Sears Home Warranty Reviews Page 41

Recent Reviews

April 11 2019 11:36PM

After waiting from October 2018 until the end of February 2019 to get my freezer fixed, I had the misfortune of having my Kenmore Elite refrigerator fail. I have a Master Protection Agreement but was told today, April 11, 2019 that a technician would not be available until the afternoon of April 25, 2019. According to Sears, this was not an emergency nor did my protection agreement include a rental nor an offer to have repairs done by an outside company. After speaking with four people at Sears and weighing four different opinions/options, I decided to get a repair service from a non-Sears company. Repair is scheduled for 9:00 to 11:00 tomorrow and may 700 to 900.00.

Peggy A.
Carson, CA
April 11 2019 2:22PM

I have a hold home warranty and they want to give me an appointment 2 weeks after I call because they don't have any service techs in MI. They can't honor their warranty work. SO DO NOT purchase. I am on the phone with them again right now speaking to "corporate office". Same people they have transferred me to 5 different people that all tell me they can't help me. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY. They have no managers or supervisors that will come to the phone. IF anyone from sears reads this call me!!!

Kimberely B.
Muskegon, MI
April 10 2019 5:35PM

Similar experience to other reviews. Dishwasher has been broken for almost 3 months now. On the initial visit the provider recommended replacing the unit and was told that they would need to try and fix it. 3 months later and several visits, we continue to not have a dishwasher. For the cost of the plan, we would have been better off not paying for the Sears Home Warranty and buying a new dishwasher from a more reliable company.

Lindsay M.
Orange County, CA
April 09 2019 12:14AM

What a scam. I called an made an appointment for two appliances, they sent out two different repair men. Ok not a big deal. The first guy came and told me what was wrong, he told me if I signed up for home warranty that I would get 50%off and 25% off on the other Appliance today. So I signed up for the contract. Second guy Shows up, tells me, "what’s wrong?" I said ok and told him I get 25% off the bill today for signing up. He told me NO. I made him call his manager so I could speak to him. He told the repair guy that I was right. So he ask me for a Coupon code which I didn’t have one. Well after a lot of yelling and throwing him outta my house I was told I had to pay 129ish for a service call. Told them I wasn’t paying anything since everyone in sear doesn’t know how to do their job. I was told that I had to wait 24 hours for the contract to be approved and I was never told that in the first place when I signed up, and then I had to wait 30 days for a new service call. I called a local repair service. It will cost me $75 for the service call and if I have it repaired that will wave the $ 75. Oh and I have to wait 24 hours to cancel my contact with sears.. this is the reason I NEVER buy anything for Sears anymore.

Dawn F.
Howard Beach, SELECT A STATE
April 05 2019 11:13PM

Absolutely terrible do not get Sears Home Warranty!!! I have been trying to get my dryer fixed for 4 months, each time they come out they do not get it fixed. It takes two visits each time, once to look at it and order the parts, the next supposedly to fix it. However, they did not install the parts, then came out again and couldn't find the parts in his vehicle, so another time off work wasted. Still not fixed; I have taken several hours off work as they will not come in the evenings or on a Saturday. This is the WORST COMPANY EVER do not sign up with them. I have spent countless hours on the phone, and you just get transferred from person to person and then eventually disconnected. They also damaged my dryer and they have a separate company for these claims called Sedgwick, however they do not get back to you either. TERRIBLE, TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!

Darla H.
Sioux Falls, SD
April 04 2019 8:19PM

Don't ever buy Sears Home Warranty plan. Don't waste your time and money for the crappy services. We wasted 3 months and $300 but nothing have been fixed and done. They are nothing but just a crappy services company, no wonder they bankrupted.

Noel W.
Philadelphia, PA
April 04 2019 2:30PM

Well, my goodness, we are not alone! Worst experience possible with this company. Over three months without a working refrigerator which is only 2 years old. Promises after promises by the "phone banks" in the Philippines, Ft. Worth, Delaware, Ft. Lauderdale, Winter Park, and Anderson, SC, resulting in multiple no shows (we even came back 800 miles from out of state to be here for a promised appointment which never showed).

Twice over the three months we did have a 2nd / 3rd? outsourced service technician to come and promised to return with parts or service but they never came back - no notification/no call. When we called (through multiple round robin scenarios from person to tape recorded messages to connecting phone numbers which resulted in being back with the same entity started with - sometimes back to the phone bank we start with - or hang ups - or more tape recorded messages) - we found out that the first technician (Audio Tech aka At Your Service) said his diagnosis was "denied" and the second one (A & E Factory Service) who actually ordered and installed parts that did not result in a repair of the problem, said he was not allowed by his company to come back--even though he felt he knew what he could do to provide an adjustment that would result in the repair.!!!

