Kohler Walk-in Tubs

Kohler Walk-In Tub Review

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention reports 68 percent of injuries in bathrooms take place while the injured person was bathing or getting in or out of the bathtub or shower. Kohler’s Walk-in tub offers convenient and safe bathing to consumers wanting to age in place or who have limited mobility.

Founded in 1873, the Kohler Co. evolved into a global manufacturing business. Producing a variety of goods such as engines, home interior products to name a few, Kohler is best known for its wide range of kitchen and bath products. Kohler Co. ranks #51 on Forbes’ 2018 list of America’s largest private companies and won many awards through the years for innovation, design and environmental awareness.

Kohler’s Walk-in Bath – its walk-in tub model– comes in a variety of colors, textures and safety features. The tub can be customized with specialty options such as a selection of bath walls and faucet finishes making these walk-in tubs attractive in the bathroom.

Pros
  • Quiet and relaxing spa-like experience
  • Fast-drain technology offers convenience and time savings
  • Quoted price locked in for a year
  • Industry-leading Warranty

Cons
  • No wheelchair-accessible or bariatric options

Kohler Walk-In Tub Safety and Comfort

The KOHLER® Walk-In Bath walk-in tub offers five industry-leading features to ensure your safety:

  • Low three-inch high threshold is the lowest available among walk-in bathtubs.
  • Two handrails located inside the tub and on the outside rim allow bathers to steady themselves while getting in and out of the bath.
  • Textured flooring is slip-resistant.
  • Extra-wide door with an easy-to-turn handle.
  • Ergonomic Control panel control panel easily operates jets and heated surfaces with the touch of a button.

While safety is most important, Kohler Walk-In Baths offer comfort features for a relaxing bathing experience to soothe aching joints and wake up tired muscles.

  • Hydrotherapy whirlpool jets massage back, legs, and feet while air jets create tiny energizing bubbles.
  • Adjustable heated surfaces for the neck and back with a heated extra-wide seat for comfort while filling and draining the tub.
  • Retractable hand shower with an ergonomic design and multiple water flow and temperature settings.

Kohler Walk-In Tub vs. Traditional Bathtubs

Kohler bath products are known for having a variety of designs, and the Walk-In Bath is no exception. From a classic, traditional look to a more contemporary and modern style, the KOHLER® Walk-In Bath offers several design options. Kohler gives you a choice of eleven color and pattern combinations for the LuxStone bath walls and two metal finishes for the faucet, in addition to a crisp white or a creamy biscuit shade for the tub. LuxStone is made of natural marble and durable fibers to create a surface that is stronger, more durable and won’t chip, fade or discolor like fiberglass can. Only Kohler offers LuxStone walls.

Kohler offers a video gallery on the website so you can see features in action. Take the innovative Interactive Tub Experience for a spin on the site, where you can create and view a 3D representation of your Kohler Walk-In Bath.

Kohler Walk-In Tub Advantages
Kohler Walk-In Bath
Walk-in Tub
Traditional Bathtub
Low 3” threshold Up to 24” tub wall to step over
Two safety handrails Limited grip areas, if any
Textured tub floor Smooth, slippery tub floor
Elevated seat eases getting out of tub Tub floor is difficult to get up from
Multifunction hand shower Standard faucet
Heated surface Cold surface
Hydrotherapy jets and air jets Standing water

Kohler Walk-In Tub Cost and Price Promise

Given the customer has many options for customizing the Kohler Walk-In Bath, the company provides no general cost information over the phone or on the website. To get pricing, submit an online quote request on the company site to schedule a free in-home appointment. Kohler offers a variety of financing choices like monthly payment plans and runs money-saving promotions from time to time.

At the in-home quote appointment, a Kohler representative discusses your needs and tub features and completes a 35-point checklist taking into account your plumbing, electrical and bathroom layout. The no-surprises quote is the price you pay for the tub, any optional upgrades, installation, delivery, removal and disposal of the existing bathtub, and the warranty. Kohler’s Price Promise makes the quote valid for one year from the day you get the estimate.

American Standard Combo tub

Source: Kohler

Kohler Walk-In Tub Warranty

Kohler offers a lifetime limited warranty on the Walk-In Tub, which is installed by a Kohler-certified installation specialist. The warranty guarantees your KOHLER® Walk-In Bath will be free of manufacturing defects for as long as you own your home. In the event a manufacturing defect does occur with any KOHLER® Walk-In Bath component, the repair and replacement are free of charge. This warranty stands out as it includes the pumps, motors, jets, bath door seal and the hand shower.

