Advertising Disclosure

We may earn money from our partners when you click a link, complete a form or call a phone number.

We believe everyone deserves to make thoughtful, informed purchase decisions. As a result, we provide our buyers guides and local guides free for consumers. We may receive compensation from our partners. However, Retirement Living independently researches companies, and the compensation we receive does not affect the analysis of our staff. Retirement Living will not include companies on our guides that do not meet our quality standards. The compensation we receive from our partners may impact how and where companies appear on our site, including the order in which they appear. As an Amazon Associate Retirement Living earns from qualifying purchases.

Retirement Living independently researches companies, and we use editorial discretion to award companies with special recognition (i.e. Great Value) based on our staff's judgment. We do this to help you identify companies that will meet your specific buying needs, and we do not receive compensation for these designations.

Get Insider Access

Get special offers, advice and tips from Retirement Living delivered to your inbox.

Sears Home Warranty

2.75 Stars (633 Reviews)
Updated: January 20, 2023
By: Jonathan Trout
Jonathan Trout
Content Manager
Jonathan is a former product and content manager for Retirement Living. His background spans sales/marketing, finance, and telecommunications. Jonathan’s expertise in consumer wellness and research-backed data stories helped educate seniors on financial planning, retirement, and community resources. Jonathan graduated from Oklahoma State University with a B.S. in Environmental Sociology.
Content Manager
Edited By: Jeff Smith
Jeff Smith
Sr. Content Manager
As Retirement Living’s senior content manager, Jeff oversees the product and publishing of all retirement, investing, and consumer wellness content on the site. His extensive expertise in brand messaging and creating data-driven stories helps position Retirement Living as a top authority for senior content and community resources.
Sr. Content Manager

Update: According to the Sears Home Warranty website, customers with a Sears home warranty will still have their appliances and systems covered despite Sears filing for Chapter 11 bankruptcy. Sears home warranties are underwritten, administered and serviced by Cross Country Home Services.

Editorial Breakdown

Service Quality 3.5 Stars
Affordability 4 Stars
Coverage Area 4.5 Stars
Customer Service 1.5 Stars

Overall Rating 2.8 Stars

Bottom Line

Home warranties offer peace of mind when it comes to protecting appliances in your home. Sears Home Warranty plans offer major appliance and systems protection to more than 20 appliances. To see reviews and features of our top home warranty companies, click below to read our guide.

633 Sears Home Warranty Reviews

Write Review
1 Star

August 06 2018 3:09PM

I don't even know where to begin, it's nearly impossible. I'll summarize by saying that if you consider purchasing Sears Home Warranty don't. It will bring you to not-seen-before levels of anger. Their unprofessionalism, insincerity and general ability to not have a clue make this the biggest purchasing mistake one could make. Please don't make the same one. I currently have an AC air handler in my front yard, the compressor in my backyard, a torn apart attic and a serviceman who just said he couldn't finish it and left. Oh, and he's the only one who works with Sears in this area. For good reason. This is the single worst customer service experience of my life. Sears can't go out of business fast enough in my book. Long past overdue.

Tyler C.
2 Stars

August 06 2018 8:32AM

No matter how broken your appliance is they will NEVER replace it! It took 4 months to repair my dishwasher after many repairs, lots of new parts ordered, my wood floor is damaged, etc. It finally works but we need to put a door stop between the counter and the dishwasher to keep it closed while it runs and Sears did not agree to pay for the damage to my floor that occurred after they repaired it the first time and water sat on my wood floor under the kitchen sink mat and caused the floor to warp.

Now our front loading washing machine is leaking and it is a stacked machine so we need 2 guys to come out to repair it. When we called to schedule the appointment, we indicated that we needed 2 men. We called to confirm and told them we needed 2 men. Today I get a call that one guy is on his way and he does not have a helper and will need to reschedule.

