First American Home Warranty Reviews Page 13

Recent Reviews

July 15 2019 6:29PM

Do not open an account with First American Home Warranty. AC stopped blowing cold air May 18 so I called an opened a claim. With 100 + Texas heat today is July 15 and my AC is still broken and not being serviced. I have the Premier Plan with Central AC and first class upgrade. Every time I call First America, I receive a new / different representative who is clueless, makes excuses, victim blames, reads off inaccurate notes created by previous employees, and asks for more money.

John S.
DALLAS, TX
July 12 2019 5:10PM

I just purchased my home and bought the top of the line coverage- Eagle Plan for $600 a year. Recently moved into my house and had a plumbing/leak issue in both bathtubs so I called to use my plan's coverage today. But, when the technician called his First American to find out about my coverage... they told him my issues were not going to be covered due to my only living in my house a week. They called it a pre-existing condition and had I waited another month, then my plumbing would have been covered. WOW!!!!! So, I paid the tech the $75 service fee only to find this out. VERY, VERY UPSET ABOUT THIS.

Deborah D.
Humble, TX
July 10 2019 4:35PM

Day 10! Only service from First American Home Warranty was to dispatch a company, (not from our area). The technician spent 10 minutes, rushed so fast to next call, he forgot his tool in the yard. Next day when questioning the procedures for making repairs/vs replacement of our ac unit, the tech stated, "they (FAHW) won't listen to me!

More discussion, tech became agitated, threw work order at me, 70 year old, woman, cursed....Started to bolt from the house. My husband tried talking to him, received more Curse words! Felt physical fearful by his lack of composure. Since then, we have called 2 times a day, everyday! Asked to send an independent estimate for replacement of indoor, outdoor unit. We complied. Constantly given different names & extensions to call. Left messages everyday! (begging for answers & call backs). DAY TEN, part not ordered, service call not scheduled.

THIS WAS CALLED IN AS AN EMERGENCY CALL, DUE TO HEALTH ISSUES & OVER 100 DEGREES HEAT FACTOR. *****I wouldn't spend a nickel for this verbal, physical intimidation, manipulation, and NO SERVICE***** SHAME ON ANY EMPLOYEE WHO HAS DEALT WITH US! We are escaping heat in public buildings, SENIOR CITIZENS, OVER 70 years old. NIGHTMARE WITH FIRST AMERICAN HOME WARRANTY CONTINUES!

L P.
Pflugerville, TX
July 09 2019 6:09PM

Communication is horrible - they don't return calls or emails - When I first got the warranty things went well - but now that I need my AC coil replaced the company they sent out wants to charge me an extra $720 for work that is not covered and not necessary (I had a second opinion done). I have been waiting since June 28th for Bestway Mechanical to call me to explain why they think the charges are needed today is July 9. I have made 3 phone calls to the warranty company asking about the charges and they told me that if I refused to pay Bestway Mechanical to do the non-covered work they would not pay to have my coil replaced. Then I was told there was a cash out option - they gave me an amount but REFUSE to give me the break down - part - labor - freon. I asked to speak to Marie supervisor and she hung up on me and when I called back the next person I talked to told me that the cash out option had been deleted.

Chris L.
Simpsonville, SC
July 09 2019 3:17PM

First American is a total scam. They work with only the cheapest and worst contractors. I bought a new home that had an old AC unit and tried for three years to replace it, but First American would only cover adding in more freon, at $600- $900 cost to me.

Finally when freon was outlawed they agreed to replace it, but would only cover the cheapest unit. The contractor they sent did not show up twice, and then installed a new AC without replacing the old hardware! The new unit overflowed, stopped working, flooded my apartment and my downstairs neighbor's apartment. They charged me $600 on top of the installation for a crane, but didn't even use a crane and never refunded me. I had to pay $5200 for the unit, having a professional HVAC company come to repair the damages they caused, to repair my floor and my neighbor's ceiling.

The HVAC company suggested suing them, their installation work was so bad. It's now been 2 months of endless emails, phone calls, etc. trying to get this resolved. I did not have any AC in the DC heat for over one month. First American refuses to cover any of the expenses and says that the “Company is not responsible for consequential, incidental, emotional distress, pain or suffering, tort or exemplary damages, secondary damage, loss resulting from the malfunction of any Item, or a Contractor’s delay or neglect in providing, or failing to provide, repair or replacement of an Item.”

AVOID THIS SCAM LIKE THE PLAGUE.

Joya B.
Washington, DC
July 09 2019 12:09AM

Don't, just don't use this company. Four months without a refrigerator and now got to the point where I just ordered and paid for a replacement myself. They refused to repair it after a couple of service calls, then low balled on a replacement with a budget brand that wouldn't match with the rest of my kitchen appliances ("same features" as my KitchenAid apparently), then they offered less than half of the cash value to buy a new one. Totally insulting after spending so much and waiting so long. Zero point in a warranty, zero point in buying their upgrades, zero point in this company actually existing.

Andrew S.
Los Angeles, CA
July 08 2019 11:06PM

FAHW sends contractor out today after my ac had been out since last Thursday. I told their dispatcher what was wrong with my ac, due to this being an ongoing issue for the last 3 years. It has a leak and when the freon gets low it freezes up. Each summer FAHW sends a contractor out and tells them just to fill up the freon before they even look at the ac unit. I was told that this was the only thing this company would do to fix the issue. Last summer the contractor told me the next step would be to have the unit replaced. This contractor was very upfront when he arrived and also stated that this company had stopped using him for months because he would recommend parts be replaced, and the company just wanted him to do as little as possible to fix the issue without costing them much money. I was very pleased with the contractor sent out, due to him being upfront and honest. I am very displeased with FAHW and their crooked business. I bought their warranty for a piece of mind, but will now be dropping them because their service is horrible and crooked. STAY AWAY FROM FAHW!!!!!

William S.
Corryton, TN
July 08 2019 6:07PM

I would strongly advise against purchasing a home warranty through this company. Had nothing but problems with them and it was a huge waste of money. Called them to check the attic for mice as we were hearing noises. The first vendor came out (I missed work to meet him) and said he was too busy with his regular customers and did not have a ladder to access the attic. They sent out a second vendor and he said their company is not allowed to go on the roof (I missed work again). They still insisted on their $75.00 service call. So, please be aware that they can just send vendors to your home that do nothing and they'll still want their $75.00.

M H.
Orange, CA
July 08 2019 4:20PM

FAHW is a great co and you get what you pay for folks. Hm warranty co’s Do not pay for everything but they are a great source when a major system or appliance goes out. Yes, I may have to pay for some code updates or home modifications or other based on which plan I have but for the most part, FAHW has saved me TONS of money for what I paid to have it, about $450. So I say, read any contract you sign, know what is and is not covered and know the warranty co’s Are not an emergency service or a 100% pay all gig. But you will save thousands of dollars when a big ticket item goes out as opposed to paying all 100% if you didn't have the home warranty so THANKS FIRST AMERICAN. You’ve done a great job for me =-)

Beverley F.
Dallas, TX
July 05 2019 10:42PM

Do not use this company. What a joke and a scam. They are trying to tell me that a lizard is my pet and they don’t cover repairs that are caused by my pet! Cancelling my service with this lousy company.

Dana M.
Houston, TX
Write Review