First American Home Warranty Reviews Page 11

Recent Reviews

August 14 2019 12:52AM

This company is horrible and they treat customer like ** and on top of all that they will screw you big time. And too rude to let you know what is going on till you are aggravate ** and do it all on your own. I have paid them good money each month for years and when I need them they screw us. I will never pay another penny to them every again. Way to take my money each month and never do anything for it **.

P R.
Bakersfield, CA
August 09 2019 8:56PM

First Year was good. I had just purchased a house and it come with First American Home Warranty. I add extra coverage, few months in my washer went out. Call problem. Was fit with in 48 hours, Second year I renew few months later ac wasn’t blowing cold. Called, send a scammer out. All his reviews, all bad 3 pages. First American Home Warranty denied coverage base on the scammer. Sent me pictures of the reason coverage was denied. WOW this wasn’t my unit. Told them, sent pictures with my name and contract number in pictures to show this is mine. Ask for a new company to come check and take new picture to show what my unit look like, they said no. I call HQ. No luck. I just cancel and make a point to tell every one don’t do business with First American Home Warranty.

Moses S.
Lancaster, CA
August 08 2019 11:26PM

With home warranty companies it comes down to claim service and contractor quality. FAHW failed me on both counts. When I filed an air conditioning claim I first waited two days for a callback and then they wanted me to wait 10 days for their contractor to come out.

I insisted on getting a local contractor of my choice who was willing to come out the same day, and they agreed I could do so. My contractor quickly diagnosed and solved the problem, a simple addition of refrigerant was all that was needed, at a total cost of $119.00.

I forwarded the email receipt to the claims people along with the contact information for the HVAC contractor. FAHW claims reps would not accept the receipt, first claiming they couldn't open it, and then that it was incomplete, and finally implying I was being dishonest in some vague way. I suggested that if they didn't like the receipt they could contact the contractor, but they refused. What a waste of my time over a minor repair! What would they be like with a major break down? I'm not wasting any more money finding out.

My premium money is going into a personal rainy day account and I'll save myself a lot of grief from this company.

Michael L.
ELK RIDGE, UT
August 08 2019 7:59PM

Poor service from start to finish.

1. Calling to make a new claim. Place on hold waiting (15 mins) to speak with customer service. The call center is located in some South American country. Once you get past the language barrior they submit your claim.

2. The contracted agent normally FAHW works with one or two for entire DFW area, so you know the service is going to be delated. Last time contractor cancelled 5 times.

3. The contractor will text or call an give you a 4-5 hour window when they can come out. So your waiting, then they call to cancel or reschedule another day. Just a big waste for my time.

4. When they do show up they look for reasons not to fix the unit. Like the last time my ice maker wasn't working.. they check the water flow into the refrig. and said it didn't have enough pressure to test the ice maker. So instead of hooking up to a water nearby faucet they wanted the line replaced.

He couldn't replace the line himself because he is not a plumber. Really so sad they techs are held back for getting the job done even on simple repairs. After having the home warranty insurance for 20 years and have spent nearly $12,000.00 in premiums and the cost of total repairs you received might be $1,000.00 it not worth the hoops you have to jump through for First American to do their job.

Most definitely not worth it. They have driven their operating cost down so low. By going out of the country to handle claim calls, by finding contactors willing to work for so little. That is the reason they have so few contractor for the DFW area. The customer suffers the most. The only ones getting the best service are the owner, management etc.. certainly not the customers.

ANTHONY C.
NORTH RICHLAND HILLS, TX
August 08 2019 3:40PM

TWO Months without A/C with no end in sight. They do not live up to the hype and do not care about their customers (let alone caring about their customer’s situations as if they were their own- which is a survey question repeatedly asked).

They refuse to tell you what’s going on with your repair/replacement and continually schedule incredibly sub-par contractors to come out to work on *your* property. If we don’t get a say in what happens, we at least have the right to know *what* is going on on our property.

Their claims resolution “specialists” are a joke. I’ve had only *one* decent one and I’ve spoken with over nine. Do not use this company!! Update: FAHW reached out and put a new specialist, Mariela (x3660) on our claim after I wrote this review. Mariela called and spoke with us then sent an email with her contact information, which we thought was a step in the right direction. Then she promptly stopped updating us or letting us know what’s going on with our claim and it will be two weeks tomorrow since her first (and last) communication with us.

