Advertising Disclosure

We may earn money from our partners when you click a link, complete a form or call a phone number.

We believe everyone deserves to make thoughtful, informed purchase decisions. As a result, we provide our buyers guides and local guides free for consumers. We may receive compensation from our partners. However, Retirement Living independently researches companies, and the compensation we receive does not affect the analysis of our staff. Retirement Living will not include companies on our guides that do not meet our quality standards. The compensation we receive from our partners may impact how and where companies appear on our site, including the order in which they appear. As an Amazon Associate Retirement Living earns from qualifying purchases.

Retirement Living independently researches companies, and we use editorial discretion to award companies with special recognition (i.e. Great Value) based on our staff's judgment. We do this to help you identify companies that will meet your specific buying needs, and we do not receive compensation for these designations.

Get Insider Access

Get special offers, advice and tips from Retirement Living delivered to your inbox.

2-10 Home Buyers Warranty

4.5 Stars (52 Reviews)
Updated: January 19, 2023
By: Jonathan Trout
Jonathan Trout
Content Manager
Jonathan is a former product and content manager for Retirement Living. His background spans sales/marketing, finance, and telecommunications. Jonathan’s expertise in consumer wellness and research-backed data stories helped educate seniors on financial planning, retirement, and community resources. Jonathan graduated from Oklahoma State University with a B.S. in Environmental Sociology.
Content Manager
Edited by: Lauren Hamer
Lauren Hamer
Editor
Lauren is the editor for Retirement Living focused on discussing current senior-related issues, including retirement planning, consumer protection, and health and wellness. With six years of finance and career journalism experience, Lauren has edited personal finance content for Credible, Angi, Slickdeals, Jobs for the Future, and more.
Editor

2-10 Home Buyers Warranty is a home warranty company with headquarters in Aurora, Colorado. 2-10 HBW offers consumer home warranties covering appliances and systems and structural warranties on the home itself to builders. The company primarily serves those involved in buying or selling a home with warranty plans designed to help eliminate unexpected expenses that sometimes come up after closing on the property.

2-10 Home Buyers Warranty

Editorial Breakdown

Service Quality 4 Stars
Affordability 4.5 Stars
Coverage Area 4.5 Stars
Customer Service 4 Stars

Overall Rating 4.3 Stars

Bottom Line

A 2-10 home warranty service plan covers the repair or replacement of your home's major systems and appliances. Covered systems include AC units, furnaces, plumbing, water heater and electrical. You can add on additional coverage options to the original plan.

52 2-10 Home Warranty Reviews

Write Review
1 Star

October 16 2019 5:00PM

We were given a 2-10 home warranty when we purchased our new home. We made a claim on our furnace system and 2-10 denied our claim due to the problem being a "pre-existing condition." I spoke with a representative who informed me that the contractor had stated that this "100% a pre-existing condition and had to have been broke for quite sometime."

After this phone call the contractor actually called me to see what 2-10 had said. When I told him what they said, he stated that he told them that in his professional opinion this was not a pre-existing condition and he never told them that it was. I called 2-10 back and confronted them about lying to me. This representative then admitted to me that the contractor reported that this was not a pre-existing condition and that we needed to move forward with the claim.

When I spoke with a supervisor she also stated that the contractor did report that it was not a pre-existing condition, but that they reserve the right to deny any claim. 2-10 will pull any dirty trick to keep from performing the services they claim they cover. They are a scam and you should stay away.

Ryan M.
CARLISLE, OH
1 Star

October 04 2019 5:27PM

I have had them since July 2019. I paid extra for roofing. They have no one in my area. So I have to pay out of pocket. My refrigerator went out 8 days ago. They are making up excuses on why their funding dept hasn't helped me. Now I have to wait four more days before I get any help. That means we will be without a refrigerator for what 12 or 13 days. I am so done with this. No help what so ever!!!! I would never recommend anyone to them.

Christina H.
Springfield, OH
1 Star

September 22 2019 9:52AM

Worst experience ever. Awful customer service. It always take a week or more to get someone to come to the house to evaluate the problem. If a part needs to be order, you looking to another 2-week process for the part to arrive. Then another week for a company to show to your doorstep to fix the issue. That is if you are lucky. I waited three weeks just to find out that the part they ordered went to the wrong place. I got tire a paid $300 and waited 48 hours to fix the issue. Don't recommend these folks!

Ramon G.
Spring Lake, NC
1 Star

September 18 2019 1:25AM

Awful experience they keep sending the same unqualified tech and tech smells awfully bad that we have to literally open all the doors. We don’t understand how someone working with clients with no care for the smell. The refrigerator was never repair and on top of that 100 extra paid and they offer 100 off out of a new refrigerator if we decide to buy one... What a joke.

Y C.
Dacula, GA
1 Star

September 03 2019 12:30AM

I have been without AC for 1 month and the company seems to not care. It took them 2 weeks to order the part in the middle of summer. I have kids and it is hot. This is the worst company ever. Please don’t waste your time using them if you want your stuff done in a timely manner. They have no concern about you being without. They just want the money. The worst customer service.

Legione F.
Waldorf, MD
1 Star

August 22 2019 10:31PM

My air Condition stopped working for more than 30 hours. I have been calling them but no one answer. The only person answer. She said within 24 hours they will call you to schedule appointment. It’s very bad customer service. I don’t recommend them.

Pary M.
Aldie, WA
1 Star

August 20 2019 4:08PM

2-10 Home Warranty from Colorado Contracts with unprofessional and unqualified repair techs. If you make an appointment, the RUDE service that sends the tech is based in Vietnam! The tech visits your home, seem to know what their doing and BOOM! The appliances never are repaired... They keep sending unqualified repairmen over and over with no repair parts nor do they order the needed parts to actually repair the appliance. So... you pay for nothing! Over and over! SCAM COMPANY

Shosh C.
Fort Myers, FL
1 Star

August 06 2019 5:00PM

I rarely go out of my way to give a bad review but DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY. I’m not going to go into the whole story, out a/c went out in May- it is now August- we spent $75 for their guy to came out (did not seem to have any knowledge and had terrible reviews online) so spent $100 for a second guy to come out for a second opinion. 2-10 said they will cover $140 of the $800 estimate that we were given. We got this answer after probably 4-6 hours on the phone with their customer service representatives. If this sounds fun to you, hire them. I would save the money and the headache.

Haley R.
CHARLOTTE, NC
1 Star

July 30 2019 3:50PM

I don't like seeing this place with a 4 1/2 star review. Especially for a Retirement Living page. I have been without AC for a month, since I requested service. They have even escalated my ticket to "high priority". From which they have called me multiple times, which I do appreciate, yet each time their excuse is "we can't get ahold of our contractors". So they still don't have a date as to when they will even have my parts order to fix my AC unit. Don't pay for this "service". If there was a 0 star rating, I would have used that instead.

Anthony T.
Broomfiled, CO
1 Star

July 20 2019 10:09PM

This 2-10 warranty is a joke! I wish I have the possibility to give 0 star. Had a contract with them and Called them for my refrigerator that was having some issues. After the agent spent like 39 minutes trying to figure out what was wrong I was told I wasn’t covered because this was a secondary refrigerator. Why trying to diagnostic the issue if you knew I wasn’t covered for it. Now they asked me to pay the service fee of $89. Wasn’t never told I wouldn’t be covered for a “secondary“ appliances. I have service one on my others houses and very satisfied with the service I thought I was going to give a chance to this one but definitely closed my contract with them!!! NEVER NEVER WITH THEM.

Brice T.
Omaha, NE