Advertising Disclosure

We may earn money from our partners when you click a link, complete a form or call a phone number.

We believe everyone deserves to make thoughtful, informed purchase decisions. As a result, we provide our buyers guides and local guides free for consumers. We may receive compensation from our partners. However, Retirement Living independently researches companies, and the compensation we receive does not affect the analysis of our staff. Retirement Living will not include companies on our guides that do not meet our quality standards. The compensation we receive from our partners may impact how and where companies appear on our site, including the order in which they appear. As an Amazon Associate Retirement Living earns from qualifying purchases.

Retirement Living independently researches companies, and we use editorial discretion to award companies with special recognition (i.e. Great Value) based on our staff's judgment. We do this to help you identify companies that will meet your specific buying needs, and we do not receive compensation for these designations.

Get Insider Access

Get special offers, advice and tips from Retirement Living delivered to your inbox.

ServicePlus Home Warranty

4.25 Stars (33 Reviews)
Updated: January 19, 2023
By: Dr. Steven Rydin
Dr. Steven Rydin
Director of Product
As the former director of product, Steven oversaw Retirement Living’s product and marketing efforts for four years. His digital marketing expertise helped launch senior-focused buyer’s guides and a wide range of products surrounding finance, insurance, healthcare, and lifestyle. Steven holds a Doctor of Business Administration degree from George Fox University.
Director of Product
Edited by: Jeff Smith
Jeff Smith
Sr. Content Manager
As Retirement Living’s senior content manager, Jeff oversees the product and publishing of all retirement, investing, and consumer wellness content on the site. His extensive expertise in brand messaging and creating data-driven stories helps position Retirement Living as a top authority for senior content and community resources.
Sr. Content Manager

ServicePlus Home Warranty provides two types of comprehensive warranty plans with service contracts to repair or replace major system components and appliances in your home that break down due to normal wear and tear. They offer both monthly and annual service plans as well as a variety of optional add-on coverages to help you customize your plan to meet your needs.

ServicePlus Logo

Editorial Breakdown

Service Quality 4.5 Stars
Affordability 4.5 Stars
Coverage 5 Stars
Customer Service 4 Stars

Overall Rating 4.3 Stars

Bottom Line

ServicePlus Home Warranty has lots of optional coverage features, such as pools, wells and beyond - they earned our award for great coverage.

33 ServicePlus Home Warranty Reviews

Write Review
5 Stars

December 11 2019 3:03PM

Last year I felt like I was cursed, my heater broke down, then my AC broke down, the pipes were all leaky, I didn't even know where to begin with the repairs. I limited myself to the heater and AC, thinking the pipes will have to wait for a better year to come. Then, my mother told me about this service they were promoting in her area, house warranty protection and the company doing it, Total Home Protection. Hesitant, I gave them a call.

Long story short, I am now their customer, and I recently claimed a section of my pipes that had completely ripped apart. They sent someone over, got it fixed, paid nickels on my side. Give these guys a call if your house is getting ready to quit on you, trust me.

Ben S.
Dallas, TX
1 Star

November 02 2019 8:26AM

Total Protection is most horrible company. I will never refer it to anyone. I called for services for my a.c.. Thp sent a contractor but the contractor refused to do anything because he was afraid not get pay. I called total. One of the customers service told me I can pay for it and total will reimburse my money. I sent them the receipt for the refund since May. I still don't get my money yet. Please do not sign with them. They are not honest at all.

Mimi P.
Canton, GA
5 Stars

September 13 2019 3:05PM

I had a plumbing issue and I submitted a claim for it with Total Home Protection online. The process was easy. I did it on a Thursday or a Friday, and Lindsay Company, the contractor, came out the following Monday. Communication was good. There were things that needed to be added, which were recommended because the new water heaters are different-sized than the old water heaters. So, we needed all new connections.

Joseph T.
Boston, MA
1 Star

August 13 2019 3:16PM

HORRIBLE company, totally a scam, they changed their policies three years ago when they changed their name. They just collect he subscription fees and whenever you file a claim they deny it. They deny claims using this excuse" damage due to rust or corrosion is not covered" according to their policy section ivx, section a. Read their policy through the end before you pay them. They have never taken care of any of my claims and they deny them all. Even the technicians who come and collect the $ 60 service fee will tell you they are scam.

Sunny M.
Atlanta, SELECT A STATE
5 Stars

August 13 2019 12:02PM

I made my first claim with Total Home Protection and that went very smoothly, I was very pleased with the gentleman who came out. He was knowledgeable and courteous. I was overjoyed with your company and the technician who solved our problem.

Adam L.
Denver, CO
5 Stars

April 30 2019 10:55AM

My stove would not work when I turned the dial. I was so confused because I could not figure out what the problem was. I called Total Home Protection and they arranged for a tech to come out to check it out. The tech was nice and professional and was able to fix the issue. The pilot light was broken and he replaced it and now it is back in business. Thanks to this very nice girl in customer service over at THP. I appreciate the help. I would recommend this service to anyone who needs an extended home warranty.

Sharon M.
Salt Lake City, UT
5 Stars

April 29 2019 11:18AM

Best home warranty on the market. I've tried shield and another couple of others, but nothing compares to these guys. They just get the job done. Super happy with the service. Will recommend to anyone in need of a home warranty.

Callie W.
Wilmington, DE
5 Stars

March 24 2019 7:19PM

I have been a customer of Total Home Protection for over two years now. I've had everything fixed, from electrical outlets to water heaters and fridge. They get the job done every time. They work with great contractors, I've even become friends with one of them, Frank from the Electric Kingdom, cause things just keep breaking in the house and he's my favourite handyman.

Taylor T.
Minneapolis, MN
5 Stars

March 24 2019 7:16PM

I have a car warranty and home insurance. It's the only way to keep up in this consumeristic world. Repair instead of replacing. Plus, it saves me a great deal of money. I love Total Home Protection, they offer amazing service and professional technicians.

Hank M.
Houston, TX
5 Stars

March 24 2019 7:13PM

Great company! Worth every penny. Saved me a lot of money by repairing things around the house instead of replacing them. I have a 20-year-old fridge that's still running after they had it repaired. Awesome deal!

Michael M.
Chicago, IL