Sears Home Warranty Reviews Page 49

Recent Reviews

October 16 2018 3:05PM

I initially signed up for the appliance plan because I had an issue with my refrigerator. They had to come out 3 times after replacing multiple parts. The last guy welded a wire and fixed it! I upgraded to the whole house plan because my water heater was having issues. I was told I had to wait 30 days to file a claim. I called again the next day and asked if they could back date the plan so I could make a claim. They said no but I was allowed 1 claim in the 1st 30 days. After being transferred they said, "no thats not the case." I already used that 1st claim with the refrigerator. I was transferred again to confirm since I was getting mixed information. No can not make a claim. Wait 30 days. Told them I didnt think it would last 30 days... but we waited scheduled a call had the tech come out paid 100.00 deductible and then this morning at 7am! I get a call saying it was a pre existing condition and not covered. Dont you think one of those 5 people I talked to would have told me that! I was told I should have read the contract!!! Who reads all that especially after I talked to 5 people who never said it would be a pre existing condition. I can not get my 100.00 back and if I cancel I will be charged the 400.00 for the refrigerator repair. Everyone was rude. When I called corporate there are apparently only 2 people answering calls and all calls get transferred to customer service. SEARS NO WONDER YOU ARE GOING BANKRUPT!!! I WILL NEVER USE YOU AGAIN AND I WILL BLAST YOU ON ALL SOCIAL MEDIA... SCAMMERS.

Donna D.
October 13 2018 1:12AM

SEARS HOME WARRANTY IS A SCAM! WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY! They failed 5 times to show up at my house to repair my refrigerator. The one time they did show up the guy was rude. He said he ordered a part. I waited 2 weeks for it come in. Finally I called and I was told it was never ordered, wtf? THIS IS OBVIOUSLY A SCAM! I don’t think they ever had any intention of showing up at my house until I called 18 times! Nor did they have any intention to repair it! WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY. DO NOT GIVE THEM MONEY. ITS A SCAM!

Nolan R.
October 12 2018 6:50PM

8/29/2018: Spoke to a guy named "Stuart," who signed me up with Sears Whole House Warranty Plan. Stuart stated that at anytime I no longer wanted the plan, all I had to do was call and cancel it. At the time in question, there was nothing said about there being a penalty if the plan were to get canceled. In addition, it is now October 12, 2018 and I have still yet to receive a packet about Sears' services, or its terms and conditions. In addition, it was verbally stated as well as currently in the computer, that one whole month is FREE. 8/29/2018: Given a flat rate by above "Stuart," for Tech to fix dryer.

Was not eligible for Sears Whole House Warranty Plan until my dryer was first fixed. 8/30/2018: Tech came to home. Ordered wrong part for dryer. Unbeknown to me at the time, Tech did not annotate that I had paid the $129 flat fee which caused multiple problems later. Wrong part to my dryer came to home by mail, as told would happen. 9/11/2018: Tremendous difficulty in communicating with Sears. No one knows anything. Too many foreign speaking agents who do nothing but incessantly rattle robotic gibberish. No Supervisors available. Told to phone one department after the other, all to no avail, all this time? NO DRYER. 9/11/2018: Finally established communication with Sears. Tech was supposed to come to home this date and re-analyze the dryer problem.

Tech never came. No phone calls nor any form of communication was heard from the Tech that day or thereafter. No follow-up by anyone. Customer left stranded, day wasted. NO DRYER. 9/19/2018: Appointment date was set for Tech to come to home. Tech showed-up and over-bearingly asked for $129. Showed Tech Credit Union bank statement where amount in question had been paid and cleared within bank 8/31/2018. Tech stated a new motor was needed. 9/21/2018: Observed part that belonged to dryer lying aimlessly and flush against kitchen woodwork. Tech had failed to install this piece that went to dryer. Got ahold of Sears and was challenged as to what kind of part it was; had it been shipped; was I sure it belonged to the dryer, etcetera. This courtroom drama continued even after stopping to take, give, and convey height and width measurements to Customer Service clerk. Exasperated, I finally told the clerk, "Why don't you just tell the guy to get his butt back here and put the part where it belongs? 'If I knew what the part was and where it belonged, I wouldn't be calling Sears in the first place!" 9/30/2018: $69.99 was taken out of Account, that amount of money covering payment by the month for Sears Whole House Warranty Plan. 10/5/2018: Appointment was made for Tech to come to home and put dryer part where it belonged. Tech never showed-up. No phone call beforehand or thereafter. No follow-up. Was told a variety of story telling by Customer Service Reps as to why Serviceman did not show-up. Was even told that regardless of whether or not I had been given the house of 12:00 p. m. until 4:00 p. m. for the Serviceman to come, it was just an ESTIMATE, that the Serviceman was on-his-way and that the Service Call would be complied with by 6:00 p. m. that same day. This was a HOAX, all the way around. Customer left stranded. NO DRYER.