THIS HAPPENS ALL THE TIME - they do not read the instructions and we take time off work and they need to reschedule for some reason or another. If you have a Sears Home Warranty here is my advice: 1. Always request a Sears Certified Technician. They use 3rd party people who can never do anything and you will be stuck rescheduling you appointment (had this happen with the dishwasher several times) 2. Call and call again before your appointment to make sure everything is set up correctly. This may not help but it could save you time. Good luck. You hate to not use your warranty if you paid for it but some things are not worth the aggravation.

Therese A.
1 Star

August 03 2018 4:45PM

First of all every time I call I get a different answer. I have been without a refrigerator for five weeks! They keep ordering parts and telling me to be patience. How do you operate without a refrigerator and freezer. I am beyond upset! They flat do not give a damn about the plight of their customer. NEVER use Sears! No wonder they are going out of business!

Bruce P.
1 Star

July 30 2018 6:21PM

After my Kenmore fridge stopped cooling with only a little over 5 years old I was talked into this warranty plan with them. First visit I was told they had to come back fridge needed to be on two days. He believed it was the compressor. Next visit it was the compressor. He ordered the part, said he d be back before 8pm. No show. Next day showed fridge stopped working after two days. Two more weeks finally another servicemen had to order parts and another delay into second month another Delay. They extended service appointment again 12-5 no show no call. Three calls to warranty company. Said minor delay and I'll get call. They'll be here 7:30 pm. No call, no service. Just about two months without working fridge and they won't replace fridge until multiple visits which I was never told. Worst warranty service. Not worth it! Also Kenmore is terrible product. Stay as far away from Sears and their products as possible.

Pauline E.
1 Star

July 30 2018 12:24PM

While having the warranty, it took several l phone calls and technicians to come out and service our washer and dryer... very frustrating experience. So once our year was up, I decided to cancel my contract. Unfortunately, it wasn’t cancelled on their end, so I had to go through hoops to get my refund, which was approved, but they only gave me a partial refund from what they originally told me. Now I’m on my 5th phone call to them on getting the rest of my refund... EVERY week so far I’ve been told it’s been approved and it should take 3 to 5 business days. I asked to speak to a supervisor or manager, they said there isn’t anyone I can speak with... REALLY!!! So now I guess I’ll wait for ANOTHER 3 - 5 business days, if nothing, I will be calling my bank.

Grace S.
1 Star

July 27 2018 10:02AM

I pay $70.00 a month for the Sears Home Warranty (DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY). My AC unit stopped working, I called in a claim with Sears, below is the timeline relative to trying to get resolution to the claim - which is still pending. 7/20/18 - Called Sears - AC stopped working. 7/23/18 - GSSN LLC came to house to check unit - determined compressor needed to be replaced and technician said he would submit paperwork ASAP (he did not). 7/24/18 - I called Sears to find out status - they said they did not receive the paperwork from GSSN.

I called GSSN and they said they have 48 hours in which to turn paperwork around - explained that tech said he would submit right away and that they would call me back with status - no call back 7/25/18 - Received text message from GSSN that they submitted paperwork 7/27/18 - Called GSSN to find out if they had received approval for ordering part/repair. They had not.

Called Sears who stated that they sent claim to their claim review dept. and it would take 7 days before determination was made as to next course of action (replacement part to be ordered or if other options would need to be considered, of which would include me paying additional money). In the meantime I had to go to Home Depot and buy a free standing AC unit for $399.00 in order to at least cool down the living room in my house since this is taking so long.

I still can't get a straight answer from Sears and they are not in any hurry to remedy the issue. I will be canceling the home warranty and furthermore will never - ever buy anything from Sears again; they just lost me as a dedicated customer - and I will be telling everyone I know about this awful experience.

Faith M.
1 Star

July 26 2018 3:16PM

If there is zero star I will choose it. Take care... take care... take care... They are spam and such liar company. I have signed up and after about 35 days I decide to check on their service if it is true or not so I can stop with them and not pay full contract payments. I made very easy claim for my cook top which has issue with ignition, the provider visits us and said we will contact company to buy parts and repair it. I told him it is need just open it and fix it then he told me no it is require parts. I wait for 6 week every day I called. Eventually they told me your claim declined because it is old appliance. I told them your terms said there is no age restrictions then I request to contact manager or supervisor. After that they do not answer my call or emails and no call back for 2 months now. I have disputed all the charge and stop paying them.

