Leggett & Platt Adjustable Beds

Leggett & Platt Adjustable Beds Review

The current line-up of two classic models, three premium models, and nine performance adjustable bed models all come in several sizes with a limited 1-3-25 warranty and features that range from pillow tilt, wall hugger, nap timer, USB ports, programmable positions, under-bed lighting, massage and lumbar support. Pricing and available models vary depending on where you buy, and Leggett & Platt adjustable beds can be purchased online and in furniture and mattress stores throughout the country. See the FAQ section below for warranty details. We rated Leggett & Platt for a Great Selection in our Best Adjustable Beds Guide.

Pros
  • Long history of quality products
  • 10+ adjustable bed bases to choose from
  • 1-3-25-year warranty on adjustable bed bases

Cons
  • You can’t buy directly from Leggett & Platt

Leggett & Platt Adjustable Bed Features and Cost

Sizes available vary by models within the adjustable bed lines, but you can find a Leggett & Platt adjustable bed in Twin, Twin XL, Full, Full XL, Queen, Split Queen, California King and Split California King. The split models allow for different height adjustments on each side of the bed. Prices for Leggett & Platt adjustable beds depend on the dealer, model and size of the bed.

  • Weight Capacity: The majority of the Leggett & Platt adjustable beds have a lift capacity of 850 pounds. The only models with lower capacity are the Signature with a maximum of 700 pounds, and the Vibrance which tops out at 550 pounds. As for the weight of a Leggett & Platt adjustable base, they average between 150 and 200 pounds.

  • Remote Controls: The Vibrance, Bas-X 2.0 and Promotion 2.0 come with wired remotes. All other models have wireless remotes, and most also work with a mobile app to adjust the bed.

  • Adjustment Angles: All models except Bas-X 2.0 adjust both the head and foot of the bed to varying degrees. The Prodigy line has Pillow Tilt with added adjustments at the head.

Leggett & Platt Adjustable Beds
Features Depend on Bed Model
Model Features Price Range*

  • Prodigy 2.0
  • Prodigy 2.0 +
  • Prodigy Comfort Elite

  • All S-Cape 2.0 Foundation features
  • Adjustable legs
  • Nap-Timer
  • USB Ports
  • Lumbar support
$1,459 – $3,000

  • S-Cape 2.0 Furniture Style
  • PS-Cape 2.0 Foundation Style
  • S-Cape 2.0+ Foundation Style

  • All S-Cape 2.0 Foundation features
  • Wooden legs
  • Wall Hugger
  • Furniture style has stylish legs
$999 – $2,399

  • Simplicity 3.0

  • All Falcon 2.0+ features
  • Programmable Positions
  • Massage
$1,459 – $3,000

  • Falcon 2.0+

  • Adjustable legs
  • Under-bed lights
$700 – $1,177

  • Raven

  • Metal legs
  • Flatten button
$749 – $1,459

  • Pro-Motion 2.0

  • Metal legs
  • No king size options
$675 – $1,359

  • Bas-X 2.0

  • Metal legs
  • Only head of bed adjusts
$629 – $1,229

  • Sunrise

  • Adjustable Glide legs
$719 – $1,297

  • Signature

  • 4-inch legs with casters
$849 – $1,799

  • Vibrance

  • Slim design
  • Low profile
$618 – $1,163

*Pricing samples taken from reputable online retailers

Leggett & Platt Adjustable Bed Warranty

Leggett & Platt adjustable beds come with a 1-3-25 warranty. The beds are fully warrantied the first year of ownership. During that time period, any defective part will be repaired or replaced and the company will pay for all associated authorized labor and transportation costs. During the second and third years, Leggett & Platt will replace defective parts covered under warranty, but you will be required to pay for labor and shipping. From years four to 25, Leggett & Platt will replace defective steel and mechanical base parts but does not pay for labor and transportation, and there is no coverage for electronics, electrical components, drive motors and massage motors.

Leggett & Platt adjustable bed features

Adjustable Bed Features, Source: Leggett & Platt

Where to Buy Leggett & Platt Adjustable Beds

Leggett & Platt adjustable beds are for sale at nationwide at stores like Mattress Firm, Costco and Macy’s. We found these beds for sale online at many retailers, including TheAdjustableBedStore.com, Amazon.com, Wayfair.com and Walmart.com. You can find a local store or online retailer that sells Leggett & Platt adjustable beds by visiting the company’s website and entering your ZIP code in the store locator.

Leggett & Platt Complaints

While Leggett & Platt isn’t a Better Business Bureau Accredited Business, the BBB has had a file open on the company for 18 years. The bed manufacturer has an “A” rating with five customer complaints in the past three years. SleepAdvisor.org lists two Leggett & Platt beds in their top eight picks for adjustable beds in 2018.

Consumer advocate website SleepLikeTheDead.com gives the company the highest marks in health benefits and comfort and convenience but low marks in the easy-to-handle, move, transport and return categories. Almost all adjustable beds are not returnable regardless of manufacturer, so it’s reasonable that Leggett & Platt retailers don’t generally allow for returns either. Most adjustable beds are heavier than standard beds, so we weren’t surprised to see a low score for ease of movement and transport.

