Sears Home Warranty Reviews Page 44

Recent Reviews

April 04 2019 8:19PM

Don't ever buy Sears Home Warranty plan. Don't waste your time and money for the crappy services. We wasted 3 months and $300 but nothing have been fixed and done. They are nothing but just a crappy services company, no wonder they bankrupted.

Noel W.
Philadelphia, PA
April 04 2019 2:30PM

Well, my goodness, we are not alone! Worst experience possible with this company. Over three months without a working refrigerator which is only 2 years old. Promises after promises by the "phone banks" in the Philippines, Ft. Worth, Delaware, Ft. Lauderdale, Winter Park, and Anderson, SC, resulting in multiple no shows (we even came back 800 miles from out of state to be here for a promised appointment which never showed).

Twice over the three months we did have a 2nd / 3rd? outsourced service technician to come and promised to return with parts or service but they never came back - no notification/no call. When we called (through multiple round robin scenarios from person to tape recorded messages to connecting phone numbers which resulted in being back with the same entity started with - sometimes back to the phone bank we start with - or hang ups - or more tape recorded messages) - we found out that the first technician (Audio Tech aka At Your Service) said his diagnosis was "denied" and the second one (A & E Factory Service) who actually ordered and installed parts that did not result in a repair of the problem, said he was not allowed by his company to come back--even though he felt he knew what he could do to provide an adjustment that would result in the repair.!!!

The two technicians who did come over the three month period but were not allowed to complete the job -- were professional and we have no fault lying with them. By the way - the phone number on one truck (A&E Factory Service) resulted in a connection with the same phone bank in the Philippines. Isn't that strange? I thought it would be a local service company , but unfortunately found it linked to the same horrible scenario. Other names encountered aside from service companies are: Sears Home Warranty, National Service Alliance, Cross Country Home Services, Owner Co, Kenmore Customer Care Hotline: -- all resulting in no promises met. No one is accountable. Do the owners of these companies know what is happening? And if they do -- how unfortunate for all. Phone numbers recommended to call but leading to the same place and/or resulting in promises not met--implicit in the problem (no accountability, no service, no power to affect change) include: 800-331-7421 /855-256-2467/ 304-616-8326/ 800-905-9505/ 800-469-4663/ 855-256-2467/ 800-432-1033/ 844-602-5613/ 302-691-7213/ 888-331-4573/ 954-835-1900/ 540-545-7126/ 1-800-349-5077/ 1-888-486-4201/ 540-317-1921--- give or take. My concern at first was for this company -- that had a hoped for strategy to have 2nd and 3rd party companies/technicians to provide nationwide repairs for Sears--sounds good and a worthy goal. But it simply wasn't working for the customer or for them. Imagine the people they were paying that resulted in nothing for the customer!

What a waste of time, effort, and money! I wanted and tried to let them know in a positive way for the betterment of the company. But I could not reach any one who needed to know - like the owner of the company/companies. This is a major default! My hope was to talk with a supervisor, owner of company to nicely let him/her know that this business plan was not fulfilling its promises. But as this process unwound over three plus months with no promises kept -- and realizing the network of phone banks, sites of offices, and no way to connect with supervisors, no accountable persons, personnel saying they didn't know who they worked for, etc. -- my concern grew and left me wondering is if this is a fictitious entity that is simply taking enrollment monies and not fulfilling service. Oh, goodness! Could this be an illegal entity with off shore implications? Could this be a sham company? Could this be global? Should we contact lawyers? FBI? Dept. of Commerce? Chambers of Commerce? Better Business Bureaus? I've never dealt with anything like this. The challenge is there.

K. G.
Winc., WV
April 03 2019 2:36PM

Motor failed -- garbage disposal. Sears sent consultant. Consultant said disposal failed due to motor failure. Letter rec'd from Sears stating they had no plumber in area so we should hire plumber and they would reimburse us (I have proof of that!). We did that but when we made the claim for $350 (less $100 deductible) they would not honor the claim because they said the plumber was to call them while he was at our home to state reason for failure. We fought their contractor Cross Country Services over many phone calls & much paperwork going back & forth. They were very poor at returning phone calls. After 5 mos. I finally got a supervisor who said they would only give us our $100 deductible but we are out the $250. Disgusting. Plumber did call but they said it was too late (it had to be when he was in our home). What if this had been a large appliance?...... I don't even want to think about it. We quit it as of today. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY. We had been paying $69.00 per month for a long time for this horrible service.

