Acorn Stair Lifts Reviews Page 2

Recent Reviews

July 25 2020 8:15PM

I paid a $500 deposit on a stairlift as my wife and I were bringing her father to live in our home. Since this was during the COVID-19 pandemic, he took a severe turn for the worse and we were unable to move him into our house.

I notified our representative "Anny" and she assured us a refund in 4-6 weeks. Our refund check arrived 4 weeks to the day. These are reputable people.

William D.
LONDON, KY
July 25 2020 10:41AM

I can’t begin to say how bad and dangerous this stairlift is! Last night was the 3rd time that I had to carry my father in-law out of the stair lift and carry him up the rest of the way because it just stops when it wants to!! All light shut off on it.

And that’s not the only problems since we bought this at least 8-9 and each time is $250 just to walk in the door. I was on the phone with them last night (just like all the other times).

When I say maybe it’s defective and it should be changed I get, "We don’t do that" and I’m told that it’s not defective. They Absolutely don’t care about the Elderly only the money that they keep taking from them!!

Not 1 time in my conversation with this man on the phone did he say, "I’m sorry this keeps happening" or "I’m sorry that you’re father in-law was stuck and had to sit there until I came a 40 minute drive..."

No I got why didn’t they call the fire department. They would’ve taken him out.. WHAT!! And when I said that I call all the time with issues and have to pay again for a technician to come out..his reply back was "It’s been 2 months since your last problem."

I guess 2 months is a long time to them!! Please read all the other reviews before you buy a acorn stairlift. They nothing but a money pit!! And this company does NOT care about the customers AT ALL!! DON'T BUY THIS!!!

John H.
Medford, MA
July 21 2020 9:11PM

Bought a refurbished "supposedly" outside lift...had to have just about everything in it replaced a year later...and now this year it started getting stuck half way down...then would go up n down by itself..

Now it actually broke a hole in the rail where the connection is between the two sections that were put together...too costly to maintain...piece of crap!

Pamala K.
Van Dyne, WI
June 22 2020 8:50PM

If I could leave zero stars, I would. We purchased our Acorn Stair life 3 years ago, and paid $10,000 for it. In that three years, we have had to have service on it 4 times. The first time was in the 1 year warranty. After that, there was a $250 charge per service call plus parts. The third time we had service was 3 weeks ago, paid $250. It broke down last Friday and we could not get a service tech out here until Monday, which is earlier than previous visits.

Usually they don't come out til Wednesday. I called the CS department on Friday explaining the numerous problems we've had with their product and how ridiculous it is that they take so long to service the chair. I asked to speak to a manager, who told me she would waive the $250 service fee on this visit.

The service tech came out today and had no note of the waiver. I called back and spoke to another manager (who by the way, said the person I spoke to on Friday was NOT a manager). After much of my complaining she said she would notify the technician to waive the $250 on this visit.

We ended up having to pay $272 for a new battery. So, not only have we paid $10,000 for the chair, but have paid a number of $250 service fees plus parts. You would think that a company who is in the business to assist with elderly people who cannot get up and down stairs, would consider this an emergency and have a process in place to take care of their customers immediately.

Their website clearly states that they strive to make sure their customers are 100% satisfied! Well, this is certainly not the case with this company. I am extremely unhappy with this chair and this company and do not recommend it to anyone. Beware of Acorn Stair Lifts!

Robin R.
Hendersonville, NC
June 19 2020 2:02PM

When Acorn came in to install the stair lift in our home I told them that there wasn't enough room to get up and down the stairs because our stairs are not that wide. I was told if I wasn't happy to contact them and they put the lift in anyway.

Now my stairs are not safe to use normally and the stairlift started making weird noises and the covers started falling off after a few weeks. Also the batteries are junk.

When I talked to them on the phone they were very rude act like I was bothering them and their answer was if didn't like it take it apart and throw it out in my garage they didn't care what I did with it all sales final. I was also told if they come out to look at it they may have to charge me $250.00 after telling me that the warranty covered everything for the first year.

If you're looking for a stairlift don't use acorn. All they care about is getting your money. Look for another company that actually stands behind the product they sell and cares if your home is safe. Mike.

Michael F.
Akron, OH
June 18 2020 5:31PM

My octogenarian parents purchased one of these units, and true to form, with very limited use it still lasted about 11 months before causing problems. Acorn has made two service calls, problems persist, and now after less than a year they want to sell my parents an "extended warranty plan" for about 20% of the replacement cost for this unit annual fee.

This is a borderline fraudulent business practice where I suppose the power of their advertisements sells the units to unsuspecting consumers, and then Acorn lives off of the repair service contract for the life of the consumer. I have become engaged with the situation, and I am looking hard into the possibility that the unit they installed in my parents home is used. Any ideas on how I can prove or disprove this definitively?

Steven M.
Wilmington, NC
June 09 2020 4:07AM

The Acorn stairlift itself is excellent but have been unable to get any service. Need a new battery but they say they don't service in this area. Don't buy an Acorn in Lake Havasu City Az. It's out of their service area per this #888-563-0410.

Lila L.
LAKE HAVASU CITY, AZ
June 05 2020 8:45PM

Paid what we consider a lot of money for stairlift, worked ok for a year, it quit working, had a tech come out and change batteries, worked for two days. Now dead again. Poor customer service when this is Friday and you can't get a tech out here until next Tuesday. Will never recommend or refer your company to anyone. Service agreement is way overpriced. Not a happy camper.

Dennis L.
Anthem, AZ
April 16 2020 12:54AM

After 14 months, chairlift stopped working. Called Acorn and they have said I would need a tech to come out and quoted an outrageous price for this. Said I would need a new computer panel. My son then called Headquarters and they quoted a different even higher price (about a third of the price of the lift). They offered no tech help by phone.

I then called a place that did repairs. (not associated with Acorn) He walked me through a few steps and we got it working. He said no way did I need a new panel. Acorn tried to take full advantage of a situation for their benefit.. They are total frauds. Won’t deal with them again. They should be put out of business. Stay away from this Company!

Barbara D.
Branchburg, NJ
February 11 2020 6:09PM

Acorn Superglide 120. The lift itself works. I can't comment on the expense of the lift and installation as compared to other companies except to say that in general, it is expensive. But the contract is more-so out of line. Read it carefully. The common things that go wrong (like battery replacement) are not covered. I have an engineering background so I took over maintenance.

The wiring is very fragile. The arms of the chair can actually crimp the wiring and break it. I had to fix the wiring on both arms. The common issue is that the battery has to be replaced after 3 years. Reading the issues people are having, I wonder if the tech is replacing other parts when all that is really needed is a fresh battery. Underneath the chair you will see codes. You can look up what those codes are telling you (such as low voltage). That means the battery can no longer stay charged so it's due for replacement. Order the replacement online or stop by a battery store. In my opinion so little is covered by the warranty that you should not get it. If you are handy, do it yourself. Or find a handyman who can help you.

B W.
Boston, MA
Write Review