Safe Step Walk-In Tub Review
Caption: Safe Step Walk-In Tub Review

Safe Step Walk-In Tubs

Safe Step Walk-In Tubs are equipped with standard features that are often considered optional upgrades when compared to other tubs of this type. That’s the reason we rated Safe Step the “Great for Arthritis and Joint Pain” winner in our walk-in tub buyers guide. Because every home is different, each Safe Step tub is customized to meet the size and design needed for the project. The company’s tubs are manufactured in the United States, come with a lifetime warranty, and according to company representatives are the #1 choice by sales volume for the product category.

Safe Step Review

Safe Step walk-in tubs are an investment in the comfort and safety of the homeowner. The company was reluctant to share prices with us, because like any construction project, costs will vary depending on the size and scope of the project. As a point of reference, most Safe Step models start at $10,000 for the walk-in tub, including shipping and installation. After deciding to purchase a Safe Step tub, the Safe Step team handles everything from delivery to installation and hauling away your old tub or shower. Safe Step makes all the arrangements for their customers, who do not need to hire additional plumbing or electrical laborers to complete the project. Up front fees may be required to start construction.

Pros
  • Full-service installation and removal
  • More features than other tubs
  • Installation usually takes a day
  • Limited lifetime warranty on product
Cons
  • May charge up front deposit

Safe Step Walk-in Tub Features

While the size and shape of Safe Step walk-in tubs often vary, many of their tubs have the same standard features. Because Safe Step can customize their product to fit what customers need, homeowners rarely need to change the size or layout of their bathroom. Therapeutic devices are standard on all tubs, including the Dual Hydrotherapy Massage System and Chromotherapy System.

Safe Step products have an extensive list of features to provide a safe bathing experience for anyone with mobility issues. Users get into the tub using a side door, shut the sealed door, then fill their bath without having to worry about falling while getting in. The heated seat keeps users warmth while they wait for the tub to fill.

Safety and comfort are two of the most important features you should consider when choosing a walk-in tub or shower. These benefits are the reason why people buy Safe Step walk-in tubs:

Walk-in Tubs Walk-in Showers
Wide, safer doors Streamlined look
Quick-release drain Controls are easy to reach, quick on/off shower button
Easy to reach controls Extra-long safety bar
Anti-slip floor and seat Low-entry step
Built-in grab bar Commercial grade anti-slip flooring
Safe Water cleaning system Built-in folding chair
Mold resistant gel-coat Anit-scald faucet
Anti-scald faucet Pads support up to 350 lbs
10 massaging jets
17-inch high heated anti-slip seat
Handheld shower wand
Right or left door
Low-entry step

Safe Step Pricing

As noted earlier, Safe Step Walk-in Tub Co.’s products are an investment, with the cost of the tub or shower unit, modifications to the bathroom, electrical and plumbing, and installation included in the price. Safe Step avoids quoting general prices since nearly every project is unique. To help make the cost more manageable, the company offers a financing plan with approved credit. Before choosing a payment plan, be sure to check interest charges and compare with other credit based options.

The company also offers a “Helping Hands Rebate” of up to $1,500 to help offset the lack of Medicare coverage, and discounts for military veterans. Getting an exact quote for a Safe Step tub in your home is free, but you’ll need to request an estimate by completing a form on their website. For guidance on what to look for in the price of a walk-in tub, visit our walk in tub guide.

Safe Step Warranty

The Safe Step Walk-in Tub Co. covers their products with a lifetime warranty on parts and labor for the original purchaser as long as a company representative completed the job. According to the Safe Step, this warranty covers the tub (including manufacturing defects), door seal, faucets, water pumps, heaters, and blowers. Specific exclusions may apply, and coverage may not pay for all service or labor costs for every repair. There is a two-year warranty on caulking.

Safe Step Customer Service

Safe Step provides customer service via toll-free number at (800) 346-6616 or via chat on their website 24 hours a day. For those interested in buying a tub, a rep will return your call within an hour or two, or you can schedule a time to see one of the many showrooms in the U.S. Those who have already purchased a tub have access to the customer service line from the moment they pay their initial deposit until they are satisfied with the tub installation. This same number will connect them to a representative for any ongoing troubleshooting or warranty claims that may come up.

Safe Step home page

Source: Safe Step

What do Safe Step Reviews say?

Customers report being pleased with the responsiveness of the service team in resolving issues with leaks or answering questions that arise over time. Buyers describe Safe Step walk-in tubs as a luxury home bathing experience without sacrificing safety. The perks of owning the bathtub come up frequently from customers with mobility issues, with some reporting a significant relief of pain symptoms from conditions such as rheumatoid arthritis.

