Sears Home Warranty Reviews Page 57

Recent Reviews

July 25 2018 4:35PM

If I could give it -5 stars I would. I have had a tech out 10 times and have called about 20 times and still keep getting the run around. The only consistent thing about the customer service rep is that each one tells me the last one provided me incorrect information. STAY AWAY!! Would have been cheaper for me to buy a whole new fridge.

Mairobi G.
July 20 2018 12:03PM

I called Sears for four problems during the year. One refrigerator (two problems) was completely fixed. One refrigerator was partially fixed. One stove they weren't given permission to repair but told us what to do to partially repair ourselves. Some of the repairmen were top notch and some were borderline incompetent. One had driven from three hours away because of a shortage of repairmen.

I think I probably broke even on what it would have cost to not have the warranty but Sears is the only person who would service my Samsung and LG refrigerators anyway so I had to use them. Between the warranty cost and repair costs, I probably spent $1000. A significant problem I had was cancelling the warranty after a year. It started with an email that said the warranty would auto renew. I called and cancelled.

The emails and letters kept calling so I called again and was told they had no record that I had cancelled (person was rude about it) and I was transferred three times before someone again cancelled me. Today I received a letter saying I was cancelled and the tone of the letter was definitely not friendly. Even if I liked their service, I wouldn't use them again because of the difficulty cancelling.

Susan G.
July 17 2018 8:12AM

By calling Sears, I found out my new dishwasher was to be delivered June 26th. It wasn’t! I tried calling Sears many, many times and IF I talked to a live person the connection was so bad that it was mostly a conversation saying “what” or Huh” or “I can’t understand you”. Only most recent call, yesterday, I found out that it was supposed to have been delivered on July 10th. I wasn’t notified nor did it come. I did receive a check for the installation of the dishwasher. However, I’m afraid that I will never get it.

Barbara F.
July 17 2018 2:54AM

I have had the Sears Home Warranty for over two years. I purchased the plan when my refrigerator broke. After three months of different repairmen arriving and not understanding what the last person did, I purchased a new refrigerator but kept the plan. That was a huge mistake. The week before Memorial Day I called to report that my dishwasher would not start the wash cycle. The dishwasher is 15 years old.

The first repairman said it should be replaced but his company refused. Two months and many repair visits later the dishwasher still does not work. The repairmen replace parts with “refurbished” parts. The lights on the front panel all came on before the first visit. The electric control board was replaced, door switches which worked prior to repair had to be replaced, and the list goes on.

Today the repairman found another part that did work is now broken so he is ordering another “refurbished” part. The repair has been outsourced by Sears and that company will have to pay for a new appliance. It is a shell game where the technicians cannot fix the dishwasher so they keep replacing parts until the customer cannot take the stress of a broken appliance any longer. Sears representatives are not helpful and have no desire to make the customers happy. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS WARRANTY PROGRAM! If a zero rating were possible, that would be my choice.

Dickie H.
July 14 2018 2:46AM

So disappointed about my AC/washer on Saturday 7/7/2018 the whole day believing that Sears's technician would show up between the hours 1-5. At 3:45 pm. I received a email saying my appointment had been canceled with no reason why! So my husband called the Customer service for an explanation why! Naol was unable to answer. My husband request a supervisor. "Naol" took his information and said a supervisor will call you back before night's up. Then offered a new appointment day for Thursday 7/12/2018 between the hours of 8-12am. NO supervisor returned our call.

On Wednesday morning my husband called back Sears and spoke with a Supervisor by the name of Lita. She in turn offered an apology for the appointment being canceled on Saturday to him and Lita then offered a $30 gift card for the Inconvenience and re-scheldule a new appointment for Friday7 /13/2018 and assured him that the tech would come 8am-12.pm. That same morning we scheduled another appointment for the washer which was on the blink it was for same day for 1-5pm.

On Friday the Tech that showed up for the AC wasn't knowledgeable about the AC unit so he requests assistance from another technician. Upon his leaving he was sure that he would be back before 4 o'clock that day with help to fix the unit. At 3:54 we called customer service once again to see if the Tech was on his way for the washer. They assured us that the Tech was running late and they would be there between 5-7 o'clock. Meanwhile the AC Tech called to advise us that he was unable return and that we would need to re-scheldule AC service call. We once again called customer service and they said that they were close. We would have to call and reschedule again. Unresolve as even now.