Teresa J.
CASA GRANDE, AZ
April 02 2019 2:32AM

Total and complete scam. I have had this warranty for several years and did not have any trouble til the last year. I understand that Cross Country has taken over and Sears is in bankruptcy so they are protected. I have submitted 2 claims in the past year. The first was a sump pump. The motor was bad. Claim denied. I figured I would let it go rather than fight about it. 2 weeks ago I submitted a claim for my furnace. It needs a part. They said it would take 2-3 weeks to get the part and tried to sell me a new furnace. Mind you, I am in VA and the temperatures have been freezing ( I asked if Sears was going to pay for it and the answer was no) so I had to wait for the part. I get a call back the next week and they say the claim was denied and they tried again to get me to buy a new furnace. I said no. Before I called customer service I called as a new customer to the Sears Home Warranty and recorded the conversation. Whole home warranty covers 100 percent of parts and labor on a furnace. After I got all the information I told the salesman that I was a current customer and my furnace was broken and he hung up on me. Does that sound like fraud? I see a lot of people online that have had the same issues. Shame on Sears and I am not going to let this go.

LISA S.
MIDDLETOWN, SELECT A STATE
March 27 2019 12:43AM

Overall very disappointing home warranty. In my kitchen they will not cover: microwave, ice maker, trash compactor, or fridge (I was told this after I purchased the warranty). They have attempted to fix the dishwasher 4 times, but ended up paying me for it instead (1/4 of the price that it will cost to replace the unit I have). I admit we have higher end appliances, but I asked many questions about the coverage on the phone before I purchased. I have attempted to cancel the warranty since they don't cover most of my appliances and they plan to charge me for the rest of the year! So far in the past 2 years I have paid in $1200 ($49 per month) and they have refused to fix 2 items and were unable to fix the other?? I do NOT recommend Sears as your home warranty company. Pick someone else!

Jen R.
New Port Richey, FL
March 25 2019 5:53AM

Great service on every call including replacing air conditioning unit, preventive maintenance visits, and PLUMBING repairs. Professional efficient and timelyhandling of claims and repair services with response and speedy repair service.

Fannie S.
Athens, GA
March 22 2019 7:58PM

Absolutely terrible. My gas pack stopped working in late February. Almost a month later, after several visits by contractors (I had to pay two service fees, also, not just one like they say) they denied my claim. I've never been so jerked around by a commercial outfit in my life, and I've dealt with a few stinkers before over the years. Don't sign up for this, it's a rip off. I regret signing up for this warranty and can't wait to cancel it! I'll never do business with this company again, under any circumstances. These people are the worst. Making me wait a month in the middle of winter with no heat and a pregnant wife at home. If you're going to deny a claim, be quick about it so people with no heat can get somebody honest and trustworthy to fix it in a timely fashion. Bloodsuckers.

Dave S.
Norfolk, SELECT A STATE
March 21 2019 9:01PM

I have a warranty with Sears on my Whirlpool washer. We have been having problems with the washer since November. Everytime a Tech comes out, the washer is back broke within a week, banging loudly and leaking water. Everytime I call, I have to wait over a month before I can get an appointment. That means I have to spend $30 a week going to the washer because I have 5 people in my family. I called today and they tried to give me an appointment that was a month and a half out. I asked the customer service representative why do I have to wait so long, he started telling me that they have to have a service tech in that area. I said well why do they not say that when you buy the warranty. He said meanly, look, I am not gonna go back and forth with with you. I said how is that going back and forth when I asked you a question. He got mad and said good bye, have a nice day and hung up. I called back 6 times. He would pick the phone up and hang up in my face each time, til I finally hit a different number to cancel an appointment instead of make one and I got someone different. That is the worst customer service I have ever had.

TESHAWNA H.
SELMA, AL
March 19 2019 6:31PM

Like others I have stories of terrible service from Sears Home Warranty. I am trying to get my refrigerator repaired for over a month, they can't get the part but won't honor their replacement clause. I can't even get through to a supervisor to talk about it. AWFUL.

William H.
Silver Spring, MD
March 18 2019 1:56PM

I am very frustrated with this Home Warranty Service. I have waited eight weeks to resolve the issues with my washing machine. They do not send parts requested by their providers and lie about having done do. Their customer service never has updated information and when I request to speak to a Supervisor, no one is available. I never get a call back when I request for a Supervisor to do so. All and all the worst service I have ever received. My washing machine is still not repaired.

Wendy M.
Clemson, SC
Write Review