Advertising Disclosure

We may earn money from our partners when you click a link, complete a form or call a phone number.

We believe everyone deserves to make thoughtful, informed purchase decisions. As a result, we provide our buyers guides and local guides free for consumers. We may receive compensation from our partners. However, Retirement Living independently researches companies, and the compensation we receive does not affect the analysis of our staff. Retirement Living will not include companies on our guides that do not meet our quality standards. The compensation we receive from our partners may impact how and where companies appear on our site, including the order in which they appear. As an Amazon Associate Retirement Living earns from qualifying purchases.

Retirement Living independently researches companies, and we use editorial discretion to award companies with special recognition (i.e. Great Value) based on our staff's judgment. We do this to help you identify companies that will meet your specific buying needs, and we do not receive compensation for these designations.

Get Insider Access

Get special offers, advice and tips from Retirement Living delivered to your inbox.

Viking River Cruises

4.45 Stars (15 Reviews)
Updated: October 17, 2022
By: Jeff Smith
Jeff Smith
Sr. Content Manager
As Retirement Living’s senior content manager, Jeff oversees the product and publishing of all retirement, investing, and consumer wellness content on the site. His extensive expertise in brand messaging and creating data-driven stories helps position Retirement Living as a top authority for senior content and community resources.
Sr. Content Manager
Edited by: Matt Lazar
Matt Lazar
Retirement Living Team
Retirement Living Team

Viking River Cruises is one of the first river cruise lines to help set the river cruising standard. Viking River Cruises start off at around $1,800 and are great for people who want a large selection of destinations to choose from.

Viking River Cruises

Editorial Breakdown

Destinations 4.6 Stars
Amenities 4.6 Stars
Customer Service 4.3 Stars

Overall Rating 4.3 Stars

Bottom Line

We recognized Viking River Cruises for having the Best Destinations and Itineraries in our Best River Cruise Lines Guide. The company gained popularity in recent years by offering a more intimate journey compared to ocean cruises. Viking Rivers Cruises has an extensive fleet of river cruising longships designed to accommodate nearly 200 guests in style as they travel along rivers in China, Egypt, Europe, Russia and Southeast Asia.

15 Viking River Cruises Reviews

Write Review
2 Stars

May 03 2021 7:51PM

Booked a very good trip and price from Paris to Lucerne but all travelers with me opted out. I was stuck with deposit fees that they would not refund.

Have been on 2 trips before and liked pretty much everything. If you travel on your own the parties as husband/wife don't like you to sit with them if you are attractive.

Charlene L.
Tucson, AZ
3 Stars

July 29 2020 4:00AM

I’ve been on 2 river cruise lines 1) Uniworld and 2) Viking. I found Viking was more fun and younger people. The food was plentiful but not outstanding. Mediocre would best describe it.

The wine and beer included in the price was not good. I’ve had better boxed wine in the states than what was served on Viking. Only one type of red and one white. I think only one type of beer also.

Uniworld was classier but more money. The food was outstanding and wine was top notch with a large variety. Tours were equal. I was going to book tonight for a trip next spring as I got an outstanding offer in the mail for Viking.

$1999.00/person, (Starting price) international air, silver beverage package included. Dates stated March - May 2021. After calling and being transferred to a sales person who had “deals” for return customers I found out the price $1999.00 was March ONLY!!!

Why advertise that way. If that price is for March only specify March only!! I was booking tonight for 2 people and found out it would cost me $2799 ($200 credit for past customer) and my friend $2999 for May dates. Their explanation was it’s better weather in May than March. Duh!

After reading what others have gone through I’ll be looking elsewhere. *Whoever wrote about not getting served due to wearing jeans and open neck shirt!!! That’s ridiculous! Keep it classy Viking!

Julia N.
Minneapolis, MN
1 Star

May 03 2020 2:40PM

My wife and I have been married for 50 years and we decided to take a European River cruise via Viking. We booked everything through Viking, air, insurance, pretips, and the cruise. We paid everything upfront a year before the cruise scheduled for June of 2020. Then the Virus struck.

