Select Home Warranty
Caption: Select Home Warranty

Select Home Warranty offers a level of protection for homeowners, home buyers, home sellers, realtors, and anyone with an interest in protection from large expenses due to unexpected home repairs. Their home warranties cover a variety of budgets and needs. Submitting a claim is as simple as filing via their online system, which is the most efficient way to reach their customer service team.

How does Select Home Warranty compare to other home warranty companies? We recently updated our guide for choosing the best home warranties and found Select Home Warranty stood out for it’s combination of coverage and affordability.

Select Home Warranty Review

Select Home Warranty is a popular choice for coverage of common household appliances and repairs with several plans to choose from. Whether you just want to cover your appliances — or need a comprehensive plan that repairs home systems and extras (such as pool and spa) — the company will work with you to cover just what you need for the times you really need it. Their large network of contracted service providers ensures coverage in rural and urban areas, alike.

Pros
  • Service plans to fit most budgets
  • Plumbing stoppages available
  • Large, nationwide service network

Cons
  • Won’t cover common pre-existing issues

Select Home Warranty Plans

Coverage starts 30 days from the time customers purchase a plan. Once a covered appliance or system stops functioning, customers of Select Home Warranty can call, email, or fill out a form online to have a service professional set up a repair appointment. This professional will come at a time convenient to the homeowner. After paying a trade service fee, the repair or replacement is made — assuming it meets the terms of the service contract. If the covered item cannot be fixed, Select Home Warranty issues a check for the amount appropriate to replace a similar item. Sometimes, Select Home Warranty requires service records, receipts, or other proof of the condition of an item and its upkeep before authorizing a repair.

Select Home Warranty is one of the few companies offering coverage to homeowners across the United States. They have a large network of repair professionals, ensuring access to a service professional in any part of the country. Most covered repairs happen within a few days of the claim, and customers report that claims filed online have some of the fastest service times in the industry.

Select Home Warranty prices

This company offers three tiers of service. Their plans range from $429 – $499, depending on your service requirements and location. Optional coverage riders are available, as well, and customers can pay for plans in monthly installments or with a one-time annual or multi-year fee. Select Home Warranty frequently offers discounts, such as $200 off a year-long plan or additional free months with purchase. They have been known to throw in a premium coverage rider, such as roof coverage – at no additional cost.

Bronze Plan Gold Plan Platinum Plan
$429* $429* $499*

*Retail price on Feb 1, 2018 for a single family home less than 5,000 sq. feet. May be subject to changes or sales incentives. Contact choice for a current quote.

Bronze Care

This plan covers qualified repairs of the clothes washer and dryer, garbage disposal, refrigerator, stove/oven, built-in microwave oven, cooktop, and dishwasher.

Gold Care

This plan covers qualified repairs of the heating and plumbing systems, hot water heater, ductwork, A/C and cooling system, and electrical system.

Platinum Care

This plan covers qualified repairs of everything under both the Bronze and Gold Care plans, as well as the garage door opener and ceiling fans. Platinum Care also covers plumbing blockages.

Additional Coverages Available

Customers of Select Home Warranty who purchase one of the above plans are eligible to add optional coverage benefits for the pool and spa, central vacuum, sump and well pumps, rook leaks, stand alone freezer, lawn watering system, septic tank and system, lighting and plumbing fixtures, and refrigerator ice maker. Plans exist for additional refrigerators, AC units, heating units, and water heaters.

Select Home Warranty Fees

There is a trade service fee due at the time a repair professional comes to your home. This fee averages $45 – $60 per professional per repair, but it varies by contract. Sometimes, this charge is also called the “deductible”. Customers pay this fee regardless of whether the service or parts end up being covered by Select Home Warranty.

Select Home Warranty Customer Service

Select Home Warranty is unique in that it that offers nationwide coverage. They make their quotes available all U.S. time zones, via their online price request or through their toll-free number at 1-855-267-3532. Once you are a customer, claims are made through a customer service phone number, via email or via their online claim form. Claims can be made 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Select Home Warranty will then contact a professional repair technician in your area to contact you and set up a repair appointment.

