceled after reading 10/10 terrible reviews. They have not refunded my money and it has been over 3 weeks. Do not even deal with these scumbags.

Jason K.
Quaker Hill, CT
August 16 2020 6:42PM

A nightmare and con artists. I don't believe that their rating are legitimate because I've had nothing but a horrible experience. My rep ensured me that my price was "Binding not to exceed".

The drivers that they brokered the moving out to (even though they tell you they are not brokers) will extort every cent out of you. My rate was $1777, I paid $2600 so that they would give me my furniture.

I moved a studio apartment from Illinois on July 28, 2020 with my delivery date being August 10,2020. I was expecting it to be here when I arrived to my new apartment in Arizona. My studio wasn't even in transit until august 11, 2020!!!

So now for a week, my mother and I slept on the floor. Now when they finally do arrive, they demand $350 extra for a shuttle when a semi truck can fit into my complex.

This company is the least reputable, most unprofessional, scam artists ever. Do not ever ever ever sign with this company!!! Save your money and your peace of mind.

Nakia D.
GLENDALE, AZ
August 05 2020 8:35PM

This company is a sham. They will lie to you constantly. They will say they don't broker out your job, then broker it out to horrible companies that destroy your belonging and not even deliver some of it.

They crushed and destroyed almost everything glass that was packed. They fought with me telling me that they wouldn't deal with me to contact the brokered company who by the way was worse.

They are the most rude customer service people I have ever used in my life. The company refuses to refund any money even after they broke everything that I own.

They left half of my belongings behind saying that it would be all these extra costs, finally agreed to go back for the rest of it but upon delivery most of the things were missing and are antiques that can never be replaced.

It took them over a month to deliver my stuff crushed and broken. I am personally suing them for their poor service and terrible rude customer service. They refuse to work with me on any of the delivery problems.

The movers insisted that I give each mover a $50. Cash tip before they would even enter my home then made me give them an extra $120. To take a few boxes they had planned to leave behind and those items were not delivered to me in the end.

They had a conference call with the movers who were paid and they denied the 150 tip and the extra 120 cash. Just a horrible company who gouged me every chance that they got.

When I asked them to address the missing items they immediately told me to deal with the other horrible company they hired to do the actual move. They are the worst business that I have ever dealt with in my life.

Safeguard van lines are just as bad. That's who they sold my job off to. They refused to let me speak to the actual sales person. They told me I was lying about the cash my sister witnessed me paying to them.

I'm in complete disgust. The things they destroyed and or kept are not replaceable and were worth a lot of money.

The representative told me they would not pay me for any damages and I told them I planned to sue them and all she said was that it was my right to do so and to do whatever I want they won't pay me back.

Don't be fooled by their smoke and mirrors. They lie and treat the customers like crap. They refuse to deal with the mayhem that they caused in my life and I ended up paying extra while they denied that I did. It's a total scam. Don't fall for it like I did.

I'm making formal complaints with the BBB and I already hired a lawyer. Please don't let them do what they did to me to you.

Be aware they are a front company who only sells you off to the lowest bidder and then dismiss you the minute you sign their bogus contract which essentially means nothing because you won't be dealing with them. You will deal with the secondary company only.

I filed with the Fmcsa, the bbb and the attorney general. Also have to spend more money on legal fees to take them to court. Don't let them do this to you please read. Literally every single box was crushed and filthy.

They stacked the boxes with the smallest on the bottom in my home, they were tossing the boxes around. They denied me my second tv and told me my dollhouse wasn't mine and they didn't have it on the truck.

I snuck a peek and they were both right there. Had to fight him to get it off the truck. Worst company I have ever seen in my life. Please don't let them destroy your property as they did mine.

Suzanne M.
Uxbridge, MA
August 05 2020 2:42PM

After I placed a search for a moving company, I was contacted by American Moving and Storage (3 June 2020). Spoke with them at length, agreements were made.

At the time my computer was non-functional (I was working only on my phone) and dealing with a sick child at the doctor's office. What I was told was not what was in the contract I inadvertently signed.

Verbal discussions stated a move estimate of around $3300 with a $1254 deposit. My household goods (HHG) would be picked up and stored in Georgia, close to my move destination. And I would be charged by the pound.

Never told I had three days to cancel, it's in the small print of their contract. A few days prior to the move, they called and charged me an additional $500 (still not sure what this was for, only that it would be applied to my balance for the move).

Everything seemed good at this point, until the day of the move. At 0800, three individuals showed up in a rented budget truck, they never identified themselves. I was told it would be American Standard Movers in one of their trucks.

Without doing a survey, I was immediately told that my cost would go from $3300 to well over $9000.

With further questioning, they were going to charge per square foot (agreed was per pound – and their movers would have a certificate of pre-load weight when they arrived), my HHG would be stored in Maryland not Georgia as agreed.

They hired a good lawyer to cover all their bases in the contract, which is nearly impossible to read on a phone. I had only 3 days to cancel, but 2 weeks later when the movers actually showed up was when the first signs something was not right.

I tried calling American Standard, but they did not open for another hour. The movers wanted to charge me $250 to wait. I immediately canceled the movers and sent them away.