Dunya A.
1 Star

July 26 2018 9:05AM

If there is an option to give a rating less than 1 I would have done that. I'm an existing customer for Sears Home Warranty. I took sears warranty this year, by just going by brand and higher expectation of service. 1. I was told that they provide proactive maintenance for AC till end of April. I created a request, waited and waited. This never happened. 2. Come July I created a service request for my faulty air conditioner. I quoted the prior service request.

The representative was good enough to put the blame of me that I should have called the service provider and confirmed the appointment. Point taken. This time I called the service provider assigned and confirmed the appointment. I was given a time - 8AM- 12 Noon.

Waited and called the provider. Provider mentioned that sears has pulled out the service request from it's work queue. That's weird !! Called sears with the concern. I was told that the dispatch team will provide me with the details of service provider, no time frame. I had to stay home to take this appointment and I still don't see any urgency from Sears to get it resolved asap. With the previous warranty I never faced this back and forth, it was just one call away. Looking forward for finishing the contract term and moving on.

RAJEEV R.
1 Star

July 25 2018 4:35PM

If I could give it -5 stars I would. I have had a tech out 10 times and have called about 20 times and still keep getting the run around. The only consistent thing about the customer service rep is that each one tells me the last one provided me incorrect information. STAY AWAY!! Would have been cheaper for me to buy a whole new fridge.

Mairobi G.
2 Stars

July 20 2018 12:03PM

I called Sears for four problems during the year. One refrigerator (two problems) was completely fixed. One refrigerator was partially fixed. One stove they weren't given permission to repair but told us what to do to partially repair ourselves. Some of the repairmen were top notch and some were borderline incompetent. One had driven from three hours away because of a shortage of repairmen.

I think I probably broke even on what it would have cost to not have the warranty but Sears is the only person who would service my Samsung and LG refrigerators anyway so I had to use them. Between the warranty cost and repair costs, I probably spent $1000. A significant problem I had was cancelling the warranty after a year. It started with an email that said the warranty would auto renew. I called and cancelled.

The emails and letters kept calling so I called again and was told they had no record that I had cancelled (person was rude about it) and I was transferred three times before someone again cancelled me. Today I received a letter saying I was cancelled and the tone of the letter was definitely not friendly. Even if I liked their service, I wouldn't use them again because of the difficulty cancelling.

Susan G.
1 Star

July 17 2018 8:12AM

By calling Sears, I found out my new dishwasher was to be delivered June 26th. It wasn’t! I tried calling Sears many, many times and IF I talked to a live person the connection was so bad that it was mostly a conversation saying “what” or Huh” or “I can’t understand you”. Only most recent call, yesterday, I found out that it was supposed to have been delivered on July 10th. I wasn’t notified nor did it come. I did receive a check for the installation of the dishwasher. However, I’m afraid that I will never get it.

Barbara F.
1 Star

July 17 2018 2:54AM

I have had the Sears Home Warranty for over two years. I purchased the plan when my refrigerator broke. After three months of different repairmen arriving and not understanding what the last person did, I purchased a new refrigerator but kept the plan. That was a huge mistake. The week before Memorial Day I called to report that my dishwasher would not start the wash cycle. The dishwasher is 15 years old.

The first repairman said it should be replaced but his company refused. Two months and many repair visits later the dishwasher still does not work. The repairmen replace parts with “refurbished” parts. The lights on the front panel all came on before the first visit. The electric control board was replaced, door switches which worked prior to repair had to be replaced, and the list goes on.

Today the repairman found another part that did work is now broken so he is ordering another “refurbished” part. The repair has been outsourced by Sears and that company will have to pay for a new appliance. It is a shell game where the technicians cannot fix the dishwasher so they keep replacing parts until the customer cannot take the stress of a broken appliance any longer. Sears representatives are not helpful and have no desire to make the customers happy. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS WARRANTY PROGRAM! If a zero rating were possible, that would be my choice.

