Sears Home Warranty Reviews Page 17

Recent Reviews

June 08 2020 8:02PM

Buyer Beware - This warranty policy will not live up to its promises. 9 months and 5 technician visits later and they still think the refrigerator is repairable. Not to mention it takes between 4-6 weeks to get a technician to come for a visit and normally 2 more weeks before they show up for the repair. Do yourself a favor and find someone else to steal your money. There is a reason why Sears is out of business. Wish I had read the reviews before I bought into this SCAM.

Mike H.
Johnston, IA
June 05 2020 1:16PM

On June 4, 2020 a pipe burst under our kitchen sink. We immediately turned the main water valve off. I immediately called Sears Whole Home Warranty. First of all you cannot speak to a real person and when I finally got through it was a woman with very bad English who I could not understand!

After asking to talk to someone I could understand another woman with a language barrier comes on. At this point I am in a panic! After going back and forth with her I finally got my point across. She said a plumber would call us in an hour. In the meantime my husband and I tried to take care of the situation ourselves. And I would add that my husband is 84 and I am in my late 70’s!

After two hours I tried to get in touch with them again only to be told that a plumber was not coming! Therefore we had to find a plumber ourselves and a remediation company to come in and help us. The water went down into our family room and office damaging the kitchen floor,the ceiling down stairs has to be replaced. There is also damage to many irreplaceable family photos. Our tv, vcr, surround sound system,stereo and speakers and many other valuables have been ruined! As of now (9:15 Friday the fifth) we are still waiting for a plumber to come in and fix the problem.

Audrey U.
Nashua, NH
June 04 2020 11:32PM

This is the ABSOLUTE WORST home warranty service I've ever dealt with. Sears Home Warranty has only been good at deducting my monthly fee to use their services. I previously used their services for two real estate properties for over a year and never had any serious issues in either home where I needed to use their service.

I used them for a plumbing and refrigerator issue at one property and a garage door issue at the other property. It was always an issue placing a claim as most of the customer service representatives do not speak English - resulting in prolonged calls to make sure the issue was notated properly.

The final straw was an AC/Heating combo unit that needed either a repair or replacement. The issue was first diagnosed by their so-called preventative maintenance service on April 24, 2020 and as of today, as I'm writing this review, it still has not been resolved.

They've sent vendor after vendor to diagnose, repair and finally gave authorization to have the unit replaced - only to find out that none of the vendors they use can work on the type of unit currently installed.

I finally cancelled both contracts because I can't seem to get them to do the work. I pay the on time every month, but can't get my AC/Heating unit serviced. My claim was escalated to a case manager, I called and several messages to speak with a supervisor and NEVER received a return call. I DO NOT recommend anyone to use this company as the level of service they provide is TERRIBLE. BEWARE - this company carries the Sears Brand, but they are not reliable in the least.

Chandra C.
Pickerington, OH
June 04 2020 6:55PM

I have had Sears Homes for over 5 years. At one time the service was great but over the past year it has been TERRIBLE !!! I have had 2 no shows and three appointments canceled and one of the there didnt even notify me another they notified me the day before they were to show up. I have take 3 days off of work and waited on them two no shows and one I didn't read the email from the evening before that the 3rd party service provided had canceled.

The reason the email had not been read was because the return address was "ROBOT". My dish washer has been Down for 2 months and I still cant get an appointment... the worst service I have ever had!!!! don't waste your time and money!!!!

Timothy H.
Buckhannon, WV
June 04 2020 6:10PM

Stay away from this company. I have been with the, since 2017. In March 2020 my refrigerator stopped cooling. The first technician came and said the compressor needed to be replaced. He ordered one and came back on 4/01,2020 to replace. It cooled less than 24 hours. I called for another claim and had to wait for a week for someone to come. The 2nd technician said there was oil in the lines and It would not hold Freon. He said it could not be fixed and someone would be in touch with me. Of course, I did not receive a call. I started calling different numbers on my warranty. I was hung up on, given other numbers to call and given the run around.

Finally I spoke to someone who told me the first technician had ruined the refrigerator when he installed the compressor. She gave me a number to call and said the liability company on the technician was responsible. I called and she told me she would research and get back with me. She has not.

I called my charge card company and told them to stop further payments. I have no intentions in paying them another month. My contract states if they cannot repair they will replace. Here it is June 4th and I have heard nothing from anyone. This is not Sears as we have known. This is a dishonest company and you need to read all of their reviews, I wish I had. Sears is bankrupt and no longer the owner of Sears Home Warranty. My refrigerator cost over $2,000.00 to replace so it was a nice one for them to destroy and then walk away. I got the feeling I was dealing with three different companies. The warranty company, the technicians and the liability.

Carolyn W.
Cumming, GA
June 02 2020 9:42PM

Warning, beware of this awful plan. I purchased the Sears Home Warranty Plan for $49.99 a month. I submitted a claim and they charge you an additional $75.00 for every claim that is undisclosed when you sign up. Then I filed a claim to get my washer fixed and sears plus the service tech called and texted to confirm I was home.

I called back the repair tech and left a message as instructed and a text message to sears and the tech that I was home all day. I took the day off from work for the appointment and the tech didn’t want to come to the appointment and cancels. I was very upset and called sears back. They gave me the name and number of another third party and they didn’t answer the phone or call me back or text back. I’m stuck paying for a warranty and can’t get my washer fixed. Worst service I have ever experienced in my life. Don’t purchase this plan. It’s a scam.

