Sears Home Warranty Reviews Page 33

Recent Reviews

June 26 2019 9:16PM

My issue is with the plan. I was lied to on how long the plan was for. Once you give them your credit card number they will keep charging the card. They did a bait and switch. If you get a contract which you should. Read it closely. Don’t go buy anything verbal. They will tell you anything you want to hear and not tell you after they leave that they will probably charge you a longer time on the contract. Good luck.

Ken V.
Addison, IL
June 26 2019 2:56PM

It appears to be a scam from the start. Called and requested service on a Whirlpool washing machine. First available service is a week and a half later. Time of service between 8-5pm. Tried calling and requested an am service time. The only speakable English the four different women I spoke with was “between 8-5!” Very limited ability of phone personnel to converse with customers. Still waiting to hear from technician. Apparently it’s not Sears Service but rather a sub contractor. A real embarrassment for Sears.

Michael S.
Bellaire, MI
June 26 2019 11:03AM

The Sears Home Warranty service plan has not been a good purchase for us. This may not be true for all market areas but in our metro area Sears subcontracts with small outfits that haven’t been quick responders nor super experienced repairmen for some appliances. While waiting for responses from the subcontracted company I did research and that company had a BBB rating of D- And once a claim is assigned they are not keen to reassign to another company. And after complaining you have no confidence the company they might send will be any better equipped to repair your appliance. In our case we didn’t want to risk further damage to our microwave/stove wall unit since it is old. Read the fine print, you cannot cancel the plan, and must pay for the whole year or pay the greater exorbitant parts/service fees of what repairmen attempted to accomplish. Not worth it. The reality is the days are gone of a trained/tenured repairman showing up in the company vehicle with basic parts already on the truck.

Piper M.
Matthews, NC
June 26 2019 4:09AM

We had a power outage of 18 hours here in Texas. When the power returned, our air conditioner didn't come on. I called Sears and was told to use the online scheduling tool and found the first available appointment was more than 2 weeks out. I called and after a lot of hassle got to talk to a live person.

Initially they said they couldn't help but when I insisted, they put me on hold and a super nice gentleman by the name of Christopher referred me to a fairly local (about a 45 minute drive) a/c repair company. When I called them, they could not have been nicer - even though it was six o'clock in the evening, they sent a couple of repairmen out and had us up and running by 7:30 that same evening.

Their name is Cool Effects by Larry out of Cooper, Texas and I could not have asked for more from them. And the reason we bought the warranty in the first place was because our ice maker stopped making ice several months ago and we were advised that we could save half the amount of repair and parts if we had the warranty. Super friendly, knowledgeable repair man as was the gentleman who came out and did our free spring a/c maintenance. I know there are a lot of negative reviews but my review is all positive.

Audri M.
Cumby, TX
June 26 2019 12:04AM

FRAUD. My $1500 Miele dishwasher needs a new pump. Sears refused to repair, offered $330 junky GE “replacement” which is 1/2 inch wider — will not fit in cabinet. I have to take $330 pay $900 repair. Phoney warranty.

Paul K.
Bolinas, SELECT A STATE
June 25 2019 10:37PM

I have been paying for 2 to 3 years 4999 price. 39 it went up to 4999 and they came out to fix my refrigerator. They didn’t have the common sense to come back to fix it. They said I’m a get them to send in the mail. They rejected it but I have a Mick. I have someone here now fixing it. He said he don’t see no water bugs so they just lost a good customer and good luck

Dora H.
Los Angeles, CA
June 24 2019 10:33PM

Had a faucet leaking, filed claim in Oct 2018, first plumber who attended had to send report to Sears for approval, went back and forth between plumbing company who claimed they sent the report and Sears kept denying receiving it, finally one good rep agreed to send another plumber. This plumber decided to open the faucet so he could repair but failed to ope. On first visit, he left to come back with get special tool. On second visit he managed to open top part but could not remove the part he intended to replace, again he suggest he would get special tool for that, on third visit also he could not open and suggested I file a new claim I guess so he could claim extra money from me and Sears. When contacted Sears today on June 24th, June 2019 after almost 9 months they claim there is calcium deposit inside faucet hence claim is denied. Imagine if I had major break down of any other appliance. I just canceled the warranty after paying them for over 2 years.

Tony K.
Closter, NJ
June 24 2019 4:19PM

After spending most of a day on the phone trying to get a satisfactory date/time for a refrigerator repairman to check out our warm refrigerator we were stuck with a "prompt" appointment three weeks away. Ridiculous. Will be terminating the contract ASAP. Strongly do not recommend.

Roland H.
Charleston, WV
June 24 2019 4:08PM

Tech called the morning of the appointment! He was on time had my oven fixed within an hour. Excellent service. Wonderful and will use them again if needed. He even had the part I needed on his truck so it didn’t need to be ordered.

Carolyn W.
Cave City, AR
June 24 2019 3:40PM

Sears Home Warranty is a complete joke. I would not recommend anyone to use this incompetent service. From the start every time we had to use this service there were problems. They would send incompetent workers who don't know what they're doing to not even having a service in our area so we had to use an outside hire. One of the workers they sent us diagnosed a problem with a leak in our roof but that wasn't even close to the problem. My family and I sat in our house with no heat in the middle of January in the Northeast because of there incompetent workers. We had another problem with them and after using an outside hire because they didn't have someone in our area, which now they said they do after we got a quote, they would not give us an authorization code to make sure it was covered. We had to pay everything out of pocket. I would stay far away from Sears home warranty because they will do everything they can to make things more difficult and just screw you in the end.

Jimmy P.
Newton, NJ
Write Review