ThermoSpas

ThermoSpas Review

Whether you need the most affordable spa or you want to create a high-end relaxation system with 172 jets, ThermoSpas Hot Tubs offers a wide selection of customizable above-ground spas with seating for up to eight people. With so many options across seven models and the ability to create a unique hot tub design online, ThermoSpas is a top pick in our Best Hot Tub Companies Guide.

ThermoSpas received recognition from the Pool & Spa Professionals, National Spa & Pool Institute and the Better Business Bureau for providing honest and accurate information to customers. The company is the only spa manufacturer to receive the Ease-of-Use Commendation from the National Arthritis Foundation.

Pros
  • Free review of proposed hot tub location
  • Personalized, expert advice for choosing the right hot tub
  • Substantial 20-year limited warranty on the shell, 10 years prorated on plumbing and heater

Cons
  • You can’t wet test your spa at a dealership or get immediate local service
  • No pricing online, or via email after filling out an online quote request

ThermoSpas Hot Tub Models and Features

Standard features found on ThermoSpas hot tubs vary by model but include easy-access digital control panels and heaters manufactured with titanium components lasting 10 times longer than conventional heaters. ThermoSpas’ lounge seats are extended to increase relaxation, and built-in therapy seats provide a deep massage. Continuous cast acrylic shells with a UV inhibitor to prevent fading are sturdier than the Gelcoat, composite acrylics, AOS plastic and vinyl the competition sells.

ThermoSpas’ seven hot tub models seat from two to eight people and use ThermoFiltration to deliver clear, clean water around the clock. Many other hot tubs use high-speed pumps that only activate twice a day for cleaning, while ThermoFiltration filters each gallon up to 144 times per day. Another plus is the filters on ThermoSpas hot tubs are easily accessed so replacing filters is never a hassle.

ThermoSpas Hot Tubs Jet Configurations

An especially notable feature you can add to some ThermoSpas models is customizable jets. ThermoSpas offers one of the most extensive selections in the industry providing a multitude of choices in the type and number of jets. Pillow jets are used for a soothing neck massage while therapy jets have adjustable powerful directional streams. Swirl jets pamper you with water swirling in a circular pattern, and pulsating, laser or whirlpool jets all deliver stronger massage options.

Other ThermoSpas Hot Tubs Options

The number of options you can add to a ThermoSpas hot tub depends on the model you buy. The benefits of the optional features listed below provide added comfort, increased cleanliness and safety, temperature control and more.

  • Total Control Therapy allows jets in each seat to be controlled independently of others.
  • Deluxe LED lighting package with illuminated grab bars, backlit pillow jets, and underwater LED lighting.
  • Air Bubbling System with Control Valve is a unique thermo-insulation system feeding warm air into the spa to ensure consistent water temperature regardless of air temperature.
  • 30 mg Standard Ozone or 250 mg ThermOzone Systems disinfect and sanitize your hot tub.
  • Safety Hand Rail and Full-Length Step Packages help you avoid slipping and make getting in and out of the tub easier.

Custom ThermoSpas Hot Tubs

The ThermoSpas Design-Your-Own program provides hot tub options from top to bottom. You create your hot tub using the Design-Your-Own tool on the ThermoSpas website, which shows you in real-time what your hot tub will look like as you add and adjust features. You can preview the tub with people in it as you go if you want to. Use Design-Your-Own Hot Tub to select:

  • The number of seats for your hot tub
  • Number of jets
  • Choice of shell color from eight shades
  • Four selections of cabinet color
  • Options like LED lighting, steps, ozonators, cover lifts and more

Once you’ve designed your dream hot tub, enter your name, ZIP code, phone number and email address to receive an email confirming your request for more information. The email includes a link to ThermoSpas videos, brochure downloads, and a printable $1,250 savings coupon. A ThermoSpas representative will contact you to explain the one-year price guarantee and to set up an appointment to discuss a suggested hot tub location at your home and discuss your configuration.

