Harmony Home Warranty
Caption: Harmony Home Warranty

Harmony Home Warranty Review

Harmony Home Warranty is a New York-based home warranty company founded in 2013. The company provides warranties for major appliances and home systems. Clients include homeowners as well as buyers, sellers and realtors. Some homebuyers request a home warranty as a condition of the sale.

Harmony Home Warranty covers most major home systems and appliances not covered by homeowners insurance or manufacturers’ warranties. The company works with a network of contracted service providers who will come to your home to conduct an assessment and repair. Harmony Home Warranty replaces covered elements that are unrepairable.

We featured Harmony Home Warranty as our Great Add-on pick in our guide to the best home warranties.

Pros
  • Easy sign-up
  • Request service 24 hours a day, 7 days a week
  • Free month of service

Cons
  • Coverage can be confusing due to excluded parts

What Does Harmony Home Warranty Cover?

Harmony Home Warranty offers two different plans depending on what elements you need to be covered. You can also add additional items for a fee. The plans include repair or replacement of specific mechanical components and parts for each of the elements listed in the table.

Elements must be in good working order and regularly maintained to be eligible for coverage. Be sure to check the contract for specifics on how each appliance or system is included in the plan.

Harmony Home Warranty Plans
Inclusions Basic Plan $499/year Total Plan $599/year
Air conditioning system No Yes
Heating system (2 units) No Yes
Refrigerator No Yes
Washer & dryer No Yes
Plumbing system & stoppage Yes Yes
Water heater Yes Yes
Whirlpool bath Yes Yes
Electrical system Yes Yes
Oven Yes Yes
Cooktop / Range Yes Yes
Permanent sump pump Yes Yes
Built-in microwave Yes Yes
Garbage disposal Yes Yes
Trash compactor Yes Yes
Ductwork Yes Yes
Garage door opener Yes Yes
Ceiling exhaust fans Yes Yes

You can also add on additional coverage for elements like a pool/spa, roof leak, central vacuum, septic system and more.

Harmony Home Warranty Cost

Harmony Home Warranty has two annual plans: Basic and Total. The Basic plan is $499 per year, and the Total plan is $599 per year. The company offers various discounts and deals, such as $100 off or a free month of service. Be sure to check the website for current deals.

In addition to the cost of the warranty, Harmony charges a $75 service fee any time you call a service technician to come to your home. You may also have to pay an additional fee to expedite services if you need emergency repairs.

How to Buy a Harmony Home Warranty

To sign up for a plan, you can visit the company’s website or call their toll-free number, and a representative will enroll you. Your coverage begins 30 days after you join and pay for your plan, and lasts for one year after that starting date.

How to Use a Harmony Home Warranty

Requesting service for covered appliances or home systems only requires a phone call. Call Harmony Home Warranty’s toll-free number anytime 24/7 to request service. The representative will contact a service contractor within two to four days. The contractor then gets in touch with you to set up a time to come to your home.

If the work done on an appliance or home system fails, you can call to request another service contractor at no cost within 90 days for parts or 30 days for labor. Keep in mind that you must use a contracted service provider ordered through Harmony Home Warranty. The company does not reimburse fees incurred by using other service providers.

According to the Federal Trade Commission, you should keep a record of conversations and dealings with a home warranty company and any technicians involved. Having these details on hand is helpful in the rare event of a dispute.

Harmony Home Warranty Complaints

Harmony Home Warranty is a relatively new company and does not have many online reviews. However, it does have an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau and a score of 8.1 out of 10 from Top10HomeWarrantyReviews. TheTop10Sites reviews website gives Harmony Home Warranty a 9.2 out of 10 due to its top-rated technicians and free trial.

Harmony Home Warranty Q&A

  • If I have homeowners insurance, do I also need a Harmony Home Warranty?

    Homeowners insurance and home warranties cover different things. Homeowners insurance pays for items damaged in situations like fires, wind and natural disasters. By contrast, a home warranty repairs household appliances and systems that fail as a result of regular use.

  • How do I renew my Harmony Home Warranty plan?

    You can renew your plan each year, though the price may change. You can also opt for a multi-year contract with Harmony Home Warranty to lock in your annual fee.

  • Do I need a home inspection to get a Harmony Home Warranty plan?

    You don’t need a home inspection to qualify for a home warranty, but it may be a good idea. Harmony Home Warranties cover appliances that are properly maintained and in good working order at the time of your contract initiation. This condition is determined in retrospect by the technician on a service call. If the technician says you did not keep the item in good working order or did not maintain it properly, they can deny service.

