CarShield Reviews Page 4

Recent Reviews

October 24 2019 5:23PM

I bought CarShield for my Ford Fusion '12. Only had 67,000 miles 37,000 before I bought it in 2013. I average 4,000 miles a year. Under coverage I was driving down N. Main St in High Point, and my car begin to sputter, then wouldn't restart. After a while it started but would lurch to 35 mph, down to 10, and would cut off. Then it just shuttered, I saw a Ford Dealership ahead, I was lucky to pull in...or roll into Service Bay.

I went to the Service Mg and told him of my plight, although others waited, he himself got to a mechanic to put it on a test machine, then he told me a rodent had climbed into my air intake and eaten my air filter making intake impossible. He vacuumed out my intake and in 1 hr charged me $160. I didn't know my number at Car Shield to call.

When I got home, I called. Not covered they said, you didn't call us first.....after much to do, I canceled my policy, but they drafted my credit card for next month anyway. They suck, are shabby only have one way, theirs. You better understand how coverage works or you too will be stuck. They are not consumer proactive or consumer oriented, they are only in it for your $, not about coverage. Daniel

Daniel T.
High Point, NC
October 17 2019 2:28AM

I purchased Car Shield for two vehicles. One car is running, just need minor repairs. The other vehicle needed to repair to get back on the road ( As the TV Ad stated).

When I contacted them for wrecker service, they only cover $75.00 of the towing bill, and their tower was well over $200.00 After getting the one vehicle to the mechanic shop, and call for approval for repair, I was told that the repairs were not covered, because the parts did not get coated with the oil in the engine. So long story short. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY. IT IS TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE

Esther B.
Atlanta, GA
October 16 2019 11:11PM

I was looking into Car Shield for my 2004 Oldsmobile. After reading all these reviews, I'm running the other way!! I've unfortunately dealt with ripoff companies like Car Shield before. It's enough to give one a heart attack. Thanks for spreading the word about this dishonorable company.

Lynda D.
Brockton, MA
October 15 2019 4:02PM

I called to cancel my policy within the 30 days to receive a refund. The following month I got the money taken out. I called and was told I never called to cancel. They didn't issue a refund for either the first or second month. The third month comes around and they take the monthly fee out again.

I call and once again I was told that I had not called to cancel the month to month policy. They would not issue a refund. I'm a disabled veteran in a tight month to month budget. I can't believe this company takes advantage of people like this. Stay away.

Gustavo S.
EL PASO, TX
October 11 2019 2:32AM

CarShield customer service representatives are deceptive when telling clients what they offer and when you want to cancel the reps are rude and make assumptions about who you are as a person ( the reps will put you down by saying stuff like your car is broken down and your repairs will cost your at least half of your rent and so on). I own my home and my car isn’t broken down. STAY away from CAR SHIELD

Robin C.
Eugene, OR
October 01 2019 9:01AM

Two months after purchasing CarShield, I had to have an alternator replaced in my car. Took my car to the shop that morning, they called CarShield and by that afternoon my car was approved. My car was fixed and ready to be picked up the next day. CarShield gave me no problems. I highly recommend CarShield.

Adv A.
Stone Mountain, GA
September 20 2019 9:25PM

This company is a complete and utter ripoff. They do not tell you this but let me. My 2003 Toyota who has been under Car Shield for years finally had a breakdown. The passenger side power window would sometimes not work. The ASE Shop said the window power window motor was bad. They called Car Shield on a Thursday morning at 730AM. Car Shield said they had to send an inspector out to verify the claim. As of Friday at 7PM when this shop closed no one came. I called Car Shield and they claim that American Car Shield is who verifies claims and since no one was out I had to wait till Monday.

Now I am out a car for 4 days waiting on this asinine outfit to send an inspector and still do not know if they will honor the claim. Folks do not, I repeat do not waste your money on these idiots because they do everything possible to get your money and then deny the claim. For the money I spent with them I could have replaced every power window motor and still had money left over. Just imagine a major issue occurring!

Lawrence H.
Wilmington, NC
September 14 2019 7:06PM

I called Carshield. A women quoted me engine covered 100%, water pump, axel and transmission. When I asked her to send me the information. Then thats when she put the man on the phone. He kept repeating the same information.

When you fill out the Carshield questionnaire, it pulled up 5 or 6 other companies and I was not for certain if they were CarShield or not. I told him that I needed to do more research to see if I wanted the warranty. They both tried their best to make me get the warranty today saying that they could not guarantee me the $108.00 if I did not get the warranty today. He said that he would take the payment down from $140.00 to $108.00. I told him that I needed to research CarShield to see if I wanted to accept the plan. Rush, rush is what they are trying to do to get you to hurry up and pay that money so that you do not have time to think about if what they are offering is legitimate or not or if they are a good company or not.

I researched complaints and I saw what other said on here about that company and I told him no and hung up the phone. It has been my experience that if someone is rushing you to do anything they are trying to take advantage of you in some kind of a way. Don't let no one rush you to do something that you have not fully thought through because they are trying to get your money.

C S.
Washington, DC
September 13 2019 1:19PM

Got Car Shield in May for a 2012 Ford Fushion with 71+ miles on it. We have a Blue Ox unit on front to tow behind our motor home, which we have done for the last 5 years... transmission went and when their inspector showed up at the garage the car was towed to he said transmission went because of the electrical on the Blue Ox....

The service man broke out laughing, telling him no way that had anything to do with said transmission going... they refused our claim, called my card who got all my money back from May...they only want your money.

Charles L.
Troy, NY
September 11 2019 11:33PM

Nothing but 1 STAR reviews. I was thinking of getting this for my Super Duty but I feel they would give me a hard time in covering the cost of fixing a Diesel! I'm better of just saving a part of my income monthly on my own.

Dennis R.
Pharr, TX
Write Review