Pure TalkUSA Cell Phone Provider

Pure TalkUSA Review

Pure TalkUSA, the company we named one of the Best Providers of Cell Phones for Seniors, offers five different plans ranging from $20 to $45 per line, per month. Each plan includes unlimited talk and text and varying amounts of high-speed data. Unlike others, Pure Talk does not charge for overages or cut off your data access once you’ve hit your monthly limit. After you have used your plan’s high-speed data allowance, you will be slowed down to 128 kbps, but you still will be able to connect with no overage fees. Another bonus is their Multi-Line Discount which saves you more money with each line added to your plan. Adding a second line will save you 10 percent off your total monthly bill. A third line saves 15 percent, and four or more lines top the savings out at 20 percent.

If you do not own an unlocked phone, Pure TalkUSA sells a wide selection of phones. It’s difficult to find a simple flip phone in a market saturated with smartphones, but there are two flip phones to choose from in their line up. Of course, they offer smartphones from Apple, Samsung and others. It’s very likely that Pure TalkUSA has a phone to fit your budget as well as your needs. You can port your existing number from your current cell phone carrier to Pure TalkUSA.

Referring family and friends also saves some money. For each person you refer to Pure TalkUSA, you’ll get a $20.00 credit on your phone bill if they sign up and stay with their plan for two months. There is no maximum on this program, so the more people you refer, the more you can save.

With no contracts for your phone or your plan, you’re never locked in with Pure TalkUSA. You can cancel service at any time, but you will still pay for the remainder of the month since there is no prorating. If you change your mind before your service is activated, you will receive a full refund. Phones purchased from Pure TalkUSA can be returned up to 14 days from the receipt of the device. Check our FAQs below to learn more about the refund process.

Pros
  • Keep your number and your unlocked phone
  • No data overage fees
  • Plans are billed monthly, no need to purchase minutes to keep service active
Cons
  • No physical stores, all transactions are done online or on the phone
  • No monthly financing plans for phones
  • No damage or theft protection for phones

Pure TalkUSA Plans and Pricing

A choice of five plans gives you plenty of flexibility with Pure TalkUSA. Every plan includes unlimited talk and text with high-speed data packages in varying amounts.

Monthly Fee High-Speed Data Amount Data Amount Supports (Average)
$20 500 MB
  • Stream videos: 20 minutes
  • Stream music: 3.5 hours
  • Downloads: 5
  • Surf the Web: 13.5 hours
  • Post photos: 60
  • Emails: 500
$25 1 GB
  • Stream videos: 45 minutes
  • Stream music: 7 hours
  • Downloads: 10
  • Surf the Web: 27 hours
  • Post photos: 120
  • Emails: 1,000
$30 3 GB
  • Stream videos: 135 minutes
  • Stream music: 21 hours
  • Downloads: 30
  • Surf the Web: 81 hours
  • Post photos: 360
  • Emails: 3,000
$35 5 GB
  • Stream videos: 225 minutes
  • Stream music: 35 hours
  • Downloads: 50
  • Surf the Web: 135 hours
  • Post photos: 600
  • Emails: 5,000
$45 10 GB
  • Stream videos: 450 minutes
  • Stream music: 70 hours
  • Downloads: 100
  • Surf the Web: 270 hours
  • Post photos: 1,200
  • Emails: 10,000

According to a 2016 Nielsen market research study, the average cellular data usage per month for seniors isn’t high. To interpret the following results, keep in mind that there are 1,024 MB in 1 GB. The study found that those in the 45-54 age bracket used an average of 2,129 MB per month. Consumers in the 55-64 bracket averaged even less usage at 1,368 MB per month, and the 65+ group came in the lowest at 811 MB per month. Consider how you use your phone throughout the month when you’re not on wifi, for example, in your car using GPS on your phone or streaming music from the cloud. Compare your activities with the FCC’s list of the most common internet activities with minimum download speeds required for each one.

