Sears Home Warranty Reviews Page 16

Recent Reviews

July 07 2020 12:58AM

If I could choose 0 stars I would. This is the worst I've seen with Sears. I paid for warranty for my hot water heater and it's been leaking now for over 1 week and keeps flooding the basement even though I have a hose connected to drain the water.

It took 5 days for a tech to come out to confirm the unit needs to be replaced but can't get an answer on replacement. If I add the hours I've been on hold all day waiting to get an answer on when the unit will be replaced it's over 7 hrs.

I'm on hold now for 2hrs 30 mins with recording saying "we appreciate your patience". Each time I get transferred to someone they transfer me to a different depts like a game or passing the ball. People have more precious things to do with time than to be waiting on hold to get answers.

Don't waste your time and money. I could have saved the money I spent over the years and gotten a replacement already. It's a very frustrating and painful experience especially during this covid season.

Emma W.
Brooklyn, NY
July 06 2020 5:44PM

We have had 5 service calls in a year on our Samsung refrigerator. We just keep trying different parts and nothing fixes it! I have pitched food three times. It completely stopped working again.

They changed their policy. Will not replace the unit like our original policy said. Now there are conditions in place to prevent this option. Do not purchase from this warranty company.

Karen K.
Independence, KY
July 02 2020 6:11PM

This is the worst service I have ever encountered. Have a Kenmore (Sears Brand) refrigerator that has broken down the same way five times. Every time it gets "fixed" we lose a substantial amount of food and are without a fridge on average over a month. I have had multiple service appointments cancelled day of or not show, causing a reschedule between 2 and 3 weeks later.

If you try to call, you will be on hold at least 30 minutes to speak with someone and if you have any problem they will forward you to someone else that can "help" you all to wait another 30 minutes per forward. The different departments also blame each other for difficulties and state the other group has the authority to make decisions, ultimately having no one capable of making one. DON'T SIGN UP!!!

Eric M.
Carlsbad, CA
July 02 2020 6:09PM

This is a very bad warranty. It took 5 visits over the course of 2 months to fix my dryer. When my fridge broke they used contradictory terms in the contract to not cover the repair. For example, they fix wiring but dont fix door cables. If they cannot fix your appliance they most certainly will not replace it. Find a different company!

PIERRE F.
Bonney Lake, WA
July 01 2020 11:29PM

I have dealt with them for almost 2 months trying to get my dryer fixed... Now they send a "tech" again to look at it and he shorts out a circuit board and now it doesn't work at all... Also, I had them send A&E for my microwave... The tech messed up the door and put in for a replacement... Sears does not cover doors... Wait... WTF? You broke it... Days trying to get through to the claims agent and nothing... No call backs... Finally got a letter in the mail saying that they have been trying to call and can't get through... My head almost exploded!

Dave Q.
New Castle, PA
July 01 2020 6:22PM

My Kenmore refrigerator stopped working after three years. This is a $1500 refrigerator with a water and ice maker. The icemaker froze up and stopped working. And after several months and several frustrating phone calls and visits by technicians who canceled and rescheduled and canceled and rescheduled over and over again, I was finally told that the water and icemaker was not repairable.

I expected to have a replacement as I stated in the warranty. However after another few months My Kenmore refrigerator stopped working after three years. This is a $1500 refrigerator with a water and icemaker. The icemaker froze up and stopped working. And after several months and several frustrating phone calls and visits by technicians who canceled and rescheduled and canceled and rescheduled over and over again, I was finally told that the water and icemaker was not repairable.

I expected to have a replacement as it stated in the warranty. However after another few months In several more phone calls, I was told that the warranty does not cover the icemaker because it was a “manufactures defect“… I reported this to corporate to no avail… I made numerous telephone calls to various departments within Sears.

