Advertising Disclosure

We may earn money from our partners when you click a link, complete a form or call a phone number.

We believe everyone deserves to make thoughtful, informed purchase decisions. As a result, we provide our buyers guides and local guides free for consumers. We may receive compensation from our partners. However, Retirement Living independently researches companies, and the compensation we receive does not affect the analysis of our staff. Retirement Living will not include companies on our guides that do not meet our quality standards. The compensation we receive from our partners may impact how and where companies appear on our site, including the order in which they appear. As an Amazon Associate Retirement Living earns from qualifying purchases.

Retirement Living independently researches companies, and we use editorial discretion to award companies with special recognition (i.e. Great Value) based on our staff's judgment. We do this to help you identify companies that will meet your specific buying needs, and we do not receive compensation for these designations.

Get Insider Access

Get special offers, advice and tips from Retirement Living delivered to your inbox.

Sherpa Auto Transport

4.75 Stars (24 Reviews)
Updated: January 26, 2023
By: Jonathan Trout
Jonathan Trout
Content Manager
Jonathan is a former product and content manager for Retirement Living. His background spans sales/marketing, finance, and telecommunications. Jonathan’s expertise in consumer wellness and research-backed data stories helped educate seniors on financial planning, retirement, and community resources. Jonathan graduated from Oklahoma State University with a B.S. in Environmental Sociology.
Content Manager
Edited by: Jeff Smith
Jeff Smith
Sr. Content Manager
As Retirement Living’s senior content manager, Jeff oversees the product and publishing of all retirement, investing, and consumer wellness content on the site. His extensive expertise in brand messaging and creating data-driven stories helps position Retirement Living as a top authority for senior content and community resources.
Sr. Content Manager

Sherpa Auto Transport is a customer-focused car shipping company that makes transporting a vehicle stress-free by offering quotes backed by their Price Lock Promise which ensures the amount quoted is exactly what you’ll pay when your vehicle is delivered. Through a thorough vetting process, Sherpa partners with the best available carriers to ship customers' vehicles. Sherpa can transport any vehicle across town or the country, like rare collectible cars, family SUVs, cars purchased online, or vehicles purchased for refurbishing that aren’t safe to drive from the seller’s garage to yours.

Sherpa Auto Transport

Editorial Breakdown

Easy Quotes 4.8 Stars
Availability 4.9 Stars
Customer Service 4.6 Stars
Price 4.9 Stars

Overall Rating 4.8 Stars

Bottom Line

Sherpa Auto Transport ships vehicles for individuals and businesses for a variety of customers. It also customizes car shipping services on a case-by-case basis. Whether you're a military family, college student, car collector or a contractor who works out of state for extended periods of time, Sherpa can safely ship your vehicle.

24 Sherpa Auto Transport Reviews

Write Review
5 Stars

June 20 2019 4:12AM

We had a long-term winter stay in Florida, and we transported our 2018 Audi from South Florida to Connecticut since my mom is too old to drive about. Sherpa's customer service was good. They met my expectations and the timeframe of the transport.

Sandy S.
Delray Beach, FLORIDA
1 Star

June 03 2019 7:43PM

I have never had such a bad experience! I used Sherpa to bring my car from Maine to Naples last Fall. It was perfect, picked up at the house and delivered to my house. I then got a bill from a toll place somewhere in Florida I had never heard of with a picture of my car. The driver was using it. Today I called because Sherpa was supposed to take my car from Naples back to Maine. They told me they couldn’t guarantee it being picked up this week, they had underestimated their pricing and no trucks wanted to do it for what they were offering. Sherpa said they were losing money. Is that my problem? I need my peace of mind, regardless of cost when I have airline tickets on Sat. I am spending more but guaranteed on a days notice that it will be picked up within 3 days.

Valerie D.
Naples, FL
5 Stars

May 29 2019 8:48AM

I used Sherpa to ship my Volkswagen Passat 2,200 miles to the other side of the country. I picked them because of the good referrals, and their website was the most organized. The interaction I have with the customer service people was all done online. They were very organized and I was left with no questions. The quote was accurate. When I submitted information that they asked for they responded immediately. Everything was clear from beginning to end. The car was delivered way ahead and my daughter took delivery. I was a little concerned about how it was gonna go on this end. But the driver corresponded with her via text messages, he arrived when he said he was gonna arrive, and he arrived down the street from their residence, then offloaded the car by the time they got from their house to the truck. Shipping with them was a good experience. I would use them again.

