American Standard Moving & Storage Reviews Page 10

Recent Reviews

March 03 2019 5:56AM

Do not hire this broker! It is a SCAM! They handed my family over to complete con-artists! My family trusted American Standard to refer them to a reputable company. Instead, they delivered us to Home Run Movers, a bunch of unprofessional, sketchy thieves. First, they refused to do a walk through before providing an estimate. Then, they demanded more and more money from my father who had just lost his job. They took advantage of his trusting nature and demanded over $3,000 than the initial estimate AFTER loading everything on the truck. It gets worse. The next day the company that American Standard referred us to called us to tell us their van caught fire and everything was lost. We became very suspicious at this point and contacted the fire department. The fire department told us that no, not everything was lost and a second truck with a sign taped to it appeared and loaded up everything that was left. We started asking questions about where the second truck went and now, the owner of Home Run Movers, the company that American Standard referred us to, won’t answer our calls. My family has lost everything to these people at a time when we were already struggling. Please review this list of red flags of moving fraud before hiring anyone. Do not use American Standard, they don’t vet their moving companies and only care about making their money.

L J.
Ft Myers, FL
March 01 2019 3:53PM

Thank you Austin and American Standard Moving for helping me through my first move ever. They couldn’t have been more helpful- especially since I made it a bit challenging for them haha! I was moving to New York City and I was totally lost about what a COI was and had some time restrictions with my building. American Standard went above and beyond with their help to find the best mover to coordinate and handle this for me. They fit my massive couch into a tiny door frame. I was too scared to look but Austin and his team accomplished it! Thanks to customer service for constantly keeping in contact and helping me through the move. Will use their services again! If you are looking to move for the first time I would highly recommend American Standard Moving! They are very detailed and walk you through everything and the movers are highly professional!

Noah C.
New York City, NY
February 28 2019 4:33PM

Very happy with the services American Standard Moving provided me. I was in a bind with another moving company. They showed up on the day of the move and wanted to charge me $2000 more than what they quoted me. After being scared to re-book with a mover I decided to trust American standard and not only they were able to be within my budget, they helped me save $1500 that J and J moore was trying to rob me out of. I would recommend this company if you are looking for an honest and reputable company that will help you find the best movers to take care of you and your furniture!

Larry W.
Austin, CA
February 28 2019 4:16PM

American Standard helped us coordinate a move from Boston to Dallas Texas and they did a GREAT job. The movers were fast, professional, and they took VERY good care of all our belongings - wrapping everything up very securely, bagging our mattresses, all that good stuff. They were hardworking and professional, and the online quote tool was pretty much spot on, I did add a few items and we were able to make fair adjustments. I have already recommended them to two friends who are moving, one's already booked and one's about to! They have a large list of agents that they work with and ensure you get what you pay for so it is worth it :) BTW, pay with cash for a 7% discount!

Michael F. T.
Boston, MA
February 19 2019 10:09AM

I never thought I will be writing this. They picked up my furnitures on Jan 14 th. They said it should get to my destination by 23rd Jan. I was moving from north of New Orleans to Clayton Ca. 86 years old widow moving to senior apartment near my family. When I arrived to senior apartment, my furniture were nowhere to be seen. I already paid 15 days of rent in Jan. So I could ship furnitures to them. I moved with one suitcase and a feral kitten I adapted last year. I was able to stay with a kind lady who offered me to stay with her. St Vincent de Paul lend me a single bed so I could be on my own apartment Feb 1st. I was told they will be here on 14th to 18th Feb. I have not seen anything yet. I already paid $1100 when I signed contract. Gave them a cashiers check of $581.35 when they picked up furnitures and demand the postal money order of $781.35 (which has been waiting) when they deliver the furniture.

Yasko H.
Clayton, CA
February 13 2019 5:08PM

American Standard was great. They were truthful and made this move stress free. They exceeded all of my expectations. I recommend this company to anyone who is looking for a great and easy experience!

