First American Home Warranty Reviews Page 17

Recent Reviews

April 02 2019 10:24PM

I made sure my plumbing issue would be covered before calling and filing a claim. The first plumber came out and said that my issues wasn’t covered and refused to verify or fix the issue. I called First American Warranty and informed them. They told me they will send another plumber because it is covered. I have been in contact with them since November 2018 when this all happened, still awaiting a plumber to come out. Every time I call I get the run around and no one knows what to do. We are going on four months and my leak, that is COVERED still has yet to be fixed. Horrible customer service and they hire unreliable, very unprofessional companies to do the work. I would not recommend this company to anyone ever again.

Christina V.
University Place, WA
March 14 2019 7:52PM

Would never use this warranty again- the worst customer service. Use the worst of the repair companies. Poor response to requests. Cant get through on the phone when you have issues. What a waste of money.

Bina P.
Santa Monica, CA
March 06 2019 8:18PM

I would never recommend this company to anyone. I placed a service call for a leak that was leaking downstairs. After waiting on ordered parts, the day the plumbers are scheduled to return, I receive a phone call. They are now telling me that I have an out of pocket expense of 425.00. I then call First American and they tell me they have to do a "pipe modification" and they don't cover that. All I know is that we just bought this house and there is a leak that needs to be fixed!!!! How can you charge someone when this should all be covered!!! Never again when buying a home will I use this company.

Laura W.
Riverside, CA
January 30 2019 6:30PM

I was totally taken advantage of. Pricing for "bringing up to code" was exorbitant. I could have gone to Home Depot and saved half - trades should have done less than retail. Very disappointed. Reviewing whether or not to keep warranty service. I have certainly paid for plenty!

Sherrill G.
Austin, TX
January 19 2019 6:18PM

If you have an emergency of no running water with backed up toilets and showers, GOOD LUCK. It happened on a Saturday and they couldn’t find a contractor, AND wouldn’t let us call one of hundreds in our local area who were available and ready to come to our home until 24 hours past! She said it's policy to wait 24 hours for all emergency calls if they can't find a contractor. It's an EMERGENCY and they want you to wait!?!?! We were forced to pay a night at hotel. We had my mom and children visiting. Then I called the next day before 24 hrs we're up to check status and they said oh you can go ahead and call a contractor of your choice as we still have not found one. I asked why hasn't anyone called to tell me this?? I've been waiting for status! How much longer was I going to wait for call? I found a plumber and they came out within 2 hrs on a Sunday. The company is great if you don't have an emergency... I will not renew. Their policy is just wrong. In the end I spoke to probably the best customer service person they have and he helped with processing our reimbursement. It's been a week so I'm still waiting for it in the mail. They will not cover the hotel cost.

Marisol M.
Altadena, CA
January 18 2019 7:44PM

We have been very satisfied with First American. It’s comforting to know when any of my covered items get in trouble I have someone I can depend on. So far I have no complaints. I have had to have service on three occasions and have been very pleased.

Clark B.
Madison, MS
January 18 2019 7:00PM

Claim was handled effectively and service provider was able to make the necessary repairs. I did have an issue with scheduling the installation of the repair part and was forced to wait an additional 2 weeks to have the repair completed but as I said it was eventually completed to my satisfaction.

Larry O.
Vero Beach, FL
November 27 2018 6:55PM

We have had First American Warranty for 1 1/2 years. We have had small repairs throughout the year and they did fine. However, recently our A/C coil was leaking and needed to be replaced. The company they sent out to do the repair was notorious for poor workmanship and dishonest dealings. This company informed us that the total cost was $1500 to replace the evaporator coil ($500 of which we would have to pay, leaving $1000 to be paid by First American). We called 3 other companies in the area to get quotes on replacing the coil and all 3 gave us a total of $1500. Because of the contracted companies reputation, we called First American to get a payout so we could go with a different company. They offered me $350!!!! This wouldn’t even cover the cost of the part. We have filed a complaint on BBB, with no resolve. I have also left messages to speak to a manager twice and never gotten a call back. All we want is our A/C fixed by a reputable company.

Adrienne F.
October 17 2018 8:18PM

Worst scam ever. Terrible contractors, terrible foot dragging. The time you spend on the phone with these people trying to get something fixed, combined with the time wasted working with their many inept contractors could be better used learning how to fix it yourself or calling a contractor of your own choice. I've had a simple in wall pipe leak for over a month (claim submitted to them a month ago) and 5 visits later and STILL no diagnosis and no plan of action to fix it. NO, NO, NO. I will not ever renew with them.

Robert F.
September 24 2018 6:52PM

Worst home warranty I've seen bottom line. I've been having an ongoing issue with my AC, first the technician they send don't know much and report its an electrical issue and it goes back and forth. To make it better they dont schedule you a follow up date till they send the report and they can get a hold of the company. Once they settled it was a compressor issue it took the company 2 weeks to send the work order and when it was “fixed”. I called because the same issue persisted, called back and requested a different tech to take a look and they said the compressor was wrong. Now they have to make the other company liable and get them to come back. Its been 2 months, $900 wasted, and lots of time off work to be at home with the tech, without AC in mid summer my house is usually at least 80 degrees and to make matters worse I had surgery. This company never calls me back and never gives you a confirmation on when matter would be fix, just a run around. This is not a company you want.

Rafael T.
Write Review