First American Home Warranty Reviews Page 19

Recent Reviews

May 30 2019 10:29PM

This is the single ** company EVER. DO NOT USE THEM. DO NOT PAY THE MONEY FOR A WARRANTY WITH THEM. You will be sorry. They are incompetent. In fact they are grossly incompetent. We are canceling with them as soon as possible. They do not handle claims properly. In fact, they constantly LOSE contractors at this point who now refuse to work with this outfit. The biggest losers are the idiots(like us) who originally paid them a premium for services. They suck beyond belief. This is actually a ZERO star review. Look elsewhere. You will personally thank me later.

Chad T.
Toledo, SELECT A STATE
May 28 2019 5:12PM

Terrible service all the way around. From customer service to their contractors. Over 2 weeks b4 assigned contractor even calls an sets up a appointment. And FAHW dos not communicate with me after contractor assess the problem. Had 2 contractors previous tell me compressor an blower motor was shot. And FAHW tries to tell me it's the condenser. ** their on contractor told me the same as the 2 I had hired. Almost a month an claim not filled. I purchased a new unit on my own w/o any compensation from them. Stay clear of this company major RIP off. 000 stars.

Dwayne O.
Tonopah, AZ
May 28 2019 5:11PM

So, we had put in a service request at the end of April for someone to come to the house because the AC unit was not cooling. We quickly made an appointment with the contractors working for Total Air Care and had someone out at the house. When they came they added refrigerant and cleaned the coils of our machine. They were a bit unprofessional when they were at the house. They offered to do the work under the table and have us pay less money. To be on the safe side Tyler and I decided to pay the full amount so we wouldn’t void the warranty in any way.

When they left the house the unit cooled for about a week and then began to act up again on May 18th. Tyler and I didn't wait and went ahead and put in the service request on that very same day. Tyler did make a call to First American because it had only been a week since the last fix, so they canceled the new service request and told us we wouldn’t be charged for someone to come out that it would still be under the original request from April. We were assigned Total Air Care again. On Monday afternoon I had not received a call from them so I called First American asking for contact information. Nobody answered the calls and shortly after I received a text stating that they had attempted to contact me and that our service request would be put on hold until we answered. When I received that text I made a call to Total Air and was able to get someone on the phone. I was told that it was after hours and that they would be in contact with me the following morning first thing. I waited until about two in the afternoon on Tuesday when I began making calls. Noone was truly able to help me and I still had not made an appointment for someone to come to my home.

At this point, it is 80+ degrees in my home. I was unable to find any resolution on Tuesday and was simply passed from person to person. They did give me a temporary relief credit for $100 to purchase fans but that was truly the only help I received. On Wednesday I called around three in the afternoon since I still not heard from the AC company on when they were going to be able to make it out to my home. When I called First American I was on the phone with an individual named Juan which I had given all of our information to.I had made sure he had my phone number in order to get in contact with me if for some reason the call failed or we got disconnected. The call did fail on my way home from work and I never received a call back from him. I called back and attempted to get reconnected and they would not let me so I had to re-explain myself to another individual over the phone which then told me there was nothing they could do. I then asked if we could request another contractor because the one they had assigned us had still had made no attempt to contact me. They gave me a difficult time about it but then allowed me to switch. On Thursday morning I received a call from the new contractor, Rentz Residential. Their earliest appointment wasn’t until the following Wednesday. I understood that this was out of the contractor's control but found that this wait given the heat and circumstances was ridiculous. I called First American again. When I called I explained the situation again to another person explaining to them that by this point it was 85 degrees in my home with a total of 6 fans running. When I told him about the conditions in my home he told me to go purchase an air cooler.

I told him that I had attempted to make a purchase but that I could not find anything less than $300 he then instructed me to go to Walmart and look. The individual was very smart with me on the phone and when asked if I could talk to someone else he told me that I could hang up and call again and hope that I didn't get him. His disrespectful tone and hid dismissive personality made me feel as if I needed to talk to a supervisor. He said he would locate them and then he hung up on me. I refused to spend $300 dollars on something that I would be unable to return for temporary relief. At this point, I decided to take matters into my own hands and began calling heating and air contractors in our area. I was able to find companies that could service our unit as early as the next day. In order to not void our warranty, I did not allow for these contractors to come out without first making sure that First American would cover the cost. On Friday, I began calling First American again. I asked them if there was any way I could use a contractor from our area to come and be covered by them. They told me that I would have to follow various steps in order to do that. The individual (Jessie) I had on the phone was very helpful and began making calls for me in order to see if he could find a contractor that works for them that could come out to my home sooner. He told me had no luck so he was going to pass it on to dispatch and that They would make calls as well. He told me that I would hear back from someone that night about our dilemma. At around nine at night, I received a call saying that dispatch was still making calls and that so far they had no luck. I was told that I was put on their emergency list and that I would hear back from someone in the morning. I was reassured by the individual that I spoke to that if they could not find someone that I could assign my own contractor. Saturday morning they called me and I missed the call. I called back right away and attempted to get in touch with dispatch the individual that called me left me their extension and also sent me an email I called the extension twice and left messages, and also attempted to get directly transferred to him. I even emailed him asking for him to call me back and still have heard nothing. This individuals name was Manuel **.

