Sears Home Warranty Reviews Page 19

Recent Reviews

May 26 2020 6:19PM

After being on hold for 135 minutes, a recording gave me an appointment for eight days out. With water leaking from the refrigerator I could not wait that long. I cancelled the repair call. Then tried to cancel our policy and felt like I was being harassed. Terrible customer service.

Pamela E.
Whites Creek, TN
May 21 2020 11:05PM

I purchased a whole house plan at $69.95/mo. So far paid them for over a 14 months $980.00. First claim for 4 year old fridge that is leaking. Their technician cant fix it and recommended placement in front of me (an act BTW). Their brochures state if they cannot fix it, they will replace. Ah, read the fine print as they can deem the issue structural and then walk away. 2 Technician visits and a half witted tape job is all I got. Oh, and in the process of assessing the issue the second time, their technician put a hole in the back of the unit with a screwdriver and then charged me $100 more for the call.

In all I have spent $1,180 and received nothing. Could have purchased a new unit with a few hundred bucks more. Bottom line, Sears Home Warranty misrepresents their coverage, fails in their service and leaves you with nothing but a mess. They are a basically dishonest unethical company that you should avoid. This company is part of the morally and eventually bankrupt TransformCo, LLC (headed by Eddie Lampert) a hedge fund guy / Warren Buffet "never be" who took the Sears Brand, dismantled and destroyed it.

John H.
Columbus, OH
May 20 2020 7:35PM

Caveat emptor. "buyer beware". Sears Warranty in my state i(TX) is insured by HomeSure of America (Fr. Lauderdale) so my experience may vary depending on your state. My high-end Kenmore Elite combo Microwave-Convection Oven-range hood could not be repaired.

After 10 days I finally accepted a replacement that was not really satisfactory because I just got tired fighting on the phone with the various groups (customer service, "research" and warranty replacement) in a run around, some calls taking over 55 minutes (not counting being dropped on a prior call after 22 min). They offered me different options every time after I explained that the replacements did not provide the "same primary function" as my existing broken device. (The offers lacked a convection oven.)

Each offer was an improvement over the prior offer, but still lacked a convection oven. The option was a cash settlement and I could go get whatever I wanted. The cash offer (under $400), however, did not provide installation under warranty so I would have to pay that. (Installation can cost from $130 - 200 in my area).

The cash option was unsatisfactory. So, having a high-end microwave was a challenge to them and they did not perform satisfactorily, nor to the terms of the warranty contract since they did not provide a microwave combo that had the same primary function.

Another irritating issue was that on several of the calls, the phone lines had static and echoes and often was difficult to communicate - this happened to several of the people I was transferred to and I was using a land line, so the problem was on their end. I estimate that I spoke to 15 or so people over the course many calls during the 10 day period.

On the other hand, the folks in customer service were courteous and were willing to help, but if you need replacement, they can only read what the "research group:" or the "warranty for replacement" group enters into their system. In all the folks I spoke to, I think I was only able to speak to someone in the research group once and he told me to write an email about why the first offer was not satisfactory.

I wrote that email and got a response 5 days later saying they would review and get back to me, which they did not do. Finally, a kitchen without a microwave had three adults mad at me for not getting the thing fixed or replaced. To preserve domestic tranquility I accepted their offer, just to move things along.

Bill N.
Dickinson, TX
May 20 2020 1:39AM

This is a follow up to my earlier 1 star review, well after 7 weeks of talking to various people on the phone and having 3 techs visit my home, I am still no closer to getting my appliance replaced. I'm continuing to escalate the situation with no end in sight. The reps on the phone are all very nice and apologetic but still nothing happens. I'm still waiting for a manager to call back after two days of waiting.

Trust me when I say that they will give you the biggest round-around to get out of doing what they promise. The only promise that they do keep is timely billing of their monthly fee. They have zero concern when it comes to customer service. They promote their plan as peace of mind, they want you to believe that if a covered appliance can't be repaired, it will be replaced. Let me tell you, I found out the hard way, that is not the case.