Josh H.
Washington, DC
February 09 2019 10:50PM

One of the worst experiences of our life. We were relocating across the country after hurricane Michael destroyed all we knew. First they underwrites is saying we had 800 cubic feet then they arrive and it was 2000cubic feet. They hired day laborers who were obviously on drugs, cursing and smoking in front of our children. The movers had a 1500 cubic feet truck. We told them what we wanted to take they kept saying oh yeah that will fit no problem... well it didn’t. They were lying to get us to get another truck to come out which would have cost us even more. We had to have a massive yard sale the next day selling most of our furniture as it wouldn’t fit. My children have no beds now no one has dressers etc. They dropped our couch in driveway, broke our sons bed taking it apart. They picked up our items on Jan 12th. We just received it on February 9th. As they started to unload my heart sunk. Boxes were falling apart as they were totally crammed into the truck. What furniture we did pack was badly damaged. Huge gouges, chips, scratches etc. Our stuff is ruined. Apparently the loading movers also neglected to labor our boxes so we are missing boxes. We don’t even know what we are missing at this point. I had keepsakes from family that had passed and from my three children I don’t even know if they are here now.

Louise Z.
Pocatello, ID
February 08 2019 8:48PM

Avoid this company! Spoke with one of their representatives in for planning a move to South Bend Indiana. He quoted me a good price and I was inclined use the service. In order for me to lock in the price I had to put down a deposit. My rep. told me that it would be $600.00. At the time my company was paying for the move, but I had to run the quote by them first. The rep. told me that this would be no problem that I had 72 hours to cancel for ANY reason and I would have a full refund.

After 72 hours I would have to pay a small percentage (around 50-60 bucks in total). I reviewed the conditions and it seemed to indicate that I would have to pay after 72 hours. I asked him about this and he said that he would make a note to his manager and this condition would not apply to me. "Just make sure you let us know as soon as possible." Well in my naivete I went for it. So while on a job site (not have lots of time to read everything and trusting his word) I did a e-sign and I was good to go. After much back and forth with my company it was decided not to use a moving company. So I called back to cancel and pay that 50-60 bucks. Come to find out the rep. completely lied to me about the contract. Now I was told there is no refund AFTER 72 hours and it was black and white in the contract. I told him of my conversation with the his rep. and how the contract was represented to me. He came at me with well you signed and it is very clear what the conditions are.

I again relayed to him what the rep. had told me. Additionally I told him that the rep. had either lied or was incompetent which are both his issues not mine. He then told me the guy had been fired and there was nothing he could do for me. This put me in a HUGE financial bind. (the ramen noodle and not driving my for a week kind of bind) Eventually after a loooooong conversation the new rep. (who was a supervisor gave me two hundred bucks back (which 4 weeks later I still have not received, although he did say it would take a little bit). Now today I was contacted by another one of their reps. asking if I was still moving. I told him no and there was no way in heck I would use his company. He apologized and he indicated to me that my original rep. had been fired for being shady. If only apologizes came with restitution... Do yourself a favor and find a company that values their word and you.

Side note: If anyone in corporate ever reads this and wants to make this right I am willing to talk, but until then you have made any enemy out of me. I will be posting this review on every site I can find. Additionally I am filing a complaint with the BBB. Furthermore my goal is to cost you waaaaaay more than the 400.00 you owe me. So lets see who the real winner is going to be.

Brandon M.
Greer, SC
January 28 2019 8:41PM

We were solicited online for our move, then quoted a price of lets say $2300.00 so we called back and was told that they could pick up on one date then they were two days late. Then when they arrived they said they needed to go buy moving blankets. Not true! I received a call from their customer service asking if we could remove our confederate flag from pole as it offended the drivers. We removed flag and they came back finished at 10:00 pm now all of this on Jan.5th 2019 now it is Jan 28th and they tell me it might be delivered next weekend... I just hope we get our furniture!!!

Tom P.
ELBA, AL
January 18 2019 3:16PM

My mom and I worked with this company for a long distance move of our two apartments in Lake Worth to a New York City high rise. I'm so glad we chose this American Standard because their prices were fair and they were very clear communicators the whole time. We got our shipment within a few days which was never promised but they knew we'd have to get a hotel for the night otherwise! The movers got here at 6pm and unloaded all of our things right into our apartment. They actually forgot 2 of our boxes and a painting in their warehouse (I thought that we'd never get that stuff) but they brought it to us within the week and again were very good communicators throughout the process. I highly recommend American standard's movers and would use them again in the future!

Dennis J.
Lake Worth, FL
Write Review