Widex Reviews Page 2

Recent Reviews

August 24 2020 9:34PM

I bought an expensive set of Widex hearing aids last year (2019) from an audiologist. I immediately ran into a problem with the rechargeable batteries as after a few days one of them went dead. I was given a replacement no charge.

Shortly thereafter one of the hearing aids became defective. I waited several weeks for it to be repaired. I again had a bad battery which once more was replaced free. About two months ago (6/2020) the repaired hearing aid stopped working again.

To make matters worse, the battery in the other died about 5pm every day. Last week I obtained a new set of Phonak aids as I could no longer put up with Widex. My opinion is that they are just an overpriced very poor product with terribly overpriced unreliable batteries.

Louis R.
Marco Island, FL
August 01 2020 6:09PM

I got Evoke about 2 years ago....well I’m on my 3rd new one. Breaks down every few months. It’s either the battery cradle or the mic or the wire. The wire is the worst, breaks down so often that my audiologist gives me spares. It’s absolutely ridiculous.

When the warranty is out, I’m switching brands. Mine are rechargeable and the charge doesn’t hold up for more than 6 hours. AND the batteries go bad, I’ve had 6-7 batteries in 2 years. I’m glad they help me hear but the issues need addressed.

Tim P.
House Springs, MO
June 21 2020 12:22PM

This company will not provide its customers with a phone number for customer service. In fact, as they told me "we do not have customer service and you must go to the people who sold you our device." What if you are not located near your seller, they do not care.

My Widex Beyond aids provide me with screeching feedback anytime I am near anything: metal, wood, people. My audiologist told me "they are that way" regarding the feedback. Both aids have been broken twice in the past two years, and after the three year warranty is up, you are on your own. So if you are seeking to pay a high price for an inferior product with a company that does all it can to divorce itself from the customer, Widex is for you.

Jack C.
Ashburn,Va, SELECT A STATE
February 01 2020 2:13PM

These $6,000 hearing aids were a big disappointment. They are terrible with feedback. Way much more than my previous Starkey aids. Ambient noises override close conversations. While driving down the highway, I could her the road sound of my tires but could barely hear my radio.

Would not buy again, especially at this price. Going to COSTCO for less expensive brands that offer the same features - such as hook up to phone. Only had had these about eight months and they required frequent re-tuning by the audiologist. Unsatisfied all the way around.

Walter W.
Beavercreek, OH
December 09 2019 3:17PM

I purchased the top of the line rechargeable hearing aids in August 2019. Soon after, I had to return one hearing aid and the charger because they failed. A loaner charger from the audiologist would not charge a single hearing aid. I picked up the repaired or replaced hearing aid and charger three days ago. The charger has failed again. I tried the online customer service chat but they hung up on me because I told them I can’t keep returning to the audiologist because of their faulty very expensive product.

Fred B.
Kensington, MD
November 22 2019 12:09PM

We have had them in 2x now to be fixed in a year and a half and they are just too complicated for a senior. There is a wax guards that needs to be changed which are small and almost impossible for a senior to change. The remote is tough for a senior to operate. They may have built the edsel of hearing aids.

Brooks V.
Bradenton, FL
November 19 2019 10:11PM

The problem I have is a very important issue. I cannot talk on my phone without putting my phone on speakerphone! Everyone in the room hears my conversations or I have to find a place out of hearing range. Very annoying. I was given a phone to try out in accordance with my home line. This was going to cost more than $200.00. This did not work either. Have to put on speakerphone on cellphone also. Very important issue when I can not have a private phone call because I can't hear people talking to me on my phone when I am wearing my hearing aids!!

Jean H.
South Charleston, WV
October 04 2019 5:14AM

I've used several named brand hearing aids in the course of 18 years. I have never had one that reproduces faithfull music sound from my top of the line sound system (Cost over $40K+). Most of the hearing aids I've owned distorts music approaching live sound levels.

After searching reviews of several hearing aids from YouTube, I discovered that Widex hearing aids have the best performance, especially for music listening. I tried the Evoke. These are excellent sounding hearing aids. They sound silky smooth without a trace of distortion even at the highest level (95+db). When it comes to distortion, I was an expert on detecting distortions on amplifiers, speakers and turntables and cartridges.

I am an audiophile with some well-trained hearing acuity. My only minor complaint is it does not stream very well on YouTube using an iPhone. It does not adjust volume levels automatically. It may be a calibration issue on my audiologist part himself. I prefer all my listening to Music mode without any digital manipulations. I believe if hearing aids are properly designed, digital tailoring causes distortion. Highly recommended.

Ricardo S.
Long Beach, CA
September 16 2019 9:29PM

I am deaf in my right ear and use a hearing aid in my left ear. You can imagine how important it is that my hearing aid works well. I've had the WIDEX Beyond over 2 years now and i am STILL experiencing problems with it. In a loud environment, it shuts off and leaves me with a plastic plug in my ear muffling all the sound. The clarity is terrible, even on a high volume.

When I use the bluetooth feature to talk on the phone, it comes out fuzzy and unclear, so I end up taking m hearing aid out. Definitely frustrating all around. It randomly turns off and then I hear "left ready" out of the blue. It's been in several times for repairs, but the same problems continue. Definitely not a fan.

Tammy W.
Bellevue, WA
August 22 2019 4:44PM

My Widex hearing aids are 11 yrs old. Yes they cost now to be fixed. I bought new ones ReSound with Bluetooth and guess which ones I wear. No not the new ones. The sound of my Widex is far superior to the other brand. Convenience is all that I get from the new one, and hearing is not one. Never mind going to a restaurant I would be better to not have the ReSound.

Linda M.
Jacksonville, FL
Write Review