ThermoSpas Park Avenue Hot Tub

Source: ThermoSpas

ThermoSpas Hot Tubs Complaints

ThermoSpas scores highly across online consumer reviews. ThermoSpas is a ConsumerAffairs accredited company, where customer reviews result in a 4.1 out of 5-star rating. Consumer opinion on My3Cents averages out to 4.4 out of 5. ThermoSpas is accredited by the Better Business Bureau and rates an “A+” on the BBB website, where we found only three complaints over the past year. The company responded to complaints including some regarding issues beyond ThermoSpas’ control such as chemicals needed to keep hot tub water clean.

ThermoSpas Hot Tubs Q&A

  • What is the most popular ThermoSpas hot tub model?
    ThermoSpas lists two of the seven models in their lineup as best sellers: the Concord with seating for up to four adults, and the larger Park Avenue, which seats up to five.

  • How much do ThermoSpas hot tubs cost?
    The prices for ThermoSpas hot tubs range widely from $4,000 up to $22,000, depending on how many features you add to the model you choose. Given the average price of an acrylic hot tub is between $11,000 and $16,000, ThermoSpas keeps prices low by selling directly to customers instead of to retailers who then mark up the price before selling. Keep in mind the price of a hot tub includes maintenance and energy used over the years.

  • Does ThermoSpas sell hot tub covers for each model?
    Yes, but you won’t find the covers on the ThermoSpas website. Instead, each cover is designed to specifications that fit your customized hot tub. To ensure you get the correct cover, a factory representative will advise you on the best cover for your spa configuration.

  • How heavy are ThermoSpas hot tub covers?
    The weight of a ThermoSpas cover varies depending on the hot tub model but is durable, sturdy and easy to remove and put into place. If the hot tub cover weight or maneuverability is a concern, ThermoSpas offers three different lift systems to make covering and uncovering the hot tub a breeze. ThermoSpas’ Thermo Lift 300 is the only cover lifting system that earned the Arthritis Foundation’s Ease of Use Commendation.

  • How does ThermoSpas financing work?
    ThermoSpas financing is in the form of a Wells Fargo Outdoor Solutions credit card with a no-interest or low-interest payment schedule. If you go with the no-interest financing, pay the balance off before the end of the promotional period to avoid getting billed for 28.9 percent interest accrued over the length of the term. You can apply online from the ThermoSpas website at any convenient time.

Conclusion

A hot tub can be an investment providing relief from chronic pain caused by arthritis, fibromyalgia, joint pain and other health concerns. Other therapeutic benefits include reducing stress and anxiety while improving sleep quality. ThermoSpas works with you to find a package for your budget and available space. Since the company doesn’t sell through dealerships or big box stores, you’ll get a custom hot tub solution to meet your needs at a lower cost.

To learn more, and receive $1,250 in coupons, visit Thermospas online.

Thermospas Reviews

Recent Reviews

Featured Review
August 20 2020 3:41PM

After several back surgeries, I bought a Gemini back in 2011, and kept it until I replaced it with a Maui last month (July of 2020). I have no complaints about either spa.

I never had a single problem with the Gemini. It worked perfectly until my Maui arrived, and had we been able to find someone who had room for it, I would have felt comfortable finding it another home.

I absolutely love the features on the Maui. I’m tall, and the Gemini was too shallow for the jets to hit my neck. I don’t have that problem with the Maui. It is GORGEOUS, and suits me just fine. I consistently use the spa at least twice a day, and have done so since all the surgeries.

I couldn’t live without it! In all the years I’ve dealt with ThermoSpas, they’ve been responsive and helpful, both on the sales side and the technical side. I am looking forward to the same quality from the Maui as I enjoyed with the Gemini. Five stars all around!

Nan H.
Huntsville, AL
May 06 2022 3:57AM

We received our hot tub on Monday, 04/11/22. The delivery people placed the hot tub in its spot and left all the packaging materials for me to dispose of. Not a huge deal but was surprised I had to clean up the mess.

Went through the manual and texted the rep. He called and over the phone explained what I needed to do to fill the hot tub. The next day, before my electrician arrived, I found a leak near the filter area. Contacted my rep who gave me the email to the support team.

Support set up a a local repair place and the arrived that Friday, 04/15/22. The repair guy came with a tube of silicone and a hand towel. I explained to where the leak was and he basically told me I was wrong and put silicone around the top of filter on my brand new $15,000 hot tub.