Kohler Walk-in Tub Complaints

ConsumersAdvocate ranked the KOHLER® Walk-In Bath first among all walk-in bathtubs, with an overall consumer rating of 9.9 out of 10. Top10Reviews notes Kohler Walk-In Baths are among the highest quality walk-in tubs you can buy. The Kohler Co. receives an “A+” rating from the Better Business Bureau, indicating the company gets top scores in each of seven business quality categories.

You will find a number of positive testimonials in both print and video formats on Kohler’s Walk-In Bath website. Consumers particularly noted the safety and comfort features, attractive design, ease and speed of installation, and the confidence of purchasing a trusted brand.

We found very few complaints about Kohler’s Walk-in Bath but a couple mentioned having trouble getting their walk-in tub repaired.

Kohler Walk-in Tub Q&A

  • Does Medicare or health insurance cover a Kohler Walk-In Bath?
    Medicare and health insurance does not typically cover the cost of a walk-in tub, however, talk to your insurance company if your doctor says a walk-in bath is medically necessary. If you carry Medicare supplement insurance, check to see if you have coverage for part of the cost of a walk-in tub. There are other options for paying for a walk-in tub, including Medicaid if you qualify.

  • How long does a KOHLER® Walk-In Bath take to fill up and drain?
    Kohler Walk-In Baths come equipped with fast-drain technology, so the tub fills and drains within minutes. The time required to drain or add water depends on your home plumbing system.

  • How do I stay warm while the KOHLER® Walk-In Bath fills up and drains?
    Kohler Walk-In Baths utilize heated surfaces to keep the bather warm while waiting for the tub to fill or drain.

  • How many jets does the KOHLER® Walk-In Bath come with?
    The KOHLER® Walk-In Bath has ten adjustable hydrotherapy jets, six directed at the back and spine, two in front of the legs, and two behind the calves. Seventeen adjustable BubbleMassage air jets create thousands of tiny bubbles in the water to simulate a spa-like experience.

  • Do I need to hire a plumber to install a Kohler Walk-In Bath?
    The cost of a KOHLER® Walk-In Bath includes everything upfront, with installation, so there’s no need to hire a plumber. Installation is completed by a highly-trained Kohler-certified specialist, usually within one day.

  • Can I get questions answered about the KOHLER® Walk-In Bath before scheduling an in-home appointment?
    Kohler representatives are happy to answer your questions any time. Call the number listed on the website or use the online chat to get answers.

Conclusion

As retirees choose to live in their homes longer than before, bathroom fall injuries become more common. Several ways to prevent falling in the bathroom exist and the safety features of a KOHLER® Walk-In Bath can help you maintain independence while the tub looks attractive in your home. Creating the walk-in bath of your dreams using Kohler’s online 3D design feature is very useful, and it’s easy to schedule an in-home appointment to receive a quote that’s good for a year. The engineered-in-the-USA KOHLER® Walk-In Bath provides peace of mind with a safe and soothing bathing experience for years to come, from a highly trusted brand in business for 140 years.

Kohler Walk-in Bath Reviews

Recent Reviews

Featured Review
May 28 2019 11:14PM

I have had my Kohler walk- In - bath for a few weeks, and it is everything the salesperson said it would be. He was very kind in answering all my questions. Installation was fast and completely finished and cleaned when the two gentlemen left. They were very friendly, worked constantly and were very organized. Thanks to all from the owner, the salesman and the installers for helping my life to be more comfortable.

Phyllis F.
Boone, NC
Kohler Walk-in Bath

Hi Phyllis, thank you so much for your kind words. We are so glad to hear that you had a positive experience with our local Kohler Partner, and that the Walk-In Bath has brought you more comfort at home. We hope you continue to enjoy your new bathing experience!

May 28 2022 1:09PM

We recently had a Kohler representative out to give my parents a quote on their tub. Though the gentleman was very professional during most of the meeting, when it came time for the quote, he was a bully when we wouldn't sign right then and there despite the fact that we had a quote from American Standard's top model that was significantly less and also could put it in with less than 1/2 of the wait which was critical due to medical condition.

Unfortunately Kohler would give no idea of wait time on the phone so only option was to have representative come out.

