Sears Home Warranty Reviews Page 24

Recent Reviews

November 26 2019 12:51PM

Dryer has built up of some kind of plastic that is transferring to my clothes! Sears has been here numerous times but only added more problems. Plastic still present, dryer is now very loud & they didn't put it back together correctly & its very noticeable. Their repairmen don't know what they are doing. Going to try for a "buy back"...doubt if they honor it.

David C.
Simpsonville, SC
November 26 2019 1:09AM

Horrible, down right plan and simple... My family’s been without a working water heater for a month now and I keep getting the run around from Sears. Two repair companies have been out. One just spent less 5mins looking at my water heater, then took my deductible and ran. I had to raise hell to get a second opinion out here and low and behold their diagnostic was totally different.

Now I’ve been left waiting on an answer on next step to get my issue resolved but still now hot water. I call and I’m told lies just to get me off the phone. I spoke with a Supervisor on of the calls who told me the Emergency escalation ticket I was told would be submitted by another associate doesn’t even exist. The Sears we’ve all grown to love and trust doesn’t exist anymore. Don’t waste your money. Buyer beware...

Kennari H.
Plainfield, IL
November 18 2019 5:15PM

Don't get a home warranty from them! I started my claim to get my frig fixed earlier this month. When the repairman came, Sears entire computer system went down so he looked online and I ordered the part he told me. That's when the water filter started to leak, then the freezer and refrigerator went out. Sears could not come out until the day before Thanksgiving and so referred me to National Alliance. Their phone number is an automated system that sends you back to Sears automated system. I bought a new refrigerator this weekend. I am still on hold with Sears to speak to a supervisor. It's been 20 minutes.

Alma J.
Thornton, CO
November 17 2019 8:25PM

Sears Home Warranty is a very bad company. They choose the worst rated repair companies to do work on your home. Poor customer service and even worse repair companies. Don't use this warranty company....waste of time and money. Made at least 15 phone calls and problem still not solved.

Sandy M.
Santa Monica, CA
November 16 2019 7:33PM

We moved to Florida and had appliances in the home we bought. I thought getting the Sears Warranty service would be a good idea. DONT do it. Once you sign up for the 49$ a month it is impossible to cancel the service. They charge for coming out and then the appliance they are fixing. It’s all computer generated so when you are scheduling an appointment, you never talk to a real person! So the order is Always wrong.

I have been trying to cancel this service for months and the only email I can get to work is a Sears overseas? What??? But they can not cancel the service. Bottom line- this is a rip off and becomes a monthly 49$ charge for nothing! Will never do business with Sears again.

Tracie V.
Jacksonville, FL
November 16 2019 3:22PM

DO NOT USE SEARS home warranty. We used their warranty for several years and not once did the service go smoothly. The techs never diagnosed the problems correctly, their customer service is horrible. The last experience was when my hot water heater went out. The local service contractor they had me call didn't even service my area! Had to call Sears again, had to wait 4 days for another contractor who then submitted the claim to Sears. Waited another 2 days, nothing.

Called Sears and they didn't even have a record of me making a claim and said they never received paper work from the local contractor! After over a week without hot water I had to replace it myself and actually ended up saving money, because the local contractor added an additional $500 of unnecessary plumbing labor. Claiming that all my plumbing and gas line needed to be moved. Sears is horrible service and their techs and local contractors are scammers. DO NOT USE them. I've since cancelled my contract with them and going with someone else.

A S.
Chicago, IL
November 15 2019 11:58PM

Our Kenmore refrigerator stopped working in June, 2019 after only 4 years of use. Supposedly Sears whole computer system was down at the time, and we had to wait to report the need for service as well as wait for a repair person to come to the house to assess the problem. Then once the repair person determined that the compressor failed, we find out they have no compressors on hand and one would have to be ordered. It was projected to take approximately as long as 1 week, possibly longer, for the part to be shipped directly to our house.