Leggett & Platt

Source: Leggett & Platt

Leggett & Platt Q&A

  • What makes a Leggett & Platt adjustable bed better than a regular bed?
    Lying on a flat bed can be uncomfortable under the best circumstances, especially if you have acid reflux or back pain. When you’re in bed for an extended time due to illness or injury, a traditional bed can contribute to pressure sores and swelling in your legs and feet, impeding healing. While you could use pillows under your legs to reduce fluid build up, the pillows usually end up on the floor. An adjustable bed allows you to raise the upper and lower half of the bed and hold the position all night long.

    The New York Times bestselling author Dr. Mercola endorses elevating the head of the bed, saying that raising the head of your bed six inches so that you’re sleeping on a five-degree incline” may improve your blood circulation, metabolism, and respiratory, neurological and immune function.”

  • Do I need special sheets for my Leggett & Platt adjustable bed?
    All Leggett & Platt adjustable beds are compatible with regular fitted sheets unless you purchase a split bed. Split mattresses need separate sheets to move independently.

  • How does a Leggett & Platt adjustable base work with a bed with side rails?
    The adjustable beds are designed to fit inside most side rail mechanisms.

  • Do I need to buy a box spring for a Leggett & Platt adjustable bed?
    No, the mattress is placed directly on the base, so no box spring is required.

  • What type of mattress do I need for my Leggett & Platt adjustable bed?
    Leggett & Platt adjustable bed bases are compatible with most innerspring, foam, and air mattresses. However, any innerspring or hybrid mattress with a border wire will not be compatible with an adjustable base.

Conclusion

Leggett & Platt is a company that deserves your consideration when you’re buying an adjustable bed. The company has decades of experience and a wider variety of adjustable bed models compared to most of the competition. Since Leggett & Platt doesn’t push sales of mattresses, you may be able to save money if you have a relatively new mattress that will work with one of their beds.

Leggett & Platt Reviews

Recent Reviews

Featured Review
December 07 2021 7:47PM

WORST BED EVER AND EVEN WORSE CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!! I was send a defective base. Originally the customer service people said the remote was not working and so they sent me a new one within 2 weeks. As such my bed was stuck in the up position.

Once the remote arrived the instructions provided did not allow the new remote to work at all. I spoke with customer service and they had me climbing under the bed and trying various different procedures.

Let me add that I have this bed as a result of major injuries and should not be climbing under the bed!! Still nothing worked and so they determined the remote and the motor and one other part had to all be replaced.

And it would be weeks before the parts were sent to the technician and an appointment could be scheduled for him to replace everything. During this time my bed was still stuck in the up position! The SERVICE IS A JOKE!!!

Needless to say I was unhappy with having wait 2 weeks for the remote, for having to crawl under my bed to allow the new remote to work (which did not work in the end) and for having to wait weeks for the new parts... and I certainly voiced it to the call center person.

With not hearing back from the company with any update on where the parts were or when a technician might be coming, I called back today. During the call the representative would not let me speak.

She insisted that on the original call I gave a different address than where the bed was delivered to which is 100% incorrect as I was not asked for my address. I assumed they had it because they delivered it here!

Not only was I not allowed to speak but in addition she started yelling at me and then she hung up on me. NEVER EVER BUY ANYTHING RELATED TO LEGGETT PLATT.

I will be adding comments to BBB and will absolutely be contacting the store from where I purchased the bed. PATHETIC!!!! If I could know who the representative is I would most certainly report her.

Karen D.
Ottawa, SELECT A STATE
February 06 2022 8:35PM

After reading so many bad reviews, it makes me wonder what adjustable bed did people buy. My experience with the bed, an S-Cape 2.0, has been very good during the nearly 4 years of use. My only complaint, which for me is a biggy, is that it is not the wall-hugger one would expect.

It does move back as the head rises, but not enough for easy use of bedside stand. At first I thought there might be a problem with the unit, but then I happened to see a short video showing the difference between it and a non-hugging bed.

There was a difference between the two, however, one could see that the Leggett and Platt bed did not truly wall hug. The bed needs to be made to move back more than it now does. Other than that one issue, I very much like the bed with all its special features.

Under bed light is good for when up at night without a bright light having to be on. The massage features are good, but would be truly wonderful if you didn't use a very thick mattress. It seems that most new mattresses in recent years are very much thicker than many years ago.

So, the thickness of the mattress lessens how the massage vibrations feel. But you do know your body has been massaged when you end the massage. Next mattress I get will be thinner!

The remote stopped working one time, but discovered it was not the remote batteries but the bed itself. It was very easy to fix: the troubleshooter guide said to unplug the bed, wait 30 seconds while the bed reformats it programming, then replug, and Voila! It works.

Computers sometimes work this way for a fix. One other negative is that you can't keep the massage feature going for an unlimited amount of time; about 15 - 20 minutes at a time that totals no more than 2 hours within a 6 hour time period. Otherwise you will burn out the motor.

I bought the adjustable directly from Leggett and Platt, but they no longer sell directly to customers. So make sure the retailer you buy from gives you correct information. You can go online at Leggett and Platt and get all the information you need before you buy the bed.