Select Home Warranty Reviews

The Better Business Bureau (BBB) rates Select Home Warranty with a B, which is slightly better than the industry average. While there are higher-rated services, Select Home Warranty offers satisfactory resolution of most customer complaints and is responsive to inquiries. Consumers consistently give Select Home Warranty a better-than-most rating in the areas of customer service, timeliness in resolving claims, and the quality of their services.

Most of the unfavorable reviews regarding this company are directed at the service providers that Select Home Warranty contracts to do the repairs. Complaints include late or unprofessional repair technicians. Since Select is only contracting the work to them (and no have control over the service provider) they are not involved with the quality of service. Unsatisfied customers report being able to call out a different repair professional in these instances, and their issues get resolved.

Home owners who keep good records of their covered appliances and systems get the most benefit from the plans. Since Select doesn’t cover problems caused by improper maintenance, it’s important for customers to provide receipts and service records for three years or more for items that need repair. Homeowners who cannot provide proof that they have maintained their appliances and systems may find that their repairs are not approved. Select doesn’t cover pre-existing conditions.

Customers with large, approved repairs are among the happiest with Select Home Warranty. A furnace or pool heating system, for example, is usually very expensive to repair ($400 or more). The value of having a covered service is much greater.

Select Home Warranty FAQ

  • What’s the difference between a new home warranty and Select Home Warranty plans?
    Select offers what is also known as a “service contract” which will pay for covered repairs or replacement of items in your home, such as an appliance or heating system. It is an optional service to help pay for things that may go wrong in your home. New home warranties, on the other hand, are given by the home manufacturer to guarantee the workmanship of your building. They may or may not cover appliances or systems and are only for new buildings.

  • My home is old. Can I still get a plan from Select Home Warranty?
    The service plans sold by Select are for your home appliances and systems. It does not matter the age of your home, provided the covered items do not suffer from pre-existing damage, neglect or wear that can affect performance. If your covered items have been properly maintained prior to the date the plan goes into effect, their age doesn’t matter.

  • I have homeowners insurance. Why would I want a home warranty?
    Each type of coverage does very different things. Homeowners insurance largely covers damage from a disaster, fire, or burglary. It offers liability against damages. A home warranty, however, repairs or replaces covered items that break outside of these occurrences.

  • Does Select Home Warranty need to see my home before they will cover me?
    These home warranty plans do not require an inspection or pre-approval. Once your plan is purchased, you can start using it after the 30-day waiting period for any covered item, provided the repair isn’t for pre-existing damage or wear. Your contract details exactly what types of repairs will be covered.

  • Is there a limit on the coverage? How many repairs can I have per year?
    There is no limit to the number of service calls you make, although they are each subject to the deductible (also called a contract service fee.) Some system repairs have a limit set by Select Home Warranty. HVAC repair is limited to $2,000. Each appliance and plumbing/electrical systems have a $500 limit each. Additional coverage plans have a $400 limit per items. Optional Freon coverage has a limit of $250.

Conclusion

With many choices for homeowners to consider when looking for a home warranty plan, it’s important to know exactly the appliances and systems you want covered before purchasing. Select Home Warranty has something for everyone, with plans that meet the basics of just appliances, as well as complete home system options. For the homeowner who wants to be covered no matter where they live, Select’s network of professionals may prove to be the largest in the industry.

Select Home Warranty Reviews

Recent Reviews

August 07 2020 3:37PM

If I could give the service a ZERO STARS I would. Do not waste your money. They are a claims review company not a repair company because claims NEVER GET REVIEWED. No supervisors are available to talk to.

All they do is give you the runaround. Waste of time and money!!! Save yourself the headache and do not purchase a warranty from this company.

Gloria V.
Downers Grove, IL
July 17 2020 6:09PM

I saw so many other bad reviews and I don't understand it. I have had Select Home Warranty for a couple of years and they've been wonderful.

Garbage disposal went out? one call & handled. Garage door opener went out ?One Call & handled it. Air Conditioning went out? One call, they replace the capacitor.