The Better Business Bureau (BBB) rates this company with an A+, its highest rating. Safe Step has earned this mark by being responsive to customer questions and complaints in its nine years in business. Many of the reviews left by customers are specific to the experience they received at a particular Safe Step dealer and may not be a reflection of service at another location or the brank.

The most common complaint received by customers is that the tubs and showers can leak soon after install. It’s not uncommon for a newly installed walk-in tub to need adjusting after some use. Almost all of the verified Safe Step reviews have displayed promptness and professionalism in getting service providers back to the home to make these adjustments under the original lifetime warranty.

A few of the complaints by users were related to unclear pricing guidelines. Some customers felt pressured to buy when a representative visited their home to measure the bathroom for appropriate fitting, and some said that figuring the total cost of various models and options was confusing. Most of the verified reviewers that mention price, however, seem satisfied by their overall purchase and refer to the higher-end tubs as a worthwhile investment for their health and well-being. Most of the verified reviewers that mention price, however, seem satisfied by their overall purchase and refer to the higher-end tubs as a worthwhile investment in their health and well-being.

Finally, these walk-in tubs can use more water than a standard bathtub, often requiring an upgrade in the hot water system to accommodate the volume. For those reviewers who may not have known this up-front, the extra cost to install the heater was a surprise. Most were able to justify the inconvenience with the perks that a deeper tub can provide, including additional spa jets for a relaxing bathing experience. Customers compared the step-in tubs to having a private hot tub in their bathroom.

Safe Step Q&A

  • My home doesn’t have a standard-sized tub. Will my bathroom have to be remodeled to accommodate a walk-in tub?
    It’s possible that some remodeling will be necessary. Safe Step will determine which tub is best suited for your bathroom, including size, plumbing and electrical needs, fixture placements, and aesthetics. Their trained team members will recommend the appropriate tub or shower for your needs after an inspection of your tub area.

  • Will my existing tub or shower need to be removed first?
    Yes. The Safe Step team will handle this for you. Their professionals are trained in proper removal and clean up, which is included in the cost.

  • How much are the additional plumbing or electrical charges required for installation?
    All additional installation tasks that may include additions to your plumbing or electrical systems come bundled in the price and are included in your custom quote. The Safe Step team has membership in the National Association of Home Builders (NAHB) and International Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials (IAPMO), and professionals have received extensive training on how to ensure your systems are treated appropriately upon install.

  • Does Medicare or Medicaid cover the cost of a walk-in tub or shower?
    Currently, no. These programs will only cover the cost of durable medical equipment, which does not include walk-in tubs.

  • What kind of warranty comes with my product and installation?
    Safe Step guarantees its products and the quality of installation for a lifetime against manufacturer’s defects and performance of the tub, door seal, faucets, water pumps, blowers, and heaters.

  • What else should I know about Safe Step?
    Safe Step Walk-In Tub Co. is based out of Nashville and has been providing walk-in tubs and showers since 2009. They have several showrooms across the United States and Canada, and their professional sales reps are trained to work with customers to find the right walk-in tub or shower with their existing bathroom floor plan. The company only sells to homeowners and has received the Arthritis Foundation Ease-of-Use Commendation after having their products independently tested.

Conclusion

While you’ll need to schedule a home visit to get the exact details on which model of walk-in tub is right for you, this will lead to getting the right fit for your home. Safe Step Walk-In Tub Co. developed a product line to fit almost all budgets. Customers who value American-made products will also love that each tub is made in Tennessee and representatives are available nationwide to assist in your purchase. Call or use the online chat feature on their website to schedule a visit or be directed to one of their many showrooms. If you’re interested in a walk-in tub from Safe Step, call 888-653-9934 or check out their website.

Safe Step Reviews

Recent Reviews

March 22 2020 5:23PM

"Full Retail Value"=19,488.00$; AARP discount=2,000.00$; "Helping Hands Coupon=1250.00$; "Customer Reward Program"=812.00$; Cash Savings=1080.00$; Total=15,426$.

"Dim-witted" I; I could have bought a KIA SOUL instead! Company does not have a "life-time warranty". 12/6/18=Flooding begins ("white tank under tub popped off");
12/28/18= Flooding=defuser replaced; wrong tube diameter; 3/24/19=Flooding on bathroom floor into kitchen; 4/24/19=filed BBB complaint. Safestep said to file insurance claim. I refused;
5/15/19=tub flood; reported to Chrystal; 5/16/19=Ashley insinuated I was at fault!;
5/17/19=Christal told me "I could save money" via Medicare; 6/4/19=I requested tub removal.
3/16/20=still waiting. Tried tub and it flooded bathroom. Updated BBB.

