First American Home Warranty Reviews Page 15

Recent Reviews

June 17 2019 11:59PM

These people are the rudest customer service I have ever dealt with. I will be cancelling my contract even thought they have been my provider for 6 years now. Every single time it is a fight just to have a service company return my call.

First they left me without a bathroom to use for more than 3 days and now it is my kitchen sink which I am unable to use for at least 4 days. That means eating each meal outside my home for myself and my family. I do not have that money to waste. This is a very expensive policy to have. I pay on time and I pay and tip the service people.

However, 1st American is IMPOSSIBLE to deal with. They are UNRELIABLE AND RUDE BEYOND REASON, JUST ABSOLUTELY AWFUL! It will be very easy for me to Google another home warranty company and make the change. They refuse to reassign my claim even though I am not happy with their service provider.

They insist on sending a provider that is not even in my COUNTY when they have a service provider who is right in my area and has serviced me before. And, to top off the whole mess, their billing department sends numerous statements starting 2 months prior to the plan expiration date demanding payment! As a senior, I feel very uncomfortable with the service providers they use and feel the RUDENESS I experience is far from necessary!

I suggest you all run like the wind from this horrible mess of a company!! I would stare into a million blazing suns before calling them again for anything!!!

Marney C.
Camarillo, CA
June 17 2019 10:44PM

If I could give minus stars I could. Worst experience ever!!!! Have been without Air Conditioning since May 20. Contractor Total Air Care supposed to finally be here June 19th. Tech came out May 29 said it was evaporator coil. Waiting on part. Two weeks, part can’t be found, ( another company found one for $1100.00) Somehow without my approval, it was decided to install a new heat pump/ac. At a cost of $800.00 to me. Supervisor gave me incorrect extension to follow up with. Customer resolution person was totally useless. I had to darn near do all coordinating with contractor. Offered $100 towards A/C our windows would not accommodate. We have plenty of fans. Temps upwards of 84 in our home. We are senior citizens and this has been detrimental to our health. We have two parrots, a cat and dog so couldn’t even go to hotel. Food ruined, doors warped. Wrote letter to President of company will see what happens. Electrical contractors were very good though and we have used them several times. Stay away from this company. They hold you hostage. Glad it came with the home purchase and we didn’t pay for it!!!!

Sonni J.
Landrum, SC
June 10 2019 4:22AM

The best thing that I can say about this company is to avoid them like the plague. Customer service is so bad. The company was called because I had an AC problem. The company used out of the area (like 450 miles away from my location) to do a service call. The vendor that came out to my house was not knowledgable about the problem. I ended up telling the warranty company is just forget it and that I would get someone local to take care of the problem. Even though it took a few extra days to get the part in for my AC it was well worth the wait. I will not be using this home warranty company again.

Pam T.
Odessa, TX
June 07 2019 3:36PM

Worst experience!! Our tenants oven went out, we sent our own inspector in and he advised that oven needed to be replaced, or wait at least 30 days for part replacement. First American finally sent someone in inspection, they said they couldn't make a determination because they weren't familiar with the oven. First American wanted us to wait for another inspector. Tenant in the mean time was refusing to pay rent. We replaced oven and were willing to accept a lower partial payment of what would have been the cost to repair the old oven. instead received extremely rude customer service.. basically said, too bad you didn't follow their policy.

Joseph C.
Newark, CA
June 03 2019 10:48PM

My experience with First American Home Warranty is horrible. They send people out to your place have fix stuff and you have to call them back out to fix your same issue over and over and over again.

Alycia S.
Gardena, CA
June 03 2019 10:06PM

FIRST AMERICAN IS THE WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE COMPANY I HAVE EVER DEALT WITH. I CAN ONLY ECHO THE OTHER REVIEWS ON THIS SITE AND WISH I HAD READ THEM EARLIER. My family has been without AC for over a week and FAHW has done nothing but give us the run around about how to find a solution. I just want them to do what they said they would do when we paid for the warranty. AVOID THIS COMPANY LIKE A PLAGUE.

Savannah M.
Magnolia, TX
June 01 2019 5:14PM

The service is horrible. I made a claim on June the 13th I believe 2019. For my garage door. On the 17th of June 2019 the technician from Sears showed up. After testing he said the garage door opener needs to be replaced. I paid him my deductible which is 75 and he wrote his report. I called the insurance 3 days later to check on the status of my order, they told me, "Sears dont install garage doors so we have to find you someone else to come to diagnostics the garage door." I was like "why can't you send me someone to install my garage door since you already have the report from Sears." They were like "we need the 2nd opinion." The second opinion came from the Dayton garage door. The guy as soon as he got there he was like "it's the light bulbs issue." I looked at him and I said, "you need to get the hell out of my home." And he left. Long story short today is the 2nd of June 2019. Just got off the phone with them. They are saying they couldn't get hold or the contractor is not responding. I called 20 times at least no answer. They are liars, they will RIP you off and they are the worst in buisness. Stay away from them and save yourself money and headaches.

Kevin E.
Fairfield, OH
May 30 2019 10:29PM

This is the single ** company EVER. DO NOT USE THEM. DO NOT PAY THE MONEY FOR A WARRANTY WITH THEM. You will be sorry. They are incompetent. In fact they are grossly incompetent. We are canceling with them as soon as possible. They do not handle claims properly. In fact, they constantly LOSE contractors at this point who now refuse to work with this outfit. The biggest losers are the idiots(like us) who originally paid them a premium for services. They suck beyond belief. This is actually a ZERO star review. Look elsewhere. You will personally thank me later.

