Sears Home Warranty Reviews Page 16

Recent Reviews

July 02 2020 6:09PM

This is a very bad warranty. It took 5 visits over the course of 2 months to fix my dryer. When my fridge broke they used contradictory terms in the contract to not cover the repair. For example, they fix wiring but dont fix door cables. If they cannot fix your appliance they most certainly will not replace it. Find a different company!

PIERRE F.
Bonney Lake, WA
July 01 2020 11:29PM

I have dealt with them for almost 2 months trying to get my dryer fixed... Now they send a "tech" again to look at it and he shorts out a circuit board and now it doesn't work at all... Also, I had them send A&E for my microwave... The tech messed up the door and put in for a replacement... Sears does not cover doors... Wait... WTF? You broke it... Days trying to get through to the claims agent and nothing... No call backs... Finally got a letter in the mail saying that they have been trying to call and can't get through... My head almost exploded!

Dave Q.
New Castle, PA
July 01 2020 6:22PM

My Kenmore refrigerator stopped working after three years. This is a $1500 refrigerator with a water and ice maker. The icemaker froze up and stopped working. And after several months and several frustrating phone calls and visits by technicians who canceled and rescheduled and canceled and rescheduled over and over again, I was finally told that the water and icemaker was not repairable.

I expected to have a replacement as I stated in the warranty. However after another few months My Kenmore refrigerator stopped working after three years. This is a $1500 refrigerator with a water and icemaker. The icemaker froze up and stopped working. And after several months and several frustrating phone calls and visits by technicians who canceled and rescheduled and canceled and rescheduled over and over again, I was finally told that the water and icemaker was not repairable.

I expected to have a replacement as it stated in the warranty. However after another few months In several more phone calls, I was told that the warranty does not cover the icemaker because it was a “manufactures defect“… I reported this to corporate to no avail… I made numerous telephone calls to various departments within Sears.

I kept getting the runaround and was told in a rude fashion that they were not going to cover a replacement because of the manufactures defect. This is total bull crap! I finally gave up… Which is what they plan on having happen anyway. They want to wear you out so that you don’t pursue any further…

I reported this to a local news station and they were going to do a story on it but then change their mind because sears filed bankruptcy. They said they had already done numerous stories on Sears warranty dissatisfaction… How can anyone write an article like the one I just read in good conscience… They are shysters and dishonorable and unreputable. The warranty packet that I received when I got the initial coverage, sounds so wonderful!

However, when you finally file a claim, it becomes a disastrous and frustrating chase! Someone needs to do something about the way they rip people off… I would never purchase anything from Sears ever again…

Lois S.
Methuen, MA
July 01 2020 5:53PM

Cook stove went out in March. Finally got a tech out April 16. Determined it was not working. Demanded $100 deductible. Have had 3 appointments for 1-5. First was 50 minutes late, second was no show. Third was 2 1/2 hours late! Stove still not fixed. Supposedly replaced parts but have had another tech out who checked and old parts were not replaced.

After over 50 hours trying to make customer service understand the first tech was told to come back out but was demanding another $100. I filed a complaint with my states Attorney General’s office. They are pursuing the complaint for me. The AG office also told me that because I am a senior citizen the penalties will be stiffer! I suggest everyone file with their state’s AG.

Jan R.
Pangburn, AR
June 30 2020 8:12PM

This has been a total nightmare. I called to get a washer fixed that I purchased from sears 8 years ago.. As of now I am without a washer for over a month. It took a while to get the first appointment.. They came and said it needed a whole new computer... Ordered. It took almost two weeks to come. Only to say the part we need, just like we tried to tell the first guy was a lock switch which of course was never ordered/ call after call after call with no one knowing what is going on.

Today they said their was no part on order??? I was told monday it would take one to two days... Well now I am waiting for yet another person to call me back to tell me where the part is and can you just fix the washer!!!! BUYER BEWARE! SO SORRY I CALLED THEM!

Teresa R.
Harrisburg, PA
June 30 2020 4:40PM

We have had someone come out SIX times to try and repair our fridge, Friday will be the SEVENTH time. Each time it takes 1-2 weeks to get someone out here, we have waited 3 weeks before. I can never get someone higher up to talk to, nobody local to talk to. We have lost hundreds of dollars in food, every time they come out they say it's fixed then it gets warm again.

