Sears Home Warranty Reviews Page 61

Recent Reviews

May 21 2018 9:46PM

After twenty plus years with American Home Shield I had finally had enough of 1 hour hold times and left. I thought I'd give Sears Home Warranty a try in spite of it being quite high priced because I was hopeful of better service. In a way it is, I don't have to wait an hour to speak to someone but as others mentioned don't be surprised to wait a week for an appointment only to have the provider not show up.

I've only been with SHW for about four months and I've already had two claims. I'll address them separately: A clothes drier was first, I actually signed up after the drier was broken which I thought was a great hook to get you to sign up for the warranty. I had to wait the better part of a week for the appointment but a holiday weekend probably extended the wait. On appliances, unlike A/C or heating, you may actually be dealing with Sears personnel.

I can't say that is always the case but it was for me but it took three trips to get our drier fixed. The first repair person totally blew the diagnosis and had the electric motor shipped to us and as it turned out that was not the problem. I had my doubts about this guy when heard him on the phone asking someone else what to look for. Sigh... I waited a week for the parts to arrive, notified Sears that the parts had arrived and waited three or four days longer.

A knowledgeable repair person who very quickly determined the problem was the control card not the motor. It's an old drier so he wasn't sure they could get a replacement but it turn out they did. BTW if they had not been able to obtain the replacement part they would have given us $500 towards the purchase of the drier of our choice. Another day or two later a third guy came out, replaced the part and the drier was fixed. Satisfactory end result but going a month without a drier? NOT GOOD! Now, my A/C isn't cooling like it should. I figured out how to file the claim online.

The only problem with that is the fact that if you file online, you are responsible for contacting the service provider yourself. This started last Tuesday and my appointment was scheduled for the following Monday. I called and left a message for the service provider that evening after closing time but they didn't return my call the next day so I called them again. The next morning they did call back and my appointment was confirmed for Monday between 12:00 PM and 5:00 PM. They never came and they never called. I called Sears who basically indicated I should have called the service provider.

I said it sounded like they wanted me to bear all the burdens and the representative actually said, "Yes, that's right." So now I will be calling again in the morning since it's after hours again. If I don't hear from the service people in the morning by nine Sears is supposed to get someone else out to fix the problem. I asked if the appointment would be another week away and they said no it would be the within two days. Maybe so, I'm not convinced and I'm not particularly happy.

Surely someone does warranties right out there somewhere. AHS was low priced (relatively speaking) and had customer service to match but the service providers usually came in a reasonable amount of time and were usually good. Sears has been much easier to get in touch with but the service is VERY SLOW and VERY EXPENSIVE. I strongly suspect I'll be trying another provider very soon.

Bobby W.
May 21 2018 3:15PM

Our refrigerator stopped working in March. We called Sears Warranty and they set up an appointment for three weeks later to diagnose the problem. We were told that a technician would install a new circuit board after three more weeks. When the technician arrived, he discovered that the wrong circuit board was sent to us. He ordered the correct circuit board and scheduled another appointment for four weeks later. He installed the new board and the refrigerator still would not get cold. We called the company to complain and they offered to send someone out to us in 4 more weeks. Having waited a total of 4 month and still did not have a working refrigerator, we called customer service to cancel our policy. Their representative told us they would set up an appointment with a Sears technician to come out that day and declare the refrigerator unrepairable so that they could pay for a new one. She promised to call us back at 4 PM to make sure the appointment was kept. No one from Sears showed up and the rep never called us back. Since all calls to the company are routed through a call center and assigned to reps randomly, we could not contact the rep who promised us she would start the replacement process. Finally, after living out of a small refrigerator in our garage, and getting no resolution in 4months, we went out and bought a new unit. Sears Warranty gave us an $8 rebate and would not contribute anything to the cost of the new refrigerator since we did not go through the proper procedures. There are criminal enterprises with more integrity.

Stephen F.
May 21 2018 11:06AM

I have been having issue with my refrigerator for the past 5 months. Made a service call to Sears in early Jan'18. The technicians came in and fixed compressor, valves and few other parts of the refrigerator in early Feb. Just a few weeks after, the refrigerator started making sounds (fan was noisy) and the cooling was not very effective.

Called in to Sears for recall and set up an appointment. Nobody showed. Called in again and set up an appt. 2 different companies (Sears and Emperial) called in to check on the refrigerator. Emperial came on May 10 checked refrigerator and said fan motor not working and that they will order parts and call back to schedule a time to fix it. The next day - May 11, A & E calls and says they have an appt to look at the refrigerator.

I called Sears Home warranty and tell them the refrigerator was already seen by Emperial and asked if I still need A & E to come in. The customer service rep adviced to let A & E check on the issue. A guy named Patrick came from A & E and said program board does not work, so he replaced with a new one he had in his truck. Patrick said all looks good and he left. Few hours later the refrigerator totally stops working and it was weekend. So I call Sears home warranty claims department (May 11) and they said they could not do anything until following week. Finally someone (Ben) shows up from A & E on Tuesday (following week, May 15) and they said the program board was not fixed properly, everything else looks good.