Despite that we were still seriously going to consider the quote due to one of the features, but the way we were all treated including the representative not even leaving the quote I assume because according to him he knew if we didn't sign we weren't going to buy.

We all agreed we would never go with Kohler for this project based on our treatment. Instead we signed with American Standard who we had spoken with prior. Please look at your business practices and adjust your sales training. This is not a good look for your business.

Stephanie P.
Clinton, NJ
Kohler Walk-in Bath

Hi Stephanie, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We do not condone any dishonest or high-pressure sales tactics for our Walk-In Bath dealers, and we are sorry to hear that this has been your experience. Customer satisfaction is our priority. We would appreciate it if you could contact our Customer Service team at (800) 986-5977 or visit https://www.kohlerwalkinbath.com/contact/service so we can learn more about your experience and what we could do to improve our processes in the future.

February 28 2022 8:01PM

Terrible! The electricians who were supposed to hook up the jets had to be moved due to electrical problems. Trying to get a new appointment was near impossible since nobody ever picks up the phone or returns a call. And today we finally had the appointment for them to come - and they no showed!

People, stay away from these people, they take your money (after all, USD 17K!) and then leave you hanging.

Helga P.
Sanibel, FL
Kohler Walk-in Bath

Hi Helga, we are so sorry to hear this has happened. We take matters like these very seriously and would like to speak with you to learn more about your experience. Please contact our Customer Service team at (800) 986-5977 or visit https://www.kohlerwalkinbath.com/contact/service . We look forward to assisting you.

February 20 2022 1:45AM

February 19, 2022. To Whom it may Concern: We had a Kohler Belay Walk-in Tub installed, and while we do like the tub, we are not pleased with the business practices of the local dealer (Caliber Medical Supply) and the Kohler website for not forthcoming with details.

• Local Salesperson did not explain that the installation cost does not include plumbing or electrical charges. *When searching Kohler’s website today found those details in the fine print at the bottom of the page, ONLY IF I expanded the “Read More” for when the offer expired – WHY HIDE IT.

• Deposit processed 2 ½ months after ordering, 1 ½ months after install and days after a negative review WITH NO NOTICE at 8 PM on Valentine’s Day by hard keying our credit card through Square.

*We thought the deposit not processing was a concession regarding our pricing concerns as sales paperwork states “Deposit Due Immediately”.

*They ordered the tub, they installed the tub, they sent a comment card, which to us, indicated the transaction was complete and we had already made our first finance payment and THEN they charged the deposit – again WITH NO COMMUNICATION – WHAT REPUTABLE BUSINESS DOES THIS.

*DO NOT RECOMMEND allowing the credit card field to be completed on the application – let them call you for it (hindsight is 20/20).

• Never received requested permits, failed electrical inspection, and never received a plumbing inspection. Our Experience: The local salesperson (Clayton) touted the 50% off installation promotion that ended that day. He asked if we knew a plumber or electrician as that would lower our costs.

He indicated that they could pull permits so that there would be an electrical and plumbing inspection but didn’t suggest it. The bottom-line number was in the range we expected as we knew Kohler tubs are on the pricey side, so we moved forward with the paperwork.

Clayton indicated he would leave us with a price breakout and that there was a $2,000 deposit that would be processed once the sales paperwork was received at the office to order the tub. This was Tuesday, November 30, 2021.

The following weekend we were reviewing everything and noticed we had not received the pricing breakdown. We reached out to Caliber, and they sent it over.

This is when we noticed the math didn’t add up the tub was listed at $11,430.00 and that they charge $951.00 for the electrical and $1050.00 for the plumbing outside of the installation fee that was $2,965.00 reflecting the 50% off.

We also questioned a miscellaneous fee that listed infill, drain kit, disposal/recycling fee, grab bars and a free wall and “Etc.” for $1,550.00. We sent a detailed letter to Caliber expressing our concerns and a $3,051.00 discrepancy.

We had to call and leave messages to get a response, and none was given in writing. During the call we shared that at no time did the salesperson mention the most important piece of information – the installation fee does not include a charge for plumbing or electrical.

As a layperson, my understanding of installation is whatever it takes from start to finish less materials are the installation. We also questioned why the required materials for a tub wouldn’t be included in the price of the tub and at no time did we discuss grab bars or walls.