How long had it been now without customer having had a dryer? 10/11/2018: An unkempt and unshaven Recall Tech who appeared as though he had slept in his clothes, came to home and re-installed part to dryer. Asked me where screws to part was? 10/11/2018: By 11:10 this date, went to Credit Union whom phoned Sears Warranty. Spoke to Stephanie who canceled my policy (by my adamant request), and was told that by doing so, I would get a bill from Sears for $277.78. Question: Where was my first free month of service? What happened to that? How come no penalty phase was ever mentioned to me at time of initiation by Stuart? How come I am yet to know anything about Sears terms and conditions without yet ever having received my initial customer packet at time of plan initiation or anytime thereafter to current time? The bottom line? The Sears communication system is deplorable. It is also unheard of and despicable that Management does not show accountability for derelict employees whom leaves customer stranded and their days wasted because of No-Show. No one enforces this. Whom would have ever thought Sears was like this? It is a different world now, a different world, indeed, that we live in. Sears is no longer that Sears that it used to be. While it sounds so very simple: Call Sears, reschedule appointment, try to find out what is going on, initiate a request of any kind, robbing Fort Knox would be a lot more simpler. Sears, undoubtedly, is the worst Home Warranty Plan that I've come across.

The entire situation, as a whole, is utterly absurd, ridiculous, and says very little and speaks very poorly about our culture and American way-of-life. Do not get involved with Sears on any basis. I give the company, nor their services, any respect whatsoever. It is my intention to fight the money that I am supposed to owe Sears. There is a lof of fraudulent misrepresentation by Sears' employees. Sears Management and their CEO are the only ones to blame. You can never get ahold of any of them to voice an executive complaint. If you send them an E-mail, it will come back "Undeliverable," even though their web-site address is the very same as the one that is advertised within the computer. STAY AWAY! BAD AND FLAGRANT BUSINESS PRACTICES!!!

VIOLET C.
October 10 2018 5:28PM

It took me 1.5 hours to get an appointment for my broken washer. Twice I was put on hold for over 30 minutes only to have both calls just dropped after waiting. Then , once I finally scheduled it, the technician did not show up .I took off work and waited all morning. My window was 8-12:00 am. at 12:15, I called and was told the guy couldn't get in the gate. I had given them: 1. the gate code, 2. He could've called my from the call box at the gate- he did not., 3. He could've called me on my cell phone or house phone. I gave them both and he did not even try to call me. He simply didn't want to come. Probably wanted to head to lunch. I have three toddlers and elderly parents living here and this has ben a nightmare. Ive spent 69.99 every month for this service and when I needed it, it didn't work!

Gail F.
October 10 2018 5:28PM

It took me 1.5 hours to get an appointment for my broken washer. Twice I was put on hold for over 30 minutes only to have both calls just dropped after waiting. Then, once I finally scheduled it, the technician did not show up. I took off work and waited all morning. My window was 8-12:00 am. at 12:15, I called and was told the guy couldn't get in the gate. I had given them: 1. the gate code, 2. He could've called me from the call box at the gate- he did not, 3. He could've called me on my cell phone or house phone. I gave them both and he did not even try to call me. He simply didn't want to come. Probably wanted to head to lunch. I have three toddlers and elderly parents living here and this has been a nightmare. I've spent 69.99 every month for this service and when I needed it, it didn't work!

