Advertising Disclosure

We may earn money from our partners when you click a link, complete a form or call a phone number.

We believe everyone deserves to make thoughtful, informed purchase decisions. As a result, we provide our buyers guides and local guides free for consumers. We may receive compensation from our partners. However, Retirement Living independently researches companies, and the compensation we receive does not affect the analysis of our staff. Retirement Living will not include companies on our guides that do not meet our quality standards. The compensation we receive from our partners may impact how and where companies appear on our site, including the order in which they appear. As an Amazon Associate Retirement Living earns from qualifying purchases.

Retirement Living independently researches companies, and we use editorial discretion to award companies with special recognition (i.e. Great Value) based on our staff's judgment. We do this to help you identify companies that will meet your specific buying needs, and we do not receive compensation for these designations.

Get Insider Access

Get special offers, advice and tips from Retirement Living delivered to your inbox.

Inogen Portable Oxygen Concentrators

4.55 Stars (118 Reviews)
Updated: January 19, 2023
By: Jonathan Trout
Jonathan Trout
Content Manager
Jonathan is a former product and content manager for Retirement Living. His background spans sales/marketing, finance, and telecommunications. Jonathan’s expertise in consumer wellness and research-backed data stories helped educate seniors on financial planning, retirement, and community resources. Jonathan graduated from Oklahoma State University with a B.S. in Environmental Sociology.
Content Manager
Edited by: Lauren Hamer
Lauren Hamer
Editor
Lauren is the editor for Retirement Living focused on discussing current senior-related issues, including retirement planning, consumer protection, and health and wellness. With six years of finance and career journalism experience, Lauren has edited personal finance content for Credible, Angi, Slickdeals, Jobs for the Future, and more.
Editor

Inogen has been providing small, light and tankless portable oxygen concentrators to consumers for the past 15 years. The company was founded in 2001 to give those on oxygen therapy greater freedom and independence.

Editorial Breakdown

Price 4.8 Stars
Flow Settings 4.8 Stars
Battery Life 4.3 Stars
Customer Service 4.5 Stars

Overall Rating 4.6 Stars

Bottom Line

Inogen designs and sells oxygen concentrators including two models of portable oxygen concentrators – G4 and G3 systems – and one in-home oxygen concentrator. All Inogen oxygen concentrators meet FAA standards.

118 Inogen Reviews

Write Review
4 Stars

May 20 2021 7:48PM

Good when out shopping or walking, no tanks to carry or drag the large ones. Quiet operation. Adjustable oxygen levels. But need to have a better way of attaching nose hose to tank so it doesn't bend. I have juryrigged a system but should be part of the oxygen machine.

Judy D.
Pahrump, NV
5 Stars

May 20 2021 7:44PM

Love it but have one concern....I need a humidifier hooked up to it badly....my nose is getting all stuffed up during the night & it is keeping me awake...there needs to be some sort of moisture & I can't find any place to hook it up...please look into this & get back to me. Thank you Sandy.

Sandra C.
Montrose, CO
5 Stars

May 20 2021 7:25PM

Inogen is a life changer!! I recently retired; and this gives me the freedom to travel, and still be able to do things I couldn’t have done before without it!! Today I went with my daughter in law to a nursery to buy flowers to plant. I couldn’t have done that before. Thank you Inogen!!

Martha Peterman P.
FREDERICKTOWN, MO
5 Stars

May 20 2021 7:16PM

It has made life so much easier. I would recommend it to anyone. It works wonderfully, absolutely letting you do more activities. It means FREEDOM.

I had been using the old liquid tanks for years, now I'm able to get out without dragging around the heavy old tanks, thanks to INOGEN I'm free.

Dean S.
Burley, ID
2 Stars

May 20 2021 7:07PM

Can not get through online. Always extremely long wait times. Keep getting emails and calls for returning something but no details. Told to call back but again extremely long wait times.

I have a portable system I paid for and I tried to send emails that I am not sending back my paid for machine.

Janet J.
Las Vegas, NV
5 Stars

May 20 2021 6:53PM

Equipment dependable, quiet and easy to carry for my husband. He passed away February 19, 2021. Thanks for all of your support. He was very pleased with his Inogen equipment and I would recommend this product to anyone who need to be mobile and needs portable oxygen.

Rilla B.
Nashville, TN
4 Stars

May 20 2021 6:52PM

Having the flexibility/mobility of the oxygen is priceless. However, the batteries are a problem - I'm only getting two and a half hours out of a double battery fully charged.

Have tried five batteries in three different machines and cannot get the advertised four and a half hours from any of them - company has been alright about sending me batteries for trying but none have given the length of time suggested. Last time I called the company they didn't return my call.

Valerie M.
San Diego, CA
5 Stars

May 20 2021 6:51PM

Great customer service. Could use higher ox output. I would buy again. The machine could have ox stepped up to 6 or 7 lit output and be a bit lighter in weight. The tech Guy I spoke with was very helpful and got everything going for me. Thanks, Bob **.

Robert E.
Reading, PA
4 Stars

May 20 2021 6:49PM

The Inogen is a life saver. The only problem I have with it is that the oxygen cord crimps and my husband can’t get the oxygen he needs so dearly.

You can’t sit in a chair with the back pack and the Inogen on. If you do the Inogen will overheat and turn off. Once again you will not get any oxygen. Other than that the Inogen is fantastic!

Jack H.
Carleton, MI
4 Stars

May 20 2021 6:46PM

It has been great working with this company. I have enjoyed the liberty of being able to walk about 1-1/2 miles and not have to worry about running out of oxygen. I do have a question, though - how do we know when our batteries need replaced??

Leonard B.
Coraopolis, PA