Dickie H.
1 Star

July 14 2018 2:46AM

So disappointed about my AC/washer on Saturday 7/7/2018 the whole day believing that Sears's technician would show up between the hours 1-5. At 3:45 pm. I received a email saying my appointment had been canceled with no reason why! So my husband called the Customer service for an explanation why! Naol was unable to answer. My husband request a supervisor. "Naol" took his information and said a supervisor will call you back before night's up. Then offered a new appointment day for Thursday 7/12/2018 between the hours of 8-12am. NO supervisor returned our call.

On Wednesday morning my husband called back Sears and spoke with a Supervisor by the name of Lita. She in turn offered an apology for the appointment being canceled on Saturday to him and Lita then offered a $30 gift card for the Inconvenience and re-scheldule a new appointment for Friday7 /13/2018 and assured him that the tech would come 8am-12.pm. That same morning we scheduled another appointment for the washer which was on the blink it was for same day for 1-5pm.

On Friday the Tech that showed up for the AC wasn't knowledgeable about the AC unit so he requests assistance from another technician. Upon his leaving he was sure that he would be back before 4 o'clock that day with help to fix the unit. At 3:54 we called customer service once again to see if the Tech was on his way for the washer. They assured us that the Tech was running late and they would be there between 5-7 o'clock. Meanwhile the AC Tech called to advise us that he was unable return and that we would need to re-scheldule AC service call. We once again called customer service and they said that they were close. We would have to call and reschedule again. Unresolve as even now.

VeronicaVeI m L.
1 Star

July 13 2018 2:38PM

First my dishwasher stop heating. Waited 2 weeks for appt. and then they has to order part, another 2 weeks and when they got here there were the wrong parts, another 2 weeks. In total 6 weeks before it was repaired. My one year old smart tv bought at Sears started with a short circuit, on/off and a funny smell. They told us they did not have anyone in the area so it would take 3 weeks before a tech could come and see it. After the tech came, he needed to order 2 parts, another 2 weeks, but then only one came, the other was back ordered and they had no idea when it would be delivered. After many phones calls including home office we are still waiting for repair. No, I will not recommend or get Sears again. Too bad I paid for the full year. Never thought Sears would do this to their loyal customers.

Harvey S.
1 Star

July 13 2018 9:10AM

This started when I called to schedule a Sears service call. The call center then pitched me the warranty program - everything was covered. I was a tough sell but she convinced me. Since then, every time I make an appt for a service call, "Oh, that's not covered, that's not covered, that's covered, that's not covered". NONE of this was cited on the original sales call. The dispute is the semantics they use and the terms they selectively use to exclude service claims. I was lied to.

Andrew L.
1 Star

July 12 2018 4:53PM

Sears should definitely stay out of the home warranty business. On May 30th, I called in a claim on my subzero freezer and a Sears tech was scheduled to service it on June 1. Because the Sears automated system advised that we needed the model/make info, I had that available, but the Sears Home Warranty Rep did not ask for the info. Additionally, when I offered the information, I was told it was not necessary by the Sears Rep.

On June 1, the Sears Tech advised me he was on the way and requested the model/make. When I said it was a Subzero, he informed me Sears did not service Subzeros, so I again called the Sears Home Warranty, who then attempted to schedule a third party contractor to service it. Thus began the ridiculously inadequate customer service by Sears. I had to call to make sure Sears was communicating with their own third party contractor. Because it was a third party contractor, there somehow were at least 3 different levels of people at Sears working on this claim, none of whom were affiliated with or communicated with the Sears Home Warranty.

It was a total nightmare. The compressor had gone bad on the freezer, which I understand is a fairly significant cost. Instead of trying to call the huge black hole of customer service at Sears (all of which were very nice and did absolutely nothing), I would have mostly gladly paid an absurd price to have my freezer fixed within a reasonable amount of time. (This is summer, people!!) I finally got the freezer repaired on June 18th by the third party contractor. In the interim, I spent hours on the phone trying to get a status and find out what the diagnosis was and when the part would be available.