Well the next day I refilled the hot tub and turned the power on. I immediately started getting a code on the panel that the heater wasn’t working. Checked the manual and followed the troubleshooting recommendations.

I then opened the lower panels around the hot tub to re-verify that everything was as it was supposed to be. After opening it up found the same leak. So I continued to look into getting the heater going and then the power pack control panel stopped working.

Made another request to support for a repair and also requested to speak to a member of management. I’ve waited 2 weeks since that and still have not had a repair made or contact from a member of management.

I contacted my rep and support again today and requested my money back and to return the hot tub. It’s very disheartening to pay so much for something and not get anyone from ThermoSpas to care at all about my situation.

The rep continues to tell me that my situation is very rare and that this never happens! If this is how this company takes care of their customers, I just want out!

Oh and I never did receive the steps, contacted the rep and was given half my money back and a week ago I got an email I was getting a lower quality set of step, which have still not arrived. The experience just keeps adding up with more and more disappointment.

Michael P.
St Jacob, IL
April 29 2022 8:49PM

I have owned 3 hot tubs, and 3 top manufacturers. They are all pretty much the same in quality and craftsmanship. Let's face it, they all break and all of them could step up the quality of the manufacturing process and I could give them a few ideas.

Not sure if they are just trying to make more money. What I will say is that out of the top 3, Thermospas Corp has the best customer service and they are the most helpful. Although my spa has has some failures they have always taken care of it, even out of warranty.

GREAT COMPANY with GREAT STAFF. They all need to step up the quality. If Thermospas could get the kinks out they would be unbeatable.

Anthony T.
Orlando, FL
April 15 2022 9:33PM

I filled out the "Contact us" form to request a quote on a Park Avenue model. After a few days I received a call and I again explained that I just wanted a ball-park cost so we could do some budget planning. They insisted that a in-person meeting had to be setup to go over the options available.

I again said all I wanted was a ball-park cost but again was told an in-person meeting had to take place because there was too many options. I asked for a range of price but again was told I would have to have an in-person meeting.

I said my time is short and I didn't need to waste it on a meeting when a simple email or 2 minute phone would do it. There are lots of other hot tubs available, I don't need to waste an hour with an in-person sales pitch so I can plan my budget.

Very poor sales tactic, most likely it was a "get the husband and wife together and throw out the emotional pitches and then sell them with a financing deal". Sorry, I know a lot of people get suckered in with those sales pitches but I don't make my purchases that way.

R M.
Charlotte, NC
Thermospas

We appreciate your feedback here. All ThermoSpas Hot Tubs are custom designed to help you get the perfect hot tub for your needs and your budget. The price of any hot tub will depend on the model, size, number of jets and pumps, the cabinet material, not to mention all the accessories that you may select. The best way to get the information you are looking for is to set up an appointment to have one of our technicians stop by and evaluate your site location and help you create your own custom design hot tub that will fit perfectly in the space you desire. If you should change your mind, please feel free to call us 1- 800-876-0158 option 1. Best Regards, ThermoSpas Customer Experience Support

March 19 2022 7:04PM

The spa has leaked in numerous places, the control panel has been replaced twice. Pillows degrade in about 3 years of limited use, covers are good but wear out in 4 years. Now having issues with it overheating, set the temp to 80 and it goes over 110 and shuts down. Don't waste the money on one of these.

John C.
Collegeville, PA
Thermospas

We’re sorry to hear you’re having some trouble with your hot tub. We cannot find you in our system with the information provided here, we suggest contacting our Service Department directly for assistance at [email protected] or by phone at 1-800-833-7727. Sincerely, ThermoSpas Customer Experience Support

February 13 2022 12:28PM

DO NOT BUY THIS!! They do not tell you that after five years you have to get a new top because the top filled with water and they know this. It has been months since I’ve been able to use my tub because the top is filled with water and they won’t replace it. They keep giving excuses.

Very expensive when something breaks and something breaks all the time. From the get-go I topped and stay up and they said “too bad, Too much wind… Nothing we can do”. $22,000 for a piece of junk.

