Sears Home Warranty Reviews Page 20

Recent Reviews

June 02 2020 9:42PM

Warning, beware of this awful plan. I purchased the Sears Home Warranty Plan for $49.99 a month. I submitted a claim and they charge you an additional $75.00 for every claim that is undisclosed when you sign up. Then I filed a claim to get my washer fixed and sears plus the service tech called and texted to confirm I was home.

I called back the repair tech and left a message as instructed and a text message to sears and the tech that I was home all day. I took the day off from work for the appointment and the tech didn’t want to come to the appointment and cancels. I was very upset and called sears back. They gave me the name and number of another third party and they didn’t answer the phone or call me back or text back. I’m stuck paying for a warranty and can’t get my washer fixed. Worst service I have ever experienced in my life. Don’t purchase this plan. It’s a scam.

Laurie P.
Enfield, CT
June 01 2020 9:33PM

Well this just sucks, I would give a lower score (on this call) if available likely 1/2 star. I did have 1 good experience with them. NOT THE ONE I AM DESCRIBING BELOW...

Lets start on this long story which I will make as brief as I can as the topic irritates me greatly. About a year ago our Kenmore front loading washer had a problem (it had given up the ghost) Sears had done a resonable job up to the time it was condemend. Techs were polite and clean but past that useless as it applies to the balance of this story. After a couple of weeks of "trying to fix it" it was condemned and we were told we would be getting a new washer, After about 1.5 weeks we still had not heard about our new washer.

I was told it was with the "selection people" and it was their job to find one with the same features and functions as the one we had. I specifically stated we did not need all of the bells and whistles.

Another week goes by, another call to them "oh your should have recieved an email on which one we selected for you to approve. I told them I did not recieve any such email. A couple of days later the email showed up. They selected a GE washer with far more features than we needed or really wanted. I approved it, it took a couple of weeks but they delivered and installed it.

Things were fine for about a year, about 6 weeks ago it had an issue, not yet recoved from the last experience, I read the manual and tried all of the suggestions in the troubleshooting guide consulted the WEB and finally had to call Sears.

They showed up, condemned the control board, ordered the parts to be delivered to our home and set the return visit for 3 weeks in the future but said "if the part arrives early, call and we wiill move the service date up. Parts arrived in 5 business days. We called, they had a tech scheduled to arrive 5 days later (counting weekend days).

Tech arrives, parts are damaged, need to reorder, same approximate timeing experianced with the previous odered parts. Parts arrive, new tech comes out and discovers that the first tech diagnosed the issue incorrectly, it is not the control board, have to order more parts. This time no comment on the parts, had to call (today 6 days later) to ask what was happening, "oh your parts were ordered on 5/27".

My wife had called the "Automated help line" to inquire about the new schedule. "We will call you when the parts arrive." I called, waited about 40 min to talk to a human, explained the story and he said the parts should arrive this week, call when they do or followup with him if they don't. So my wife left for the laundromat, during COVID, very upset. We understand the need to order parts but this run around is an perfect example of very poor customer service.

Mathew G.
Tracy, CA
May 26 2020 6:19PM

After being on hold for 135 minutes, a recording gave me an appointment for eight days out. With water leaking from the refrigerator I could not wait that long. I cancelled the repair call. Then tried to cancel our policy and felt like I was being harassed. Terrible customer service.

Pamela E.
Whites Creek, TN
May 21 2020 11:05PM

I purchased a whole house plan at $69.95/mo. So far paid them for over a 14 months $980.00. First claim for 4 year old fridge that is leaking. Their technician cant fix it and recommended placement in front of me (an act BTW). Their brochures state if they cannot fix it, they will replace. Ah, read the fine print as they can deem the issue structural and then walk away. 2 Technician visits and a half witted tape job is all I got. Oh, and in the process of assessing the issue the second time, their technician put a hole in the back of the unit with a screwdriver and then charged me $100 more for the call.

In all I have spent $1,180 and received nothing. Could have purchased a new unit with a few hundred bucks more. Bottom line, Sears Home Warranty misrepresents their coverage, fails in their service and leaves you with nothing but a mess. They are a basically dishonest unethical company that you should avoid. This company is part of the morally and eventually bankrupt TransformCo, LLC (headed by Eddie Lampert) a hedge fund guy / Warren Buffet "never be" who took the Sears Brand, dismantled and destroyed it.

John H.
Columbus, OH
May 20 2020 7:35PM

Caveat emptor. "buyer beware". Sears Warranty in my state i(TX) is insured by HomeSure of America (Fr. Lauderdale) so my experience may vary depending on your state. My high-end Kenmore Elite combo Microwave-Convection Oven-range hood could not be repaired.

After 10 days I finally accepted a replacement that was not really satisfactory because I just got tired fighting on the phone with the various groups (customer service, "research" and warranty replacement) in a run around, some calls taking over 55 minutes (not counting being dropped on a prior call after 22 min). They offered me different options every time after I explained that the replacements did not provide the "same primary function" as my existing broken device. (The offers lacked a convection oven.)