Once you have hit your data cap, you can still connect, but it will be at the throttled rate of 128 kbps. This speed is slow, the equivalent of second-generation cell technology of around 1993. At that speed, you can still open a web page or a text-only email fairly quickly, but downloading one song will take nearly seven minutes and streaming a video is impossible. However, you may never reach the data cap.

Pure TalkUSA extra lines Screenshot

Pure TalkUSA Extra Lines Discount. Source: Pure TalkUSA

How to Sign up for Pure TalkUSA Plans

The Pure TalkUSA website makes signing up a fast and easy. Select the plan that you want, choose a phone or mark that you’re bringing your own to get the $3.00 SIM starter kit (a SIM card is required by all cell carriers to use their network). Then complete the checkout. Once you receive your new phone or SIM card, use the link on Pure TalkUSA’s website to activate your service. If you have any questions at any time through the process of setting up your account, call their toll-free number to speak to a U.S. based customer service agent. When we called for some general information, the agent was very helpful and personable.

Pure TalkUSA Complaints

Customer reviews are very positive about no dropped calls, affordable low rates and excellent customer service. The complaints that we found were mostly about apps that used too much data and not about Pure TalkUSA itself. Pure TalkUSA, like nearly all cell carriers, does not design apps. Other complaints were about the company not giving away free high-speed data when a customer hit the throttle point.

Pure TalkUSA coverage
Pure TalkUSA Voice Coverage. Source: Pure TalkUSA

Pure TalkUSA Product-related Q&A

  • What speed is high-speed?
    Pure TalkUSA’s high-speed data is 4G LTE across the network. 4G LTE is the current standard in the United States for high-speed communications.

  • Are there any requirements to participate in the Multi-Line Discount program?
    Customers must enroll in automatic payments to receive the Multi-Line Discount.

  • Are there any hidden fees with Pure TalkUSA?
    No. With Pure TalkUSA, there are no long distance fees, no roaming fees, no additional handset fees, and no prepaid cards to buy to maintain service. At the end of the month, Pure TalkUSA bills the credit or debit card that on file for your plan.

  • Does Pure TalkUSA sell any phones that are hearing aid compatible?
    Yes. As of April 2018, every phone that Pure TalkUSA sells is M4/T3 Hearing Aid compatible.

  • How do I know if my existing phone is compatible with Pure TalkUSA’s network?
    If your phone is AT&T or Cingular, the Pure TalkUSA SIM chip should be compatible. If you used your phone with one of the following carriers, it is not compatible with the Pure TalkUSA network: Verizon/Alltel, Boost, Sprint/Nextel, MetroPCS, Virgin Mobile, Page Plus.

    If you used your existing phone with T-Mobile, TracFone, Net10 or other GSM providers, it would have to be unlocked to work on Pure TalkUSA’s network. To determine if your phone is unlocked:

    1. Borrow the SIM card from a friend who uses a different cell carrier than your current carrier.

    2. Power your phone off.

    3. Pop your SIM card out of the tray on the side of your phone, or open the back of your phone and pull the small SIM card out. Replace it with the carrier’s SIM.

    4. Turn your phone on, and if it shows your friend’s carrier as it starts up, your phone is unlocked.

  • What are Pure TalkUSA’s return and cancellation policies?
    Returns: Once you receive your phone, the clock starts ticking so keep track of how many days are going by if you are not happy with your device. You have 14 days from receipt of the device to contact Customer Service to obtain a Return Authorization, and the package returned must be postmarked within those 14 days to be eligible for a refund. A restocking fee of the greater of $10 or 20 percent may apply. If you send a phone back, insure the package and use a shipping service that provides you with a tracking number. There are no refunds or returns accepted after 14 days from the day you receive the phone. Pure TalkUSA can’t issue refunds on phones lost in transit. If you send a phone back after the 14-day window, Pure TalkUSA will return it to you at your expense, so you’re better off to sell it on eBay.

    Service cancellation: Cancel before service activation for a full refund issued to the method of payment originally charged, like your credit or debit card. Once service is activated, there are no refunds for the unused portion of the monthly service. You can cancel, but you won’t get your money back for service month in which you cancel.

