American Standard Reviews Page 2

Recent Reviews

May 18 2020 5:42PM

The tub was purchased and they sent "their" installer. The installer Chris came with a helper and during the procedure asked permission to cut a hole in my kitchen ceiling. This would be covered with a plastic piece and would accommodate the installation, so we gave permission.

Chris left several times and left his helper to do all the work, while he constantly said he had built houses with his grandfather since he was 14 and was capable of many construction projects. The tub leaked within 3 days of the installation process being completed all over my kitchen and granite counter tops and new cupboards.

I called and they told me to hire a local plumber and with their approval they would cover the cost, which they did. They make their own parts so you must wait for them to ship them. The plumber was approved and checked "everything" including the area in the kitchen that had been cut and revealed plumbing. He then informed me that all of the parts used within the tub were very cheap and that NY State required any plumbing to be done by a "certified plumber".

He also informed me that this gentleman "Chris, the installer", had cut the main JOIST THAT SUPPORTED THE TUB RIGHT WHERE THE WATER ENTERS. I called the company immediately and was told that the installer was indeed not a certified plumber but that insurance. Meanwhile the toilet that came with the tub and also installed by the same person, ALSO LEAKED INTO MY KITCHEN.

To make a long story short, just now a year to date to this month and the shower that comes with the tub, now leaked into my kitchen. The insurance company was called and said it was a legitimate claim and sent a check for ALL THE REPAIRS. They would pursue American Standard.

The plumbing authority was called and they would pursue them. The repairs included fixing the joist that was cut to support the tub, removing cupboards and replacing drywall that had been ruined from the water, replacing half the kitchen ceiling along with a ceiling fan and light fixture and painting. IT'S BEEN NOTHING BUT A NIGHTMARE WITH THIS COMPANY AND THEY HAVE KEPT THE SAME EMPLOYEE AND ACTUALLY OFFERED TO SEND "HIM" BACK INTO OUR HOME!!!

Now we have to call this company back to get a completely new shower hose and have a plumber approved to install that!!!! WARNING, WARNING DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY.

Joseph T.
Liverpool, NY
January 16 2020 4:04AM

I've been thinking about buying a walk-in tub after reading the reviews on this site. I have decided that I'm not going to get an American Standard walk-in tub and I probably won't get one at all because of all the hassles that everyone has to go through every time they need a repair or the job done right the first time.

Big man L.
Spavinaw, OK
December 10 2019 8:37PM

Tub went in and two days later a leak and the bidet wouldn't work, A few weeks and tech comes out, replaces the breaker and fix the leak. One year later the toilet seat was cracked and they would send out another and when it arrives give them a call for tech to come out. Three weeks later I called and they said, "FIX IT on your own." Rude.

Ron D.
SSF, CA
December 02 2019 11:31PM

I wish I had read these reviews before ordering from American Standard Liberation. My parents’ tub is still not installed, as they keep cancelling. When I spoke with the regional manager, Jim, he was rude and condescending. I should have called Kohler!

Rosemary P.
Bridgeport, CT
November 03 2019 7:41PM

The installation of our Liberation American Standard walk in tub was an unprofessional disaster from start to finish. The work done was not in compliance with code, and the state electrical compliance inspector had to contact Eric **, the regional installation manager, to ensure that a qualified electrician fix the problems created by their installer. The process took from May 18, to Oct. 22. Needless to say we can hardly stand to look at the tub let alone use it.

Nina V.
Camano Island, WA
September 13 2019 11:51PM

A disaster! My parents are 92 and 90 my father wanted this tub for my mom because she had hip replacement. Its been weeks and the tub was in and now its pulled out because of violations. noted by the building dept. My mom can't sleep in her bed because the bathroom is in her room and there's dust all over! They have one bathroom now. They asked my WW!! 92 yo dad to sit on the bidet and they took a picture of him!!! Humiliation I'm furious! I'm not done with this company.

Rosemarie G.
Lady Lake, FL
July 20 2019 5:40AM

The quality of the product is good, but the installers did a poor job and another had to come to correct the errors. I recently had the extension partition collapse due to improper installation. They did not put the support brackets in place. It has been impossible to get them to come and repair this issue. It appears that they are not a member of the BBB because they are not listed with them... Based on the poor installation and very sorry response to warranty issues, I would have never purchased this product. Fortunately I put a 1500 down payment with my credit card and will be disputing the charge..

Donld S.
Louisvile, KY
June 07 2019 10:07PM

We had a saleswoman from Olive Branch, Mississippi come to our home. She asked personal questions that would have been a Hippa violation. She said that American Standard makes 28? Different versions of a walk in tub but only let us see photos of one model. We have an 8’x10’ area to install a tub, I don’t understand why only one version would fit. She looked in areas of our home I asked her not to. She took photos without my permission and gave us a price of $17,700 to $19,900 and tried to get a check today. She didn’t leave a business card or any information about the American Standard line. I don’t understand why there isn’t a show room where we can sit in different tubs. We are in our early sixties, what would she do with a senior citizen with some impairment? I can’t believe a high quality line like American Standard does business this way. Very disappointed with the sales experience.

Jack W.
Gates, TN
May 22 2019 12:26PM

Looked at K**, S**,and I**. All were fiberglass. Only acrylic was American Standard. Also much better warranty than the others and much more equipment for LESS $$$! Made decision easy. American Standard sales rep was knowledgeable and professional, installation was a breeze and very efficient. My mother couldn't be happier and neither could we. American Standard was a joy to work with and very compassionate to our situation. Highly recommend American Standard.

Michael J.
Venice, FL
May 22 2019 12:02AM

I'm so disappointed with this company wish I could submit pictures of the cracks around the tub.. The many showing nails left indoors. The frame work is ridiculous. The wall left unpainted that they had to tear hole to get to plumbing. They even tore hole in carpet leaving pad showing. For the amount of money paid it should be done correctly. I shouldn't have to make numerous calls to get through to the company. It was easy to get you to come out. Poor company that takes advantage of elderly.

A M.
Houston, TX
Write Review