  • Does a Harmony Home Warranty cover older appliances and systems?

    The age of the appliance or system does not matter. Harmony covers all eligible elements as long as they are properly maintained.

  • Can I cancel my Harmony Home Warranty plan?

    Yes, you can cancel your plan at any time. If you cancel within the first 30 days of your contract, you’ll receive a full refund of contract fees less any service costs covered by Harmony. If you cancel after 30 days, the refund is prorated less a $50 administrative fee and service costs.

Conclusion

A Harmony Home Warranty can give you peace of mind. Be sure to read the contract carefully to determine whether your systems and appliances will be covered as expected. Harmony Home Warranty can help homeowners manage the cost of major repairs.

Harmony Home Warranty Reviews

Recent Reviews

November 18 2020 5:06PM

At least five people from this company called me from various numbers 22 times in two weeks as early as 8:15 in the morning and though I told them I don't need a home warranty and to please take me off their lists, they continued.

I screamed at them, used colorful language, demanded they stop calling me, they continued. I had to block 6 different numbers on my land line to get rid of them. They seem to take advantage of retired people and badger them until they buy some policy.

JoAnn K.
Cinton, WA
November 04 2020 5:40PM

When I signed up with this company I saw a few bad reviews but after reading further into them you can tell they are all from competitors or people trying to scam them. HHW was fairly priced on the total plan and got an email confirmation right away after sign up.

I sent in my first claim and had my ceiling fan fixed within 2 days. I paid the $45 direct to the repairman and HHW followed up with me to see how the repairman was. He was decent. Got the job done. - Nate

Nate S.
Westchester, NY
November 03 2020 4:06PM

The ordering process was completed in less than 7 minutes. Coverage exceeded expectations and pricing was extremely competitive.

I will continue to use Harmony Home Warranty for my future buyer-clients and recommend to my sellers for Seller-coverage and to advertise the Harmony Home Warranty in all advertising to prospective buyers.

Mia K.
Los Angeles, CA
October 26 2020 4:15PM

Harmony Home Warranty is a joke. Real nice when you start up but when you file a claim you will be told that someone will come out, but will never show. Oh they will take your money but no services. Try another home warranty and Run from this one.

Pam R.
Moreno Valley, CA
October 16 2020 7:53PM

10/16/2020 Harmony Home Warranty – The Biggest Scam and Run Around You will Ever Encounter with a Home Warranty – Do Not Enter Into a Contract with these Scammers.

I submitted a claim via the customer portal on October 2, 2020. I received a call the next day from Harmony on my voice mail giving me a number to call to have a plumber scheduled to come to my house.

I called the number that afternoon when I got the message. It was a number to Roto Rooter. I proceeded to tell them I was instructed to call to schedule the plumber. I gave them my name and my claim number from Harmony Home Warranty.

They said they did not know what I was talking about. They also said if they came out I would have to pay the entire bill not just my service fee Harmony had agreed on. I was totally confused and told Roto Rooter there was some sort of a miscommunication. So, I called Harmony back.

They assured me that all I owed was the service fee and that they would take care of it. The next day I got a call from a fellow at Roto Rooter, he said he wanted to know the nature of my problem so he could set up the dispatcher to call me.

I told him, he said a dispatcher would call to set up a plumber. I waited. Tuesday 14 October until Friday 15 October, still no call. I called him back the morning of the 16th.

He said the dispatcher had called my and my voice mail was full, I assured him it was not, he said he would set it up for Friday 16 Oct between 12-and 2 pm. (I checked my voice mail and it was not full not even one.)

NOTE I PUT THE CLAIM IN ON 2 OCTOBER 2020- LEAKING TOILET... The Roto Rooter plumber did show up on 16 Friday October 2020 at 12:45. After examining the toilet he said $235.00 plus parts…. I said, "No, I only owe you the $45 service fee."

He said no. I said, "Let’s call Harmony now." We did. The claims guy said it would have to go under the review process. For the plumber to send an email with the diagnosis attached. They would review in 4 days or so.

The plumber left, gave me a copy of the diagnosis. The plumber said he would submit it to his dispatch and meanwhile I have a leaking toilet. I called Harmony back. The claims person who also said they were the supervisor said they had not received it yet.

So, I uploaded my copy to the portal for them to review. He said it would be 4 days or so. I asked about a refund for my purchase price of the Home Warranty. He said sure he could give a prorated refund. By the time he got thru he said -$75.00.

