Sears Home Warranty Reviews Page 31

Recent Reviews

September 13 2019 5:24PM

If I could rate the Sears warranty department below (1) would. Their extended warranty is a SCAM! I purchased a refrigerator and within 35 days it not only did not function but actually COOKED THE FOOD! I came home to a refrigerator freezer full of cooked food. (strangest thing Ive ever seen)

I also purchased the Extended Warranty Coverage mistakenly thinking that it would both ensure prompt and extended coverage for my purchase. I have now been without a refrigerator for over three weeks and they have no idea when they will be able to repair or replace it.

To add insult to injury I was on the phone for an hour and four minutes while they transferred me from department to department that must have been in Pakistan because the people I spoke with either spoke very broken English (barely coherent) or the Queens English (at least that was refreshing). I would suggest steering clear of Sears appliances at all costs. Its truly a shame as their appliances and service used to be considered the best. I will never buy Sears again!

Raymond V.
Homestead, FL
September 12 2019 10:29PM

Dishonest, rude and incompetent. Over the course of 3 years we paid over 2100 dollars in warranty premiums and another 600 dollars in service call deductibles with over 18 service calls with one technician after another coming to work on our refrigerator - a Kitchenaid 48" counter depth model.

They finally decided that the unit was simply not fixable - too many things going wrong that they could not figure out, and offered us a 1000.00 replacement allowance. The refrigerator retails for 10,500.00 and they offered us less than 10% of that as a replacement allowance.

We paid over twice that amount in warranty premiums. Throughout this process attempts to talk to ANYONE in management to try and get this ridiculous situation addressed were futile. Can't tell you how many times we were hung up on, or openly lied to by their telephone support people.

To add insult to injury, the last technician who was here broke something while putting the fridge back - cracked the plastic water line to the ice maker and it slow leaked over night, all over our hardwood floor and we woke up to a flood in the kitchen, the flood damaged the hardwood floor, a 3'x10' area where all the boards are "cupping" and leaked through the floor to the ceiling below.

So now not only do I STILL have a fridge that doesn't work - now I've got thousands of dollars in floor and ceiling repairs to deal with - and Sears Home Warranty says they have no responsibility, to take it up with the "independent contractor" that they sent to our home to do the repair. Sears Home Warranty should be ashamed of themselves as should "Cross Country" who have taken over many of their accounts. In any case, these businesses should be avoided at all cost.

John K.
East Northport, NY
September 12 2019 10:27PM

My Mother called June 18, Fridge out. It's Sept 12. Just got fix. They were suppose to cut her a check for Dryer. She hasn't seen a check yet. She's 75yrs old on a fix income. This is a rip off. Not to mention her Washer hasn't been fixed yet. She's Renting a Washer as I write.

Ruth M.
Nacogdoches, TX
September 10 2019 7:53PM

I have the Sears Home Warranty and its a one year contract. Please note: As soon as the chosen company arrives at your door you AUTOMATICALLY owes them $100.00 . When I called and spoke to the SEARS staff - for my cooling system, garage door opener, and a plumbing repair, the staff will say, "Oh yes we can do that".

You have to explain to the staff really what you want to be repaired, or else they just send any company to your home, who arrives at your home, they look around the problem, they then state they have to call into their office to see if Sears will cover the job. You are not there in the vehicle during this conversation, so you do not know what is being said.

The first time was with my A/C system. The first person came, he flashed around the unit, he did not notice anything wrong, he went to his car, came back and stated he has sent to sears his findings (Nothing), and that I have to pay $100.00. The A/C went out again, I called SEARS and another person came. This time I took photos of what the A/C dash board stated as the problem, I showed this staff the evidence, who stated he had to speak to his boss, and promised he will be back later.

Later that evening he did return and fixed my AC system, but I had to pay another $100.00. My garage door spring broke June 2019 and locked my car inside. I called Sears, and I also went on line to put in the request, and all of SEARS contact sources replied-" No service agent is in your neighborhood for the next 3 months". I did not believe, so I made many more calls to see if there was a change, and all of Sears staff in about 6 different states told me, "According to the computer there is no service agent in my neighborhood for three months".