I tried to get someone out within a couple of days (you would think if I had someone coming out for the SEVENTH time they would get someone out here), they couldn't do it. I asked to speak to a manager, the person I talked to said one would call me within the hour.... Well it's been 28 hours now.... no call. So frustrated with this company.

Emily A.
Lexington, KY
June 30 2020 4:31PM

Absolute trash! Please don’t get this home warranty anyone who really needs it or does not have money to throw down the drain! I wasted my money with the monthly payment and the $129 it cost to “fix” my 70 year old mothers washer. They absolutely made fun of her and me.

They didn’t do a good job the first time they sent the repairman, they made us waste two more weeks prior to the one where the repairman actually came and finally they outright laughed it off. The second time no repair man showed up the appointment was from 10-12. We got a text at 4 saying the repair man was at our home and we missed him!?

We had been waiting all day long! No one showed up!! I called multiple time trying to see why he was not at our home between the appointment time! I called at one then at three later at four and still nothing! The terrible representative was telling me that the repair man was on his way and was just caught up with another cometer.
Over and over again.

I called five times, the last one being at five. Finally a woman who I assume got tired of the joke told me in a very rude “I’m tired of you” tone it’s five he’s not coming. When I tried to tell her my situation and what was going on she told me I would have to speak to someone else. She immediately transferred me to someone else, three minutes into the call and then they hung up.

This was done every time after I called back. No one would talk to me anymore and when again, a woman who I assume who got tired finally decided to talk to me. All she said was I would have to reschedule. To me they are thief’s and liars taking advantage of their customers just to have a nice laugh. I canceled my subscription immediately neither my mother nor I will be using this home warranty again!~ I couldn’t be happier and she gets a new washer and dryer, plus a better home warranty. My only regret is that I didn’t see all the one star reviews earlier.

Maria D.
Louisville, KY
June 29 2020 4:03PM

Got transferred 5 count em “5” times, (on hold as we speak) to check on the status of a reimbursement check that was supposed to be given to me after I had set up an appointment for a tech to come check out my washer at my house. As it goes the tech came out on the 23rd of June, told me that the washer would not be able to be fixed and still charged me $100! A complete dumpster fire! The customer service techs always seem to have POOR PHONE CONNECTION!!! Reason for the high rating is because there are no options for a negative star! Avoid these guys like COVID-19 at all costs!!!!!!!

Robert D.
San Antonio, TX
June 26 2020 6:24PM

My first claim for a broken dishwasher was 3 months ago. The first technician came out 4 times over almost two months and never fixed the dishwasher. Then I had to schedule another appointment and it opened a second claim with a new technician. He was great but it took 4 more visits to finally get the dishwasher fixed.

Every time I spoke to the warranty service on the phone, I would be transferred to multiple different individuals/departments because all said that wasn't their area. So I would be on the phone for a minimum of 1 hour each time (7 times). This is definitely the WORST service I have had!!!!

It costs almost $40 a month for this service and then a $75 deductible for each claim. I have definitely paid way more money to then than I have received and you would have thought that after the first 4 technician visits and it still not have been fixed, they would have just issued a replacement. But no! They make us go through 8 appointments over a 3 month span with hours on the phone scheduling appointments and staying home for 4 hours at a time when the technician was to be here.

So 8x4=32 hours without work to be here for the technician and 7 hours on the phone is a total of 39 hours of pay they should owe me and a new dishwasher. This company is the WORST with service, reliability, high cost, and customer service. I wouldn't recommend them to anyone!

Jon P.
Cleburne, TX
June 26 2020 12:52AM

We purchased the extended warranty when we bought our microwave. Our microwave went out 3 weeks ago. The service was scheduled then canceled then re-scheduled and canceled finally got a tech out to check the microwave, but had to order the parts and now Sears is not letting the repair center know if the part are or are not available.

I called the home service back. Got someone who couldn't speak understandable English. She supposedly transferred me to customer service but I was cut off 2 more times and same thing called again and was transferred to a number that said the office was closed. I am going to file a claim with the better business.

Mae R.
MILLERS CREEK, NC
Write Review