Sears Home Warranty Reviews Page 21

Recent Reviews

March 17 2020 5:08PM

Do not rely upon Sears extended warranty service. This was supposed to be the top quality Kitchen Aid. Others may have decent products and extended warranty programs that are of quality- please use them, not Sears. We have had multiple serious issues with a dishwasher.

Rather than replace they continue to try and fix it. Each time it breaks we have to call India. They ask if it’s plugged in. Once we get past that nonsense they send a repairman which takes time. He says it’s broke and orders a part which is shipped as slow as possible. Last year, with breakdowns we were without the dishwasher for about two months. It’s broke now- draining water onto the floor. Do not use Sears.

Robert B.
St Augustine, FL
March 12 2020 1:33AM

Where do u want me to start!!! I had Sears out to my house on 7, yes you read 7 times to repair my fridge that stopped cooling. Same problem ea time. They [sears] then told me that they would replace the fridge then they told me "THEY DON'T DO THAT"!! SEARS WAS A COMPLETE SCAM FOR ME!!! IF THEY WERE IN CHARGE OF IRRADICATING DISEASE WE WOULD ALL BE DEAD, DEAD!

STEVE P.
SANDY, OR
March 09 2020 11:45PM

My hot water heater went out. I called and filed a claim on a Thursday and someone was supposed to come out Friday no call no show Saturday the same thing. On the following Monday someone finally show up and determine the hot water heater needs to be replaced. So after I hadn’t heard from the repair company nor Sears I called back to check the status and was told it’s under review after two weeks. A total rip off I wouldn’t recommend Sears home warranty to anyone they just want your monthly payment no care or concern for anyone.

Debra A.
Baton Rouge, LA
March 09 2020 11:45PM

My hot water heater went out. I called and filed a claim on a Thursday and someone was supposed to come out Friday no call no show Saturday the same thing. On the following Monday someone finally show up and determine the hot water heater needs to be replaced. So after I hadn’t heard from the repair company nor Sears I called back to check the status and was told it’s under review after two weeks. A total rip off I wouldn’t recommend Sears home warranty to anyone they just want your monthly payment no care or concern for anyone.

Debra A.
Baton Rouge, LA
March 06 2020 11:18PM

So far we've had two experiences with Sears Home Warranty. One required a replacement part for our garage door opener and was handled adequately. The technician had no experience with garage door openers, but he could read instructions and eventually got the job done.

The other one was handled in a completely unsatisfactory way. It was a plumbing issue, but since it apparently involved some work on one of the pipes, that was not considered a mechanical failure so they did not cover it.

On top of that, they charged us the $100 deductible for the plumbing call twice: First Sears Home Warranty charged us a day before the appointment, and then the plumbers charged again when they came out. The plumbers refuse to refund their charge even though it was a duplicate charge (and they didn't do anything). I'm still waiting, after a week, to hear back from Sears whether they'll refund the $100 they charged in advance.

Whenever you read about Sears Home Warranty for Systems (we have Whole House, which includes Systems), the writer says they cover plumbing. Well, no, they don't. At least not for our situation. So this is not the peace of mind they promised. Not recommended.

Lindsay R.
Gaithersburg, MD
March 06 2020 5:03PM

Waste of money. Technicians couldn’t fix my dishwasher after 5 tries, 3 of which were no call no shows. Wouldn’t pay to replace the appliance because technicians would not agree that it couldn’t be fixed. Had to pay an additional 112 for the privilege of cancelling. Would not recommend under any circumstance.

David F.
Glen Mills, PA
February 27 2020 5:13PM

It tried to cancel my warranty after 10 months for financial reasons. The contract states that you may "cancel after 30 days of coverage effective date if a claim has been made or at any time thereafter at which time you may be due a refund" now after 10 months if paying 69.00 a month I'm told I can Not cancel until June which is 4 months from now, because I haven't paid the remainder of the claim.

So in June of last year I was charged $626.11 to put a rubber gasket on the door and a plastic part on the motor. I paid $313.11 for repairs and got the warranty. After paying $828.00 in monthly cost to a total of. $1141.11 to repair a washer, that I could have replaced for less and now I can't cancel immediately. I think you have gotten enough of my money. I will make sure to tell everyone this service sucks. Thanks a lot, for nothing.

Virginia M.
Richmond, SD
February 20 2020 4:55PM

Ice maker broke on a Kenmore elite after 1 year. Advised to sign up for service because they would replace fridge if it still has problems. Ice maker was replaced but still works intermittently. You will pay $75 each time they come out And pay month.

Good luck trying to get a replacement on a product. I am moving with 5 months left in my contract and they make you pay the remainder of the contract. In a nutshell I spent around a thousand dollars for a new ice maker. I am also paying on a warranty that I will not be using because I’m moving and these things are being sold with the house. Super frustrating. Will never do one of these warranties again.

Lacey B.
Puyallup, WA
February 13 2020 9:52PM

They deserve to go bankrupt! Called over two weeks ago for my washer which had the same issue for a third time. Made appointment for a week and a half later. I took off work and waited till noon, no email no call and I called and part was ordered two days ago, their mistake! No I leave for vacation and have to wait 10 days more and have to sit home on my birthday and come home from vacation to dirty laundry! They are horrible! Lied and said parts were back ordered.

I looked up the part number and they are available all over the internet. Don’t tell me it takes a week to get parts. So then they said they will have part tomorrow, Friday but no one can fix it for a week! I am so beyond pissed that they would do this to a 30 year credit card holder and warranty customer! Never again sears, hello Lowe’s Home Depot or Costco. I’m so done! So 3 1/2 weeks with kids and a broken washer! They just want me to cave and buy a new one!

Carla P.
Antelope, CA
February 10 2020 8:38PM

They suck. My father in law has one for his heat pump. 6 weeks later, still nothing. I've traveled to Florida twice now so I could help him with it. Twice lied to about the delivery. How do we get this 89yr old man's money back so I can buy a unit from a reputable company, rather than having my wife go through approximately 20-25 people at Sears, all capable of lying about the status.

Larry A.
DOUGLASVILLE, GA
Write Review