Each offer was an improvement over the prior offer, but still lacked a convection oven. The option was a cash settlement and I could go get whatever I wanted. The cash offer (under $400), however, did not provide installation under warranty so I would have to pay that. (Installation can cost from $130 - 200 in my area).

The cash option was unsatisfactory. So, having a high-end microwave was a challenge to them and they did not perform satisfactorily, nor to the terms of the warranty contract since they did not provide a microwave combo that had the same primary function.

Another irritating issue was that on several of the calls, the phone lines had static and echoes and often was difficult to communicate - this happened to several of the people I was transferred to and I was using a land line, so the problem was on their end. I estimate that I spoke to 15 or so people over the course many calls during the 10 day period.

On the other hand, the folks in customer service were courteous and were willing to help, but if you need replacement, they can only read what the "research group:" or the "warranty for replacement" group enters into their system. In all the folks I spoke to, I think I was only able to speak to someone in the research group once and he told me to write an email about why the first offer was not satisfactory.

I wrote that email and got a response 5 days later saying they would review and get back to me, which they did not do. Finally, a kitchen without a microwave had three adults mad at me for not getting the thing fixed or replaced. To preserve domestic tranquility I accepted their offer, just to move things along.

Bill N.
Dickinson, TX
May 20 2020 1:39AM

This is a follow up to my earlier 1 star review, well after 7 weeks of talking to various people on the phone and having 3 techs visit my home, I am still no closer to getting my appliance replaced. I'm continuing to escalate the situation with no end in sight. The reps on the phone are all very nice and apologetic but still nothing happens. I'm still waiting for a manager to call back after two days of waiting.

Trust me when I say that they will give you the biggest round-around to get out of doing what they promise. The only promise that they do keep is timely billing of their monthly fee. They have zero concern when it comes to customer service. They promote their plan as peace of mind, they want you to believe that if a covered appliance can't be repaired, it will be replaced. Let me tell you, I found out the hard way, that is not the case.

Look, I would prefer to be doing other things than spending my time submitting reviews regarding the poor service from this company but if I can keep at least one person from falling into the same trap that I did, my time would have been well worth it. Please, save yourself time, money and a lot of frustration, stay away from Sears, otherwise you will regret it. I will continue to spread the message, I am not letting these people off the hook that easy.

Tomas G.
San Antonio, TX
May 16 2020 4:38PM

Fourth time our freezer went out in five years. The technicians always says it the new Freon that is the problem. We have a 1950s freezer that keeps on working with the old Freon that works. What a waste this environmental garbage is. It’s bad enough we have to deal with garbage gas that ruins lawn Mower/car engines and causes more pollution but really Freon.

These environmentalists should be sent to another planet because they are ruining this one. Sears has no customer service on weekends to report a problem and you can’t report a problem on line, The system is very poor. I have to wait till Monday to report our problem. I need to tell our refrigerator it only can break down only M-F 9 AM to 9 PM.

Jon A.
C, PA
May 13 2020 4:18PM

Sears Home Warranty is one of the worst company anyone could deal with. They are very unprofessional I have been waiting patiently for them to repair my microwave since March 5 2020 and as of today it has not been resolved, I spoke to the regional manager, and several others still no result.

March 10 someone came out and said we needed parts. He order the parts. It came to our home. I call to inform them, they send another company. The guy said we need a new microwave and he call and report the issue to sears. They send another person on March 16 still can’t fix it, again I called spoke to supervisor etc they send someone on March 19 still can’t fix it.

They are trying not to replace the microwave they want to fix it. Today May 13 the guy came back still can’t fix it. No one need to pay this company for service they are a dumpster. DO NOT USE THEM. 2 months and 8 days I have been waiting.

Ellen B.
Collegeville, PA
May 06 2020 3:09PM

My father died. He had a Sears Whole Home Warranty plan, which we've been wanting to cancel. I have spent too many hour too many different times the last three months, explaining what happened. I was told to send the Death Certificate, and given an email address with a case number. Never got a response.

Called back, spent too much time talking because there was no record of the case number, and then got another email address to contact. Ten days later I have still not received a response. Don't reliable businesses notify you with a robo-email that they've received our email and response will take a few days? I am loath to waste my time again with this. It is so unhelpful in a situation that is hard enough. And of course no, upon seeing how the service works, there's no way that it is anything I want to pay $70 a month for.

Emily R.
Decatur, GA
May 05 2020 6:18PM

Should have read reviews before buying. Had tech come on April 27 for oven. Was told it would be 530.00 to fix but hey we have a warranty plan which discounts repair. Signed up. Got parts on april 30. Was told first available to install is may 15. Whattttt? How am I supposed to feed my family with no oven during a pandemic? Sears could care less.

Jill C.
DERIDDER, LA
Write Review