Sears Home Warranty Reviews Page 45

Recent Reviews

February 10 2019 8:06PM

Absolutely the WORST appliance warranty service ever. This company is a disgrace. We have a Sears Kenmore Elite refrigerator that cost almost $3000 barely 2 years old. First it was a bad ice maker. That repair was done ok. Then in November of 2018 the refrigerator was not cooling properly. It is February of 2019 and we still don't have a functioning refrigerator. 2 cancelled appointments (by Sears), one missed appointment (by Sears) 5 service calls with no results, wrong parts sent. Just about every part of the machinery in this refrigerator will have been replaced. It takes two to four weeks to get a service person out. We got so frustrated we purchased a new refrigerator. Sears Warranty people say sorry, nothing we can do about it. Read your contract. Too bad for you.

Robert I.
Myrtle Beach, SC
February 10 2019 4:12PM

BUYER BEWARE!!! I purchased this warranty after a "service" was done on my dishwasher that was not draining. The first technician replaced a small plastic part and tested it, machine drained and called it day. Well a week later, it stopped working after 10-15 minutes into the cycle. Once again, had another technician come in and now he claims it's because when the other technician pushed the dishwasher back, a "line" got twisted. Fixed it, tested it and once again called it a day. Mind you everytime this happens, I had to take time off to work and the second time he was 2.5 hrs late when I was told he was about 25 mins away. So once again, the machine was not working after 2 uses. This time, nothing was available for at least 2 weeks and when I rebooked, it got booked as a new order, new year, which I promptly asked the customer service rep that it should still be under recall as it should have been under the 90 day warranty on the original service. Not my fault that they cannot send anybody earlier. Once again, I have to take time off due to the fact that when I informed the technician that my daughter will be in to let him in, he wanted to know if she can pay the $75 deductible.

I reminded him that this is not a new service but a recall on an previous one. He claims that nobody told him and that there is no record of it in the system. I rushed off after telling my boss I need to be home and there was this tech trying to tell my clueless daughter that it's because we do not have an airgap, which I promptly pointed out to him. Then he claimed, our sink was the problem and that we have a back up. I pointed out to him then if that is the case, then why are we able to wash our dishes in the sink. Then he called his office but he needed to talk to them outside because if the reception. I should have followed him to listen as when he came back it now became a drainage issue in my house. There is another sink in the kitchen, another dishwasher downstairs, 2 washing machines and all 3 bathrooms have not shown any "drainage" issue but now he refuses to continue unless I have the sink fixed. I refused to sign anything and called customer service who I asked to speak to a supervisor.

Of course she infuriated me by coming up with a delaying tactic of trying to help me. Mind you, this was after I got disconnected 4 times. I was finally promised that a supervisor will call me back the next day, Friday and she even gave me an option on time. Of course, no call. Someone tried to call on a Saturday and left a message that it is a drainage issue in my house per technician report so there nothing they can do until I fixed that. When I tried calling 5 minutes after the call, of course, their office is closed. I will pursue a refund on my money even though I know it will be a pain. IN MY OPINION, THIS IS A SCAM AS I AM DOUBTFUL OF THE 4 STAR RATING BASED ON MY EXPERIENCE AND THE FEEDBACK FROM OTHERS.

Lilian B.
KIRKLAND, WA
February 10 2019 12:39PM

This is a scam they are running. They do not simply honor the warranty. Total wastage of money. My water heater started leaking after the 40 days of service and they said it is an existing condition. When I complained to their customer service how can a leak be existing condition as it will result in a flood in more than 40 days of leaking. They told me to get a second opinion. I got a second HVAC company and gave in writing that the leak cannot be more than 2 to 3 days. But Sears refused anyway. The two months premium and two HVAC visits cost me $300.

A R.
ELLICOTT CITY, MD
February 07 2019 4:59PM

It's basically a scam, not worth it at all! We were told they could fix multiple things in one visit-lie. We were told upon signing up we could cancel at any time, with only a $25 fee-lie. In the 4 months we had the warranty we only had our ice maker replaced (again because you could only do one service at a time) so we decided it was not worth it. Called to cancel & either have to pay that service in full or pay the entire year! Such a RIP off!

CARMAN W.
BROKEN BOW, OK
February 05 2019 4:04PM

I'm amazed this site show 4 stars. I have been absolutely ripped off by Sears. Shame on anyone who would promote a Sears Home Warranty. It's Been a nightmare! I bought the Warranty for all my appliances, now they say it only covers my fridge. I'm stuck in this contract for 10 more months.

James N.
Nashville, TN
February 04 2019 5:04PM

Really should be a ZERO. Absolutely horrible service. So sad that I did not read the above reviews prior to signing up. Washing machine broke Jan 3. Repairman showed Jan 8 Since then we are just sitting and waiting. According to the senior supervisors we spoke with, our repair info is in research. Whatever that means. Research. Still going on for practically one month. No end in sight. We are being held captive because we cannot get an answer or results. Time to call the news and tv stations. This is almost fraud.

Terry K.
Setauket, NY
February 04 2019 4:39PM

Needed a heater repair in the evening and when I called was told there was no offices in my area within their network. So I gave them the vendor I use on a regular basis, to include a phone number within the same area code. Was told I would get a call back from dispatch... Meanwhile my house is cold and no call back from dispatch. Next morning I call and the status is the same, waiting on dispatch to find a vendor. I reminded them that I gave them vendor information. Waited another day (luckily a friend fixed my heater but what am I paying Sears for?) gave up, called Sears to speak with a supervisor, waited 4 days for a callback and never got one. Then I called and waited 20 minutes to get to membership to cancel my contract. The only professional response I got was from the guy in membership. And he is refunding me some money. Hey Sears management.... wait was I paying you for if I could not get anything done? Very poor service and I would never recommend Sears warranty to anyone.

Bradford P.
Sierra Vista, AZ
February 01 2019 10:23PM

Tried to get my furnace fixed and they sent 3 different repairmen out before they decided to just get me a new one. They replace my nice furnace with a real cheap one and they didn't install it correctly and when calling All Temperature Controls to come out and fix the furnace they put it for Sears, he told me off and said he would come and take the whole furnace out. I then told Sears I didn't want the same person since he threatened me and they didn't send anyone out so I hired the same repairman they had sent out before and paid him and then Sears would not pay me back. I would not have this warranty program again.

Catherine P.
Brighton, SELECT A STATE
February 01 2019 7:37PM

I have paid into this plan for 17 months and went to cancel and they charged me $95. I was told when I signed up I could cancel at any time. If you have more than one appliance that needs a repair, they will charge you for each appliance separately even though they are already there and it is a simple fix to work on the second appliance. Also, the contract reads that after 3 visits and the unit is not repaired, you may request a replacement. After 6 visits in which a fee was charged each time, we were still not allowed a replacement so we just went and bought one. For the $80 service fee and six visits, we could have just bought a new one in the first place. One time the repairman came out and looked at it and said nothing was wrong so my husband took our dishwasher apart and fixed it himself. Also, they will only give you an 8 hour window instead of a 4 hour window for a visit so I have to take the entire day off work. NOT WORTH THE MONEY!!! AND BEWARE if you want to cancel.

Cynthia P.
Champaign, IL
January 31 2019 8:04PM

Wish I had read this reviews before signing up home appliances maintenance plan. My refrigerator is not working since Sep 2018 and they fixed it but same problem again in Dec 2018. It’s last day of January 2019 and I am still waiting for a part to arrive. No communication from Sears for ETA on part.

Sue T.
Naperville, IL
Write Review