As with other complaints, I did have to up-grade water heater to fill tub. I did follow instructions to bleach/soap clean. I have done so weekly. This cleaning requires me to fill tub with hot water, jet, and rinse. The plastic tubing under the tub continues to fill with black sludge regardless cleaning.

Karen L.
Plant City, FL
February 25 2020 2:00AM

My tub has yet to be installed. Does the finished product look good? Yes! But.... Let me tell you the process I had to go to and it has still yet to be inspected. I still have to finish my vanity. This is the main reason an inspector hasn't been called out yet.

This company came out gave me a written estimate and we got financed and approved to move forward. There was an outside permit company that came in and pulled the permit, but I'm assuming it is not their business to check what is there and what is not. They only permitted to change a like for like tub, and install a dedicated circuit.

First of all my vanity changed location with my small shower and the safe step tub went where the old vanity was. Therefore in only permitting what they had on the job card, the inspectors will never check the existing plumbing under the house to see what they did wrong. (I had another licensed plumber come in and show me the code book in where this company went wrong.)

When I asked them about this, they said they would have to do a service call per contract. Why a service call if you did not install it per code to begin with? They relocated the door to my bathroom, and tried to not put in a new header. They tried to put a flat 2x4 in-between the 16"o.c. framing they cut above for the new door opening.

NO, NO, NO. When I asked them why did they do it that way, they said they always do this all the time. (Seeing again that this isnt on the inspection card, the inspector will never check seeing that they covered it up nicely.) I had the call the company, the company sent out the construction company installing it, and then they had to bring out another crew a couple days later to do the proper framing.

(If they do this all the time and their main customers are elderly, I would think they are taking advantage of people and the home owners themselves are not seeing this) First off in an earth quake, they tell you to stand under a door frame as the header will protect you from the house falling in, and the way they framed it could have caused serious damage and injury.

Also when they said they would do paint ready, they tried to tell me they were only to do to the sheet rock. UMMMM, NO! That is not what paint ready means. They also relocated a new outlet and moved my light switches. This again was not on the permit card, but in my contract. So who is to know they are doing this right? When moving the door framing, this triggered the need for a new outlet per code on my bedroom wall. Why wouldn't they know this? I had to tell them.

I had to contact the company again and in turn they had to contact this main contractor doing this work. At the end of the day, yes they Installed it. They also left a over head framing right in the middle of my doorway in the beginning and I had to tell them to come back out and fix this too. And yes, I have pictures of this all.

I have asked several times for a break down of this project for cost perspective, and they have yet to provide this, even when they said they would. Per California contractor law, they must provide you with all sub contractors working on the site, which they didnt do this either.

The sub contractor they have working for them was cutting corner and it isnt safe. I would not recommend this company, And if you have been a victim of this type of work, I would recommend you consult an attorney to which I am doing at this time. I am assuming that the main target for this product in California Are older individuals, and there are laws now against taking advantage of elderly in construction that is punishable by a fine and Jail time.

Jeannie K.
French Camp, CA
February 15 2020 4:11PM

We had this WORTHLESS and DANGEROUS CRAP so-called "walk-in shower" installed a couple of months ago in 2019. After about a week we noticed a wet spot in the ceiling in the living room which is directly under the bathroom. I checked to see what it was and noticed that there was NO caulking along the floor at the base of the shower. They sent someone out to fix it and I thought that everything else would be alright. I was REALLY wrong!

Today (2/15/20) I went to take a shower, and about 5 to 10 seconds after turning the water on, the ENTIRE shower assembly blew off of the shower wall and hit me in the head! The ONLY thing holding it on was some kind of cheaply made connection at the top, and a round piece of 2-sided tape at the bottom. There were NO SCREWS OR OTHER FASTENING HARDWARE OF ANY KIND holding this piece of junk to the wall, although there were holes for screws in the shower assembly itself but screws and brackets were NOT used.

After close inspection by family members who work in the construction trades, we noticed just exactly how AWFUL the workmanship is. DO NOT USE so-called SAFE-STEP!!! There is absolutely NOTHING that is "safe" about them!

Doris F.
Miamisburg, OH
February 09 2020 6:29AM

Made a call to safe step in late 2019 and set appointment Asked about pricing and was told the wouldn't give any price over phone. Told them I didn't want final price just a base price of tub. The appointment was cancelled a couple times but we finally met on 2/5/20. Amber the sales lady showed us a video and explained the tub options.