Of course then I told him to proceed with the 4 day review for fixing my toilet. What a mess this is! I have not even used this warranty.

I paid $450 cash up front for this warranty in advance on 7/6/2020. They told me I had a 30 waiting period and 2 extra free months of service once the contract was under way.

Kathryn F.
Portsmouth, WV
September 25 2020 12:00AM

It is a very bad company. They play a lot scam/fraud. Do not let them get your credit numbers because they will items, "new contract" after many months you disconnected with the company.

The company charged on my credit card without consent. I called company numerous times. The staff told me they have no authority to do anything and promised the manager or claim dept will contact me, but never happen..

Wallace J.
Waterford, CA
September 18 2020 11:11AM

DO NOT PURCHASE ANYTHING FROM THIS SCAM ARTIST!!!! A day after purchasing a plan I tried to call and email them for coverage clarifications. I called 2 phone numbers provided by them, no one answered and no voicemail provisions either.

I then sent 4 emails to TWO different email addresses - NONE were answered. I then sent an email to cancel the contract (within the 3 business days) - Suddenly my phone blew up by company.

I disputed the charge with my credit card company and 1 1/2 months later won the dispute. All done! - Not quite! Here is the kicker - 1 day after winning the dispute- guess who placed another charge onto my card, HHW!

I disputed that new charge- It was not authorized and locked that card down. This company is unreal and MUST be paying someone of @ the BBB for the ratings they have.

Joseph C.
Wading River, NY
September 16 2020 12:28PM

OMG I WISHED I would have read these comments before hiring them as my home warranty. I am in the same boat. Mark Anderson and Kirk sold me on obtaining coverage. This coverage was for my elderly parents. I signed on May 14, 2020.

Last week in Aug 2020 my parents AC malfunctioned. I FINALLY received a claim #1158 on 9/8. Rob and Eli kept telling me before that the Technician NEVER put in the claim. I know the Tech did.

On that same day, I noticed they deducted from my bank acct THREE times in the same day!! I spoke to ROB & ELI on 9/8,9/9,9/10,9/11,9/14, two-three times per day!! They each telling me it will take 24-48hrs for the Claims Dept to make a decision and my money will be returned ASAP.

They will also flag my acct to make it top priority. NO RESPONSE!! On 9/14 ANOTHER deduction was made from my bank acct. I spoke to Eli and he stated that he will credit my acct today. He stated he will speak to Authorization Dept and I must call back Wed.

I asked to speak to someone in Authorization. He said they will not speak to customers....REALLY???

I then called 1-866-984-4422 and spoke to Jordan. She too gave me the same song and dance, she will inform Billing Supervisor and have it corrected and they will call me within 24 hours.

On 9/15 I spoke to Ebony and she TOO gave me the SAME statement Jordan did. I told Ebony that it IS 24 hours later and I have yet received a call from ANYONE!!!

Later on that day I spoke to Abdul. You guessed it, he TOO told me the same thing, that he would forward my info to Billing Supervisor. Each time I asked each Representative they could NEVER give me the Billing Supervisor's contact info.

I asked them WHO are they forwarding my info to? They could not give me an answer. THIS MORNING THEY TOOK ANOTHER PAYMENT OUT!! THIS IS THE 5TH TIME THIS MONTH!!! AAAAAAGGHHHHHH!!! If I could give less than a 1 I would!!!

Susan T.
Savannah, GA
September 11 2020 8:38PM

Do not buy warranties from this company!!! I am a Realtor and bought two. NO SERVICE, won't take care of the claims, send you to VM when you call. Just WANT YOUR MONEY!! Do not buy from this company!! YOU Will be SORRY!!

Debbie N.
Denver, NC
September 10 2020 6:14PM

This warranty company is a scam. They take your money and when you need a service they give you a run around for a couple of weeks and then deny the repair for some excuse.

I made a service request for my fridge 4 weeks ago. After 2 weeks, and after several calls to them, they told me they can not find tech and should find one myself. After I found one in the same day, the tech sent them the repair details and cost.

After another 2 weeks of calling them, they finally tell me they will not fix it. The reason they gave was they need 3 years of service record on the fridge. I only had this fridge for 2 yrs and obviously can not provide 3 yrs of service record. Who services their fridge every year?

In either case, their contract does not require a service record anyway, and still, they deny the repair. Please read all reviews on this company before you buy a warranty from them. Looks like a lot of people had the same problems as me.

Unfortunately, I did not do my homework before buying from them... They do not even give me a refund for service call or my contract... Total SCAM.

Shahin T.
Reno, NV
Write Review