We didn’t understand the $131.25/hour plumber’s charge as it was a direct replacement of the current soaker tub and there were no plumbing alterations needed, or the value of the electrician as it was only running a connection to our panel which had the room.

We were told that Kohler wants them to charge more and that we are getting a deal and that it is what it is with the discount, but she would share our concerns.

We followed up that conversation with an email requesting that the permits be pulled, and all inspections are completed so we wouldn’t have issues if we go to sell the house. This was December 6th – 12th.

On December 28, 2021, they installed the tub. At 9 AM, a local electrician and Caliber’s installers arrived. The installers were a two-men crew. While the electrician ran his lines, the installers demoed our current tub, brought in the new tub, and hooked everything up.

The crew was wonderful, clean, and timely as they finished well before 5 PM. What stood out was: • The plumber was not a local company but part of the install crew, although the charge was separate and not discounted. Between the 50% installation fee and plumber fee, I paid $4,015.00.

If I hadn’t had the promotion, it would have been $6,980.00 for an 8-hour day/ 2 people. • The only grab bar received filled two pre-drilled holes in the tub and according to Kohler’s website, the second is built into the rim of the bath, although the billing detail indicated they were in the miscellaneous materials and an extra charge.

Were you going to build the tub differently and leave holes in my tub? Since we were told that the deposit would be processed when the office received the sales paperwork and before the tub would be ordered, and the installation was complete, it was our understanding that the $2,000.00 was what they agreed to discount out of the $3,051.00 we questioned.

In January 2022 we received the standard survey asking how they did. We rated the installation high and the sales process low. It was confirmed that they received the survey at the end of January, and it was distributed to no less than 4 people between Kohler and Caliber.

On February 1, 2022, we made our first payment of $249.00 on our new tub to GreenSky. On February 14, 2022, at 8:49 PM MST, while on vacation, we received an email receipt via Square - a hard-keyed charge on our credit card for the $2,000.00 deposit. Happy Valentine’s Day.

There was no call telling us that they made an error and failed to charge us and asking if the card we provided in November was still ok to charge, there was absolutely NO COMMUNICATION at all before charging the call after business hours.

On February 15, 2022, we called Caliber to question the charge and were told that we owed it so that was that. We highlighted the fact that it was 2 ½ months after the sale where it was to be paid immediately and 1 ½ months after the installation and was again told it was owed.

We questioned the professionalism of just charging a card that long after a transaction without communication and was told that they probably should have called, sorry.

We highlighted the fact that we understood it to be what they accepted as a concession of our dispute in December and was told she wasn’t aware of any agreement, so the charge stood. Caliber’s excuse was they found that it wasn’t charged when they were processing their year-end.

Year-end in mid-February at 8:49 pm? After talking to Caliber, we called Kohler to inform them of the concerns we have had and the unprofessional business practices of Caliber and were told that someone would reach out. That was a week ago.

So, we are sharing our experience, so the next person is a well-informed consumer and might make decisions and ask questions before moving forward with either company. Buyer Beware.

Anthony B.
Caldwell, ID
Kohler Walk-in Bath

Anthony, thank you for your feedback. We're sincerely sorry for the inconveniences you experienced, and we assure you we will use this information to improve our processes in the future. If there’s anything we can do take make your experience better, please reach out to our customer service team at Customer Service team at (800) 986-5977 or visit https://www.kohlerwalkinbath.com/contact/service. Thank you.

November 29 2021 6:37PM

As a licensed plumber I find this pricing way out of line. They only use their own people to install it, and from what I’m reading: the warranty isn’t that great if you have to wait for replacement parts. For 30 years I have found Kohler to be all design and no function. From faucets to these tubs.

I highly don’t recommend mortgaging your home under a contract to get one of these. American Standard along with 10 other manufacturers make 'em and a plumber can install 'em.

May need to get an electrician to wire it. And like all large tubs you may have to upgrade your water heater. But this isn’t a $21k-$25k job ever. Buyer beware.

Mark N.
Washington, IL
Kohler Walk-in Bath

Hi Mark, we are sorry to hear you feel this way. The KOHLER Walk-In Bath was designed to offer you and your loved ones the safest bathing experience possible with advanced engineering for safety and comfort. Our Kohler engineers are continuously improving the design of our walk-in bath to provide our customers with the best bathing experience so we would appreciate it if you could contact our team by calling (800) 986-5977 or visiting https://www.kohlerwalkinbath.com/contact/service to let us know what we could do to improve. Thank you.