Conclusion

Based on their low-cost plans and phone offerings, Pure TalkUSA is an ideal choice for seniors. The company makes the process of signing up and activating service easy and painless. If you overestimate your high-speed data usage, you can switch to a lower-priced plan with no penalties. If you find you need a higher data plan, you can switch at any time. The company does not prorate, however, so it’s best to wait until the end of your billing cycle to make the change. The number of hearing-aid compatible phones sold by PureTalkUSA surpasses offering from any other cell phone company we’ve reviewed.

To learn more about Pure TalkUSA check out their website for pricing and a free quote, or call (877) 959-9686.

Pure TalkUSA Reviews

Recent Reviews

Featured Review
January 15 2021 9:11PM

I have two parts to my review. First and foremost, I've had the service for about six months now and have had no issues. I always have full bars on my phone, YouTube videos come through just fine, though I haven't used the phone much for watching videos. I have unlimited talk/text and have had great coverage.

I'm happy with the price, coverage and service, with one exception: I made a call today to get information to decide if I wanted to order a data package for my senior citizen dad's iPad. The rep I got started right in on verifying MY account and the incident went south from there. The rep, Rebecca, was overbearing and ordering me to change the name on my account. It is MY choice as to the name I want on my account, which is a security phone for us for when we talk to people we don't know and don't want them having access to where we live, etc. and MY account had absolutely nothing to do with ordering an account for elderly dad. I concur with a statement below that the reps will TALK OVER YOU.

I finally had to yell into the phone to get this girl to SHUT UP and listen to what I was saying, and I was furious by then. I just had a simple question to ask and she was not willing to listen to my simple (totally unrelated to MY account) question, which was, does PureTalk have a data plan for iPads! I finally just hung up on her, after she told me no supervisor was available for me to speak with, and called back and got the sweetest young lady, Darias (I think), who gave me the answers I was seeking.

I don't know that she wouldn't have talked over me as well, had the issue been more substantive. NOT GOOD to talk over your customers. Put the talking-point note pad down and actually LISTEN to your customer.

Craigslist P.
Wylie, TX
November 04 2022 6:33PM

I was fed up with Verizon and looked around for options. I found Pure Talk and liked what I saw as far as plans are concerned. A little concerned about no physical locations, but went ahead with the change.

After my old number had been ported, I called customer service and told them that I had no idea how to remove or install the new sim card, and asked for instructions. I was told to open the sim port and how to do that.

I was then told to remove the sim card and install the new one Pure Talk sent me. That is all I was told. I was not told that the existing card was in a tray and had to be removed.

I was not told that the new card had to be punched out of the larger card it came in, nor was I told that the smaller punched out part had another surrounding part that had to be removed.

So I finally figured out, totally by accident, that the small sim card had another surrounding piece that had to be removed and then inserted the small new card into the slot, but because I was not told or warned that it had to be in the tray that came from the phone, I did not put it in the tray.

The phone worked, but when I figured out that it needed to be in the tray, I called Pure Talk customer service and asked what to do. I was told that it needed to be in the tray and if it would become a problem.

I asked how to remove the card and was told that person had no clue. I called back again and got a different customer service clerk who told me to take the phone to Best Buy and get them to get it out. Because I had tried to use BB for other unrelated service, I knew it would be forever to get that done.

So I called my son who said he had used a group called ubreakIfix to help him in the past. He checked and told me that one was fairly close, I went to that store. The person who worked there tried and could not remove the card, so he took it to the back where I heard him talking to a female.

He came back and said they were working on it. He brought it back a few minutes later and said they could not retrieve the card. I got back in my car and tried to make a call and found out the phone no longer worked.

I returned to my house, got on my computer and looked up Google recommended repair companies. I found that the people that I had taken the phone to were recommended and there was a second store near me.

I took the phone to the second store and they said they could fix it but it would take a while. So I left to return the next day. I returned the next day, and received the phone, but asked the clerk to turn it on to make sure it was fixed. The clerk could not get it to function properly.

