Advertising Disclosure

We may earn money from our partners when you click a link, complete a form or call a phone number.

We believe everyone deserves to make thoughtful, informed purchase decisions. As a result, we provide our buyers guides and local guides free for consumers. We may receive compensation from our partners. However, Retirement Living independently researches companies, and the compensation we receive does not affect the analysis of our staff. Retirement Living will not include companies on our guides that do not meet our quality standards. The compensation we receive from our partners may impact how and where companies appear on our site, including the order in which they appear. As an Amazon Associate Retirement Living earns from qualifying purchases.

Retirement Living independently researches companies, and we use editorial discretion to award companies with special recognition (i.e. Great Value) based on our staff's judgment. We do this to help you identify companies that will meet your specific buying needs, and we do not receive compensation for these designations.

Get Insider Access

Get special offers, advice and tips from Retirement Living delivered to your inbox.

Inogen Portable Oxygen Concentrators

4.55 Stars (118 Reviews)
Updated: January 19, 2023
By: Jonathan Trout
Jonathan Trout
Content Manager
Jonathan is a former product and content manager for Retirement Living. His background spans sales/marketing, finance, and telecommunications. Jonathan’s expertise in consumer wellness and research-backed data stories helped educate seniors on financial planning, retirement, and community resources. Jonathan graduated from Oklahoma State University with a B.S. in Environmental Sociology.
Content Manager
Edited by: Lauren Hamer
Lauren Hamer
Editor
Lauren is the editor for Retirement Living focused on discussing current senior-related issues, including retirement planning, consumer protection, and health and wellness. With six years of finance and career journalism experience, Lauren has edited personal finance content for Credible, Angi, Slickdeals, Jobs for the Future, and more.
Editor

Inogen has been providing small, light and tankless portable oxygen concentrators to consumers for the past 15 years. The company was founded in 2001 to give those on oxygen therapy greater freedom and independence.

Editorial Breakdown

Price 4.8 Stars
Flow Settings 4.8 Stars
Battery Life 4.3 Stars
Customer Service 4.5 Stars

Overall Rating 4.6 Stars

Bottom Line

Inogen designs and sells oxygen concentrators including two models of portable oxygen concentrators – G4 and G3 systems – and one in-home oxygen concentrator. All Inogen oxygen concentrators meet FAA standards.

118 Inogen Reviews

Write Review
2 Stars

May 20 2021 6:42PM

My concentrator, started showing it needed a column replacement after six months use. After I replaced the column, it started showing it needed a column replacement in a week, followed by low 02 and shutdowns. It wouldn't run more than 40 minutes at a time.

I was unable to contact Inogen because their phone system put me on long holds, often hanging up. Even when they returned my calls, they put me on hold. That's the same as not answering or hanging up.

Eventually they replaced the concentrator and then a battery went to about 40% or 50% capacity. I had the same problem getting it replaced. The product works well when it works. The products seem to be unreliable and failure prone.

Service and warranty service are virtually non-existent as their phone system puts us on indefinite hold.

I can not recommend Inogen to anyone, after my experience. Obviously they spent all their money on expensive TV commercials instead of quality control and customer service.

Charles B.
Borrego Springs, CA
5 Stars

May 20 2021 6:02PM

I have used Inogen for Myself and My Late husband, who supposedly did not meet criteria for oxygen when he was released from the hospital after having a Cabbage Bypass!

But he had oxygen in the hospital? You figure this one out? I rotated Inogen and the regular large oxygen tank in my home when we both needed it.

Nancy T.
Glenolden, PA
1 Star

May 20 2021 5:56PM

Your batteries do not function as advertised. Ex. Your 5 hour batteries lasts about 1 1/2 hours; your 3 hour batteries last less than hour. These were new batteries and they have been about the same sends recharging.

This a Is a great danger to people who need your product. I believe a class action case is in order against your Company. You greatly overprice your batteries as well compared to the many companies that use batteries in their power equipment.

Your advertising is very misleading and it shows you are more interest in large profits than helping the customer who need a reliable product.

Ronald D.
The Villages, FL
2 Stars

May 20 2021 5:37PM

Something is always breaking on the product and I have waited up to 45 minutes for someone to come on the line to help me.

Also some of the customer service people don’t know what they’re doing. One actually told me to turn machine off until they could replace it. Nice for someone who on co2 24/7.

Cheryl T.
Lancaster, PA
5 Stars

May 20 2021 5:36PM

Jeff ** was tireless in helping me obtain the systems that I enjoy & love today. He was professional, caring and knowledgeable. The system are both efficient, easy to use and meet my needs. I am a very happy customer.

Susan H.
Columbia, MO
4 Stars

May 20 2021 5:36PM

My experience to date has been good. The only improvements or suggestions I would make are: first, need to provide some sort of back up to lessen the chance that user could be left without O2 without requiring the purchase of a second/back up machine with enough time to get to a hospital.

(Carrying large tanks for back up at all times is not easy or convenient. A reasonable alternative would be to offer long lasting power units at a more reasonable price.)

Second, (and I am sure you are always looking for this) is finding a battery that once charged has a longer shelf life. BTW, I do not know the amount of time the large battery should work with a #2 setting and moderate walking?

I have been reluctant to stray from home more than two hours. We do have the charger for the auto in the auto but do not know if it can provide direct power to the machine if the battery gives out? Thanks.

HERBERT P.
CHARLESTON, SC
5 Stars

May 20 2021 5:35PM

After having to use tanks and 50' tubing around the house as well as cutting down by one passenger my vehicle capacity (due to Tank). My Inogen has been God sent. It allows me to do chores around home inside and out without worrying about crimping hoses laying on floor.

I have the backpack carrier as well. This allows me to go out without the strap the comes with the basic carrier that comes with the unit. I LOVE THIS THING. Has given back a portion of my life I thought would be gone.

Raymond W.
North Lauderdale, FL
5 Stars

May 20 2021 4:58PM

They listened to my needs and made it worry free to purchase my Inogen. It has saved my life many times over the past year that I have been using it. I recommend it to everyone who indicates a need for additional oxygen.

Robert K.
Fernley, NV
5 Stars

May 20 2021 4:50PM

I purchased a Inogen for my almost 99 year old brother in 2020. He loved the machine in that he could unhook from the large house machine and even get outdoors and go for rides. Further he used it almost every day when weather permitted him to be out of doors.

My 90 year old brother has the machine now and we both highly recommend the Inogen to anyone who needs Oxygen. We would not be without it.

Arhur K.
LAUREL, MD
3 Stars

May 20 2021 4:47PM

It is louder than I expected, though quieter than the big cylinder I had to lug around before. Everyone is assigned an Inogen rep for questions, but mine left shortly after I bought, and though I read the entire manual, there were things I forgot -- like cleaning it regularly.

After a few months using it, I got "Oxygen Error" messages. I would turn it off for a while, then back on. Eventually, it would start working right again. This is a very handy little machine, so portable. But if I needed it to stay alive, I'd be up a tree. I'd need a standby.

So I would recommend that users have a traditional oxygen tank available if oxygen use is a life-or-death situation. I can go days without it, but feel better when I use it regularly.

Janice M S.
PARKER, CO