VeronicaVeI m L.
July 13 2018 2:38PM

First my dishwasher stop heating. Waited 2 weeks for appt. and then they has to order part, another 2 weeks and when they got here there were the wrong parts, another 2 weeks. In total 6 weeks before it was repaired. My one year old smart tv bought at Sears started with a short circuit, on/off and a funny smell. They told us they did not have anyone in the area so it would take 3 weeks before a tech could come and see it. After the tech came, he needed to order 2 parts, another 2 weeks, but then only one came, the other was back ordered and they had no idea when it would be delivered. After many phones calls including home office we are still waiting for repair. No, I will not recommend or get Sears again. Too bad I paid for the full year. Never thought Sears would do this to their loyal customers.

Harvey S.
July 13 2018 9:10AM

This started when I called to schedule a Sears service call. The call center then pitched me the warranty program - everything was covered. I was a tough sell but she convinced me. Since then, every time I make an appt for a service call, "Oh, that's not covered, that's not covered, that's covered, that's not covered". NONE of this was cited on the original sales call. The dispute is the semantics they use and the terms they selectively use to exclude service claims. I was lied to.

Andrew L.
July 12 2018 4:53PM

Sears should definitely stay out of the home warranty business. On May 30th, I called in a claim on my subzero freezer and a Sears tech was scheduled to service it on June 1. Because the Sears automated system advised that we needed the model/make info, I had that available, but the Sears Home Warranty Rep did not ask for the info. Additionally, when I offered the information, I was told it was not necessary by the Sears Rep.

On June 1, the Sears Tech advised me he was on the way and requested the model/make. When I said it was a Subzero, he informed me Sears did not service Subzeros, so I again called the Sears Home Warranty, who then attempted to schedule a third party contractor to service it. Thus began the ridiculously inadequate customer service by Sears. I had to call to make sure Sears was communicating with their own third party contractor. Because it was a third party contractor, there somehow were at least 3 different levels of people at Sears working on this claim, none of whom were affiliated with or communicated with the Sears Home Warranty.

It was a total nightmare. The compressor had gone bad on the freezer, which I understand is a fairly significant cost. Instead of trying to call the huge black hole of customer service at Sears (all of which were very nice and did absolutely nothing), I would have mostly gladly paid an absurd price to have my freezer fixed within a reasonable amount of time. (This is summer, people!!) I finally got the freezer repaired on June 18th by the third party contractor. In the interim, I spent hours on the phone trying to get a status and find out what the diagnosis was and when the part would be available.

I requested my $100 service fee back from Sears Home Warranty due to the horrible customer service at Sears Home Warranty, but it was denied. I was promised phone calls back on at least 2 different occasions, and it never happened. The lack of communication within Sears is simply appalling. Short hold times? Well, if you consider a 40-minute phone call short! My concerns about the lack of response and inaccurate information at Sears was not addressed at all. I spoke with at least 3 different managers, all of whom gave a variety of explanations of why the service at Sears Home Warranty was so horrid: the Warranty program and computers were "in transition", the "delays were to be expected" (really?? 3+ weeks??), and "it was the fault of the third party contractor". This should have been a simple diagnosis and repair. To date (July 12th!!) the automated system at Sears Home Warranty still is inaccurate, the "notes" taken by Sears Home Warranty people are totally inaccurate, and the management and the customer service communication at Sears Home Warranty is absolutely dismal.

I will be cancelling at my first opportunity, which is October 9th (otherwise, I am penalized due to the contract I signed, because of the "service" Sears provided on the Subzero freezer)!! This is literally amazing in this day and age. I would never recommend Sears Home Warranty to anyone. STAY AWAY!! IT IS NOT WORTH IT!!

Sally H.
July 12 2018 7:48AM

Customer service is worst than most. The warranty is useless and not cost effective. The service providers are not dependable and lack technical knowledge regarding the products they service. Totally unacceptable and I will never do business with this company again. The company has built-in traps that ensure that they put the customer at a financial disadvantage. Individuals are better off contacting service providers from the specific store where the product was purchased.

Chester F.
July 11 2018 4:01PM

Purchased this plan last November. Very little information is sent to you. Turns out there are at the very least 6 phone numbers to foreign countries that you will be bounced back and forth with. Accents of the operators make trying to communicate your needs almost impossible. Sears sells this product to a separate company. Our paperwork when we purchased clearly shows it covers garage door openers...but not in all areas and they do not tell you that until after you have placed a claim for service, have been given a service call date and no one shows up or calls. Impossible to reach anyone that knows anything.

After being bounced back and forth for 40 minutes (on 2 different days) on the phone with always being told another department needed to handle my request. I asked to speak to someone in the US, was told not possible, I asked to speak to a supervisor, was also told not possible.

We are short by 4 months of paying for a full year, but they have broken the contract as far as I'm concerned and will be blocking their withdrawing from my bank account. I'd be thrilled to have them take me to court for $300.

Linda G.
Write Review