Widex Reviews Page 2

Recent Reviews

December 25 2019 5:54PM

My Widex hearing aids are my third set over about 11 years (I had ReSound and another brand). These are by far the best I have had, and my hearing is much better, even though my hearing loss has increased over the years. I am happy that these work with my iPhone, which helps me to have more options for TV watching, noisy environment hearing, etc. No hearing aids give perfect hearing, but these have made me feel almost like a normal hearing person. T

he recharging function had some issues in the beginning, maybe because it was a very new technology, but the company sent new parts without cost. The aids took numerous adjustments in the beginning and I think that is to be expected with any hearing devices. I have an extremely patient and caring hearing aid specialist (not an audiologist) who has worked with me to get these well adjusted. He doesn't charge a fee for those visits, since I think he considers this built into the cost of the hearing aids.

If your audiologist is charging fees for adjustments, you might ask Widex for a practitioner who does not. Audiologists are important for checking our ears, hearing health, etc. but not needed for the technical part of hearing aids. Hearing aid technology is evolving quickly and I hope we will see better and better hearing in the future. Overall, I am happy with my Widex aids and would recommend them.

Ruth C.
Greensboro, NC
December 09 2019 3:17PM

I purchased the top of the line rechargeable hearing aids in August 2019. Soon after, I had to return one hearing aid and the charger because they failed. A loaner charger from the audiologist would not charge a single hearing aid. I picked up the repaired or replaced hearing aid and charger three days ago. The charger has failed again. I tried the online customer service chat but they hung up on me because I told them I can’t keep returning to the audiologist because of their faulty very expensive product.

Fred B.
Kensington, MD
November 22 2019 12:09PM

We have had them in 2x now to be fixed in a year and a half and they are just too complicated for a senior. There is a wax guards that needs to be changed which are small and almost impossible for a senior to change. The remote is tough for a senior to operate. They may have built the edsel of hearing aids.

Brooks V.
Bradenton, FL
November 19 2019 10:11PM

The problem I have is a very important issue. I cannot talk on my phone without putting my phone on speakerphone! Everyone in the room hears my conversations or I have to find a place out of hearing range. Very annoying. I was given a phone to try out in accordance with my home line. This was going to cost more than $200.00. This did not work either. Have to put on speakerphone on cellphone also. Very important issue when I can not have a private phone call because I can't hear people talking to me on my phone when I am wearing my hearing aids!!

Jean H.
South Charleston, WV
October 04 2019 5:14AM

I've used several named brand hearing aids in the course of 18 years. I have never had one that reproduces faithfull music sound from my top of the line sound system (Cost over $40K+). Most of the hearing aids I've owned distorts music approaching live sound levels.

After searching reviews of several hearing aids from YouTube, I discovered that Widex hearing aids have the best performance, especially for music listening. I tried the Evoke. These are excellent sounding hearing aids. They sound silky smooth without a trace of distortion even at the highest level (95+db). When it comes to distortion, I was an expert on detecting distortions on amplifiers, speakers and turntables and cartridges.

I am an audiophile with some well-trained hearing acuity. My only minor complaint is it does not stream very well on YouTube using an iPhone. It does not adjust volume levels automatically. It may be a calibration issue on my audiologist part himself. I prefer all my listening to Music mode without any digital manipulations. I believe if hearing aids are properly designed, digital tailoring causes distortion. Highly recommended.

Ricardo S.
Long Beach, CA
September 16 2019 9:29PM

I am deaf in my right ear and use a hearing aid in my left ear. You can imagine how important it is that my hearing aid works well. I've had the WIDEX Beyond over 2 years now and i am STILL experiencing problems with it. In a loud environment, it shuts off and leaves me with a plastic plug in my ear muffling all the sound. The clarity is terrible, even on a high volume.

When I use the bluetooth feature to talk on the phone, it comes out fuzzy and unclear, so I end up taking m hearing aid out. Definitely frustrating all around. It randomly turns off and then I hear "left ready" out of the blue. It's been in several times for repairs, but the same problems continue. Definitely not a fan.

Tammy W.
Bellevue, WA
August 22 2019 4:44PM

My Widex hearing aids are 11 yrs old. Yes they cost now to be fixed. I bought new ones ReSound with Bluetooth and guess which ones I wear. No not the new ones. The sound of my Widex is far superior to the other brand. Convenience is all that I get from the new one, and hearing is not one. Never mind going to a restaurant I would be better to not have the ReSound.

Linda M.
Jacksonville, FL
July 03 2019 10:00PM

I’ve had Widex aids for 6 years and hearing centers keep telling me they’re old and need to be replaced. When I bought them they were about $3k but not top of the line are more like $6K. My Widex have needed repair very often at $150 to $300 each time. They are useless in restaurants. I would not buy that brand again.

Walter R.
Mineola, NY
June 16 2019 7:18PM

I have owned Widex hearing aids for almost two years with none of the technical issues described by others. I have read the complaints about going to an audiologist, but that is a necessary part of adjusting hearing aids to your changing hearing. A good audiologist will gradually adjust your heading aids so that you can get accustomed to them. I have found Widex to be an excellent brand and they have helped my hearing considerably, particularly with speech. When I take them out there is a huge difference. The biggest issue that I have is in noisy restaurants, the bane of all of us with hearing problems. Hearing aids amplify all sounds but you can program your Widex hearing aids to turn off the microphone in the back to reduce noise from people behind you. No hearing aid is perfect and I haven't tried other brands but when these require replacement I will stick with Widex. One note of caution: these are very expensive electronic devices and should be handled with care.

Peter H.
La Canada, CA
April 17 2019 9:07PM

These are my first hearing aids. They are OK but I don't notice much improvement in my overall hearing; except high pitch tiny sounds are much louder ( and annoying). My real complaint is the customer is locked into using a hearing aid dealer. The dealer I used only showed me Widex brands; I was not provided an opportunity to consider other brands. AND, I have to go back to the dealer to get supplies such as new rechargeable batteries. Widex does not list where those are available on their website. Overall I believe these will be the only pair of Widex I own.

Charles S.
Denver, CO
Write Review