Viking canceled the cruise and we were offered our money back or 125% voucher for another cruise date but we had to respond within 3 days to get the alleged deal. We were told by our travel agent that everything would be transferable. After we decided to take the 125% and the upgrades that went with it they booked the trip for May of 2021. We were then told that the insurance will not be transferable and we would have to purchase new insurance.

According to Viking we could no longer get our money back and deep six the cruise. Many many many phones calls were made back and forth to determine exactly what was or was not included in the 125% deal. Each time Vikings response was different and the only way they could tell us anything was after we applied the credits. I argued that how do we know what to do if we don't have all the information.

One time they tell us everything is transferable plus we get upgraded and the next time they tell us the insurance which was not used by us must be purchased again. Several different Viking agents told us different things. The travel agent was frustrated and this writer was frustrated. We will never use Viking again

Larry K.
Bernville, PA
1 Star

December 12 2019 9:06PM

My wife and I were on the Viking Einar “Rhine Getaway” tour embarking on 11/20/19 and returning on 11/27/19 , booking #**. We have been on 3 total Viking riverboat cruises. Unfortunately an incident occurred that may prevent any future cruises with Viking. On the second evening, we had taken a walk in Breisach before dinner. When we returned the restaurant seating had just begun. Because of my lack of appropriate dress (jeans and open collared shirt), we decided to eat at the Aquavit Terrace (AT).

It was 5 minutes after 7pm and the AT was to open at 7:10pm. At 7:05 pm we arrived at the AT and were told by the attendant (Stephon) that the AT could only seat 18 and they were already full. I requested to be seated at a lounge table in the AT or a table at the back of the Einar lounge. Stephon said that he could not serve us as he could only serve 18. Nothing in any Viking literature I received indicated a limit of 18 at the AT. We then went to the Guest Services desk and explained to Eleonora that we could not eat in the dining room because of our dress and that we had been denied service in the AT.

Instead of offering an option Eleonora greeted us with a smile and advised that she could do nothing. I immediately requested to remove any gratuities from my bill. (I later recanted and put my gratuities in envelopes for those that actually deserved them). Since it was too close to departure time to go back to town, we went to bed hungry. As the cruise progressed we found that many on the cruise did not comply with the no jeans, shorts or non- collared shirts dress code. In spite of the way we had been treated by the staff, we decided to forget all and try to make the best of our cruise.

On the last night we decided to eat a quick meal in the AT. We went to the AT 20 minutes before opening at 6:50pm. All the seats were taken except 5 seats at one table. When we sat down we were told by a lady sitting at the table that the seats were all “saved”. I explained that “saving” seats was not an option.

A short time later, as her party started arriving, she went to Stephon with her complaints. I overheard Stephon offer to seat her party in the lounge. This reignited my anger to find that my wife and myself had been denied the same option by Stephon.

As I previously stated I have used Viking on 3 cruises and have recommended you to many of our friends, some whom have since gone on Viking cruises. Because we were treated so poorly by those mentioned, we will be using other companies for future cruises and will advise others of our experience with Viking with a recommendation to avoid Viking. We have never been treated with such disrespect on any of our previous cruises. We will not be using or recommending Viking in the future.

Jerry B.
DAYTONA BEACH SHORES, FL
5 Stars

August 31 2019 7:27PM

I recently enjoyed a Viking Cruise from Amsterdam to Basel Switzerland. The cruise was nothing short of top-notch perfection in All Rights. The staff was impeccable even remembering my name after the first time meeting me. Everything went smooth comfortable enjoyable and just downright amazing.

I have recently booked another Viking Cruise bringing two friends so now three of us and myself are going to do the same cruise for two weeks. I also booked a Viking Cruise from Zurich to Paris in March for my son my mother and a friend. I'm a Viking Cruiser for life.

Jon L.
Lockport, NY