Advertising Disclosure

We may earn money from our partners when you click a link, complete a form or call a phone number.

We believe everyone deserves to make thoughtful, informed purchase decisions. As a result, we provide our buyers guides and local guides free for consumers. We may receive compensation from our partners. However, Retirement Living independently researches companies, and the compensation we receive does not affect the analysis of our staff. Retirement Living will not include companies on our guides that do not meet our quality standards. The compensation we receive from our partners may impact how and where companies appear on our site, including the order in which they appear. As an Amazon Associate Retirement Living earns from qualifying purchases.

Retirement Living independently researches companies, and we use editorial discretion to award companies with special recognition (i.e. Great Value) based on our staff's judgment. We do this to help you identify companies that will meet your specific buying needs, and we do not receive compensation for these designations.

Get Insider Access

Get special offers, advice and tips from Retirement Living delivered to your inbox.

2-10 Home Buyers Warranty

4.5 Stars (52 Reviews)
Updated: January 19, 2023
By: Jonathan Trout
Jonathan Trout
Content Manager
Jonathan is a former product and content manager for Retirement Living. His background spans sales/marketing, finance, and telecommunications. Jonathan’s expertise in consumer wellness and research-backed data stories helped educate seniors on financial planning, retirement, and community resources. Jonathan graduated from Oklahoma State University with a B.S. in Environmental Sociology.
Content Manager
Edited by: Lauren Hamer
Lauren Hamer
Editor
Lauren is the editor for Retirement Living focused on discussing current senior-related issues, including retirement planning, consumer protection, and health and wellness. With six years of finance and career journalism experience, Lauren has edited personal finance content for Credible, Angi, Slickdeals, Jobs for the Future, and more.
Editor

2-10 Home Buyers Warranty is a home warranty company with headquarters in Aurora, Colorado. 2-10 HBW offers consumer home warranties covering appliances and systems and structural warranties on the home itself to builders. The company primarily serves those involved in buying or selling a home with warranty plans designed to help eliminate unexpected expenses that sometimes come up after closing on the property.

2-10 Home Buyers Warranty

Editorial Breakdown

Service Quality 4 Stars
Affordability 4.5 Stars
Coverage Area 4.5 Stars
Customer Service 4 Stars

Overall Rating 4.3 Stars

Bottom Line

A 2-10 home warranty service plan covers the repair or replacement of your home's major systems and appliances. Covered systems include AC units, furnaces, plumbing, water heater and electrical. You can add on additional coverage options to the original plan.

52 2-10 Home Warranty Reviews

Write Review
1 Star

May 28 2020 1:40PM

DO NOT USE THIS SERVICE. Please believe the reviews. So lets start with what is promised in advertising from the flyer given to sellers/buyers of homes. It is stated that when you purchase this warranty they will make three attempts to fix it then replace it. Also if they do not make the parts for it anymore it will be replaced. (FALSE ADVERTISING) That is not the case.

They will make you live without appliances for up to 20 days or more while they refurbish parts for the appliance or you can take a settlement of like 200 bucks or less and then your left to fix it on your own. Mind the fact you just payed anywhere from 89$ to 100$ in service fees to have them come out, wait around 10 days to inform you of the fact they don't make parts anymore, then another two days to tell you the bad news you will have a serious delay of another 14 to 16 days before they can get it fixed or just take a joke of a settlement and fix it yourself. I am a Disabled Vet who purchased this believing the hype that they could take care of things for me. It's a lie DO NOT BUY THIS Warranty. They just want your money and only do things that will profit them and screw the customer.

PLEASE NOTE: even the tech they sent out to fix this said it should be replaced and made that recommendation to 2-10 and yet this is what you will deal with. SAVE YOUR MONEY!!!!