I requested my $100 service fee back from Sears Home Warranty due to the horrible customer service at Sears Home Warranty, but it was denied. I was promised phone calls back on at least 2 different occasions, and it never happened. The lack of communication within Sears is simply appalling. Short hold times? Well, if you consider a 40-minute phone call short! My concerns about the lack of response and inaccurate information at Sears was not addressed at all. I spoke with at least 3 different managers, all of whom gave a variety of explanations of why the service at Sears Home Warranty was so horrid: the Warranty program and computers were "in transition", the "delays were to be expected" (really?? 3+ weeks??), and "it was the fault of the third party contractor". This should have been a simple diagnosis and repair. To date (July 12th!!) the automated system at Sears Home Warranty still is inaccurate, the "notes" taken by Sears Home Warranty people are totally inaccurate, and the management and the customer service communication at Sears Home Warranty is absolutely dismal.

I will be cancelling at my first opportunity, which is October 9th (otherwise, I am penalized due to the contract I signed, because of the "service" Sears provided on the Subzero freezer)!! This is literally amazing in this day and age. I would never recommend Sears Home Warranty to anyone. STAY AWAY!! IT IS NOT WORTH IT!!

Sally H.
1 Star

July 12 2018 7:48AM

Customer service is worst than most. The warranty is useless and not cost effective. The service providers are not dependable and lack technical knowledge regarding the products they service. Totally unacceptable and I will never do business with this company again. The company has built-in traps that ensure that they put the customer at a financial disadvantage. Individuals are better off contacting service providers from the specific store where the product was purchased.

Chester F.
1 Star

July 11 2018 4:01PM

Purchased this plan last November. Very little information is sent to you. Turns out there are at the very least 6 phone numbers to foreign countries that you will be bounced back and forth with. Accents of the operators make trying to communicate your needs almost impossible. Sears sells this product to a separate company. Our paperwork when we purchased clearly shows it covers garage door openers...but not in all areas and they do not tell you that until after you have placed a claim for service, have been given a service call date and no one shows up or calls. Impossible to reach anyone that knows anything.

After being bounced back and forth for 40 minutes (on 2 different days) on the phone with always being told another department needed to handle my request. I asked to speak to someone in the US, was told not possible, I asked to speak to a supervisor, was also told not possible.

We are short by 4 months of paying for a full year, but they have broken the contract as far as I'm concerned and will be blocking their withdrawing from my bank account. I'd be thrilled to have them take me to court for $300.

Linda G.
1 Star

July 10 2018 10:28AM

I was talked into the warranty with a 50% reduction in the overpriced repair bill if I signed up now. The contract states I have 30 days from effective date to cancel with a full refund of payments. There are two dates on the contract, the Request date, and the Effective date. I canceled the contract 5 days after the effective date and was told the real effective date is the request date. They have a different meaning of the contract than the law has. IF YOU ARE SMARTER THAN I, YOU WILL STAY AS FAR AWAY FROM SEARS AND THEIR ILK AS YOU CAN.

Richard R.
1 Star

July 06 2018 10:40AM

Sears did not hold up their end of the deal. I signed up because my refrigerator broke and they said the cost to repair was over $700 & would be cut in half if I joined the program. They fixed my refrigerator fine. About 2 weeks later my dishwasher broke. I had to wait 2 more weeks before I could file a claim on that then another 2 weeks before a technician could come out to diagnose the problem. 1st day of missing work. The technician said I needed a new pump, ordered the parts and I had to wait another 2 weeks.

Finally, a different technician came out (2nd day of missing work) and said he could fix it without replacing the pump. It worked for 2 loads, before it broke again. I had to then call again place a new claim and demanded that they come back to fix it. Sears wasn’t available to come out for 2 more weeks, so they outsourced it to a different company to come out (3rd day of missing work). The other company came out said the pump needed to be replaced and the Sears technicians were morons.

They ordered new parts again and I had to wait for all the parts to arrive. After another 2 weeks of waiting, I called Sears back they sent out a technician to replace my pump. Finally (day 4 of missing work). They never bothered to follow up with the other company and told them they fixed it, and dating everyone’s time and money. Now here we are about 2 days later and my dishwasher still does not work.