Fran B.
Long VALLY, NJ
Thermospas

Hello Fran, We’re sorry to hear you’re having issues with your cover. We suggest contacting our Service Department on how to best care for your cover and review Warranty information if you’re in need of a replacement; they can be reached by email at [email protected] or by phone at 1-800-833-7727. Best Regards, ThermoSpas Customer Experience Support

November 07 2021 10:44PM

We are extremely disappointed. They are quick to sell, quick to visit and quick to quote you the most expensive hot tub ever. Slightly naive and slightly enamored with the idea of the product, we said ok. The salesperson told us it would be over 4 months to receive it.

We began extensive research and we read the negative review in the Better Business Bureau. This is when we contacted the salesperson and asked for our deposit back. This is when he invented that we only had 3 days to cancel. He made that up.

There was never any conversation or documentation advising us of that. He is refusing to return the monies and act in good faith. This hot tub has not even BEGUN to be built.

We warn ANYONE considering buying a SPA to steer far and long away from this company. It is overpriced and their customer service and employees are shady!!!

LYDIA M.
Miami, FL
Thermospas

We’re sorry to hear you wanted to cancel your order. Our paperwork does indeed state our 3-day order cancellation and refund policy however, our records show that a Manager was able to discuss this further with you and come to a desired resolution. If you should have any further questions, please feel free to contact us at 1-800-876-0158. Best Regards, ThermoSpas Customer Experience Support

October 29 2021 7:41PM

Best investment for my health I've ever made. I've had a cervical spine surgery, and I use it several times A-day. I purchased my Thermospas Park Avenue hot tub in 2009. I can't remember how many weeks it took to arrive, however, It was worth the wait.

The delivery was the exact date the Sales person Put in the paperwork. Absolutely ZERO disappointments, 100% satisfaction. Great warranty service also. Such a well designed product.

I've seen a few whimpering reviews about thermospas. Those people seem to think higher of themselves than they ought to. They must have been unhappy children.

I paid cash for my Park Avenue. However, They do have an excellent payment plan For those who don't have $20,000 On hand. There's no such thing as 'I can't afford a thermo spa'. If you are too cheap to pay the price for a quality product, Go see what they have at the 99 cent store.

Mike A.
Long Beach, CA
October 19 2021 10:59PM

My husband and I bought our ThermoSpa in 2008. We love it and have had no problems with it. The salesman was good when we ordered. He worked with us to get what we wanted. I think they are subcontracted, so once he placed the order he is out of the process.

(So the reviews should not reflect on the company too much). He did give us a business card with his number. When I call for questions or chemicals they are always helpful and friendly. I have enjoyed working with this company. We moved two years ago and didn't know if we should take our hot tub.

I found a company that would move it for a reasonable amount. We loved our hot tub so much that we moved it to our new house! We are still using it 13 years later. We would definitely recommend buying a Thermo spa.

Linda T.
Pittsburgh, PA
June 02 2021 7:05PM

I would not recommend ThermoSpas to anyone. We bought ours back on 1/22/21. Was scheduled for a delivery on 6/2/21.

We got a call on 6/1/21 from who was going to deliver it to us stating that they weren’t going to deliver it to us as scheduled because the rep that we were dealing with was on vacation and he wouldn’t be able to meet with us to get the rest of the payment (cash) as previously discussed when purchasing the ThermoSpas.

As for communication there is none. Their line of communication is texting and I’m sorry but this is supposedly a reputable company. That is NOT how you do business with customers especially when there is large amount of money involved.

We have called our Rep, the director of delivery and the delivery manager left messages and no call back. They can say sorry for the inconvenience all they want but still no excuse for all the aggravation. COMMUNICATION!!! Look it up.

Kristen P.
Middleboro, MA
Thermospas

We sincerely apologize for any miscommunication, as it is not our policy to accept cash upon delivery. We do accept payment in the form of certified check or credit card payment (over the phone). Our records show that this has since been resolved and you have been scheduled for final delivery. Again we apologize for any inconvenience and appreciate your patience as we worked towards a resolution. Best Regards, ThermoSpas Customer Experience Support

Write Review