Air conditioning went out again? One call, they replaced a fan motor. Air conditioning went out AGAIN...and they are now in the process of getting me a new unit. Select Home Warranty stands by their word.

Teresa P.
Coolidge, AZ
July 13 2020 10:03PM

This is the worst company I dealt with. They are so slow in approving. I paid my co pay amount without doing nothing, their technician lied. They keep telling “will review the claim.” Not good service. I want my money back pls.

Imelda V.
Sacramento, SELECT A STATE
July 13 2020 8:01PM

STAY AWAY from this Company. They are the WORST. They say they will resolve your issue within 48 business day hours but that is a bold faced lie.

We had our kitchen sink start leaking July 3, ok so the business days don't start until July 6 but still no contact number from them for a plumber July 6 or 7th. By end of day July 8, I have to call them and see why they haven't delivered this contact info as promised.

Only after I call them do I get someone to actually send me this information, 5 days after my initial claim was submitted.

THEN after the plumber actually comes over and assesses that we need a new garbage disposal, we are told that it will take another 2 days to get approval for this part. I mean, it's cut and dry.

We purchased a home warranty, this part is covered and therefore the part should be approved. How long does it take to simply get an approval? After 48 business day hours, once again, they don't call me.

So by end of day on the 10th, they tell me that, not to worry, they will get me the approval by end of day. Again, another bold faced lie. No information, no approval, no nothing.

By the 13th, my kitchen sink has been leaking for 10 days now. I have to put towels and buckets down to catch the water. I called them and was put on hold for a half an hour just to then get an answering machine.

I called them back, was transferred to 3 different people in customer service who would do nothing other than pass me to another service agent who, once again did nothing to help me and pass me along to yet another person in circles and circles with no help.

I had to call this company and be on the phone with them for 2 hours and still, the best they can do is tell me to wait longer for a manager to call me. I have no idea if anyone actually even will and they are already late at this point.

This company is the WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE I have ever experienced. DON'T get a policy from them unless you are ok waiting indefinitely for an issue to be resolved.

I don't know what is wrong with them. They clearly can't or won't do their jobs. I'm cancelling this policy as soon as this issue is resolved.

Sehra H.
La Habra, CA
July 10 2020 7:22PM

Useless. Save your money. They can never find a technician to fix your issue. When they do finally find someone to come out to fix it, the item in question isn't covered. Very disappointed.

If you cancel you have to pay a $75 cancellation fee, plus you have to pay (in full) whatever you were able to get them to fix, only to receive a pro-rated return amount.

Thomas W.
Slidell, LA
June 26 2020 2:51AM

Please do not buy this. You will be disappointed like 22 people here. Takes for ever and they pay pennies on dollar instead of fixing. My ac did not get answer for over 22 days and at the end they offered me $150 for compressor gone bad. Not trust wiorthy. Pray to god if you choose this one.. There are better choices.

West C.
West Chester, OH
June 17 2020 2:16PM

This company is the worst, they go out of their way not to play any claims. You can't get their vendors to show up and even diagnose issues, they discount everything that do pay to mere pennies. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS COMPANY.

Stephanie M.
Roanoke, TX
June 06 2020 1:19PM

I totally agree with the reviews that this company misrepresents their coverage. I directly asked several times if the 45.00 dollars was all I had to pay to get anything replaced or repaired and they said yes that was all and they would take care if everything. HUGE LIE..

I had a microwave break and that is when I found out they had misrepresented the whole contract. I spoke with several representatives and they all gave a different explanation of the coverage but all said the company would never paid for anything to be removed and a new one installed. It was the customers responsible to pay for it and have it installed. Paragraph 9.3 states they do not pay for installation. Also paragraph 8 states they will not pay for removal of debris.

It is in the middle of a whole list of things like rubber seals etc. NOT were a labor word should be. And as mentioned in other reviews, you do not get the policy until you pay for the contract. They offer you a depreciated amount and you have to go buy the item first then sent the receipt in then wait for their claim letter and fill it out and wait for them to approve it and then they send a check. You have to pay for removal and installation.