At this point, I know that I will not be renewing my warranty with First American. Their failure to support customers and find resolutions is absolutely ridiculous. Their $100 dollar relief credit is a joke. It amazes me to believe that I was put on an “emergency” list and I have not been helped or at least checked up on. My house as of last night was 86 degrees. I have pets that stay home during the day and frankly, I am lucky that I have my parents that were willing to take us in while we sorted through this mess. Rentz Residential is scheduled to come to my house at some point tomorrow but with me leaving out of town on Saturday morning I am unsure if the problem will be resolved until I come back from my vacation the second week on June. I have expressed my disappointment with the company to the individuals I have spoken to on the phone and have been tempted to express my disappointment in online reviews. This experience has left me absolutely speechless and frustrated. I am in disbelief that I have spent so much money on a service that has been basically useless.

Elise E.
Fountain Inn, SC
May 19 2019 4:16AM

What a horrible experience. It’s 93 degrees in my area, my AC unit went down since April of 2019. I have a newborn in the house, her skin is very irritated with the heat causing it to have heat bumps all over her body. First time the company send a contractor from North Georgia heat and air company to replace my thermostat, he did a lousy job. Suddenly, my ac unit keeps pushing hot air on top of the 90 degrees instead of cold air. Called the warranty company back, they kept doing the run around with me, still can’t send a contractor to fix the problem. When they would finally call a contractor, who would reach out, that guy called once and said he was coming never showed up. When I called the company back they told me the contractor showed up, no one was home, when my wife have been home since February on maternity leave. Now it is almost end of May, no one ever return to fix the problem, and still continue to wait on the warranty. This company and their lousy contractors need to shut down. I will definitely report them to BBB.

David F.
Ringgold, GA
May 10 2019 6:59PM

If I could give zero stars, I would. Had 3 people come out to look at our unit to bandaid it then when it finally went out, contractor walked away and said he wouldn’t mess with it because last time they didn’t pay him for it. Sat for 4 days without air to be told this. Cannot get ahold of a person who can do something about it. NOT HAPPY. Do yourself a favor and go elsewhere for a home warranty.

Amberlee K.
Knoxville, TN
May 07 2019 8:58PM

Worst warranty company I’ve ever had to deal with. From customer service to contractor choice, they should receive 0 stars!!! Their contractor messed up my plumbing, said it was something entirely different, and now this “warranty company” is denying a new claim on the damage. I’ll be filing with the BBB and making sure no one I know falls for their money trap again.

Kelli C.
Garland, TX
May 04 2019 1:51AM

If I could give 0 stars, I definitely would. Horrible customer service all together. Our AC unit went out within two months of buying our home. They said they denied the claim because it was a pre existing issue when there was no issue there before. When we had our home inspection done, there was absolutely no problems with it. They keep going back and forth with us and we’ve been without answers for three days!! I honestly don’t know how they stay in business. They’re a waste of time and money! We are taking legal action. This is ridiculous.

Megan H.
Rossville, GA
May 02 2019 4:05PM

Worst insurance company ever, I paid the premium insurance $600 for 4 years and I just need then yesterday, a had a problem with the heater and they gave me the option either paid $1300 to fixed or I fixed myself and they will send me a check for $150, unbelievable, I just canceled the insurance. I wish I can give then a 0 star.

Gregoris F.
Houston, TX
May 01 2019 11:49PM

This company belongs on American Greed. DO NOT USE THEY WILL RIP YOU OFF. We always have paid for our home warranty just in case something breaks. Well finally our water heater broke to our dismay and First American Warranty is trying to charge us even though it’s supposed to be covered. What a waste of money.

Eri E.
San Diego, CA
April 30 2019 1:06AM

If I can give 0 stars or angry face emoji faces, I totally would. If you want to waste money, FA is the place. Our AC unit isnt working and they sent out a contractor from Magic Construction, Chris ** just to tell me, my AC isnt working. No shit sherlock. And then he wanted me to sign forms that it was complete. I said, “No. You didn’t do anything to resolve the issue.” When I called FA, customer service rep said that they would have to wait for the report to see what is wrong but that states on their end that the job was complete. FA stated that I would have to call them back for the report because they don’t do outbound calls to see what they will be doing if there is any work that needs to be done. AC still not working and apparently FA is happy to say that they completed their job. Such ** service from FA and Magic Construction.

Pa X.
Clovis, CA
Write Review