Laurie P.
Enfield, CT
June 01 2020 9:33PM

Well this just sucks, I would give a lower score (on this call) if available likely 1/2 star. I did have 1 good experience with them. NOT THE ONE I AM DESCRIBING BELOW...

Lets start on this long story which I will make as brief as I can as the topic irritates me greatly. About a year ago our Kenmore front loading washer had a problem (it had given up the ghost) Sears had done a resonable job up to the time it was condemend. Techs were polite and clean but past that useless as it applies to the balance of this story. After a couple of weeks of "trying to fix it" it was condemned and we were told we would be getting a new washer, After about 1.5 weeks we still had not heard about our new washer.

I was told it was with the "selection people" and it was their job to find one with the same features and functions as the one we had. I specifically stated we did not need all of the bells and whistles.

Another week goes by, another call to them "oh your should have recieved an email on which one we selected for you to approve. I told them I did not recieve any such email. A couple of days later the email showed up. They selected a GE washer with far more features than we needed or really wanted. I approved it, it took a couple of weeks but they delivered and installed it.

Things were fine for about a year, about 6 weeks ago it had an issue, not yet recoved from the last experience, I read the manual and tried all of the suggestions in the troubleshooting guide consulted the WEB and finally had to call Sears.

They showed up, condemned the control board, ordered the parts to be delivered to our home and set the return visit for 3 weeks in the future but said "if the part arrives early, call and we wiill move the service date up. Parts arrived in 5 business days. We called, they had a tech scheduled to arrive 5 days later (counting weekend days).

Tech arrives, parts are damaged, need to reorder, same approximate timeing experianced with the previous odered parts. Parts arrive, new tech comes out and discovers that the first tech diagnosed the issue incorrectly, it is not the control board, have to order more parts. This time no comment on the parts, had to call (today 6 days later) to ask what was happening, "oh your parts were ordered on 5/27".

My wife had called the "Automated help line" to inquire about the new schedule. "We will call you when the parts arrive." I called, waited about 40 min to talk to a human, explained the story and he said the parts should arrive this week, call when they do or followup with him if they don't. So my wife left for the laundromat, during COVID, very upset. We understand the need to order parts but this run around is an perfect example of very poor customer service.

Mathew G.
Tracy, CA
May 26 2020 6:19PM

After being on hold for 135 minutes, a recording gave me an appointment for eight days out. With water leaking from the refrigerator I could not wait that long. I cancelled the repair call. Then tried to cancel our policy and felt like I was being harassed. Terrible customer service.

Pamela E.
Whites Creek, TN
May 21 2020 11:05PM

I purchased a whole house plan at $69.95/mo. So far paid them for over a 14 months $980.00. First claim for 4 year old fridge that is leaking. Their technician cant fix it and recommended placement in front of me (an act BTW). Their brochures state if they cannot fix it, they will replace. Ah, read the fine print as they can deem the issue structural and then walk away. 2 Technician visits and a half witted tape job is all I got. Oh, and in the process of assessing the issue the second time, their technician put a hole in the back of the unit with a screwdriver and then charged me $100 more for the call.

In all I have spent $1,180 and received nothing. Could have purchased a new unit with a few hundred bucks more. Bottom line, Sears Home Warranty misrepresents their coverage, fails in their service and leaves you with nothing but a mess. They are a basically dishonest unethical company that you should avoid. This company is part of the morally and eventually bankrupt TransformCo, LLC (headed by Eddie Lampert) a hedge fund guy / Warren Buffet "never be" who took the Sears Brand, dismantled and destroyed it.

John H.
Columbus, OH
May 20 2020 7:35PM

Caveat emptor. "buyer beware". Sears Warranty in my state i(TX) is insured by HomeSure of America (Fr. Lauderdale) so my experience may vary depending on your state. My high-end Kenmore Elite combo Microwave-Convection Oven-range hood could not be repaired.

After 10 days I finally accepted a replacement that was not really satisfactory because I just got tired fighting on the phone with the various groups (customer service, "research" and warranty replacement) in a run around, some calls taking over 55 minutes (not counting being dropped on a prior call after 22 min). They offered me different options every time after I explained that the replacements did not provide the "same primary function" as my existing broken device. (The offers lacked a convection oven.)

Each offer was an improvement over the prior offer, but still lacked a convection oven. The option was a cash settlement and I could go get whatever I wanted. The cash offer (under $400), however, did not provide installation under warranty so I would have to pay that. (Installation can cost from $130 - 200 in my area).

The cash option was unsatisfactory. So, having a high-end microwave was a challenge to them and they did not perform satisfactorily, nor to the terms of the warranty contract since they did not provide a microwave combo that had the same primary function.

Another irritating issue was that on several of the calls, the phone lines had static and echoes and often was difficult to communicate - this happened to several of the people I was transferred to and I was using a land line, so the problem was on their end. I estimate that I spoke to 15 or so people over the course many calls during the 10 day period.

On the other hand, the folks in customer service were courteous and were willing to help, but if you need replacement, they can only read what the "research group:" or the "warranty for replacement" group enters into their system. In all the folks I spoke to, I think I was only able to speak to someone in the research group once and he told me to write an email about why the first offer was not satisfactory.

I wrote that email and got a response 5 days later saying they would review and get back to me, which they did not do. Finally, a kitchen without a microwave had three adults mad at me for not getting the thing fixed or replaced. To preserve domestic tranquility I accepted their offer, just to move things along.

Bill N.
Dickinson, TX
Write Review