I kept getting the runaround and was told in a rude fashion that they were not going to cover a replacement because of the manufactures defect. This is total bull crap! I finally gave up… Which is what they plan on having happen anyway. They want to wear you out so that you don’t pursue any further…

I reported this to a local news station and they were going to do a story on it but then change their mind because sears filed bankruptcy. They said they had already done numerous stories on Sears warranty dissatisfaction… How can anyone write an article like the one I just read in good conscience… They are shysters and dishonorable and unreputable. The warranty packet that I received when I got the initial coverage, sounds so wonderful!

However, when you finally file a claim, it becomes a disastrous and frustrating chase! Someone needs to do something about the way they rip people off… I would never purchase anything from Sears ever again…

Lois S.
Methuen, MA
July 01 2020 5:53PM

Cook stove went out in March. Finally got a tech out April 16. Determined it was not working. Demanded $100 deductible. Have had 3 appointments for 1-5. First was 50 minutes late, second was no show. Third was 2 1/2 hours late! Stove still not fixed. Supposedly replaced parts but have had another tech out who checked and old parts were not replaced.

After over 50 hours trying to make customer service understand the first tech was told to come back out but was demanding another $100. I filed a complaint with my states Attorney General’s office. They are pursuing the complaint for me. The AG office also told me that because I am a senior citizen the penalties will be stiffer! I suggest everyone file with their state’s AG.

Jan R.
Pangburn, AR
June 30 2020 8:12PM

This has been a total nightmare. I called to get a washer fixed that I purchased from sears 8 years ago.. As of now I am without a washer for over a month. It took a while to get the first appointment.. They came and said it needed a whole new computer... Ordered. It took almost two weeks to come. Only to say the part we need, just like we tried to tell the first guy was a lock switch which of course was never ordered/ call after call after call with no one knowing what is going on.

Today they said their was no part on order??? I was told monday it would take one to two days... Well now I am waiting for yet another person to call me back to tell me where the part is and can you just fix the washer!!!! BUYER BEWARE! SO SORRY I CALLED THEM!

Teresa R.
Harrisburg, PA
June 30 2020 4:40PM

We have had someone come out SIX times to try and repair our fridge, Friday will be the SEVENTH time. Each time it takes 1-2 weeks to get someone out here, we have waited 3 weeks before. I can never get someone higher up to talk to, nobody local to talk to. We have lost hundreds of dollars in food, every time they come out they say it's fixed then it gets warm again.

I tried to get someone out within a couple of days (you would think if I had someone coming out for the SEVENTH time they would get someone out here), they couldn't do it. I asked to speak to a manager, the person I talked to said one would call me within the hour.... Well it's been 28 hours now.... no call. So frustrated with this company.

Emily A.
Lexington, KY
June 30 2020 4:31PM

Absolute trash! Please don’t get this home warranty anyone who really needs it or does not have money to throw down the drain! I wasted my money with the monthly payment and the $129 it cost to “fix” my 70 year old mothers washer. They absolutely made fun of her and me.

They didn’t do a good job the first time they sent the repairman, they made us waste two more weeks prior to the one where the repairman actually came and finally they outright laughed it off. The second time no repair man showed up the appointment was from 10-12. We got a text at 4 saying the repair man was at our home and we missed him!?

We had been waiting all day long! No one showed up!! I called multiple time trying to see why he was not at our home between the appointment time! I called at one then at three later at four and still nothing! The terrible representative was telling me that the repair man was on his way and was just caught up with another cometer.
Over and over again.

I called five times, the last one being at five. Finally a woman who I assume got tired of the joke told me in a very rude “I’m tired of you” tone it’s five he’s not coming. When I tried to tell her my situation and what was going on she told me I would have to speak to someone else. She immediately transferred me to someone else, three minutes into the call and then they hung up.

This was done every time after I called back. No one would talk to me anymore and when again, a woman who I assume who got tired finally decided to talk to me. All she said was I would have to reschedule. To me they are thief’s and liars taking advantage of their customers just to have a nice laugh. I canceled my subscription immediately neither my mother nor I will be using this home warranty again!~ I couldn’t be happier and she gets a new washer and dryer, plus a better home warranty. My only regret is that I didn’t see all the one star reviews earlier.

Maria D.
Louisville, KY
Write Review