After about 60 to 90 minutes I asked for the price still continued the sale. Due to medical issues I told her my blood sugar was low. After taking care of my medical issue she finally gave us the price over $19000.00. She deducted some discounts and brought it to just under $16000.00. She took pictures and measurements we signed the paper work. I went to my computer and watched some videos and read a bunch of reviews that night and next morning. I had a couple more question so I called customer service. Had to leave message. I kept calling that number and any other number I could find on the internet and the contract. The only number I talked to a person was when I called the number to buy a tub.

Finally talked to Pam at number to cancel my order. We talked at length and she gave me some more numbers for customer. I called those numbers and left more messages. To this date I have not had a call returned. I found my sales person number on the contract and called her. I explained my concerns about not being able to get a hold of customer service and she gave me the number to Kevin the installation manager. We finished our conversation.

Kevin called me a little later and answered my questions and I explained my concerns about not being able to reach customer service or getting a return call. He said that was uncommon. He gave me his office number and cell number.

On 2/8/20 Pam called me and asked what I had decided. I told her I still haven't received a return call from customer service. I am torn because I think this is a good tub and really think it would be good for my health. I JUST CAN'T GET OVER THE FACT ABOUT NOT BEING ABLE TO TALK TO CUSTOMER SERVICE OR RECEIVING A RETURN CALL.

James C.
Sterrling, CO
February 05 2020 11:21PM

No stars. I wonder if it is common place for a salesman to take advantage of an elderly couple. Especially if one of them was going to be entering hospice 4 days after installation and passed away 5 days later. Also the surviving spouse is legally blind.

This is absolutely taking advantage of the elderly. Not sure how this salesman sleeps at night. This guy at the very least should have spoken to another family member before the final sale was closed, but that didn’t happen. Instead he demanded the down payment. And to top it all off, after one bath, the tub leaked and required immediate repair. Do not do business with this company!

Dan T.
Indianapolis, IN
February 03 2020 5:55PM

Worst purchase ever made.. purchased a fifty gal water heater. Still will not put enough hot water to take a bath. POS rip-off. I guess I’ll learn my lesson one day.. biggest 13000 dollar scam on the market!! Should be put out of business.. Yes I’m filing complaint with BBB. Won’t do any good. I’ve had this tub for ten years and never got to use it!!

Cheryl H.
Morganton, GA
September 28 2019 5:14PM

The number 1 worst investment I’ve ever made. Save yourself the massive headache and do NOT by one of these hunks of junk. Our tub did not work from the moment of installation (2017) to the current date (end of September 2019) and the last time I finally reached someone after being transferred 5x, Lisa hung up the phone on me. Great customer service, right?

Phyllis M.
Lady Lake, FL
September 26 2019 6:59PM

Whatever you do, do not get a Step-In Tub! We paid $15,000 for one and it only fills half way, up to knee level. They told us we have to get either a new hot water heater or a booster on our current tank. We called in a plumber and he told us they are wrong on both accounts. We do not need a new hot water heater, and a booster would have blown out all our lines! When we called Step-In Tubs, they gave us the fifth-degree asking “who did you talk to? What is their name and number? Are the licensed?”

They finally scheduled another tech and we have been waiting two weeks now - with no tech!!! Today, Step-In Tubs hung up the phone! I finally got mad enough and made a complaint with the BBB, and now within the hour, supposedly a tech will show up at my house. I am not holding my breath.

Phyllis M.
Lady Lake, FL
August 07 2019 3:40PM

I agree with the writer below with regard to my tub not filling up with hot water with a 40-gallon water tank. Salesman was very misleading, as he went to my basement to look at my water tank, then saying “yes your water tank is the right size”, not mentioning that I’d have to buy a separate water tank in addition to the one I have in order to fill it with hot water. There is SO much paperwork to initial, it’s crazy. Called company and they claimed I initialed the place that stated a $750 credit for another water tank. Not at any time did the salesman mention that... even after taking the effort to go to my basement. I’ve had my new safestep tub for 7 months now and have not yet taken a bath! After spending over $13,000 that I couldn’t afford in the first place, I’m then told I need another water heater!! $1,200+ Bait and switch salesman preying on seniors. Beware, seniors. Don’t be taken advantage of like I was.

Lisa F.
Sandusky, OH
June 19 2019 5:03PM

We purchased the Safe Step Tub for my 84 year old grandmother. In the beginning the sales guy, Mr. Haylon **, was wonderful until the first payment was made. My grandmother’s credit account was set up incorrectly, we’ve been trying to call him for over a year now and he has not return our phone calls. Basically, he got the money and ran. Now, we’re stuck trying to figure out how to correct my grandmother’s account. My grandmother was taken advantage of. Who does that to an elderly woman? These people have no integrity.

N. S.
Fort Worth, TX
Write Review