Advertising Disclosure

We may earn money from our partners when you click a link, complete a form or call a phone number.

We believe everyone deserves to make thoughtful, informed purchase decisions. As a result, we provide our buyers guides and local guides free for consumers. We may receive compensation from our partners. However, Retirement Living independently researches companies, and the compensation we receive does not affect the analysis of our staff. Retirement Living will not include companies on our guides that do not meet our quality standards. The compensation we receive from our partners may impact how and where companies appear on our site, including the order in which they appear. As an Amazon Associate Retirement Living earns from qualifying purchases.

Retirement Living independently researches companies, and we use editorial discretion to award companies with special recognition (i.e. Great Value) based on our staff's judgment. We do this to help you identify companies that will meet your specific buying needs, and we do not receive compensation for these designations.

Get Insider Access

Get special offers, advice and tips from Retirement Living delivered to your inbox.

First American Home Warranty

4.3 Stars (248 Reviews)
Updated: January 20, 2023
By: Jonathan Trout
Jonathan Trout
Content Manager
Jonathan is a former product and content manager for Retirement Living. His background spans sales/marketing, finance, and telecommunications. Jonathan’s expertise in consumer wellness and research-backed data stories helped educate seniors on financial planning, retirement, and community resources. Jonathan graduated from Oklahoma State University with a B.S. in Environmental Sociology.
Content Manager
Edited by: Jeff Smith
Jeff Smith
Sr. Content Manager
As Retirement Living’s senior content manager, Jeff oversees the product and publishing of all retirement, investing, and consumer wellness content on the site. His extensive expertise in brand messaging and creating data-driven stories helps position Retirement Living as a top authority for senior content and community resources.
Sr. Content Manager

First American Home Warranty is a home warranty company founded in 1984 and is part of the First American family of companies. They offer home warranty service plans to homeowners and real estate professionals ranging in price from $288-$468 per year with service-call fees costing $75-$95.

Editorial Breakdown

Service Quality 4.3 Stars
Affordability 5 Stars
Coverage Area 4.3 Stars
Customer Service 4 Stars

Overall Rating 4.6 Stars

Bottom Line

A First American Home Warranty can be tailored using add-on coverage to fit more specific appliances you may have in your home.

248 First American Home Warranty Reviews

Write Review
1 Star

May 29 2020 6:41PM

We had a saga with our fridge for the last couple of months. We opened a claim with First American that send a technician that barley opened the fridge, said "it is a known issue with LG - you should call them", took his $75 and left.

We called LG and they said that if we have home warranty, the home warranty company should send one of their licensed technician and we could get a new fridge! But this was after our contract was expired and First American said they can send another technician for free - if we renew of course.

Our fridge is ding for the last couple of months, food was thrown many times. We brought another technician that said it is hopeless. So we now had to spent $1,600 + tax (after memorial day discounts) because First American DO NOT look after their customers it seems so.

Nisan B.
San Diego, CA
5 Stars

May 21 2020 10:18PM

When it’s the middle of the winter and your boiler is broken, you need someone who can get there right away. I had a few bad experiences with previous warranty providers but was pleasantly surprised with First American. I called them on Sunday and had my boiler fixed on Tuesday morning.

Julia E.
Mesa, AZ
1 Star

May 21 2020 5:35AM

This is a company that can't communicate. I have been trying to resolve an issue and their assigned Representative does not respond. All we want is a resolution to our problem, but to no avail. They hire people that know nothing about Customer Service or Satisfaction. The contractor's that they authorize fall into either the cheapest and/or technically limited. I would rate them terrible a (0) but that's not available.

Steve S.
Las Vegas, NV
1 Star

May 19 2020 2:07AM

They chose the lowest level and cheapest contractors to service your needs. They are extremely difficult to contact and communicate with. They then assign a Representative to handle your issues. The person we were assigned is also next to impossible to communicate with and has no knowledge of your problem.

They offer a minimal buy out and you can never get a competent person to follow-up. We had just suffered a deplorable air conditioning situation when the temperature was 100 degrees and I have a medical condition that requires Air Conditioning. Whether you have been a long time customer or not their efforts to assist you are a zero.

Steve S.
Las Vegas, NV
5 Stars

May 15 2020 3:22PM

I'd like to say thank you to all American home warranty service, customer service, claims.. this is by far the best warranty company I've been with. I will continue to stay with this company as long as the doors are open. First American Home Warranty you guys rock!!

Jason A.
Cove City, NC
1 Star

May 08 2020 6:15AM

This company offers deplorable customer service. My AC was out a full week before I broke down and paid out of pocket for another company. First American outsources its customer service to a foreign country and contracts with low grade service providers. As a realtor I would never recommend them to any clients. Canceling my service next month.

Cynthia B.
Chandler, AZ
5 Stars

May 06 2020 11:22PM

Don’t be put off by the marginally higher monthly charge. Many home warranty providers promise you low fees, but you should always read the fine print before signing anything. First American lists everything you have to pay and you don’t have to worry about any hidden charges.

Krizza E.
Phoenix, AZ
1 Star

May 01 2020 6:10PM

I have been a customer for more than 2 years and I have had horrible experiences for at least three claims. 4 policies are coming up for renewal on 5/3/20 and 5/4/20. I renewed them on 4/27/20. Because a bad experience 2 days ago I decided to cancel the 4 policies and a new one effective 5/27/20.

They refused to do the cancellations by phone. I tried to cancel on line but there is a charge of $37 dollars that I am not willing to pay. The renewal dates are May 3 and May 4. Can you please tell me how I can cancel these 5 policies before renewal? Why do you make things so difficult for clients?

The reason I am canceling all the policies is because I ended paying for repairs on my own. I replace a 40 gallon water heater and you gave me $647 for the water heater, tax and labor. It is very ridiculous. Now you will not help me with the cancellation. I had to block my card until I can get help with the cancellation.

Alberto G.
San Jose, CA
1 Star

April 27 2020 4:53PM

I can only assume the reviews on this website are left by homeowners who never had to use First American. They're the worst company I have ever dealt with. We scheduled a plumber visit for a leaked toilet. The technician failed to arrive, and when they contacted us it was hours later when we were not home, and they told us to call FirstAm to reschedule. We of course didn't want to given the poor experience.

FirstAm insisted that we pay $75 for the visit that has never happened. I spent hours on the phone trying to resolve this. Their phone customer support are reading from scripted answers and do whatever they can not to resolve the issue nor to transfer to a supervisor. All in all, by far the worst experience I had with a company. If you're considering taking a home insurance policy with them - do not. If you're an owner with an existing home insurance policy, avoid using them as you'll be wasting your money and time. Shocking. I would have given 0 stars if given the option.

Oded R.
Manahttan Beach, CA
1 Star

April 27 2020 12:50AM

My toilet was First American replace my 17 in toilet with a 15in toilet. I am disabled and the replacement toilet has called me great difficulty with getting on and off the toilet. I have contacted them on numerous occasions and either they do not reply to my request or by phone call Hang up and do not call back. They even lied On the plumbing technician. I am now filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and the ADA. Service has been AWFUL!!! Run don't walk from first American. Z (((

Sharon N.
Tampa, FL