Look, I would prefer to be doing other things than spending my time submitting reviews regarding the poor service from this company but if I can keep at least one person from falling into the same trap that I did, my time would have been well worth it. Please, save yourself time, money and a lot of frustration, stay away from Sears, otherwise you will regret it. I will continue to spread the message, I am not letting these people off the hook that easy.

Tomas G.
San Antonio, TX
May 16 2020 4:38PM

Fourth time our freezer went out in five years. The technicians always says it the new Freon that is the problem. We have a 1950s freezer that keeps on working with the old Freon that works. What a waste this environmental garbage is. It’s bad enough we have to deal with garbage gas that ruins lawn Mower/car engines and causes more pollution but really Freon.

These environmentalists should be sent to another planet because they are ruining this one. Sears has no customer service on weekends to report a problem and you can’t report a problem on line, The system is very poor. I have to wait till Monday to report our problem. I need to tell our refrigerator it only can break down only M-F 9 AM to 9 PM.

Jon A.
C, PA
May 13 2020 4:18PM

Sears Home Warranty is one of the worst company anyone could deal with. They are very unprofessional I have been waiting patiently for them to repair my microwave since March 5 2020 and as of today it has not been resolved, I spoke to the regional manager, and several others still no result.

March 10 someone came out and said we needed parts. He order the parts. It came to our home. I call to inform them, they send another company. The guy said we need a new microwave and he call and report the issue to sears. They send another person on March 16 still can’t fix it, again I called spoke to supervisor etc they send someone on March 19 still can’t fix it.

They are trying not to replace the microwave they want to fix it. Today May 13 the guy came back still can’t fix it. No one need to pay this company for service they are a dumpster. DO NOT USE THEM. 2 months and 8 days I have been waiting.

Ellen B.
Collegeville, PA
May 06 2020 3:09PM

My father died. He had a Sears Whole Home Warranty plan, which we've been wanting to cancel. I have spent too many hour too many different times the last three months, explaining what happened. I was told to send the Death Certificate, and given an email address with a case number. Never got a response.

Called back, spent too much time talking because there was no record of the case number, and then got another email address to contact. Ten days later I have still not received a response. Don't reliable businesses notify you with a robo-email that they've received our email and response will take a few days? I am loath to waste my time again with this. It is so unhelpful in a situation that is hard enough. And of course no, upon seeing how the service works, there's no way that it is anything I want to pay $70 a month for.

Emily R.
Decatur, GA
May 05 2020 6:18PM

Should have read reviews before buying. Had tech come on April 27 for oven. Was told it would be 530.00 to fix but hey we have a warranty plan which discounts repair. Signed up. Got parts on april 30. Was told first available to install is may 15. Whattttt? How am I supposed to feed my family with no oven during a pandemic? Sears could care less.

Jill C.
DERIDDER, LA
May 03 2020 7:11PM

My refrigerator went out 3/10/2020. The first repairman came out and said the compressor was gone. Ordered a compressor and had to wait until 4/01 for him to return and replace. He said it was fixed and left. The refrigerator never really got cold and less than 24 hours it had a burning smell and was not even cool inside.

Called and the second serviceman came out a week later and he’d said oil was in the lines and it would not hold Freon and it could not be fixed. He said someone would call me, which they never did. I have been chasing different departments, been hung up on by several people and finally one lady told me the first repairman had ruined the refrigerator when he put the compressor in. She gave me a number to call and said it would have to be their third party liability to handle the claim.

Finally a lady called and said to give her a few days and she would call me after she got all of the facts. Well, I have given her over two weeks and have not heard from her. My contract states that they replace the item if it cannot be fixed. I did not realize you are dealing with three separate companies here. I put a hold on my contract payment through my bank. I feel they have not lived up to their contract, therefore, I am not paying another payment on my contract. I have been with this company since 10/2017. My advise is to run from this company. They are not honest!

Carolyn W.
Cumming, GA
April 30 2020 7:02PM

Sears Home Warranty is the worst. l placed two claims with them one they denied the other claim it took them 2 months to reimburse me. Both times l had to find my own service provider for simple common issues (Garage door and a Furnace). The run around l received from their customer service people as well as their supervisors were the worst. Do yourself a favor and learn from my mistake. Avoid Sears Home Warranty like the plague.

Tony V.
Albany, NY
Write Review