Chad T.
Toledo, SELECT A STATE
May 28 2019 5:12PM

Terrible service all the way around. From customer service to their contractors. Over 2 weeks b4 assigned contractor even calls an sets up a appointment. And FAHW dos not communicate with me after contractor assess the problem. Had 2 contractors previous tell me compressor an blower motor was shot. And FAHW tries to tell me it's the condenser. ** their on contractor told me the same as the 2 I had hired. Almost a month an claim not filled. I purchased a new unit on my own w/o any compensation from them. Stay clear of this company major RIP off. 000 stars.

Dwayne O.
Tonopah, AZ
May 28 2019 5:11PM

So, we had put in a service request at the end of April for someone to come to the house because the AC unit was not cooling. We quickly made an appointment with the contractors working for Total Air Care and had someone out at the house. When they came they added refrigerant and cleaned the coils of our machine. They were a bit unprofessional when they were at the house. They offered to do the work under the table and have us pay less money. To be on the safe side Tyler and I decided to pay the full amount so we wouldn’t void the warranty in any way.

When they left the house the unit cooled for about a week and then began to act up again on May 18th. Tyler and I didn't wait and went ahead and put in the service request on that very same day. Tyler did make a call to First American because it had only been a week since the last fix, so they canceled the new service request and told us we wouldn’t be charged for someone to come out that it would still be under the original request from April. We were assigned Total Air Care again. On Monday afternoon I had not received a call from them so I called First American asking for contact information. Nobody answered the calls and shortly after I received a text stating that they had attempted to contact me and that our service request would be put on hold until we answered. When I received that text I made a call to Total Air and was able to get someone on the phone. I was told that it was after hours and that they would be in contact with me the following morning first thing. I waited until about two in the afternoon on Tuesday when I began making calls. Noone was truly able to help me and I still had not made an appointment for someone to come to my home.

At this point, it is 80+ degrees in my home. I was unable to find any resolution on Tuesday and was simply passed from person to person. They did give me a temporary relief credit for $100 to purchase fans but that was truly the only help I received. On Wednesday I called around three in the afternoon since I still not heard from the AC company on when they were going to be able to make it out to my home. When I called First American I was on the phone with an individual named Juan which I had given all of our information to.I had made sure he had my phone number in order to get in contact with me if for some reason the call failed or we got disconnected. The call did fail on my way home from work and I never received a call back from him. I called back and attempted to get reconnected and they would not let me so I had to re-explain myself to another individual over the phone which then told me there was nothing they could do. I then asked if we could request another contractor because the one they had assigned us had still had made no attempt to contact me. They gave me a difficult time about it but then allowed me to switch. On Thursday morning I received a call from the new contractor, Rentz Residential. Their earliest appointment wasn’t until the following Wednesday. I understood that this was out of the contractor's control but found that this wait given the heat and circumstances was ridiculous. I called First American again. When I called I explained the situation again to another person explaining to them that by this point it was 85 degrees in my home with a total of 6 fans running. When I told him about the conditions in my home he told me to go purchase an air cooler.

I told him that I had attempted to make a purchase but that I could not find anything less than $300 he then instructed me to go to Walmart and look. The individual was very smart with me on the phone and when asked if I could talk to someone else he told me that I could hang up and call again and hope that I didn't get him. His disrespectful tone and hid dismissive personality made me feel as if I needed to talk to a supervisor. He said he would locate them and then he hung up on me. I refused to spend $300 dollars on something that I would be unable to return for temporary relief. At this point, I decided to take matters into my own hands and began calling heating and air contractors in our area. I was able to find companies that could service our unit as early as the next day. In order to not void our warranty, I did not allow for these contractors to come out without first making sure that First American would cover the cost. On Friday, I began calling First American again. I asked them if there was any way I could use a contractor from our area to come and be covered by them. They told me that I would have to follow various steps in order to do that. The individual (Jessie) I had on the phone was very helpful and began making calls for me in order to see if he could find a contractor that works for them that could come out to my home sooner. He told me had no luck so he was going to pass it on to dispatch and that They would make calls as well. He told me that I would hear back from someone that night about our dilemma. At around nine at night, I received a call saying that dispatch was still making calls and that so far they had no luck. I was told that I was put on their emergency list and that I would hear back from someone in the morning. I was reassured by the individual that I spoke to that if they could not find someone that I could assign my own contractor. Saturday morning they called me and I missed the call. I called back right away and attempted to get in touch with dispatch the individual that called me left me their extension and also sent me an email I called the extension twice and left messages, and also attempted to get directly transferred to him. I even emailed him asking for him to call me back and still have heard nothing. This individuals name was Manuel **.

At this point, I know that I will not be renewing my warranty with First American. Their failure to support customers and find resolutions is absolutely ridiculous. Their $100 dollar relief credit is a joke. It amazes me to believe that I was put on an “emergency” list and I have not been helped or at least checked up on. My house as of last night was 86 degrees. I have pets that stay home during the day and frankly, I am lucky that I have my parents that were willing to take us in while we sorted through this mess. Rentz Residential is scheduled to come to my house at some point tomorrow but with me leaving out of town on Saturday morning I am unsure if the problem will be resolved until I come back from my vacation the second week on June. I have expressed my disappointment with the company to the individuals I have spoken to on the phone and have been tempted to express my disappointment in online reviews. This experience has left me absolutely speechless and frustrated. I am in disbelief that I have spent so much money on a service that has been basically useless.

Elise E.
Fountain Inn, SC
Write Review