Karl H.
Bowie, MD
1 Star

May 23 2020 3:29AM

Air conditioner has been out for two weeks. First technician came out and installed freon. Still DID NOT COOL. Technician came back and said it was the compressor that needed to be replaced. Another four days go by and I call the company. They said they were waiting on a report from their technician to order the part. The part will take up to five business days. Monday is Memorial Day. Air conditioning will be out of service for another week. They are calling for 85 plus degree temperatures this coming week. 2-10 Warranty is WORTHLESS. Do Not Waste Your Money with These People.

Lewis G.
Charlotte, NC
1 Star

March 09 2020 4:17AM

Horrible experience. All they want is your money to deny all your claims. I refuse to keep this policy! I called explained to CSR the issue with microwave door to have them schedule technician to come tell me the same thing I told them for 75.00 deductible to later deny claim. I asked them was over the range microwave was covered and they said yes, to later tell me everything but the door handle. Smh. Crooks.

Tangee C.
Columbia, SC
1 Star

February 21 2020 7:38PM

Great at collecting premiums. Terrible service contractors unless you can wait forever. The bottom line is their reimbursement rate to providers is so bad they will never give prompt service. They will put full pay customers ahead all the time. I had to go out of network for an AC repair because my house was over 90 degrees and their contracted service couldn't get there for 5 days.

Really??? So I paid another company $400 for the same day repair. 2-10 reimbursed $36 dollars. Crazy. I used to like the warranties, but they all seem to be a fraud. I'd recommend talking with the repair techs to see what they think about working for the warranty companies and I think they will all tell you they avoid taking the claims.

Joanne E.
Jacksonville, FL
2 Stars

February 17 2020 2:51PM

Since purchasing our home two years ago we've had a few claims. First, our furnace went out. The process was relatively smooth and within a few days the repairman showed up and it was fixed.

The second claim was the following summer when the A/C unit went out. 2-10 didn't have a service pro in the area so we had to call our own. While they did end up replacing the process took several weeks. The price quoted by the contractor we called was higher than 2-10 wanted to pay. I can understand that, but it's not our fault they don't have a contractor in the area.

The big issue was the numerous calls that it took and conflicting information we received the entire time. I called almost every day to get updates and one person would tell me they were waiting on the Purchasing department, the next day they had to reach out to the contractor and would be calling them. I talk with the contractor, no calls. Then finally once 2-10 has everything they need they promise me a call back. Never happens.

They absolutely NEVER call back or call when they say they will. If they give you a deadline or a 3-5 days, or anything of the sort YOU HAVE to keep calling them. They finally issued me a check for the quote given by the contractor and told me that I was on the hook if it was more. Thankfully, the contractor quote was exactly the final amount with no overages.

Finally, the third issue, and most frustrating, we've had is with our refrigerator/freezer. The issue was first reported in June of 2019. The ice maker quit working and there was excessive ice buildup in the freezer. I write this review as of February 17, 2020. The issues are still not fixed. A contractor came out in June and replaced the ice maker several times, sealed the line and added Freon. Nothing worked. Apparently it was reported as fixed. It never was.

I reported it again November of 2019 (and had to pay another $100 deductible even though it was not actually fixed the first time). I call once or twice a week going back months. All I get is the run around. They are waiting on the contractor. They are waiting on the purchasing department. They sent an email to the contractor. Contractor never gets it. They are waiting on a part. The part arrives to the contractor but it's no good to have an ice maker if the freezer doesn't work.

I can't even remember all the issues/excuses, but the one thing that is clear, again, through this process is that 2-10 absolutely NEVER calls back with updates when they say they will. It's always the contractors fault or the company they are purchasing parts from or someone else. I cannot recommend 2-10 for a home warranty. The people in customer service are friendly, no complaints on that end, but there is a flaw in their system somewhere.

