Advertising Disclosure

We may earn money from our partners when you click a link, complete a form or call a phone number.

We believe everyone deserves to make thoughtful, informed purchase decisions. As a result, we provide our buyers guides and local guides free for consumers. We may receive compensation from our partners. However, Retirement Living independently researches companies, and the compensation we receive does not affect the analysis of our staff. Retirement Living will not include companies on our guides that do not meet our quality standards. The compensation we receive from our partners may impact how and where companies appear on our site, including the order in which they appear. As an Amazon Associate Retirement Living earns from qualifying purchases.

Retirement Living independently researches companies, and we use editorial discretion to award companies with special recognition (i.e. Great Value) based on our staff's judgment. We do this to help you identify companies that will meet your specific buying needs, and we do not receive compensation for these designations.

Get Insider Access

Get special offers, advice and tips from Retirement Living delivered to your inbox.

First American Home Warranty

4.3 Stars (248 Reviews)
Updated: January 20, 2023
By: Jonathan Trout
Jonathan Trout
Content Manager
Jonathan is a former product and content manager for Retirement Living. His background spans sales/marketing, finance, and telecommunications. Jonathan’s expertise in consumer wellness and research-backed data stories helped educate seniors on financial planning, retirement, and community resources. Jonathan graduated from Oklahoma State University with a B.S. in Environmental Sociology.
Content Manager
Edited by: Jeff Smith
Jeff Smith
Sr. Content Manager
As Retirement Living’s senior content manager, Jeff oversees the product and publishing of all retirement, investing, and consumer wellness content on the site. His extensive expertise in brand messaging and creating data-driven stories helps position Retirement Living as a top authority for senior content and community resources.
Sr. Content Manager

First American Home Warranty is a home warranty company founded in 1984 and is part of the First American family of companies. They offer home warranty service plans to homeowners and real estate professionals ranging in price from $288-$468 per year with service-call fees costing $75-$95.

Editorial Breakdown

Service Quality 4.3 Stars
Affordability 5 Stars
Coverage Area 4.3 Stars
Customer Service 4 Stars

Overall Rating 4.6 Stars

Bottom Line

A First American Home Warranty can be tailored using add-on coverage to fit more specific appliances you may have in your home.

248 First American Home Warranty Reviews

Write Review
2 Stars

February 07 2021 11:06PM

They have inferior contractors that don't know their job and are told to bandage the procedure, not spend money, leaving the job undone as in my case. Water has leaking all over. When they first started they were excellent. They have become a very poor warranty organization. Be careful.

James F.
Lake Havasu City, AZ
1 Star

February 07 2021 8:19PM

They sent out 2 different companies and their poor service led to the demise of my HVAC. They have yet to reimburse me for the cost of the warranty that I chose to cancel. Just pay somebody to fix your appliance or hvac. They offer warranty on their work.

Kurt A.
Jacksonville, FL
1 Star

February 07 2021 9:17AM

After paying monthly premium for years and not using the service about Christmas time my kitchen drain clogged and started leaking water to the kitchen. After that I’ve called American home warranty to request for service.

Each time you call First American Home Warranty you need to wait in average 30-45 minutes. Long story short after contacting them more than ten times and they sent two different contractors my issue still not resolved and they shows my claim is closed. Very bad experience.

Ali R.
Santa Clarita, CA
3 Stars

February 07 2021 12:36AM

The contractors they use are sub par. I have 4 policies with them and am not impressed with the contractors although I am happy with First American overall.

It is important to do a google search on the contractor and if you don't like what you see, let them know before the contractor comes out.

Dave W.
Costa Mesa, CA
1 Star

January 30 2021 5:03PM

I have been a paying for a over $600 for policy for 5 years now. The electric at my home went out a few days before Christmas due to a problem in my service panel.

The contractor who was assigned never even came to my home to inspect the problem & we were forced to leave my home for several days. After 10 days desperate to be back in my home I had to make the repair myself by replacing the main circuit breaker.

This was a covered issue but American Home Warranty will not pay me back the $273 I laid out for the part needed & refuses to refund the $75 service fee that never happened!

Thomas N.
Cottonwood, AZ
2 Stars

December 09 2020 1:49PM

They had 2 different contractors come to my rental property 4 times for the same problem. After the fifth time they tell me it's due to spiders and rodents clogging the hose. But they told me after the 2nd visit it was the hole and they replaced it.

Now they come with this bull. I asked for proof, and haven't gotten proof yet. I went to the property and there was none. I will be canceling this contract. There is nothing in the contract about rodents.

Customer service has a bad attitude. They talk to you like they are the the irate pissed off customer. I have several properties covered by them. I will be canceling them all!!!

Shivella D.
Memphis, TN
1 Star

November 30 2020 6:07AM

We have been trying to get our dishwasher fixed for over a month now and been getting the run around. This is our second claim and the first time was just as hard. We have talked to several people in management and have gotten nowhere.

Obviously customer service is not their first priority however they have no problem taking our monthly payment.

Esther A.
Temecula, CA
1 Star

November 25 2020 5:19PM

I am a USArmy veteran. My bathroom had some plumbing problems. I filed a claim. An emergency claim. This was on Nov. 20, 2020. They set me up with a Tech. They said Dec. 2nd so I called the company back.

They started giving my the run around saying they would call back. Never did. I called them back again. When I reached them I asked for a supervisor. They kept me on hold for 30mins. The supervisor told me I would have to call a plumber myself and pay for it.

I didn't have any money to pay for the repairs. I asked why I had to call for a plumber myself and pay for it. This is why I pay my insurance every month on time, Then the supervisor hung up on me.

I would NEVER EVER RECOMMEND THIS COMPANY TO ANYONE!! Still not fixed. Don't know when it will be. This is all unacceptable!! Run don't walk away!!

Cassandra B.
Lompoc, CA
1 Star

November 21 2020 3:05PM

-1000 stars! They deserve to be shut down!!! Their customer service representative are in El Salvador! Weeks of frustration trying to get a heater fixed for my rental home. My tenants are freezing and calls for emergency safety help go unanswered...still no help.

Had to call a repair person ourselves. They lie to you and tell you they are going to find a solution and never call you back... Outrageous....Don't, I repeat- Don't use this company!!!!

Catherine G.
Greer, SC
1 Star

November 21 2020 3:01PM

Use substandard techs!!!. Leak in 2 tubs. Told 1st leak normal ''water clearing line.'' 2nd leak -now knob TOO tight to turn. Told not strong enough and due to new seal and will loosen up with time.

But Delta states he just tightened adjustable ring too tight and can cause damage to other parts requiring future plumbing problems. 2nd opinion tech under disciplinary action by CSLB for 8 charges. Refused this plumber.

Now scheduled appt with another plumber that has an ''f'' BBB rating and NOT accredited. CSLB shows this plumber exempt from work. comp. because sole proprietor yet secty. states many companies in no. Calif. and plumber coming from San Jose (FEARFUL OF RESULTS SINCE SAW MANY BAD REVIEWS).

Earlier prob. with stove and tech told me that I looked handy and could rewire stove myself! ''YOULL NEED A LOT OF WIRE.'' Also other mistakes causing grief. DONT USE 1ST AMER UNLESS YOU WANT TO END UP PAYING FOR REPAIRS YOURSELF!!!

Anne M.
San Mateo, CA