I had to call a private company who came that same day and with the New required materials, the removal of the old spring- charges me $20.00 more than Sears. Still under contract, Last week I called SEARS regarding a leak of my bathroom sink and a leaky garden pipe head.

I was told, "Oh yes they are simple work order, so it is under the warranty. Besides, if the company finds out it is not under the warranty they will let you know. You only have to pay $100.00" The young man came, there was water leaking from the sink, but he has to report it to his boss office. He went to the outside garden pipe with a ringed, he removed the cloth I had on the faucet head, and his equipment damage the faucet head. I asked him if the pipe was fixed and he then told me of the damage. Now he has to send it in to his boss office.

Later he returned and stated the work was not covered under SEARS warranty, BUT I had to pay $100.00 for assessment of the job. So what about the now broken, possible injury to my hand, faucet head? "Sorry, but you have to pay the $100.00. (with a soft tone)."

Now I was told, if I purchase my own sink, and have it replaced privately, the cost of that total job replacement cost is $150.00. No worry. Damaged repaired anew. I called and asked to speak with a SEARS supervisor, and was told by the staff- the Supervisor Daniella will call me back within 24 hours, after waiting on the phone for 8 mins. SEARS is this a Hidden SCAM?

Shirlund S.
Winter Par, FL
September 10 2019 4:31PM

It has been over 3 months with a broken refrigerator door. I have called countless times to try to get an answer as to why. All I get is the run around from people sounding like they are talking in a barrel. I cannot understand a word they are saying. There is not even a supervisor to speak to, just an answering service basically. I have had countless appointments confirmed and then rescheduled with no explanation. The first 2 initial appointments just to have someone come and look at it, the guy didn't even show up. I would not recommend this service to my worst enemy. Look for a different warranty program!

Nancy K.
Seattle, WA
September 09 2019 10:33PM

My fridge is on the blink. iIt freezes everything you put in it. Sears home warranty has been out twice and ordered parts twice. This has been going on two months now. And it still don't work. They **. My wife says Find someone else to get a warranty with you can trust.

Raymond R.
Gulf Breeze, GA
September 09 2019 6:40PM

I do not recommend this home warranty service to anyone. They find a reason to say your air conditioner or whatever you need fixed is not covered. Then today they said my air conditioner had been fixed too many times, and they won't cover it. It was fixed once this year!!!

In the past I had good service, but for the past year, service is horrible, DO NOT PURCHASE IT! Save your monthly amount and put it in a fix it savings. You will come out ahead.

Diane M.
Clarksville, TN
September 09 2019 2:44AM

Called on Monday Sept. 2 to report refrigerator was not working. They sent a repairman out the next day to evaluate the problem. He told my husband that there were 2 parts that needed to be ordered and that it would take about 2 week. Once the parts came in they would come back.

Well my on Friday of the same week the parts were delivered to my home. I called them that evening to let them know that the parts were in and they said that I was scheduled for repair on Sept. 18th. I said that was not acceptable. I had already lost some of my food from the freezer but that did not phase them one bit. The representative started repeating her standard message that is either written out for them and would not answer any of my questions concerning the possibility of changing the date from the 18th of Sept. to something earlier.

I got so frustrated I wanted to jump through the phone. The other problem is you can't understand the representative. The end result was the representative hung up the phone on me. Believe me I will be making a change. All they are doing is taking your money and providing you minimal or no service.

Sharon W.
Fort Washington, MD
September 08 2019 2:40AM

Air conditioner stopped working in Texas on a hot summer Friday. Called and very happy to get a service agent to come the next morning. He was here as scheduled and every impression was he fixed the problem. He told us to give it a couple of hours for the house to cool off but everything looked good. 12 hours later and our house is at 90 and we’re told that we cannot get help for at least 2 days....not acceptable... Don’t waste your money on a service that refuses to do it right after doing it wrong. Very uncomfortable in Texas.

John B.
Frisco, TX
September 07 2019 6:05PM

Worst service I have ever had. I bought all my appliances Kenmore from Sears. They sold me this service after the first washer machine got a failure. They have been 7 (seven) times to my house to change the compressor for the 1-year-old refrigerator. Now they cancel the cancel my service, just when the appliance was supposed to be replaced.

Claudia M.
SW Ranches, FL
Write Review