Sears Home Warranty Reviews Page 31

Recent Reviews

August 26 2019 4:48PM

Be wary of contract! I’ve never dealt with a company that tries to pass the buck to other employees as much as this company (countless hours on telephone). We had a AC system fail and it took them 2 months to repair while living in south Texas with over 100 degree heat. Tried everything to not replace it. Called in for our other unit that failed and said that it wasn’t covered, they had previously covered it. I really don’t understand how Sears home warranty gets any good reviews. This company is a scam that hides behind their contracts that are a scam to the public. Save your money and don’t get a home warranty.

Thomas W.
Kerrville, TX
August 23 2019 5:39PM

Upstairs HVAC system failed. Warranty purchased in May. Phone call from Cross Country Home Services. Said no HVAC company within 100 miles of Coralville. Found a local company willing to do assessment. First trip=$100. CC Home said need a leak test. Tech returned: $150 for freon leak test. Reported to CCHS.

Phone call that repair not covered, that holes obviously occurred before warranty was purchased. Were they connecting refrigerant lines? One needs a PhD in every system of the house to understand his whole house warranty.

I phoned again to clarify the refusal. What a rip-off! Wonder how I will get my "one heating and one cooling system preventative maintenance check each year" if no one in this area works with Sears. This contract will not be renewed next year. Hoping covered appliances will break down.

Barbara S.
Coralville, IA
August 22 2019 5:03PM

Do not ever purchase a warranty from Sears. I have been trying for 6 weeks to get someone to come out and fix my air conditioner (compressor). They told me it would take 3 weeks after 3 weeks they said it was never ordered. After numerous phone calls they sent someone out and they were there to do an inspection to see what the problem was. So I called again and they promised someone would be out the next week. That week came and left. So I called again and found out no one had even ordered the compresssor and they had to order one and it would take another week.

This is ridiculous. This warranty department is so incompetent and unreliable that they should not even be in business. My warranty will soon expire and I will NOT renew it.

Kristine H.
Los Angeles, CA
August 21 2019 9:17PM

Had them for a year, I truly do not want to go into details because it ticks me off so much, just take my advice and choose a different company, if you are looking for a home warranty, for me I could not be less impressed than Sears.

Mike B.
Houston, TX
August 21 2019 5:37PM

DON’T!! I REPEAT, DON’T WASTE YOUR MONEY!!! YOU’LL BE SO SORRY, IF YOU DO!!! DON’T!!! The policy covers practically NOTHING!! The repairman, after taking my $100 check , told me he had to order this TINY PART to fix my dishwasher rack. After two, non retuned, calls to the service company, I called SEARS to find out the status. They told me this TINY PART wasn’t covered. And, it appeared that they could care less, that I wasn’t happy. IN MY OPINION, IT’S A RIPOFF!!! DON’T OR YOU’LL BE SORRY!!!

Harvey W.
Chula Vista, CA
August 17 2019 7:52PM

OMG, I should've read theses Reviews before I wasted my hard-earned money on Sears Home Warranty!!! Bought the Whole House Plan, had a FREE Preventative Maintenance schedule done on my A/C, it hasn't worked properly ever since a Technician from Done Right A/C company touched it. I've gotten nothing but the run-around on the phones. This is pathetic on Sears part!

Dorothy C.
PORT ST LUCIE, FL
August 15 2019 9:12PM

We were going into our second year with Sears warranty program, and our AC quit. I called them on a Thursday. They said they'd send someone.

The next day I got a call, and they said they couldn't find anyone, and that I was to call a provider and have them take care of the problem. I did, and they came and found the problem. They had the part on their truck to fix it. We had to call Sears to have this ok'd.

Sears rejected the company's price to fix it, so the technician gave them the information to order one, and then they were going to have it shipped to this company to have it fixed. We waited ONE WEEK in between 100-110 degree weather! I called finally to see what was going on, and found out that the part wasn't even ordered yet.

They said that they hadn't received enough information from my provider to order the part, which was a bald faced lie. I was right next to the tech. when he talked to a Sears representative. I was SO upset, I was shaking!! I immediately cancelled my maintenance coverage with Sears and called the company to come and fix our AC, which they did within the hour.

I will NEVER deal with Sears again!!!

Mike B.
Kingman, AZ
August 15 2019 4:24PM

I don’t know how when you look up this warranty company that it gets such a good rating. If you read the reviews that come after its horrible. I’ve had the same problem with repairs that are supposed to be covered but if you read the terms and conditions you will stay away from these companies!

Customer service (if you can understand them) is horrible. I had to spend hours on the phone with them and that was if they didn’t cut me off. I was so dissatisfied with the way they handled both of my claims (furnace when it was minus 4 degrees wanted me to wait 4 days, and AC that was down for 3 weeks during 90 degree heat), that I called to cancel my service with them and they informed me(yes, its in terms and conditions that I didn’t read completely) that since I’d had a claim I would have to pay over $300 or continue paying my monthly fee for 7 more months. They get you coming and going.

I ended up still having to pay $700 on top of the $100 deductible fee for “uncovered” items. How do you plan for that. It’s just ridiculous how they represent themselves to get you to sign up with them then send you the Terms and Conditions in the mail that pretty much says the opposite!

I am contacting the BBB to report this company and will warn everyone I can to get more facts before signing anything with this company!!

Mary R.
Plain City, OH
August 13 2019 9:40PM

One of the worst company to deal with. Had no hot water. The plumber assigned to the job was obnoxious, rude and didn't know what to do. He was cursing profanity in front of my family just because he couldn't deal with the stress. He walked into the house without any tool and every time he needed something, he ran to his truck. Took a week and a half to get one part (thermostat). ABSOLUTELY HORRENDOUS. WISH I COULD GIVE ZERO STARS.

Dan S.
CENTER MORICHES, NY
August 13 2019 7:52PM

Canceling your warranty agreement is a nightmare. They shame and belittle you on the phone. Never received the renewal letter they said I’d receive. They continued to bill me monthly after I had canceled my plan twice, a month in advance. Calling customer service for the warranty was a terrible experience. They tried to say I’d missed a payment three months prior. Not true, and my monthly statements confirm that. They won’t give out a direct line to billing, nor let you speak to a supervisor. Deplorable!

Susan M.
Conroe, TX
Write Review