Sears Home Warranty Reviews Page 51

Recent Reviews

November 05 2018 10:06PM

Placed a claim on 10/4/18 for a washer. Tech came thought he fixed it... had to call for him to come back... Week later comes back said we need new panel. Came back on the 20th panel didn't work. He spoke to the service department to order new panel. Item sent on the 26th wrong part. I have called customer services at least a dozen times and have been told lies. They claim to be sending the part of on a certain day... when it doesn't come. I call back to find out it was supposedly shipped a different day. Forget trying to talk with a supervisor... they can't be found. There is no customer service... People have heavy accents. Cant understand. When I complain I am basically told will that's the way it is. It is now 11/4/18 and I still have no resolution... DO NOT buy this warranty. Nothing but a scam.

Karen P.
November 05 2018 4:37PM

We purchased the warranty after the third visit to repair my Kenmore Elite refrigerator. Two months later, my washer would not stop filling with water. I called the warranty company and they said that a technician could not come out for 10 days. Ok, bad but not horrible. After looking over the washer, he explained that the washer would need a valve and control arm. I would say that the technician was helpful, courteous and professional.

This visit was on 10/8. The parts were ordered and a follow up to repair the washer was set for 10/25. Understand, this is now a month without the washer. We did receive the valve but the control arm did not arrive. No one called us to cancel the visit. After repeated calling, the woman on the phone said that the control arm was unavailable and that they were looking for other vendors for the part. They could give me no date as to when the part would arrive. I have continued to call for an authorization to replace the washer, which they must do if they can not fix the appliance. As always, I am told that someone will call me back. Only once has someone contacted me and they said they must get an authorization to replace the appliance. That was two weeks ago.

This morning, I got the same story that someone was going to have to authorize a replacement. I asked to speak to the person who was going to authorize it and they explained that they could not. I explained that since I can not get service through the warranty, I will be cancelling. The young lady explained that I was locking in for 6 months. I explained that they could enjoy themselves trying to put through a charge on a credit card that was cancelled. Please, run from this company.

Rich M.
November 01 2018 2:14PM

Reading Violet ** review about the warranty, cancellation and terms and condition, I had the same experience with Sears. I signed up for the plan on 8/22/18, I do not have a name but, his technician id is: **. He signed me up with Sears Appliance Warranty Plan. He stated that at anytime I no longer wanted the plan, all I had to do was call and cancel it. At the time in question, there was nothing said about there being a penalty if the plan were to get canceled. In addition, it is now November 1, 2018 and I have still yet to receive a packet about Sears' services, or its terms and conditions. I am being told I owe $132.31 for cancelling my warranty service. Either the Technician did not have knowledge of how the plan works or he just lied about it.

Steven F.
October 24 2018 4:38PM

The worst service imaginable stay away at all costs. Had a part on back order forever, wanted to charge me for the service visit without providing service. Customer service is a nightmare try to get someone who speaks without a heavy accent and a phone that sounds like it was made at Toys R Us.

Dennis W.
October 23 2018 3:42PM

I purchased all of my appliances (Kenmore Elite) from Sears - stove, convection microwave, dishwasher, refrigerator... All purchased 5 years ago. My ice maker was having issues I could "live with" (stopped making ice and would occasionally leak), but I called Sears out once my dishwasher stopped working in May. Once the repair man fixed my dishwasher I asked him about my freezer/ice maker, and he encouraged me to sign up for the Sears Home Warranty plan. It was sold as $75 per additional repair (not visit, but repair), and if Sears couldn't fix the problem, they'd replace the appliance. Too good to be true, right?! Well it was. It is now almost November, and after 4-5 visits from a 3rd party vendor AND Sears most recently, I was told I have a "lemon," but since the door needs to be replaced, they don't cover that! And they will not replace the appliance (door is $800 and replacement around $1400), so here I am, having paid for their warranty program, been sold/told a lie, almost 7 months later, and still a broken freezer. Atrocious, unacceptable service. The people who answered the phone were decently nice, but the supervisors could not have been less understanding, less empathetic, and came to me with ZERO solutions other than "tough break, sorry." Sears should be ashamed of themselves. I am tempted to go to Best Buy and buy all new Samsung appliances just to get anything that reminds me of Sears out of my life... too bad I can't afford it, partially because I got conned into buying a false warranty plan.