I was told it could fixed but it would take a couple of hours. I left again to be emailed when repaired. Several hours later I received an email and was told that the screen was broken and they would have to order a new one which would take at least two days.

Today is day one and tomorrow is Saturday which means it will probably be Monday at earliest before I get my only phone back.

All of this is totally Pure Talk's fault because no one told me or warned me about the card tray even after I told them that I had no clue how to remove or install a sim card. BUYER BEWARE.

Richard W.
Flowery Branch, GA
June 22 2022 1:52AM

ZERO STARS! In December of 2021, I switched our family wireless phone service from Verizon to Pure Talk. Unknown to us, Pure Talk never fully ported over my wife's number she has had in her possession for 20 years.

This failure to fully port over the number resulted in split service, meaning that she was only able to receive calls from iPhone users and unable to receive calls and texts from Android users and calls from landline users.

Failure to complete this full port resulted in her being unable to communicate with family and friends.

This failure also resulted in missing calls from businesses, doctors, and pharmacies trying to contact her to assist her in her daily life and also in providing her with her insulin and other life-dependent insulin pump supplies, since these pharmacies were calling her on her own number that did not work, unknown to my wife.

Numerous lengthy calls to Pure Talk’s customer service and IT department have taken place in our attempt to solve the issue.

Every time we called Pure Talk for help, we always received the run-around, having to start at the beginning with every person who works at Pure Talk, with no one ever really wanting to fix the issue.

Resetting all kinds of functions, even completely resetting my wife’s phone did not work. Despite nothing working, Pure Talk never offered or tried to come up with a solution.

Just phone calls that would end with either a dropped call or an unsatisfactory end, with my wife’s phone still not fully working.

Frustrated and fed up, we decided to switch carriers in June of 2022, then come to find out that my wife’s number could not be switched to a new carrier because the number was never fully Pure Talk’s number the entire time.

We were informed that the company that has possession of my wife’s number is Verizon, but upon calling Verizon they stated that they do not have possession of the number. Somehow, during our time with Pure Talk, my wife’s number was given over to the carrier named Jitterbug.

We then talked to Pure Talk to have them talk to Jitterbug to bring back my wife’s number. At first, Pure Talk’s porting department denied that my wife’s number was in split service, then acknowledged that they did not fully port the number, then finally agreed that Jitterbug has the number.

Three attempts with Pure Talk to have them contact Jitterbug took place, with the third time resulting in a customer service supervisor from Jitterbug talking to a porting supervisor from Pure Talk.

This last conversation resulted in Pure Talk being perfectly content with Jitterbug having my wife’s number, and Jitterbug being unwilling to cooperate in giving back my wife’s number. The service I have received at every level of Pure Talk has been worse than terrible, and beyond frustrating.

I honestly am not sure how Pure Talk employees who work to solve problems are given their jobs since they never succeeded in working through to fix my wife’s phone. Pure Talk’s inability to function as a phone company has compromised my wife’s very own phone number.

I’m unsure of how this will end, but I will continue to fight Pure Talk to restore my wife’s phone number, on an account we have had with Pure Talk for going on seven months now.

Companies like Pure Talk and Jitterbug should be fined, shut down, account payments refunded to customers, and made an example of how not to run a business, and in particular, a phone business.

Chris P.
Ashburn, VA
April 06 2022 3:24PM

Pure Talk's customer service and tech support departments are the worst in the industry. They simply don't care about providing quality service. You will sit on hold for half an hour before being able to talk to someone who usually has no idea what they are doing.

Since they are unable to assist you, you will have to wait another half hour for another person who may or may not be able to resolve your problem. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY IF YOU DON'T HAVE A LOT OF PATIENCE AND NOTHING ELSE BETTER TO DO THAN SIT ON HOLD ALL DAY.

Mike K.
San Marcos, TX
March 25 2022 11:55AM

AVOID at all cost. There is no customer service. They have their routine which is totally unacceptable. They turned off my phone 3 weeks ago, paid FedEx overnight and received the replacement phone 6 days later.