After they calculate the depreciation they then deduct the 45 service charge which they did not send out anyone because they are replacing it. So when it was all over and I deducted the monthly payment I had to pay for select warranty and the installation of the over the range microwave it came out to be 10.00 dollars savings having the service with select. The hassle is not worth it.

Rae O.
Phoenix, AZ
June 03 2020 6:44PM

Select Home Warranty is the WORST! It appears that the company works hard to deny claims. I had two claims both of which were denied. One was for the HVAC and this $10,000 cost was denied because the unit was too old...the freon was coming out...anything to say NO. Just this week I submitted a claim to have my oven repaired. They kept asking me if I smelled gas. I said I smelled something once the oven was on for a while. In fact I said to them " I did not say I smelled gas".

Nevertheless before they would even send out a technician they denied the request. Turns out an element needed to be replaced. I just hate that I have been taken in this way. No more service contracts with SHW! Stay far away!!!!

Janice M.
Atlanta, GA
February 05 2020 4:51PM

Select Home Warranty sales agents have grotesquely misrepresented, falsely advertised, and bait-and-switched on the presentation of the coverage of their home warranties. Before buying policies from them, I asked very direct questions about coverage amounts and limitations, on several occasions and with several different sales agents.

I was assured that we would have good and timely coverage when we needed it. I asked “if I have a big problem, what is the maximum coverage I can expect to receive?” To this question, I was told “$11,000 annual aggregate limit”. I asked “What about for one particular item?”, and they said “We get discounted labor from our technicians. Whatever the problem is, we’ve got you covered”.

In just a few months’ time, I’ve had the following claims:

1. Claim #**. An entire HVAC replacement due to A/C breaking down and being an obsolete product needing replaced. Direct diagnosis: failure of control board and coil deterioration. The cost to me to replace was $5,150. Select Home Warranty paid me JUST $300!! Even if I didn’t replace the unit and simply performed the repair, I was advised it would be well over $2,000 due to the labor intensive nature of the repair. It took them ALMOST A MONTH to review the case. I couldn’t continue on without A/C so I simply performed the repair after waiting for 3 weeks. They didn’t inform me until almost two months after the claim was started that they wanted “a second opinion”.

In what world is that kind of delay acceptable?? I’m convinced they dragged it on that long just so that I would get fed up and do a repair that they could just deny coverage for. Their emails all say you’ll have resolution in “usually 24-48 hours”, but in my experience, it takes WEEKS, which is simply unacceptable for something important. FURTHER, I was told I would not need service records for service, which is printed right on page 3 of the contract, yet they demanded service records to process the claim.

2. Claim #**. A dishwasher failure. They sent THEIR OWN technician, who advised it would be almost $800 to repair (it’s a VERY expensive dishwasher). Their resolution is to send a check for $200. While the terms and conditions make mention of “depreciated value”, the sales agent insisted that I would have good protection. $200 doesn’t even cover the cost to install a brand new dishwasher that I’ll have to pay for.

3. Claim #**. A plumbing stoppage at another property. The contract makes NO MENTION of maximums for this kind of repair. After speaking with the plumber, they advised that they would only pay $150 for the repair, after he said it could cost up to $500 or more depending on the extent of the blockage. In what world is this good coverage?

4. Claim #**. A microwave claim was called in. In response to this, THEY DIDN’T EVEN SEND A TECHNICIAN. Instead, 19 minutes after the claim was filed (how did they do this so quickly when it took them WEEKS to review the first claim listed above?), they decided to simply send $95 for me to send my own technician and resolved themselves of all obligation, meaning I’m responsible for the cost of the repair/replacement.

Right on their contract, they advertise “Save time finding an expert” and “Select Home Warranty is here to connect you to our vast network of technicians”. According to their contractual obligations, they are supposed to send a technician in response to a claim. They didn’t even do that, and they refused to do it at my request.

This, by the way, is a VERY expensive built-in microwave. These are just the 4 biggies. There are other small ones. By allowing their sales agents to con me into buying this policy (rather than going with a legitimate home warranty policy without a billion contract loopholes), they have cost me THOUSANDS of dollars. Do yourself a favor and look elsewhere.

John G.
Murrells Inlet, SC
Write Review