Gail F.
October 10 2018 4:36PM

This was by far the worst experience I’ve had in my life, The Sears worker broke my dishwasher and made fixing it and extra $1000 more expensive.My washer was worth $3800, they replaced it with a $500 Discontinued brand washer. They lie to you, they dragged my claim for months. When I wanted to cancel my membership they wanted to fully charge me for all the repairs. Just simply find someone else.

Ahmad O.
October 09 2018 6:18PM

This has been the worse customer service experience I have ever been through, if I could rate it a negative 10 I would have. DO NOT PURCHASE THIS SERVICE. After filing many claims to fix my washer - technician went to fix it 2 maybe even 3 times and supposedly my washer was fixed only to have the same issue within a couple of weeks again, twice they did not show up when I did have an appointment and missed work to be there. On top of all the hours I spend on the phone with them and more time on hold to get to the next level of supervisors when I finally did speak to a Customer Service "SUPERVISOR" she was rude, yelled at me and would talk over me in a very loud voice. When I asked her if the calls really were being recorded and asked her for her name... SHE HUNG UP ON ME. A true CUSTOMER SERVICE SUPERVISOR... if the call had gotten lost by mistake would have called me back... SHE DID NOT. I hope that someone from Sears Home Warranty with TRUE Customer Service skills would have the decency to call me. I also hope that the calls I have made ARE being recorded because I want to request a copy.

Anna M.
October 08 2018 11:15PM

I switched to their plan. Their once a year maintenance is NOT a maintenance check. They don't even clean the flame sensor (which is a safety feature on your unit). They basically are looking for a reason to charge you the call out fee if they can find anything wrong... if they notice the sensor is dirty during the maintenance check they will tell you that you need to make an appt and get it checked... and then they will come and clean it for the $100 call out fee. I got screwed by this company. They are NOT really Sears... They contract with Sears and are called Cross Country. They went up to over $1200 a year for my contract this year. I am now looking at AFC or Americas Preferred HW. Do not buy the whole house warranty with Sears. Their warranties that come separate for appliances are excellent... Sears does all of the maintenance. Those separate appliance warranties cover everything. I had that and they talked me into getting the whole house and dropping those other warranties. BIG MISTAKE. Don't do it!

S M.
October 04 2018 11:21PM

I'm very upset with Sears Home warranty. I made the first appointment to have the "maintenance" to my heater but is just a revision, the technical cancel my appointment because I didn't pick up the call at certain moment, even if I call him back and let him a message because my wife was at home and she doesn't speak English. The appointment they give to the customers is from 8 AM to 5 PM. Can you believe this? You had to lose the whole day at work just for a basic revision. That was last Saturday. I call them yesterday to setup a appointment and they give me the appointment for today from 8 to 5. Nobody shows up and somebody cancel the appointment and it wasn't me. Now I want to cancel so horrible service and I have more that one hour waiting to somebody pick the call up. I'm so sorry to trust in Sears Home warranty. Was a terrible mistake.

Kelvn L.
October 03 2018 9:24PM

Do not get talked into their warranty. I called Sears to get my LG refrigerator fixed. I said I think it is the water line because it is leaking. That’s all I wanted. I did not have a warranty and did not call to get a warranty. The customer service rep told me if I signed up for the warranty the only out of pocket expense would be the $80 service fee and this would be better because the repairs could be costly otherwise. In addition I could get my other appliances fixed throughout the year as often as necessary.

I believe they said a total of 5 or 6 appliances. The price quoted was about $600 but I could pay $50 a month. No mention of what would or would not be covered, just said this is a better deal for you because it could be something big that needs fixed. Sounds good right? Wrong. They sent the tech out. He arrived on time, great. Then I was hit with “ The water line isn’t covered under the warranty, so we can’t fix it but you still owe me $80 because I came out”. Say what?! I called customer service line (which I think is outsourced out of the country) and was told, "sorry it’s not covered," uh but my refrigerator isn’t fixed and you said the warranty would be a better deal and I’m out $130 ($80 service fee and $50 contract installment). Who was it a better deal for when I still have a broken refrigerator and sears made $80?! Needless to say I canceled the service agreement and will never buy anything from Sears, ever. Do not get scammed.

Vera H.
Write Review