Sears Home Warranty Reviews Page 58

Recent Reviews

June 18 2018 3:54PM

I was extremely disappointed to know that after paying for this service for a year and never using it, I was told that there is a time period allotted for heating / air maintenance. Of which, I am out of season. This meant that I didn't schedule the maintenance for my air conditioner in early march so, I can't schedule again until August. It is now June. Of course these are things you don't think about until you really have to use them. I am grateful that my unit is working properly but I felt with a hot summer approaching, it was time. Unfortunately my timing and Sears, for the service I paid for, did not match. (Nearly a thousand dollars and I can't use the service!) #unhappy customer.

Felecia A.
June 18 2018 1:46PM

This isn't a Sears product and you should not expect Sears quality or service. It's a hodge podge of other companies including Cross Country Home Services. Bait and switch all day long. Even the technicians from A&E are fed up.

Neil G.
June 15 2018 2:45PM

Our microwave quit working. Called Sears home warranty. Repairman said cost of repair was more than replacement and he would contact Sears who would contact me. They never called. We have called them at least 10 times. They always have an excuse ."It's in research", "We've got a lot of ac complaints because of hot weather," "We've sent e-mails to research," etc. They can never connect you with a supervisor. It's been 5 wks. since the service call. We are fed up. Going to make complaints to BBB and Florida Attorney Generals office.

William D.
June 15 2018 1:30PM

Folks- It does not get any worse then this. First, I cannot believe Sears endorses this company that calls themselves professionals and who tries to make you believe they are there to service your needs, you pay for every month. When you call the Customer Service for help, expect a huge delay in your life (48 hrs.) to get someone outside the company to service or make a house call to diagnose the problem. Oh, $100.00 for telling you and Sears Home Warranty your air conditioner is not working. Now, I'm on 72 hours without air, COPD and 85 deg. in my house with about the same in humidity. My next call is to the Sears Holding Group- (847) 286-2500 to explain to a corporate executive about my experience and why I will never buy at Sears again. I will also tell he or she my next call will be to my local hospital to get advice on my condition and why it is growing worse. When will they let you rate: -5 stars

John W.
June 14 2018 3:56PM

I signed up for the Appliance policy when I moved into my home and discovered the dishwasher was broken. I called the 1-800 on the dishwasher which was for the Sears Home Warranty Plan. I inquired how the plan worked and I was told it was the $50ish per month for the plan with a maximum of $500 in month 1, then the plan increased to $10,000 per month in month two and going forward. I asked what the terms were, and the gentleman explained there was no obligation for their plan.

I could simply sign up and if I no longer wanted the plan, cancel at any time. I took the appliance plan and paid the $50ish for the down payment and schedule the service call to work on my dishwasher. I was told I had to pay a fee for diagnostics which would be about $80. I agreed and set up the appointment. The FIRST visit, the person showed up, looked at the dishwasher and told me I needed a new motor. He said he would order the part and it would be delivered to my home.

When the part arrived, I was instructed to call back and reschedule a new technician. I did as instructed when the new motor arrived in a week. They set up another appointment for a week later, the technician showed up, and he stated that the dishwasher needed not a new motor, but a new control board. He stated he would order the part and it would be shipped to my home, once it arrived, I was instructed to call back and set up another appointment. I did as instructed and called when I received the new control board.

I waited another week and a half and the technician showed up and said he could not install the board as he was worried there may have been a cockroach infestation since he could see some residue on the back of the dishwasher (home was vacant for 2 years before I purchased it). The technician told me to call an exterminator to be safe so they would not short circuit the control board if there was any possible cockroaches in the home. He said once the exterminator was done, call back for a new appointment.

I did as instructed, and after waiting two more weeks, another technician was scheduled to come to my home. On the day of the appointment, the technician no showed on my appointment. I called back into Sears, and they state the technician called and said he was too busy to come today and would have to reschedule! Thanks for letting me know, I took off work to wait on this person and no one had the courtesy to even call! Finally, I reschedule again, on the spot, for another appointment.

Once again, they set it up for 2 weeks away. The person finally shows up and finally I get my motor and control board installed and the dishwasher working after two hours. I was severely upset at now I was given the run around and made to wait, wait and wait some more and take a total of 5 different days off of work. They don't seem to care that they cannot do their job in one or two visits. However, with that being said, informed Sears I was cancelling due to their lack of reliable service and was no longer interested in keeping their warranty.