We still have no idea when our unit will be replaced and we’ve just endured the two hottest months on record... in the history of temperature recordings, without full A/C upstairs. Now our other A/C unit is starting to show signs of overstress due to having to compensate for no upstairs unit for two months. Update2: Just called again to get someone else to find out what’s going on and George with Claims Resolution (**) said he would do nothing but send me back to Mariela... who is the one not responding!

I told him I needed to talk to someone about moving the claim forward and she’s not answering any calls, emails or messages, and he said (in a nutshell) too bad- I am not going to help you or transfer you anywhere else. So then I call again and get Julie (**), who at least was able to send me to Mariela’s supervisor (via voicemail of course) to see if maybe the supervisor could do anything.

Again, we’ve been without A/C for *TWO MONTHS*.

Ashley E.
Suffolk, WV
August 06 2019 6:44PM

This warranty company is a complete scam. We have owned our home and paid for this warranty for over 5 years in the hope that if something happens, we will be taken care of.

Our A/C has been going out and they will only approve the bare minimum to get it running again, if at all, only for the A/C to quit again in a few months. This has happened repeatedly. Now we are in the dead heat of an Arkansas summer with small children in the home and they are refusing to send someone out in a timely manner.

I have contacted all 4 of the only contracted A/C repair companies they have in this state and all have stated that if I were a cash paying customer they would come out today to diagnose the ongoing issue with our A/C unit but because I am a "First American Home Warranty Customer" it will be several days before they can even schedule us in, even when classified as an "emergency claim" FAHM.

I have called the warranty company multiple times, either get hung up on (2x now), or told "we don't have supervisors here" or "my phone doesn't allow for transfers to other people" and even spoke with what I was told was a supervisor. This man offered absolutely no resolution, nor did he seem interested in helping me as a paying customer to the company he is paid to work for.

Customer service and satisfaction is not a goal of this company. Taking your un-godly amounts of money each year with the false hope that they will be there to help when something goes wrong is what they specialize in. I don't see how anyone can give this company anything other than a 1 star review.

I would give it 0 stars if it allowed. Stay far far away from this company unless you truly enjoy throwing money down the drain each year and dealing with a bunch ** condescending representatives.

Nicole P.
Sherwood, AR
August 05 2019 10:46PM

First American let me down. Have an emergency problem since Sunday morning 30 hours ago. Had to call them because nobody came even though they already took the service fee from my account. Twenty minutes ago I received a call from the plumber who stated he just got the e-mail. Very poor service.

Anita M.
Colorado Springs, CO
August 02 2019 9:12PM

Had 1st American Home Warranty from Dec. 2016 to June 28, 2019. Cancelled due to selling insured home. Since cancelling on June 28, 2019, no refund of remainder of paid premium... 5 weeks, no money. These crooks owe me about $219. Communication is made nearly impossible, despite a conversation with Jemma ** in June 28th. No excuse!!!!

Rob R.
Eugenr, OR
August 01 2019 9:16PM

My AC has been down 3, going on 4 months. I called for help immediately. The first tech came 3 days later and stated we had a burned out engine. Seemed simple. The we heard nothing from them for a week. I called and they said the motor was on order.

Another week, the motor arrives. Another week, a tech shows up. But instead of walking in with a motor, he inspects the air handler and declares it is all bad and needs to be replaced. Then it takes a long time for the air handler. Then they tell me there will be an $1100 surcharge. I was livid.

I stewed for a week, and then agreed to the charge, realizing that I'd pay double if I went on my own. The warranty company said they approved the extra charge by the vendor. It's has been 3 weeks now since I agreed to the EXTRA charge, and I am still waiting to be scheduled for work.

Worst service experience ever. I really think the 2nd tech, fat, could hardly get up the ladder, simply did not want to work replacing the motor for an hour in my attic, so he declared the whole thing bad. Meanwhile we suffer in the Texas heat and humidity.

Marty R.
San Antonio, TX
July 30 2019 11:34PM

Called in a claim on a Friday for my ac not working (ac is essential living in AZ especially in July). They assigned a contractor to me but they weren’t able to see me till that next Wednesday so First American found another contractor. I called them and they told me they were too busy and to call First American back. So after calling First American back, they said to try the second contractor again because they should have time. I have been getting the run around since Friday and it’s now Tuesday and my ac hasn’t been looked at. I have been on hold for over 30 minutes waiting to speak with someone about my problem. Very disappointed with First American and would never recommend them to anyone, I will go out of my way to tell people not to go with this company. Terrible service.

Samantha E.
Phoenix, AZ
Write Review