Head mover entered my apartment for the first time to tell me that if I had headboards that would also increase the cost – after I had canceled them and sent them on their way.

I did not hear back from American Standard for until nearly 1800 (6pm), to say they had conducted a full investigation and concluded it. That the contract stood and my funds were non-refundable. How could they conduct an investigation and not speak with me?

I feel they misrepresented themselves by never telling me while I was speaking with them, they were not movers, but brokers/facilitators. Bait and switch in that they hired a subcontractor without ever telling me who they were hiring.

Fraud in that I was given a quote, with expectation there might be a MINOR alteration in cost, but to be told over triple total cost increase? $3300 to well over $9000 plus any headboards additional on top of that without a survey.

This was done by standing outside the garage. No survey was conducted, but they have that covered in the fine print- evidently, I waived that. Why would I do such a thing, leaving me open to being overcharged?

Breach of agreement/contract - I was told I would be charged per pound, the subcontractor insisted it would be per square foot. When I filed a complaint with the BBB they offered a $250 resolution.

This is preposterous and ridiculous. They have been dismissive and have taken advantage of a disabled veteran.

Joe C.
Suwanee, GA
July 23 2020 8:12PM

DO NOT USE!!! Do not even call them.... they pressure you to use their services and the payment IS NOT REFUNDABLE! They DO NOT have their own movers, they just refer you to someone.

They charged me $1213.00 for a move they guaranteed would only cost me $3137, but when the moving company showed up 1 day later than scheduled they said that $3137 would only buy 6' of space, that if I wanted to move my 3 plus bedrooms it would cost me over $9000.00, not to include what I had paid to American Standard.

The mover said that they do not receive anything from American Standard. Obviously I sent the moving company away and American Standard kept the $1213 for making a phone call. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY.

James R.
Reno, NV
July 23 2020 12:38AM

They are liars, they estimate, and at last moment they change price, they don't pick your phone once you make an initial payment as they are not the real movers, they work with other moving companies.

Whatever they estimate initially, be ready to pay at least 4 times of it when the actual movers comes on moving date. Regarding delivery, expect a delay of 7-10 days based on actual estimates.

Janki N.
New York, NY
June 30 2020 4:11PM

Highly disappointed with this company. They painted a beautiful story of my move to Miami. When it came down to the date of the move they pushed it back another day, like if I lived in a owned house. I'm literally fighting with my landlord to stay an extra day. I called customer service and all they offered was a $25 discount from a $1500 move. Bad Representative, Bad Customer Service, No Responsibly. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THEM ALL...

Jeff C.
Yonkers, NY
June 29 2020 3:42AM

Beware, American Standard Moving company will not look out for the clients best interest, No morals, Not Honesty or integrity. This is a flat scam company be aware.. I spoke with them for over 35 days confirming a one bedroom single man’s loft. We agreed on a price to move both my downtown loft. I spoke with them for over 35 days confirming a one bedroom single man’s loft.

We agreed on a price to move both my downtown loft and my storage building (10x10) of $2500.00. Once my One bedroom, living room suite and dining room table and chairs were loaded onto their box truck. They told me I have exceeded my space and it was now going to be $5700 that did not include my storage building.

The contract mean nothing. Most of their staff do not understand English. Guess what I paid my bill, mostly because they were going to auction off my belongings within two weeks if I didn’t pay the remainder of their adjusted price.

After paying $5700 I asked them what time they will arrive with my balloons would it be that day or the next morning? That’s when they called me the next morning and said it would be two weeks before I received any of my furniture, bedroom suite, golf clubs, TVs, stereos. everything I owned.

Once the truck arrived and was unloaded. I had one smashed smart TV and three sets of dumbbells disappeared, one extra set of golf clubs that I used occasionally, missing parts. I went to my gym my girlfriend lost three boxes of clothes. We called them immediately within 30 minutes after they left. They gave me a location to where I rushed off to get the remainder of my belongings. Of course no one was there.

So now we have called almost every day or every other day for four months, Filed their fake insurance claims. To be sitting here today what’s the guarantee that I will let the public know American Standard Moving company or anyone affiliated will not work to earn your business no matter what price you agree on this is a huge scam.

Right now I’m not the first and I won’t be the last of this happened too. Good luck, Stick with local companies To move your belongings. This company is not in the top 10 of reliable or trustworthy moving companies. I read the same reviews as you I felt confident in my decision to use this company I just did not read enough because the negative reviews are pouring in.

Ryan G.
Shelby, NC
June 14 2020 1:55PM

American Standard Moving is the worst scammers I ever seen in my whole life. They lie in your face. They quote me at $3,000 and the day of moving they wanted $9,000. They said that it will be only one truck driving from our house in NJ straight to Orlando Fl and of course it’s a lie.

It turned out that they broker out to another company and all the furniture will go to a warehouse and wait for a third truck to pick it up in 10 business days.. WTF!! I kicked them out if my house and I filled a complaint at the BBB and will sue them. I will make sure that this company closes cause they can’t do this to other customers. DON’t HIRE THIS COMPANY PLEASE. THEY ARE SCAMMERS!!!!!!

Dina E.
Winter Garden, FL
Write Review