Advertising Disclosure

We may earn money from our partners when you click a link, complete a form or call a phone number.

We believe everyone deserves to make thoughtful, informed purchase decisions. As a result, we provide our buyers guides and local guides free for consumers. We may receive compensation from our partners. However, Retirement Living independently researches companies, and the compensation we receive does not affect the analysis of our staff. Retirement Living will not include companies on our guides that do not meet our quality standards. The compensation we receive from our partners may impact how and where companies appear on our site, including the order in which they appear. As an Amazon Associate Retirement Living earns from qualifying purchases.

Retirement Living independently researches companies, and we use editorial discretion to award companies with special recognition (i.e. Great Value) based on our staff's judgment. We do this to help you identify companies that will meet your specific buying needs, and we do not receive compensation for these designations.

Get Insider Access

Get special offers, advice and tips from Retirement Living delivered to your inbox.

First American Home Warranty

4.3 Stars (248 Reviews)
Updated: January 20, 2023
By: Jonathan Trout
Jonathan Trout
Content Manager
Jonathan is a former product and content manager for Retirement Living. His background spans sales/marketing, finance, and telecommunications. Jonathan’s expertise in consumer wellness and research-backed data stories helped educate seniors on financial planning, retirement, and community resources. Jonathan graduated from Oklahoma State University with a B.S. in Environmental Sociology.
Content Manager
Edited by: Jeff Smith
Jeff Smith
Sr. Content Manager
As Retirement Living’s senior content manager, Jeff oversees the product and publishing of all retirement, investing, and consumer wellness content on the site. His extensive expertise in brand messaging and creating data-driven stories helps position Retirement Living as a top authority for senior content and community resources.
Sr. Content Manager

First American Home Warranty is a home warranty company founded in 1984 and is part of the First American family of companies. They offer home warranty service plans to homeowners and real estate professionals ranging in price from $288-$468 per year with service-call fees costing $75-$95.

Editorial Breakdown

Service Quality 4.3 Stars
Affordability 5 Stars
Coverage Area 4.3 Stars
Customer Service 4 Stars

Overall Rating 4.6 Stars

Bottom Line

A First American Home Warranty can be tailored using add-on coverage to fit more specific appliances you may have in your home.

248 First American Home Warranty Reviews

Write Review
1 Star

October 31 2020 2:35PM

I wish I could give zero or negative stars to them.. Really frustrated with them.. Water heater issue for last 2 months and I am calling them every day with same answers that plumber will come or give report etc, etc with no follow up or intention from them to fix it..

Atul K.
Dublin, CA
1 Star

October 18 2020 4:21PM

We had the warranty going on 2 years. Our air conditioning went out, living in Florida it is not pleasant without a\c. It took 7 weeks to get it repaired.

The contractor came in 6 times replaced 7 different parts. Each time that didn't fix the problem and would have to get authority to order another part, before getting the complete unit replaced.

Over the 7 weeks I had made about 100 calls to First American and the contractor assigned, not 1 person returned my phone call. I even called the CEO 3 times leaving messages with no return call, Jeff doesn't want to hear a customer problem.

Take into consideration they have 24 - 48 hours to contact a repair company. The repair company looks at it and has 24-48 hours to report what the problem is. First American has 24 -48 hours to make a decision then order the part needed.

Contractor has 24 -48 hours to try again. Then take into consideration every time the part is not available and will be a few weeks, if you are lucky.

Calling local a\c companies and every time the parts are readily available, but they can't buy from them. To be polite the customer service sucks.

Herb W.
Port Orange, FL
1 Star

October 16 2020 11:21PM

Definitely disappointed. Called for a repair for my microwave, I pay extra for first class service, it states the microwave oven door glass is covered.

The bottom of the microwave had a piece of tape to hold the glass in, claim gets declined because "it still works with the tape on it", ummm okay but if I remove the tape there no glass...so then it needs to be repaired or replaced.

Gentleman told me to read my contract clearly (with an attitude). When I tell him the website gives me an error when trying to pull it up he says, "Well it's there on the contract." Such unnecessary rudeness.

Crystal R.
Canyon Country, CA
1 Star

October 02 2020 4:54AM

We had this policy as an incentive from the seller of our home. It is not worth even having for free. No customer service, they lie about appointments, parts ordered, in the end you end up frustrated and without anything being fixed.

I have never dealt with a company as horrible as this. Don't waste your money and time, look elsewhere. Customer reviews say everything and none are good. They need to go out of business so people stop being ripped off. Disgusting.

Alina D.
Simi Valley, CA
1 Star

September 27 2020 3:06PM

I called on my A/C and had already had one call. The repair people told me I needed an Evaporator Coil. After waiting to hear from someone, I called FAHW and they told me the part was on backorder and would be a number of weeks before shipping.

After explaining that several weeks was too long to go without A/C in Houston they said they would try and find a source that could handle it.

That was when they told me I would be paying $1200:Of the total $2000 cost of “modifications” and pointed out obscure wording pages after A/C section of the Warranty Agreement.

I replaced my entire Unit through a reputable local company for only $5300 with a 10 year Warranty. I will not be renewing.

Henry P.
Montgomery, TX
2 Stars

September 17 2020 7:04PM

I requested 2 different appliances for repair. They charged me for both. It's the same contractor should be one charge.

After 3 days of trying to call thru repair line (there is no number for customer service) I was refunded the double fee but they cancelled dishwasher service. My contract up next month. Looking elsewhere.

Diane B.
Ripley, TN
1 Star

September 16 2020 4:49PM

My AC stop working during very hot humid month during on-going California fires. Called for AC service dozen times trying to get AC tech to service my home asap. I explained to customer service I'm 65 and have difficulty breathing because air quality is bad.

Customer service communication was very bad and could not get tech to my home for couple weeks. I even had them elevate the claim as emergency and tried to get them to authorize for tech not on their list to service me asap.

They did not approve authorization and said I had to wait. I had the Premier Plan and had 2 service calls for the year. I'm very disappointed they did not care about my situation. I would not recommend them due to very poor customer service.

Roberta A.
Norwalk, CA
1 Star

September 13 2020 3:06PM

I called about a broken washer/dryer at the end of July. The contractor came out and was able to fix the dryer, but suggested replacing the washer. FAHW said I should be contacted between 5-10 business days.

It is now September 13th and I still have not heard from the supplier after several 45+ minute phone calls with FAHW. I have been having to go to a laundromat (during a pandemic) for the last 2 MONTHS when they said it should be fixed within 2 weeks.

FAHW is a fraud, not helpful, and extremely difficult to get ahold of much less understand any of the workers. I will NEVER recommend this company to a homeowner.

Cory P.
Kingsport, TN
1 Star

September 10 2020 7:43AM

One month no AC, over 110 degrees, wife being treated for dehydration and heat stroke, 33 hours on hold with no answer, 20 plus emails with no answer, used service four times in the last six years each time a disaster. Company is a SCAM and I'm an idiot for staying with them.

George K.
North Las Vegas, NV
1 Star

September 06 2020 12:06AM

Our a/c went out on August 8th. It took a week to get them to send one of their contractors out. He was on the roof 10 minutes and left and said he had to send a report to FAHW. It took a few days to do that.

FAHW has automated systems so trying to talk to a live person is impossible. 2 weeks into no a/c and still 100 plus degrees, I'm in CA, I finally got a live person in EL SALVADOR. Really!!!!

So it turns out they said we had to pay the non-covered fees, 2260.00, which we never were told about. So long story short

Gloria E.
Modesto, CA