An appointment for the repair was scheduled by the repair person, but the part came after the scheduled appointment time, so we had to wait another week for another appointment. In total we waited 3 weeks in the summer without a working refrigerator. Out of desperation we found a place to rent a refrigerator and also bought one of those small ones to keep small items in. The repair person said we could save money on the repair if we signed up for a Sears Home Warranty which we decided might not be a bad idea.

Unfortunately, this has not made any difference in the service received. Our newly repaired refrigerator has worked all of only 4 months and we are experiencing similar problems again. We are making numerous calls again and getting very frustrated over the lack of service. People answering the phone are difficult to understand as well as the people coming into your home to do the repairs. Then the repair people take their good ole sweet time reporting the problem back to Sears while we have food spoiling.

After making numerous calls to Sears to try to get a determination as to what they were going to do, ie repair the refrigerator or replace it, we find out that after 31 hours there still had not been any report made to Sears by the repair person as to what's wrong with our refrigerator. After getting very irate on the phone with the customer service representative, she said she would put me on hold and call the repair person which she did; although, I still have to wait another 24 hours for someone at Sears to make a determination on what action they will take on this repair claim. Sears has really taken a nose dive in terms of customer service!

The Sears name used to stand for something, but not anymore. I feel like we've been duped. We were told with this warranty we would receive priority service, since we are paying money for this whole house warranty, but that has not proven to be the case. Buyer Beware! Sears wants your hard earned money but are not willing to work very hard for it. Poor Service.

Michael G.
Lockport, IL
November 15 2019 11:50PM

A 1 is to good for this review. They might have been good at one time they suck. Told me that they will be here between 8 AM and 5 PM did not show up and no call to say when they would be arriving. I had to call them and the call center is based overseas. They had no idea what was going on.

When I told Sears about my gas furnace not working and that my wife just got out of the hospital the best appointment that could give me was 5 days later. Finally after a 1/2 hour on the phone someone said that the tech would arrive around 6:15 PM. He finally showed up at 6:35 PM. Was told that he would not work on the furnace until he got the deductible. As far I am concerned Sears did not meet their obligation in a time that was designated and therefore in breach of contract. NO ONE SHOULD BUY A HOME WARRANTY CONTRACT FROM SEARS unless you want problems.

Steve P.
Pottstown, PA
November 15 2019 1:11AM

Paid my warranty for over a year and a half. I never needed to use my warranty until today. I live in Boston, MA and we are experiencing colder than normal temps and I lost my heat. Called Sears and was transferred 5x and on the phone for an hour. finally got an appt set up. I was told not to wait for the service company to call me. I was provided the name and number so I called. Thank God I did.

They told me that they told Sears they were booked out through Christmas!!! Today is 11/14. Did I mention I lost my heat! I called back, played the transfer game again for another hour, Finally told they had no service providers in my area. They said that my claim would be sent to some review something or other. I would hear back in 2 to 4 days.

Did I mention I had no heat in MA in November? The person I spoke to lived in SC. I asked her, how about I break your A/C in the summer and you I will let you know what we can do in for 2 to 4 days. That's when she told me nowhere in the contract do they have a time obligation. That's when I told her what to do with her warranty. I have American Home Shield in my other house. Never had a problem.

Do yourself a favor, DO NOT BUY A SEARS HOME WARRANTY!!! NEVER!!! UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCE!! Now I have been paying 69.99 a month for nothing and the repair to my furnace is coming out of my pocket. I cancelled on the spot and called American Home Shield to add my rental property.

Joseph P.
Winthrop, MA
November 13 2019 9:31PM

Sears has collected my money for over 2 years. I have never touched my furnace but has had Sears maintain and work on it. Last week their tech came and looked over it and the next week it is not working. The tech said sears denied claim to repair the furnace. For two years, sears has taken my money. The worse part is that you get the run and around and no one will talk with you. This is high way robbery!!!

Sophia F.
Kansas City, MO
Write Review