Ben said will check in few hours or day to see if refrigerator is working before closing order and that he knew what part to order (another valve) if the refrigerator does not work. He never calls, refrigerator does not work. Meanwhile Emperial calls back on Thursday (May 17) and said they have the parts ready (Fan motor) and can come on Friday to fix it.

Emperial does not show up on Friday - May 18. I finally call Sears Home Warranty on May 18 evening again to check on the status of the service request. I tell the entire history of several different technicians coming in and each one diagnose a different issue. The customer service rep said they cant do anything until they get the report from service provider.

They asked me to wait and call back to check on status. I called in Monday May 21st to check on the status. The customer service rep said there is no open order, all service requests have been completed. I told them refrigerator is still not working. Customer service rep said a new request has to be opened and put me on hold. After several mins of waiting she says they are unable to open a new request because my account already had several request and it crossed the maximum number of requests.

Absolutely frustrated - one thing refrigerator is not working, second paying big bucks to Sears is not working, 3rd long wait on Customer service and each time different response. Honestly not sure if I can get Sears to fix my refrigerator. And all my appliances are from Sears....seriously, not a good choice!!!

Jo G.
May 21 2018 9:48AM

Our washing machine broke down and it took more than two weeks to have it fixed. The dryer broke down shortly thereafter and they were unable to fix in a reasonable amount of time so we purchased a new dryer with our own money. Our refrigerator stopped working a few months after that and they could not fix it because the serial number was not legible and they wasted time setting appointments with technicians who supposedly could but at the end of the day were unable to. Sears would also not replace the fridge because the problem was due to the serial number issue. In all of this, I spent countless hours on the phone and mostly waiting and on hold. I strongly suggest you do not waste your time and money in a Sears Home Warranty.

Jacqueline D.
May 19 2018 4:31PM

I have had a couple of claims under my home warranty plan. I have to pay $40 a month for the plan and then a $75 deductible on each claim. Waited for two weeks to get the part I needed for my washing machine. I also needed a new lid for my washing machine because it one of the hinges was rusting, but that isn't covered under the plan because it is considered "cosmetic". Had to buy that myself. The first lid I received came dented. Had to send that back and get another one which finally worked out. Now I called to schedule a maintenance check on my air conditioner for this year and was told I was four days too late to do that. Won't bend on that request. But they still want my monthly fee. Just not worth the hassle.

Tim H.
May 18 2018 11:52AM

In retrospect, I wouldn't have signed up for this plan. I paid $39,95 a month for two years, then got charged $149 for cancelling it about three months after making a claim. I had a problem with my ice maker that required a half dozen service calls -- it really should've been fixed in two or three -- and I literally spent hours on hold during various phone calls for service. When I called to cancel, they repeatedly put me on hold in what seemed like an attempt to get me to just give up, hang up and keep the warranty. Then they told me it would cost $149 to cancel. When I told the operator to go ahead and cancel it anyway, she tried to put me on hold again to wait for a confirmation number. At that point, I decided I'd had enough. Trust me: The time you'll spend on hold alone will make you regret buying into this warranty plan.

Doug M.
May 17 2018 4:56PM

Warranty is 75.00 a month. Ive been without a washer for 24days. The repairman has been here three times order new parts each time. Its still not fixed. He submitted a report that it cant be fixed 4 days ago. My claim is still in "review" no replacement or store credit offered yet. No urgency by them to fix this problem. Id never by from them again and do not recommend this warranty. Its useless and what you pay for it your could replace that which breaks down.

Taunja H.
May 17 2018 2:52PM

Totally unsatisfied. This is the second appliance that I have had a repair call on. Both times I have dealt with a 2nd rate repairman, who have to come to my home multiple times. There is no customer service support for complaints either. You basically have to deal with whomever the computer generates in your area for you serviceman, regardless of his skill level. Phone center is totally out-sourced and no one speaks English. How disappointing that Sears has fallen this far! I would NOT recommend the warranty service.

Nancy P.
May 17 2018 9:51AM

This is a very expensive plan. I paid $69 per month and received shoddy service. They had a hard time finding me providers, I had to wait days for providers to come and when they came they charged me the $100 deductible. I had a water heater replaced and by the time they charged me for fees and new piping, the water heater cost me more than if I had went out and hired my OWN provider. This is NOT Sears, It is an insurance company that goes out of its way NOT to provide services...Lots of obstacles and hoops for each claim. When you call, expect to be on hold for 30 minutes minimum!

Bill T.
May 15 2018 5:27PM

Very unsatisfied!!!!! This is not a Sear product. I have been paying $49 a month and have waited over one month for a part to come in. Can not speak to anyone with any knowledge, only offshore phone bank. Another claim for a refrigerator repair was denied because they dont cover door seals. Come on!

Leslie D.
Write Review