April 03 2021 1:42AM

Not really that happy. They don't tell you that you may have to get a 75 gal hot water heater, you do. You can not recline in the tub. Some pictures show people neck high in water, not happening.

Jets are no more than blow holes not therapy. Way way over price. It is a solid tub but so are cement blocks. I wish I never got it, big mistake, don't get one.

Tim O.
Ft Wayne, IN
Kohler Walk-in Bath

Hi Tim, thank you for sharing your feedback. We are truly sorry to hear you are not satisfied with your KOHLER Walk-In Bath, and we would like to assist you. Please contact our Customer Service team by calling (800) 986-5977 or visiting https://www.kohlerwalkinbath.com/contact/service . We look forward to hearing from you.

February 06 2021 10:08PM

My husband has ALS and can not Bath himself. From the time the tub was installed the door has leaked. We could not use the bath for the first month until we received a new door. This door lasted about 6 months. We had a service call and replaced the door. The door stills leaks.

I have been told a new handle has been order due to ours has become loose. I called again last week. Was told it is taking months to get parts. I think we need a new door and handle to maybe solve the leaking problem. I need this tub.

Taylor Construction out of Savannah Georgia is our service contact. We paid the expensive price for the warranty. Having a disabled person in my home I need this tub. My review of bad is due to the leaking problem not being corrected. I need help.

Rhonda R.
Waycross, GA
Kohler Walk-in Bath

Hi Rhonda, we sincerely apologize for the issue with the door and handle. Please know Kohler strives to delight our customers through our one level of quality standard for all Kohler products. We have forwarded your comments to your KOHLER Authorized Dealer for further assistance and solutions regarding this issue.

October 28 2020 11:35PM

I’m in the planning stage of purchasing a walk in bathtub, the cost was more than I expected, I was told I need to upgrade to a 50 gallon water heater, they will have to demo my walk in shower and prepare it for installation, redo plumbing.

The total cost was 30,000, -5000.00 if I sign contract now. I have a few questions for anyone that have a walk in bathtub. 1. If you needed a new water heater, did you purchase and have it installed separate? 2. Did you demo your bathroom to prepare for the new tub?

3. Did you get a copy of the estimate before the work was done? 4. Was your estimate itemized? 5. Did your water bill increase? I’m just trying to find a way to cut the cost of this project. Thank you.

Jay H.
Grand Blanc, MI
Kohler Walk-in Bath

Hi Jay, thank you for expressing interest in our walk-in baths. We would be glad to discuss this further with you and answer all of your questions. Please reach out to our team at (800) 986-5977 or email [email protected] Thank you!

October 25 2020 6:29PM

This tub gives me a great bath. It does everything Kohler says it does. The only problem I have is the blower button. It starts on high and goes down from there. This to me is totally backwards as it should go from low to medium to high. I have to push it three times to get it to anything.

I called the installer and they told me that it is correct. I don't believe them. Can you clear this up for me? Thank you...Hans K.

Hans K.
HOPKINS, MI
Kohler Walk-in Bath

Hi Hans, we are so glad that you are enjoying your walk-in bath. Your installer is correct, the whirlpool jets start on "high" and you can adjust the intensity using the control panel. While we are unable to adjust the unit’s operation to start at "low," your valuable feedback will be shared with our product development engineers. Thank you!

October 12 2020 1:27AM

We purchased a Kohler Walk-in Tub from a company called Get-A-Pro in the spring of 2019. We were told the tub was under warranty as long as we lived in this house.

Recently the drain lever in our tub started to sliding backwards causing the tub drain to close, preventing the tub from draining. We have to manually hold the drain lever open. I have tried numerous times to contact the company we purchased it from, to no avail.

I either get no answer or voicemail. I’ve left several messages but no one returns my calls. I’ve tried other numbers that I had on my paperwork, but those numbers have been disconnected!

I called Kohler Customer Service and they gave me a number to call, again I had to leave a message, but no call back! Where do we go from here? If Get-A-Pro is out of business, we expect Kohler to stand behind its product.

Patricia M.
Salem, IL
Kohler Walk-in Bath

Hi Patricia, we are so sorry this has been your experience. We have escalated your service request and contact information to the appropriate KOHLER Authorized Dealer who will be able to service your walk-in bath drain. They will contact you shortly. Have a great day.

Write Review