I was charged for my second month of coverage, yet handn't even gotten my only repair completed when I scheduled it the very night I began my service. I was told that in order to cancel my service, I must pay them a $190.00 cancellation fee unless I waited until March of 2019. I inquired why I owed them any such "fee" since I was promised this plan could be cancelled at any time? The woman on the phone informed me that was incorrect and I had agreed to a one year serve agreement. I informed her that, in fact, I had NOT agreed to any such terms and had been lied to by phone if that was the case.

I demanded to speak to her supervisor and straighten this matter out. I was told there was no manager to speak with and would have to wait 24-48 hours for a call back while the put in my request for the call back. I finally agreed and gave them my information for the call back. I am now writing this review 10 days later, still no call back, still no resolution, and the company still under the impression they have me in some kind of agreement where their service sucks, their employees lie to get you to agree to start service, and then once they have your bank account information, claim you cannot cancel without paying a penalty. Ironically, when I signed up everything was "recorded for quality assurance", yet no one can seem to figure out where that recording would be that would clearly have the agent lying and telling me there is no contract, termination fee, nor is there any obligation to keep their warranty.

It seems too convenient to me that this recording is suddenly nowhere to be found. DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY.

Shaun M.
June 13 2018 9:52AM

After 6 months and many repair visits by what I'd call inexperienced technicians, my dishwasher is in the same state as is was in January - not working. When I call the 855-256-2467 number listed on the Sears Home Warranty website it's basically like starting everything over. Do not sign up for this rip off. I asked the membership desk to cancel and they told me I cannot cancel until August - but my guess is if I don't call at the exact right time they will automatically sign me up for another year. I am now going to call my bank and ask them to stop the auto-pay. If I cannot do this, I will cancel my credit card and get a new credit card - number and all. What a major headache. It should be zero stars, but that option is not available.

Mick F.
June 12 2018 11:34AM

This place is so unreliable and dysfunctional. Do not ever use Sears home warranty. They will take your money, but will not provide the service you need. So far I have been struggling for them to repair my wall oven. It has been more than three months. Finally they bought a new oven last week and that happened to be the wrong size and seems like I am looking at another three months before they replace it. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY ON SEARS HOME WARRANTY. THEY ARE NOT REAL.

Hoyt H.
June 11 2018 11:58AM

I would not refer Sears Home Warranty to anyone, not even a member of ISIS. THEY SPEND MORE TIME TRYIN TO FIND THE CHEAPEST PROBLEM RESOLUTION Thantrying to correct the breakdown. I’m handicapped and I have a 12 yr old with cerebral palsy that requires total care. I’ve been without my washer, ceiling fan, and central air condition for three (3) weeks. Sears has a long list of excuses and apologies when called, if you’re lucky enough to reach someone who speaks enough English so that you can u derstand, and don’t get ‘accidentally ‘ disconnected. DO NOT TRUSTSEAR’S with your ho e Warranty needs. You’ll be THOROUGHLY DISAPPOINTED!

Norma S.
June 11 2018 11:58AM

I would not refer Sears Home Warranty to anyone, not even a member of ISIS. THEY SPEND MORE TIME TRYIN TO FIND THE CHEAPEST PROBLEM RESOLUTION Thantrying to correct the breakdown. I’m handicapped and I have a 12 yr old with cerebral palsy that requires total care. I’ve been without my washer, ceiling fan, and central air condition for three (3) weeks. Sears has a long list of excuses and apologies when called, if you’re lucky enough to reach someone who speaks enough English so that you can u derstand, and don’t get ‘accidentally ‘ disconnected. DO NOT TRUSTSEAR’S with your ho e Warranty needs. You’ll be THOROUGHLY DISAPPOINTED!

Norma S.
June 11 2018 11:58AM

I would not refer Sears Home Warranty to anyone, not even a member of **. THEY SPEND MORE TIME TRYIN TO FIND THE CHEAPEST PROBLEM RESOLUTION Than trying to correct the breakdown. I’m handicapped and I have a 12 yr old with cerebral palsy that requires total care. I’ve been without my washer, ceiling fan, and central air condition for three (3) weeks. Sears has a long list of excuses and apologies when called, if you’re lucky enough to reach someone who speaks enough English so that you can understand, and don’t get ‘accidentally ‘ disconnected. DO NOT TRUST SEARS with your home Warranty needs. You’ll be THOROUGHLY DISAPPOINTED!

Norma S.
Write Review