Don F.
Pinehurst, NC
5 Stars

May 25 2019 6:05AM

I bought a car online, and I needed it brought to me. And I used Sherpa since I had used them before. I had them take it to a mechanic shop. The vehicle was in fine condition and the transport was quick. It only took like two days. Sherpa makes the process really easy, especially for someone who is not used to transporting vehicles like myself.

Daniel B.
Franklin, TN
5 Stars

May 24 2019 4:10AM

My mom sent her Honda Civic from Arizona to Rhode Island. The reps from Sherpa were awesome. They did exactly what they said they would do and apparently, it's unusual in that particular business. The quote was a little bit higher than most places, but I went with them because I looked up the reviews and I thought that it was worth it. The transport took maybe six or seven days and it came in perfect condition.

Marian C.
Tuscan, AZ
5 Stars

March 29 2019 7:24AM

I'm relocating to Florida and I shipped my Toyota Corolla through Sherpa. I like the service they sent. The person was also very responsive whenever I was asking. The person who delivered the car was very nice to me. I liked their service. It's efficient and very quick. Overall experience is very good. I'll recommend the company if somebody will ship their car.

Jun-hung C.
Abilene, TX
5 Stars

March 07 2019 1:45AM

I was moving cross country from just the New York City area to Arizona and I got quotes from maybe three or four transport companies. Sherpa was pretty competitive. Their website and from the people I talked to, they sounded more trustworthy. My movers from my apartment basically extorted first and never showed up. I went by myself, bought the truck. But with Sherpa, I had a great experience. They answered the phone, very professional, picked up when they said they’d pick up. They delivered within like a day and a half. So it was like a 48 hours drive. I'm a happy customer, from what I paid to what I got. They’re awesome.

Joe F.
Hoboken, NEW JERSEY
5 Stars

January 31 2019 10:17AM

The customer service representative I spoke to at Sherpa was really good and helpful in answering the questions that I had. And the pricing seemed reasonable too also the way the timeline was set up. I didn't have to go to any additional trouble. Whatever timeline they committed on, they did everything on the same time, so that was great. The driver who picked up the car was keeping track. I'm definitely satisfied with the way things were handled.

Gayatri D.
Wilmington, DELAWARE
5 Stars

January 20 2019 1:50AM

I live in Denver and I bought a used Tesla, and it was in Florida. I had to take the vehicle in Florida, and I didn't wanna drive her home. It was in the end of December, Christmas time. It's 2,000 miles and I didn't wanna drive her that far so I arranged the Sherpa to have it transported. I was referred to Sherpa by the local Tesla fellow. He said they used them before, and were satisfied, so it's the only company I called. I dealt with a lady the phone several times.

She was very helpful in explaining how the process work and what the deadlines were in terms of obtaining a driver. She went ahead and lined up potential driver and potential trips. And when I got the final delivery date, and availability of the car, I talked to her and we very quickly worked out a pick-up in about three or four days. It cost me exactly what we first talked about on day 1. It seemed about right. I left Florida before the transporter arrived at the facility.

But he got there all right and worked with a local Tesla dealer to load it. And I was impressed when he did that, and he appeared, and he contacted me and gave me an estimated time of arrival here. And he did arrive about that time. There were some difficulties in unloading the vehicle. It wasn't caused by him. The problem with the vehicle was on the lower level. We had to call Tesla national roadside service. I don't know whose responsibility the issue was. The transporter fellow did nothing wrong and overall the experience with the transporter was very positive.

Gordon K.
Denver, CO
4 Stars

December 31 2018 10:24PM

Both times that I used Sherpa, it was a good experience. For the most recent, I bought a car and I needed it brought to me. Their pricing was accurate and the vehicle was in a fine condition when I got it. Sherpa makes the process really easy, especially for someone who is not used to transporting vehicles like myself.

Daniel B.