Advertising Disclosure

We may earn money from our partners when you click a link, complete a form or call a phone number.

We believe everyone deserves to make thoughtful, informed purchase decisions. As a result, we provide our buyers guides and local guides free for consumers. We may receive compensation from our partners. However, Retirement Living independently researches companies, and the compensation we receive does not affect the analysis of our staff. Retirement Living will not include companies on our guides that do not meet our quality standards. The compensation we receive from our partners may impact how and where companies appear on our site, including the order in which they appear. As an Amazon Associate Retirement Living earns from qualifying purchases.

Retirement Living independently researches companies, and we use editorial discretion to award companies with special recognition (i.e. Great Value) based on our staff's judgment. We do this to help you identify companies that will meet your specific buying needs, and we do not receive compensation for these designations.

Get Insider Access

Get special offers, advice and tips from Retirement Living delivered to your inbox.

ServicePlus Home Warranty

4.25 Stars (33 Reviews)
Updated: January 19, 2023
By: Dr. Steven Rydin
Dr. Steven Rydin
Director of Product
As the former director of product, Steven oversaw Retirement Living’s product and marketing efforts for four years. His digital marketing expertise helped launch senior-focused buyer’s guides and a wide range of products surrounding finance, insurance, healthcare, and lifestyle. Steven holds a Doctor of Business Administration degree from George Fox University.
Director of Product
Edited by: Jeff Smith
Jeff Smith
Sr. Content Manager
As Retirement Living’s senior content manager, Jeff oversees the product and publishing of all retirement, investing, and consumer wellness content on the site. His extensive expertise in brand messaging and creating data-driven stories helps position Retirement Living as a top authority for senior content and community resources.
Sr. Content Manager

ServicePlus Home Warranty provides two types of comprehensive warranty plans with service contracts to repair or replace major system components and appliances in your home that break down due to normal wear and tear. They offer both monthly and annual service plans as well as a variety of optional add-on coverages to help you customize your plan to meet your needs.

ServicePlus Logo

Editorial Breakdown

Service Quality 4.5 Stars
Affordability 4.5 Stars
Coverage 5 Stars
Customer Service 4 Stars

Overall Rating 4.3 Stars

Bottom Line

ServicePlus Home Warranty has lots of optional coverage features, such as pools, wells and beyond - they earned our award for great coverage.

33 ServicePlus Home Warranty Reviews

Write Review
1 Star

June 20 2020 4:12AM

Total Home Protection is nothing but a joke. Keep looking. They were not fix anything. You were only paying your money every month. Total total joke. Refrigerator went out. Only willing to give me $200 in 6 to 8 weeks. This company needs to be shut down.

Amy J.
Oakland, CA
3 Stars

March 06 2020 2:36PM

I only called one time to have dishwasher fixed. It was 3 days before service came to house and then another week before they decided they would not fix or replace. They very clearly advertise that they replace if not being fixed. They offered a very lower payout amount. When I told them I would like to cancel to go with a different service they said they would not honor the payout amount. Very disappointed in the representation and service.

Linda L.
Richmond, WV
5 Stars

February 18 2020 8:33PM

Total Home Protection replaced my AC unit after it broke down last summer, just as the temperatures were getting in the silly zones. They did it fast and I only had to pay my deductible. They sent a good technician that understood quickly this was a main pump issue and it needed replacing. Everything was done in under 3 days and I even got a warranty for the part installed. This is an excellent company.

Michael B.
Dallas, TX
5 Stars

February 18 2020 8:10PM

A technician I called to have my fridge repaired recommended I get a home warranty and advised me to talk to Total Home Protection, as they have the best price and the largest affiliated technicians network. I did and I thank him for that advice every time something breaks around the house. I even got him again when my fridge again decided to stop working and Total Home Protection sent back the same technician. I love them, they are a great company and a great help around the house.

Molly F.
Philadelphia, PA
5 Stars

February 18 2020 7:48PM

I had my boiler break down on me mid-January and immediately called Total Home Protection to claim the insurance with them. Everything went as expected, they sent a technician to my house the next day and after another day my boiler was back up and running. Very satisfied with the process and the service quality of the company.

Sophia B.
New York, NY
1 Star

February 16 2020 4:14PM

Have a plumbing leak and the claim was denied. Kitchen faucet had a leak under my sink and the plumber came out took pictures, 4 days later my claim was denied. I paid the 60$ for absolutely nothing. If you're wanting a home warranty keep looking. This company does nothing and I'm out the service fee.

Brenda R.
Spring, UT
3 Stars

February 16 2020 4:35AM

Been with them also a year. Had a call places to fix dishwasher. Took e days for tech to come look. Another 3 days for them to tell me they won't fix it. They are sending minimal check which isn't enough to even come close to purchasing a new dishwasher. Also after all phone calls to customer service they all sound like they don't like their jobs.

The technician that came to house was very unfriendly and never identified himself I was very displeased and want to cancel but they said then I won't receive the check to cover my dishwasher even though policy is paid. I will be going back to American Home Shield.

Linda L.
Richmond, WV
5 Stars

January 15 2020 3:58PM

First time using THP and had a really good experience. The phone call was easy and they understood my problem right away and within a half-hour, I had a response to when a technician would be there. They actually came a day ahead of schedule and fixed my air conditioner. Very reliable!

Andrew D.
New York, NY
5 Stars

January 15 2020 3:18PM

Our first experience dealing with our home warranty was with our water heater that quit working. I received a date & time for the service call within just a couple of hours of making my claim. The service repairman arrived early and fixed our water heater. I am very happy with the services received from our 1st claim with Total Home Protection. I am so glad I purchased the warranty.

Toni B.
Seattle, WA
5 Stars

January 13 2020 1:32PM

Home protection is not something you think of right off the bat when buying a house, but let me tell you, it is a must if you’re trying to save on initial repair money, allowing you to reach a bit higher when it comes to initial purchase budget.

I bought my house 2 years ago, it was a bank repo that was not in great shape. Instead of starting to check and repair everything, I got a home warranty and now I’m replacing them as I go and they fail. I went with Total Home Protection and I couldn’t be happier. I could afford a more expensive house and I feel confident knowing they have my back.

Adam Y.
Denver, CO