Nathaniel S.
Bowling Green, OH
1 Star

February 09 2020 10:39PM

I would not recommend 2-10 to anyone, not even my worse enemy. It seems like 2-10 is only interested in collecting your premiums. When the time comes for them to actually put some money out, then they try to come up with all sorts of ways or excuses to deny your claim. I would have given them a one-star if I could. I have purchased a brand new home which the Builder happened to use 2-10 for the home warranty services. We have decided to keep them after closing on the home. We must admit that they started out pretty good as they did get our heater fixed a couple of times when they went out. However, it seems like they quite don't take it well when a Homeowner submits what they consider too many claims.

When our microwave oven has suddenly stopped working, we have called 2-10 to submit a claim. Since we were also having some minor issues with our dishwasher and since one of our refrigerator's vegetables tray has been broken, we have decided to include those as well with the microwave oven claim so we didn't have to pay a separate $75 deductible for three separate visits. The Technician declared that the microwave oven was not installed properly and claimed that was the cause for that appliance's failure. After he left, we've spent several days waiting on 2-10 to send a Technician back to make the repairs. Imagine spending all that time without a microwave oven to warm up your food.

When we contacted 2-10, one of their so-called managers got testy with us and has decided to decline all three of our claims, I guess just because he felt he had the power to do so. 2-10's rationale for denying the claims did not make any sense. We do not control any poor workmanship by the Builder. The house has been inspected before we purchased it and has passed all inspections. 2-10 has accepted to cover our appliances with all the so-called poor workmanship and has had no issues taking our premium money up to that point.

The microwave has been in service for over four years before failing. We think that 2-10 has purposely decided to deny our claims because some unprofessional worker got his little feelings hurt and also because they feel our policy may be costing them too much money.

I would not recommend this company to anyone. I am in the processing of canceling my policy in favor of a different company and I have been able to convince two of my neighbors to switch to a different company as well. I will continue to campaign against these scammers as much as I can. I may not be able to do enough to run them out of business, but I will certainly do my best to keep others from having to deal with what I had to deal with.

Jeanq P.
Stafford, VT
1 Star

January 07 2020 4:26PM

Refrigerator (2 years old) went out and wouldn't hold refrigerant. 2-10 Warranty only authorized a cheap Lowe's refrigerator as a replacement, but couldn't get it shipped. We were without a refrigerator for over a month and each time we called we were insulted, hung up on and basically told to go away. This company is a scam and should not be allowed to do business. They have found and employ the rudest, most insulting employees on the phone.

James G.
Texarkana, TX
1 Star

December 09 2019 8:23PM

DO NOT use 2-10. I am cancelling our policy with them and trying to find a new provider. Our heater was out. It's been 30 degrees here and they took 10 days to fix it. I had to actually pay for a new furnace as they said they couldn't find parts for my previous furnace. Ended costing me $1600.

Whenever I called, I had to wait for 1, yes, 1 actual hour before someone would come on. And when they finally got on, they kept saying "we're sorry but can't do anything about it". Their communications is HORRIBLE. They don't communicate among themselves either. BAD COMPANY. They just want to collect your premiums and do the most they can to not fix your problems. RUN FROM THEM.

Michelle L.
Annandale, WV
1 Star

November 07 2019 3:26PM

My sister bought a house in my development that had a 2-10 Warranty purchased navy the seller. She moved into the house in August and has been WITHOUT air conditioning (and now heat) since she moved in. It took weeks for the contractor to get approval, additional time because the contractor was told that 2-10 was buying the part and 2-10 said the contractor would, more time once the discontinued part was ordered from the manufacturer, and today, the contractor said the wrong part was ordered.

She now has to wait ... who knows how long ... to get the problem resolved. Run as fast as you can from this company. I’ve had AHS for 8 years and never went through something like this.

Debra S.
Myrtle Beach, SC
1 Star

November 03 2019 8:34PM

The warranty company has been great. The first contractor they sent out for gas leak was amazing. The second was electrical issue. Orlando ** tried to sell us things that were not covered and told us our house would burn down. Had two other electricians come out. He lied. Will never use Orlando ** electrical again. Beware.

Frances F.
Acworth, GA