Advertising Disclosure

We may earn money from our partners when you click a link, complete a form or call a phone number.

We believe everyone deserves to make thoughtful, informed purchase decisions. As a result, we provide our buyers guides and local guides free for consumers. We may receive compensation from our partners. However, Retirement Living independently researches companies, and the compensation we receive does not affect the analysis of our staff. Retirement Living will not include companies on our guides that do not meet our quality standards. The compensation we receive from our partners may impact how and where companies appear on our site, including the order in which they appear. As an Amazon Associate Retirement Living earns from qualifying purchases.

Retirement Living independently researches companies, and we use editorial discretion to award companies with special recognition (i.e. Great Value) based on our staff's judgment. We do this to help you identify companies that will meet your specific buying needs, and we do not receive compensation for these designations.

Get Insider Access

Get special offers, advice and tips from Retirement Living delivered to your inbox.

First American Home Warranty

4.3 Stars (248 Reviews)
Updated: January 20, 2023
By: Jonathan Trout
Jonathan Trout
Content Manager
Jonathan is a former product and content manager for Retirement Living. His background spans sales/marketing, finance, and telecommunications. Jonathan’s expertise in consumer wellness and research-backed data stories helped educate seniors on financial planning, retirement, and community resources. Jonathan graduated from Oklahoma State University with a B.S. in Environmental Sociology.
Content Manager
Edited by: Jeff Smith
Jeff Smith
Sr. Content Manager
As Retirement Living’s senior content manager, Jeff oversees the product and publishing of all retirement, investing, and consumer wellness content on the site. His extensive expertise in brand messaging and creating data-driven stories helps position Retirement Living as a top authority for senior content and community resources.
Sr. Content Manager

First American Home Warranty is a home warranty company founded in 1984 and is part of the First American family of companies. They offer home warranty service plans to homeowners and real estate professionals ranging in price from $288-$468 per year with service-call fees costing $75-$95.

Editorial Breakdown

Service Quality 4.3 Stars
Affordability 5 Stars
Coverage Area 4.3 Stars
Customer Service 4 Stars

Overall Rating 4.6 Stars

Bottom Line

A First American Home Warranty can be tailored using add-on coverage to fit more specific appliances you may have in your home.

248 First American Home Warranty Reviews

Write Review
1 Star

April 23 2019 5:12PM

I hope people read the reviews here cuz they don't align with the overall rating this web site gives First American. This company contracts with low-quality contractors and gives them an exclusive deal. So when poor quality work is done on your claim they simply refuse to send someone else. FA won't tell you this is how they operate and will instead repeatedly tell you the lousy contractor needs to be given 'another chance'. When the contractor for a garage door repair never returned to finish the job I spent 6 weeks calling FA going in circles. No one at FA ever took control of the situation and followed through to get my claim resolved. I gave up, cancelled my contract and called a handyman to install a $15 part I bought online.

PETER L.
San Antonio, TX
1 Star

April 18 2019 3:27PM

I wish I could give the a BIG ZERO, this is the worst insurance company I have ever had. They charge 75 dollars as soon as the technician comes even though he does not do anything at all. They don't help you with anything when you call, their RUDE, ARROGANT AND UNPROFESSIONAL SUPERVISORS SAY "I CAN'T HELP YOU????" They send the technician from very bad companies who don't do very horrible job So why do they charge money for? This company should be shut down ASAP.

Tis W.
Irvine, CA
2 Stars

April 13 2019 1:20AM

Not happy with service took a week to get contractor to my house. It’s over 3 weeks now and contractor texted me they ordered wrong part. First American Is very bad on the people. They have to do home repairs.

Michael F.
Tehachapi, CA
1 Star

April 05 2019 2:20AM

Sent a vendor who botched install of water heater causing restricted flow in hot water Wouldn’t cover it even though their own vendor creates the problem. Poor customer service confusing rhetoric one day it’s covered the next day it’s not save your money.

Jacques N.
Lompoc, CA
1 Star

April 02 2019 10:24PM

I made sure my plumbing issue would be covered before calling and filing a claim. The first plumber came out and said that my issues wasn’t covered and refused to verify or fix the issue. I called First American Warranty and informed them. They told me they will send another plumber because it is covered. I have been in contact with them since November 2018 when this all happened, still awaiting a plumber to come out. Every time I call I get the run around and no one knows what to do. We are going on four months and my leak, that is COVERED still has yet to be fixed. Horrible customer service and they hire unreliable, very unprofessional companies to do the work. I would not recommend this company to anyone ever again.

Christina V.
University Place, WA
1 Star

March 14 2019 7:52PM

Would never use this warranty again- the worst customer service. Use the worst of the repair companies. Poor response to requests. Cant get through on the phone when you have issues. What a waste of money.

Bina P.
Santa Monica, CA
1 Star

March 06 2019 8:18PM

I would never recommend this company to anyone. I placed a service call for a leak that was leaking downstairs. After waiting on ordered parts, the day the plumbers are scheduled to return, I receive a phone call. They are now telling me that I have an out of pocket expense of 425.00. I then call First American and they tell me they have to do a "pipe modification" and they don't cover that. All I know is that we just bought this house and there is a leak that needs to be fixed!!!! How can you charge someone when this should all be covered!!! Never again when buying a home will I use this company.

Laura W.
Riverside, CA
1 Star

January 30 2019 6:30PM

I was totally taken advantage of. Pricing for "bringing up to code" was exorbitant. I could have gone to Home Depot and saved half - trades should have done less than retail. Very disappointed. Reviewing whether or not to keep warranty service. I have certainly paid for plenty!

Sherrill G.
Austin, TX
2 Stars

January 19 2019 6:18PM

If you have an emergency of no running water with backed up toilets and showers, GOOD LUCK. It happened on a Saturday and they couldn’t find a contractor, AND wouldn’t let us call one of hundreds in our local area who were available and ready to come to our home until 24 hours past! She said it's policy to wait 24 hours for all emergency calls if they can't find a contractor. It's an EMERGENCY and they want you to wait!?!?! We were forced to pay a night at hotel. We had my mom and children visiting. Then I called the next day before 24 hrs we're up to check status and they said oh you can go ahead and call a contractor of your choice as we still have not found one. I asked why hasn't anyone called to tell me this?? I've been waiting for status! How much longer was I going to wait for call? I found a plumber and they came out within 2 hrs on a Sunday. The company is great if you don't have an emergency... I will not renew. Their policy is just wrong. In the end I spoke to probably the best customer service person they have and he helped with processing our reimbursement. It's been a week so I'm still waiting for it in the mail. They will not cover the hotel cost.

Marisol M.
Altadena, CA
5 Stars

January 18 2019 7:44PM

We have been very satisfied with First American. It’s comforting to know when any of my covered items get in trouble I have someone I can depend on. So far I have no complaints. I have had to have service on three occasions and have been very pleased.

Clark B.
Madison, MS