The two technicians who did come over the three month period but were not allowed to complete the job -- were professional and we have no fault lying with them. By the way - the phone number on one truck (A&E Factory Service) resulted in a connection with the same phone bank in the Philippines. Isn't that strange? I thought it would be a local service company , but unfortunately found it linked to the same horrible scenario. Other names encountered aside from service companies are: Sears Home Warranty, National Service Alliance, Cross Country Home Services, Owner Co, Kenmore Customer Care Hotline: -- all resulting in no promises met. No one is accountable. Do the owners of these companies know what is happening? And if they do -- how unfortunate for all. Phone numbers recommended to call but leading to the same place and/or resulting in promises not met--implicit in the problem (no accountability, no service, no power to affect change) include: 800-331-7421 /855-256-2467/ 304-616-8326/ 800-905-9505/ 800-469-4663/ 855-256-2467/ 800-432-1033/ 844-602-5613/ 302-691-7213/ 888-331-4573/ 954-835-1900/ 540-545-7126/ 1-800-349-5077/ 1-888-486-4201/ 540-317-1921--- give or take. My concern at first was for this company -- that had a hoped for strategy to have 2nd and 3rd party companies/technicians to provide nationwide repairs for Sears--sounds good and a worthy goal. But it simply wasn't working for the customer or for them. Imagine the people they were paying that resulted in nothing for the customer!

What a waste of time, effort, and money! I wanted and tried to let them know in a positive way for the betterment of the company. But I could not reach any one who needed to know - like the owner of the company/companies. This is a major default! My hope was to talk with a supervisor, owner of company to nicely let him/her know that this business plan was not fulfilling its promises. But as this process unwound over three plus months with no promises kept -- and realizing the network of phone banks, sites of offices, and no way to connect with supervisors, no accountable persons, personnel saying they didn't know who they worked for, etc. -- my concern grew and left me wondering is if this is a fictitious entity that is simply taking enrollment monies and not fulfilling service. Oh, goodness! Could this be an illegal entity with off shore implications? Could this be a sham company? Could this be global? Should we contact lawyers? FBI? Dept. of Commerce? Chambers of Commerce? Better Business Bureaus? I've never dealt with anything like this. The challenge is there.

K. G.
Winc., WV
April 03 2019 2:36PM

Motor failed -- garbage disposal. Sears sent consultant. Consultant said disposal failed due to motor failure. Letter rec'd from Sears stating they had no plumber in area so we should hire plumber and they would reimburse us (I have proof of that!). We did that but when we made the claim for $350 (less $100 deductible) they would not honor the claim because they said the plumber was to call them while he was at our home to state reason for failure. We fought their contractor Cross Country Services over many phone calls & much paperwork going back & forth. They were very poor at returning phone calls. After 5 mos. I finally got a supervisor who said they would only give us our $100 deductible but we are out the $250. Disgusting. Plumber did call but they said it was too late (it had to be when he was in our home). What if this had been a large appliance?...... I don't even want to think about it. We quit it as of today. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY. We had been paying $69.00 per month for a long time for this horrible service.

Teresa J.
CASA GRANDE, AZ
April 02 2019 2:32AM

Total and complete scam. I have had this warranty for several years and did not have any trouble til the last year. I understand that Cross Country has taken over and Sears is in bankruptcy so they are protected. I have submitted 2 claims in the past year. The first was a sump pump. The motor was bad. Claim denied. I figured I would let it go rather than fight about it. 2 weeks ago I submitted a claim for my furnace. It needs a part. They said it would take 2-3 weeks to get the part and tried to sell me a new furnace. Mind you, I am in VA and the temperatures have been freezing ( I asked if Sears was going to pay for it and the answer was no) so I had to wait for the part. I get a call back the next week and they say the claim was denied and they tried again to get me to buy a new furnace. I said no. Before I called customer service I called as a new customer to the Sears Home Warranty and recorded the conversation. Whole home warranty covers 100 percent of parts and labor on a furnace. After I got all the information I told the salesman that I was a current customer and my furnace was broken and he hung up on me. Does that sound like fraud? I see a lot of people online that have had the same issues. Shame on Sears and I am not going to let this go.

LISA S.
MIDDLETOWN, SELECT A STATE
March 27 2019 12:43AM

Overall very disappointing home warranty. In my kitchen they will not cover: microwave, ice maker, trash compactor, or fridge (I was told this after I purchased the warranty). They have attempted to fix the dishwasher 4 times, but ended up paying me for it instead (1/4 of the price that it will cost to replace the unit I have). I admit we have higher end appliances, but I asked many questions about the coverage on the phone before I purchased. I have attempted to cancel the warranty since they don't cover most of my appliances and they plan to charge me for the rest of the year! So far in the past 2 years I have paid in $1200 ($49 per month) and they have refused to fix 2 items and were unable to fix the other?? I do NOT recommend Sears as your home warranty company. Pick someone else!

Jen R.
New Port Richey, FL
Write Review