Advertising Disclosure

We may earn money from our partners when you click a link, complete a form or call a phone number.

We believe everyone deserves to make thoughtful, informed purchase decisions. As a result, we provide our buyers guides and local guides free for consumers. We may receive compensation from our partners. However, Retirement Living independently researches companies, and the compensation we receive does not affect the analysis of our staff. Retirement Living will not include companies on our guides that do not meet our quality standards. The compensation we receive from our partners may impact how and where companies appear on our site, including the order in which they appear. As an Amazon Associate Retirement Living earns from qualifying purchases.

Retirement Living independently researches companies, and we use editorial discretion to award companies with special recognition (i.e. Great Value) based on our staff's judgment. We do this to help you identify companies that will meet your specific buying needs, and we do not receive compensation for these designations.

Get Insider Access

Get special offers, advice and tips from Retirement Living delivered to your inbox.

First American Home Warranty

4.3 Stars (248 Reviews)
Updated: January 20, 2023
By: Jonathan Trout
Jonathan Trout
Content Manager
Jonathan is a former product and content manager for Retirement Living. His background spans sales/marketing, finance, and telecommunications. Jonathan’s expertise in consumer wellness and research-backed data stories helped educate seniors on financial planning, retirement, and community resources. Jonathan graduated from Oklahoma State University with a B.S. in Environmental Sociology.
Content Manager
Edited by: Jeff Smith
Jeff Smith
Sr. Content Manager
As Retirement Living’s senior content manager, Jeff oversees the product and publishing of all retirement, investing, and consumer wellness content on the site. His extensive expertise in brand messaging and creating data-driven stories helps position Retirement Living as a top authority for senior content and community resources.
Sr. Content Manager

First American Home Warranty is a home warranty company founded in 1984 and is part of the First American family of companies. They offer home warranty service plans to homeowners and real estate professionals ranging in price from $288-$468 per year with service-call fees costing $75-$95.

Editorial Breakdown

Service Quality 4.3 Stars
Affordability 5 Stars
Coverage Area 4.3 Stars
Customer Service 4 Stars

Overall Rating 4.6 Stars

Bottom Line

A First American Home Warranty can be tailored using add-on coverage to fit more specific appliances you may have in your home.

248 First American Home Warranty Reviews

Write Review
5 Stars

December 05 2019 9:48PM

So many things could go wrong if you’re a homeowner. One day it’s the heating system, the next day it’s the plumbing. Having a partner like First American Home Warranty puts me at ease, knowing that if something goes wrong (and something always does!), they’ll get it fixed right away.

Queenie C.
Phoenix, AR
1 Star

November 26 2019 9:04PM

This is a scam warranty services. Fraud warranty service. They just want your money in a technical way that you wouldn't realize. Very good at deception. I called for two services, one tech came to see the plumbing problem but he became so rude upon requesting look thoroughly, I even can't even express. Didn't fix the issues and reported completed.

The same thing happened in the electrical service, the tech didn't find the problem why my kitchen line was tripping and didn't fix anything. he told me that one fan going to replaced but never came back. They need $600 year and on the top your free $75.00 on each call. Very scum people. I would say think before you waste your money. if you don't believe me then you are welcome to give away your free money. All the best.

MD I.
HOUSTON, TX
5 Stars

November 26 2019 7:50PM

As I travel a lot for work, I don’t have much time or energy to do repairs around the house. My water pipes burst for some reason last year, and my first thought was to call First American Home Warranty since I have a warranty plan with them. They came by and fixed everything. Haven’t had any leaks since.

Cindy S.
Phoenix, AZ
1 Star

November 25 2019 9:25PM

Have had a home warranty on our house with 1st American home warranty for 2 years & up until today they have been good to work with. The faucet on my shower won’t shut completely off so we called them to contact a plumber to get it repaired. Was told by Andrea ** to find our own plumber & they would reimburse us up to $125.00, if more we would have to call in & see if it would be approved... needless to say we won’t be contracting with them next year.

James B.
Piedmont, OK
1 Star

November 23 2019 12:40AM

Bad service, I've have used this co 2 years. The people they sent out are nasty. They act like their doing me a um free job. I have spent over 1200,00 and got nothing for my money, this co needs to stop and shut their doors. I'm not using the co any more. Cancel my account. Nov 2019. If you take any money from my account after Nov 2019 I will take action. Mrs Wayne **

Florence B.
Tucson, AZ
1 Star

November 22 2019 4:16PM

I requested service twice from them. Once for a locksmith and the second for my exhaust fan. Both times they made it difficult to accommodate my schedule. They give a 4 hr. window and the contractor has to order parts only when they are on-site, which means there will be two service calls at least, so need to sacrifice 8 hr. for a simple job. And the contractor’s workmanship is only good for 30 days.

My exhaust stopped working after 2 weeks from repair and I delayed in contacting them, and by the time I called it was past 30 days. Now I had to again pay $75 service fee to get the work initiated and again spend 8hr. just for the contractor to re-diagnose the problem. There are a lot of little thing they do to create annoyance so you don't use their service. I hope I had never signed-up for their service. Bait-and-switch sales practice. They talk of good service but make it difficult to use their service.

Raj V.
San Ramon, CA
1 Star

November 22 2019 2:40AM

I recently had warranty company send out a plumber because of low water pressure. We needed our pressure release valve replaced. The plumber that came could not locate it and said he wasn’t going to dig around for it. I was told if I located it to call back. Having a disabled husband and being his caregiver doesn’t afford me time to dig up a water line! I had to have another plumbing company come and locate valve and replace it. $1400 ok after I am trying to get warranty company to reimburse cost of work the plumber very easily and quickly did.

Sheila G.
Salem, OR
5 Stars

November 20 2019 9:18PM

I was having a Mother’s Day party when one of my pipes burst. I called them immediately, very frantic, and they sent someone right away. They saved my party and myself from humiliation. Worth every penny if you want to have peace of mind.

Cara L.
Phoenix, AZ
1 Star

November 20 2019 8:58PM

Stay away from this company. Better throw your money directly to the trash. After two weeks calling daily with no one calling back I get an appointment with a plumber from the insurance. He said that our shower broke because we misused it, so we have to pay the insurance+ the visit of his plumber+ our plumber and loose hours calling this company. Of course, the plumber we hired said that they did not see anything out of the ordinary in our shower, only normal wear and tear.

ALFONSO J.
ARLINGTON, DC
2 Stars

November 05 2019 5:41PM

After my hvac combo pack and as condemned they say they cover install of new unit, but then all cost was passed to me. The cash out option for installation was $250. So they are admitting that all cost is passed on to customer. Very disappointed. I would not recommend them.

Aimee A.
Taylors, SC