Dana L.
October 16 2018 3:05PM

I initially signed up for the appliance plan because I had an issue with my refrigerator. They had to come out 3 times after replacing multiple parts. The last guy welded a wire and fixed it! I upgraded to the whole house plan because my water heater was having issues. I was told I had to wait 30 days to file a claim. I called again the next day and asked if they could back date the plan so I could make a claim. They said no but I was allowed 1 claim in the 1st 30 days. After being transferred they said, "no thats not the case." I already used that 1st claim with the refrigerator. I was transferred again to confirm since I was getting mixed information. No can not make a claim. Wait 30 days. Told them I didnt think it would last 30 days... but we waited scheduled a call had the tech come out paid 100.00 deductible and then this morning at 7am! I get a call saying it was a pre existing condition and not covered. Dont you think one of those 5 people I talked to would have told me that! I was told I should have read the contract!!! Who reads all that especially after I talked to 5 people who never said it would be a pre existing condition. I can not get my 100.00 back and if I cancel I will be charged the 400.00 for the refrigerator repair. Everyone was rude. When I called corporate there are apparently only 2 people answering calls and all calls get transferred to customer service. SEARS NO WONDER YOU ARE GOING BANKRUPT!!! I WILL NEVER USE YOU AGAIN AND I WILL BLAST YOU ON ALL SOCIAL MEDIA... SCAMMERS.

Donna D.
October 13 2018 1:12AM

SEARS HOME WARRANTY IS A SCAM! WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY! They failed 5 times to show up at my house to repair my refrigerator. The one time they did show up the guy was rude. He said he ordered a part. I waited 2 weeks for it come in. Finally I called and I was told it was never ordered, wtf? THIS IS OBVIOUSLY A SCAM! I don’t think they ever had any intention of showing up at my house until I called 18 times! Nor did they have any intention to repair it! WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY. DO NOT GIVE THEM MONEY. ITS A SCAM!

Nolan R.
October 12 2018 6:50PM

8/29/2018: Spoke to a guy named "Stuart," who signed me up with Sears Whole House Warranty Plan. Stuart stated that at anytime I no longer wanted the plan, all I had to do was call and cancel it. At the time in question, there was nothing said about there being a penalty if the plan were to get canceled. In addition, it is now October 12, 2018 and I have still yet to receive a packet about Sears' services, or its terms and conditions. In addition, it was verbally stated as well as currently in the computer, that one whole month is FREE. 8/29/2018: Given a flat rate by above "Stuart," for Tech to fix dryer.

Was not eligible for Sears Whole House Warranty Plan until my dryer was first fixed. 8/30/2018: Tech came to home. Ordered wrong part for dryer. Unbeknown to me at the time, Tech did not annotate that I had paid the $129 flat fee which caused multiple problems later. Wrong part to my dryer came to home by mail, as told would happen. 9/11/2018: Tremendous difficulty in communicating with Sears. No one knows anything. Too many foreign speaking agents who do nothing but incessantly rattle robotic gibberish. No Supervisors available. Told to phone one department after the other, all to no avail, all this time? NO DRYER. 9/11/2018: Finally established communication with Sears. Tech was supposed to come to home this date and re-analyze the dryer problem.

Tech never came. No phone calls nor any form of communication was heard from the Tech that day or thereafter. No follow-up by anyone. Customer left stranded, day wasted. NO DRYER. 9/19/2018: Appointment date was set for Tech to come to home. Tech showed-up and over-bearingly asked for $129. Showed Tech Credit Union bank statement where amount in question had been paid and cleared within bank 8/31/2018. Tech stated a new motor was needed. 9/21/2018: Observed part that belonged to dryer lying aimlessly and flush against kitchen woodwork. Tech had failed to install this piece that went to dryer. Got ahold of Sears and was challenged as to what kind of part it was; had it been shipped; was I sure it belonged to the dryer, etcetera. This courtroom drama continued even after stopping to take, give, and convey height and width measurements to Customer Service clerk. Exasperated, I finally told the clerk, "Why don't you just tell the guy to get his butt back here and put the part where it belongs? 'If I knew what the part was and where it belonged, I wouldn't be calling Sears in the first place!" 9/30/2018: $69.99 was taken out of Account, that amount of money covering payment by the month for Sears Whole House Warranty Plan. 10/5/2018: Appointment was made for Tech to come to home and put dryer part where it belonged. Tech never showed-up. No phone call beforehand or thereafter. No follow-up. Was told a variety of story telling by Customer Service Reps as to why Serviceman did not show-up. Was even told that regardless of whether or not I had been given the house of 12:00 p. m. until 4:00 p. m. for the Serviceman to come, it was just an ESTIMATE, that the Serviceman was on-his-way and that the Service Call would be complied with by 6:00 p. m. that same day. This was a HOAX, all the way around. Customer left stranded. NO DRYER.

