Phonak Hearing Aids Reviews Page 3

Recent Reviews

March 27 2020 7:50AM

Do not buy this hearing aid! I was charged $6,500 for the in the ear titanium model. I replaced a 4 year old pair of Starkey aids at my dispensers suggestion. When the aids were 10 months old in October 2019, the tiny white ring that holds the filter fell off the left ear. For some strange reason the dispenser refused to send it in for repair, saying “it’s ok to use without”.

In January, while on a two month overseas holiday, the right one fell off. I came to learn a month later, after I got an ear infection, that the filter had imbedded itself in my right ear. Back in the states in March, the 3rd ear doctor I saw here, finally removed it. He told me he removes the filters from peoples ears often. The lady at Costco told me the same thing. My hearing is further impaired and the dispenser won’t return my emails or calls.

Maggie H.
Oxnard, CA
February 13 2020 12:45PM

I wrote before. I had my rechargeable Phonac hearing aids replaced soon after getting them in July, 2019. They were fine in the operation until now. It is February, 2020 and the hearing aids are 6 months old. I started having trouble with the pairing of my phone and my hearing aids. The lights in the recharging bin are not working. I try to restart them and they are evidently dead.

I am very disappointed in the service I'm getting out of these very expensive devices. I am retired, have a bad heart and do not need this type of stress in my life. I very much so need the hearing aids but feel these are much less than worth the money! I am taking them back to the place I purchased them this morning and hope there is a resolve. I would never recommend these to anyone. Overpriced and under performing!

Marsha E.
Selinsgrove, PA
February 10 2020 9:18PM

I have never worn hearing aids before and am 72. Therefore I may not be the right person to do a review, but I am so happy just to finally be able to hear softspoken people (which sounds like mumbling to me!) I literally have only had them a week, but so far they work very well and since I got them through my audiologist they have a lifetime warranty (actually 4 years which must be the life of the hearing aid, hopefully not me - haha) for anything and I can drop in if I need help with them. Everything is very clear. People can even whisper and I hear them clearly. Of course they pick up the swishing of my hair, the clinking of my keys, etc. But the coolest thing is they also are like having a very expensive pair of bluetooth i-buds ... I can answer my phone, talk, and hear as long as my phone is within 30 feet. I can listen to an audio book on my phone without having to carry the phone around and of course anything else you can listen to with bluetooth - music, You Tube, News, etc. I am really having fun with these! Getting old is not so bad and has its fun side! :) I did not buy the most expensive ones because I mainly need them for talking to family and hearing the TV when its across the room without turning it up to the point where everyone else covers their ears. As my hearing changes I can add software that works in restaurants, or anywhere there are noisy loud crowds of people.

Patricia M.
Greer, SC
November 17 2019 4:23AM

I’m really surprised to see the less-than-stellar reviews. I’m demoing the Phonak Audeo hearing aids and I couldn’t be more impressed. I was told by my audiologist to allow the hearing aids to adjust themselves as I went into quiet and or loud environments. I was very impressed at how the hearing aids automatically adjusted themselves so that I could hear wherever I was.

I was amazed at how well I could hear in noisy environments including small conference rooms with a lot of background noise and busy restaurants. I was also extremely impressed with the round microphone accessory that allowed me to amplify select peoples‘ voices around the conference room table.

This is the first time I’ve ever been able to hear everyone whether they’re looking at me or not. Even better I can have the presenter wear the microphone around his/her neck on a lanyard and everything they say will pipe right into my Phonak hearing aids. Definitely a game changer. I also have a hard time hearing my tennis pro on the tennis court. So now he will wear the microphone around his neck on a lanyard. I am so excited. The only negatives are the microphones in the hearing aids pick up a lot of road noise when driving (which is typical). They are more ideal for quiet environments if you’re going to be speaking to clients on the phone. Otherwise they’re fine for family, friends or internal team members while driving.

I was surprised that the microphones didn’t pick up the wind noise while I was walking outside at all which is a nice benefit. I’m hoping my initial experience continues because as a wearer of hearing aids my entire adult life, the Phonak hearing aids will make my work and leisure life easier and even more enjoyable.

Christy V.
St Petersburg, FL
October 29 2019 10:58AM

I agree with the earlier reviewers. These aids are a waste of money in noisy environments like restaurants, PA systems in halls, dances and windy environments. I only get benefit in situations where one person is speaking in an acoustically quiet room and the speaker is looking at me, which covers about 10% of my active hearing time. Phonak make big claims that dont deliver.

Terry A.
Christchurch, SELECT A STATE
October 05 2019 10:54PM

I have had several hearing aids. The Phonak is the worst aid I have ever had. It does not work well in noisy environments and in general is poor in amplification. It amplifies surrounding sound more than speech. I have a regular aid in the left ear and a bicross in the right ear. I still have to turn my head so that people are speaking into my left ear in order to hear them.

I have been to two audiologists for adjustments without success. Although I got a good price on these aids, they are greatly overpriced due to the poor job of properly correcting hearing. I would definitely NOT recommend these hearing aids. Maybe a company representative could make them work satisfactorily, but that doesn't seem to be an option.

Allen W.
Winter Park, FL
September 14 2019 2:05AM

I have had my hearing aids since July and already having them replaced. The aid in my right ear has been going off and on for a long time and finally the light does not light while in the charger. It works intermittently. Both aids are going back for a replacement.

Marsha E.
Selinsgrove, PA
June 25 2019 7:29PM

Rate average to good, but I cannot claim any comparative experience. My issues are: these are terrible in restaurants or other crowded, noisy areas. They pick up all the noise, especially speakers on the ceiling, such that I cannot hear people at my table. In large areas such as a courtroom, I cannot clearly hear individual voices, and when the voices are broadcast through electronic means, the quality suffers. For TV, radio, etc., there is an electronic, static-y sound I find uncomfortable. In these negative hearing situations I'll often remove the devices, which increases the risk of loss or damage.

Jack L.
Marlborough, MA
June 18 2019 10:57PM

1. Hearing Part works great. 2. On phone calls the left ear keeps going off an on every minute. 3. I-tube Videos some times shout off and on. 4.  Music some times turns off and on. I would of purchase Phonak Audio 13 T if I had it to do over.

Gene J.
Sun City Center, FL
Write Review