Went to another carrier and phone was up and working, but still Pure Talk blocked me receiving calls until another day of holding they read you a laughable statement about leaving them. They do not answer emails and phone calls are a couple of hours waiting several times a day.

Had one answer and hang up after a 45 minute hole. IF you have Puretalk go to FCC and file complaint, also your local State Attorney is interested in hearing from you on this company as well as the Better Business Bureau. Also watch your final bill, they will charge you extra if they can get away with it.

Amy H.
Graham, NC
March 19 2022 12:23AM

This has been a horrible experience. I switched to PureTalk USA because it was listed on AMAC's website. I purchased my phone from PureTalk USA at the time the account was set up with them.

I already had heard about a future 3G shutdown, so as I looked at the phones PureTalkUSA was selling online while speaking to a representative of PureTalkUSA, I asked to make sure the phone I chose was going to be fine and not affected by the 3G shutdown.

I was assured that it would not be affected. It is a Nokia 5.3, 4G LTE. I made the purchase, completed the account set up. It wasn't long before problems began. The phone would stop working and I'd have to get on the phone with them. They ignored my requests for help sent on their website.

Finally had to contact AMAC and they contacted PureTalkUSA who then finally contacted me. During calls to them with their own representatives, I asked two other times on different dates and with different representatives if they were sure that the phone would still be OK during the 3G shut down, while trying to solve other problems the phone presented.

I was assured by two other representatives that it would be fine, no problems. Well, guess what? I haven't been able to make or receive any calls since March 16th, 2022.

PureTalkUSA had me on hold for an hour- no one ever picked up the call, I had to hang up because I borrowed a phone to call them because again they did not respond to online messages and I obviously couldn't call them.

I went to my online account today, March 18, 2022 to find that the phone that they had 3 times assured me was going to be fine and not affected by their 3G shut down was 'no longer being supported by policies of PureTalkUSA'.

No warning, no reimbursement for the phone I purchased from them, and they are still taking my monthly bill out of my checking account this week. That will be remedied when I go to the bank for Saturday morning hours tomorrow.

There is nothing pure about this company. In my experiences with them, they will tell you anything just to get your dollars. Worst company ever!

Susan P.
Erie, PA
March 08 2022 6:38PM

I have auto pay on my account, I had to cancel my card because of a transaction that I did not recognize. I called the 611 number and have been waiting 2 hours for customer service to answer. Still not able to talk to anyone. Your customer service SUCKS. Craig **. Do not cancel my service for non payment.

Craig K.
Niles, MI
March 06 2022 4:30AM

I have had the service for about 2 days now, took almost a month to get number ported over. Been on hold for about 15 hours now, nobody seems to be able to help fix issues just get put back into hold rotation.

Never able to get any text support, DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!! If my business treated people this way I would be out of business! I WISH I COULD LEAVE ZERO STARS!

Jim H.
Phoenix, AZ
February 24 2022 11:42AM

9+ months ago I started having issues with the service. Nothing has been done about the dropped calls and sudden loss of signal. On Monday 21FEB22 we have lost our ability to receive or make phone calls. They said that it's a problem on their end (they switched something).

It has been four days thus far and all I get is the "We're sorry for the inconvenience" line. They have made promises and lied to me. They say that they'll make it right. So far all of their lie have truly been nothing but pure talk and no action.

I'd really think twice about going with them for service. Unless you want to feel like the cow that the bull serviced.

Ken M.
Magazine, AR
December 19 2021 8:41PM

Everything was wine & roses until I activated my plan. I had to sign a two year contract. The new phone I purchased from them is horrible. I tried to exchange it for a different model within the first 30 days. They wouldn't do it. They wanted me to pay the full price for two phones.

I lose access to data (20GB plan) from the 25th to the 3rd, unless on wifi. Each month I have to resave my APN settings. Customer service is non-existent. They either can't or won't fix the problems. There are other provider options. I'm gone when my contract runs out.

Dan M.
Greenwood, AR
Write Review