How long had it been now without customer having had a dryer? 10/11/2018: An unkempt and unshaven Recall Tech who appeared as though he had slept in his clothes, came to home and re-installed part to dryer. Asked me where screws to part was? 10/11/2018: By 11:10 this date, went to Credit Union whom phoned Sears Warranty. Spoke to Stephanie who canceled my policy (by my adamant request), and was told that by doing so, I would get a bill from Sears for $277.78. Question: Where was my first free month of service? What happened to that? How come no penalty phase was ever mentioned to me at time of initiation by Stuart? How come I am yet to know anything about Sears terms and conditions without yet ever having received my initial customer packet at time of plan initiation or anytime thereafter to current time? The bottom line? The Sears communication system is deplorable. It is also unheard of and despicable that Management does not show accountability for derelict employees whom leaves customer stranded and their days wasted because of No-Show. No one enforces this. Whom would have ever thought Sears was like this? It is a different world now, a different world, indeed, that we live in. Sears is no longer that Sears that it used to be. While it sounds so very simple: Call Sears, reschedule appointment, try to find out what is going on, initiate a request of any kind, robbing Fort Knox would be a lot more simpler. Sears, undoubtedly, is the worst Home Warranty Plan that I've come across.

The entire situation, as a whole, is utterly absurd, ridiculous, and says very little and speaks very poorly about our culture and American way-of-life. Do not get involved with Sears on any basis. I give the company, nor their services, any respect whatsoever. It is my intention to fight the money that I am supposed to owe Sears. There is a lof of fraudulent misrepresentation by Sears' employees. Sears Management and their CEO are the only ones to blame. You can never get ahold of any of them to voice an executive complaint. If you send them an E-mail, it will come back "Undeliverable," even though their web-site address is the very same as the one that is advertised within the computer. STAY AWAY! BAD AND FLAGRANT BUSINESS PRACTICES!!!

VIOLET C.
October 10 2018 5:28PM

It took me 1.5 hours to get an appointment for my broken washer. Twice I was put on hold for over 30 minutes only to have both calls just dropped after waiting. Then , once I finally scheduled it, the technician did not show up .I took off work and waited all morning. My window was 8-12:00 am. at 12:15, I called and was told the guy couldn't get in the gate. I had given them: 1. the gate code, 2. He could've called my from the call box at the gate- he did not., 3. He could've called me on my cell phone or house phone. I gave them both and he did not even try to call me. He simply didn't want to come. Probably wanted to head to lunch. I have three toddlers and elderly parents living here and this has ben a nightmare. Ive spent 69.99 every month for this service and when I needed it, it didn't work!

Gail F.
October 10 2018 5:28PM

It took me 1.5 hours to get an appointment for my broken washer. Twice I was put on hold for over 30 minutes only to have both calls just dropped after waiting. Then, once I finally scheduled it, the technician did not show up. I took off work and waited all morning. My window was 8-12:00 am. at 12:15, I called and was told the guy couldn't get in the gate. I had given them: 1. the gate code, 2. He could've called me from the call box at the gate- he did not, 3. He could've called me on my cell phone or house phone. I gave them both and he did not even try to call me. He simply didn't want to come. Probably wanted to head to lunch. I have three toddlers and elderly parents living here and this has been a nightmare. I've spent 69.99 every month for this service and when I needed it, it didn't work!

Gail F.
Write Review