Yvonne B.
Murfreesboro, UT
January 02 2022 2:32AM

I've had my bed for over 10 years and have never had a problem. Love my bed and it is so comfortable. Now it's time to start looking for a new mattress. I would recommend this bed to anyone looking for an adjustable bed.

Joyce C.
Henderson, NV
January 01 2022 6:15PM

It never stays connected to the remote. It's very hard to reprogram. The videos say turn on its side to do this. Whomever designed this is beyond stupid. And has only done it at a factory with help.

You have to take heavy mattress off, dismantle the bed frame, then turn over. Poor engineering. I would never buy another one.

Rick F.
Montgomery, TX
September 19 2021 7:38PM

This more than a comment is an ALERT, do not buy this basic crap, do not be fooled by the MATTRESS FIRM sellers, this is basic crap, and extremely expensive.

BAD POINTS; 1-EXTREMELY HEAVY 2-SINKS INTO THE FLOOR OR CARPET 3-HEAVY WARRANTY SERVICE 4-CUSTOMER SUPPORT 5-IT'S A TRUE GARBAGE 6-TOO MUCH MONEY FOR A BASE GARBAGE. DON'T BUY THIS BED BASE **.

DANIEL J.
CORONA, NY
June 15 2021 3:30PM

This is the worst foundation I have ever bought. Everything mattress firm sellers say about this foundation is a lie. Do not be fooled, the truth of this base is the following: Expensive, Uncomfortable, HEAVY, LOUD, POOR.

LEGGETT & PLATT WARRANTY SERVICE Sellers say this massages: FAKE. This what it does is an impressive noise. Do not buy. This base is bad. Super bad. Do not be fooled. I've been asking for a guarantee for 6 months and this is the date that no one responds.

DANIEL ORLANDO J.
CORONA, NY
May 05 2021 9:56PM

We have a queen size adjustable. It is beastly heavy, which is also a function of durable quality. The heavy weight caused the legs to sink into the carpet and underpad despite large foot pads. When we tried to push the bed, the legs collapsed.

We have tried to purchase replacement legs for two years now. One set was purchased and received, but they were the wrong ones (although sales made it out to be that they were all the same except for length). Have asked for return authorization to no avail.

Asked for Information leading to correct legs... but had no response. — Bed has been standing on its side in our living room for nearly two years.

This summer I will have to pay for someone to haul it off to the dump, even though it is in perfect working order aside from the missing legs which are ostensibly replaceable.

— Stay away from this brand. Zero customer support. Zero customer relations. Zero respect for the customer after initial sale.

Steve A.
Port Angeles, WA
February 01 2021 6:54PM

You can’t get ahold of them by phone to order a part. The remote control for my Essential 2 Adjustable base keeps going bad.

I have ordered a third one since 2016. This should not be happening. It should be good for the life of the bed. The bed is only 4 yrs old. I’m frustrated with this!

Melissa D.
Corvallis, OR
December 09 2020 2:49PM

I am writing this review for my 96-year-old mother who bought one of these adjustable bed frames a couple of years ago and promptly had issues. The bed got stuck in the up position and getting someone to come out and look at it was impossible.

The people from Mattress Firm came out and reset it, but only because the guy we worked with was the brother of one of my co-workers. Leggett and Platt never even responded.

When we found out the warranty was only available on new beds, my mother bought a new bed just to get the warranty.

Sure enough, less than a year and the same problem, only this time Leggett and Platt said (over the phone) that it needed a new part and they would order it. (I wonder how the girl knew what it needed over the phone?)

Then my mom got the phone number for the closest repairman and he came out, said it only needed to be reset and the part they had ordered was for a different bed!

He wanted $150.00 for his labor and when we refused, stating it was fully warrantied, there ensued a long string of phone calls to try and get the repair guy reimbursed from L&P.

They finally sorted it out, but my mother had to crawl in and out of her bed with it in the up position for 3 weeks. Did I mention she is 96 years old???

That is the last L&P product she and I will ever buy, and I am not sure I will ever buy another mattress from Mattress Firm because they were not very helpful either.

I am so sick of shoddy workmanship, rude or totally clueless workers, and disreputable companies with no pride in their products. The state of American work ethics and craftsmanship is shameful. Donna C.

Shirley F.
Sylva, NC
July 08 2020 2:00PM

I love the bed, but when changing sheets 1/2 of the bed didn't come up. I called Leggett & Platt and was on hold for 59 minutes.

A nice lady finally answered and got most everything from me, but we were disconnected. She did email me note about what had done. She was very competent and all seemed well, but no one showed that same day so I slept straight up.

The next day I called and was on hold for another 57 minutes and the guy said he was sorry about the wait, but they needed more quality helpers. Funny, I went to the Relax in Comfort store and was given 2 remote chargers and I got it to go down. Quality helpers huh?

Why didn't L&P tell me that? In any event no one has even shown up or called today, so I'm still waiting. So now I'm in the 3rd day and haven't heard from anyone at all. Wayne **.

Wayne M.
Maitland, FL
Write Review