They won’t replace my dishwasher and when I wanted to cancel my subscription, they said they would be sending my a bill for the cancellation Fee of $149!!!! And now I have to go out and buy a new dishwasher. From Lowe’s. I will NEVER buy or use sears for anything again . Please, do not use SEARS. You will be better off in The long run.

Karen C.
1 Star

July 02 2018 1:13PM

My freezer was dripping water from underneath. I called Sears repair department on March 26th and they sent a technician on the 27th of March. He replaced the ice-maker and asked for $580. Then he said if you buy a home warranty, you just pay half of this amount and from then on I will be charged $50 per month and five or six appliances will be covered and I should pay nothing after that if I needed a repairman. He somehow talked to us (me and my wife) into it.

So far I have paid the first guy 286.28 plus 49.99 each month charged on my credit card for 4 months. The freezer is still dripping water and after many many calls and spending at least 2 hours on the phone, they finally told me that since it is 93 days past your contract, you still have to pay $75 for another repairman to come to check the freezer.

I was frustrated and asked for the termination of the contract, they said that I have to pay the remainder of the original bill and I will probably get 62 dollars back out of 200 dollars that I have been charged so far. Anyhow, we decided to stay with the program for the time being and terminate it after one year.

Hamid J.
1 Star

July 02 2018 12:20PM

When purchased we were told our appliances were covered. They refused to provide services and then they are charging a fee for doing nothing. This seems more like a scam. Sears Stinks Stay Away

Lloyd D.
1 Star

July 02 2018 9:23AM

I called Sears for my refrigerator that had stopped working. By the time the guy came that they dispatched it had started working again. Well, he gave this wonderful sales pitch on the warranty plan and how it would benefit me. As a woman and a single parent realizing that I had been in my house 10 years with the same appliances, I figured it would be beneficial to me. I was told that I had to wait 30 days to make a claim of any sort. I had no attentions of doing so, but after 50 days both of my air conditioning units went out. In a panic I wasn’t sure of what to do, then I remembered the Sears Warranty plan I had purchased.

I called them up and got a quick appointment time. The gentleman showed up assessed the problem and explained that only one unit was covered under the policy (did not know). Well he diagnosed the issue and sent it in for review. That was in May it is now July 2nd and I still don’t have air from my upstairs unit. They denied my claim saying it was a preexisting condition. The unit in question has a bad condenser. For a preexisting qualification I would think that Sears had com out and done a diagnostic check on all of the appliances covered in the warranty and they did not. The air was working and it stopped working, end of story no preexisting problems.

After I called them for them to tell me I was denied I kept calling back. I have requested to speak with a supervisor had have yet to have that request met. I was told I could get another estimate done. I did and I paid for it. Only for them to tell me now that it well take 4 to 6 weeks for them to review the new estimate. I then asked to cancel my warranty and wanted to speak with a supervisor in that department. That was last Wednesday. I was told again that someone would contact me in 24 to 48 hours. It is the following Monday and still no one has attempted to resolve my request. This is the worst.

I have spent $80(3) plus my deposit and I am very disappointed. The customer service is awful and the management SUCKS!!!! I have a newborn baby and for the last month we have been sleeping in the den b/c I spent out of my own pocket $300 to have the downstairs unit fixed. I wouldn’t recommend this warranty to anyone.

Charlette W.
1 Star

June 30 2018 6:06PM

I’ve been battling with Sears home warranty for over a week about my central air first technician came out and ruined the unit by not doing the proper refrigeration to the unit. The next provider that came out said the central air was without any freon he said it was a pre-existing problem and that it was going to be denied after the review they schedule someone else to come out did not come out to wait three days on the day he was supposed to come out did not come out I was even told that one time that he should be there within an hour and that I was next in line that did not happen all they’re doing is letting you go on go on so you find someone else to repair not satisfy and will not recommend Sears home warranty

Manuel P.
1 Star

June 29 2018 7:07PM

I made an appointment for my A/C by phone for Friday June 29 , the day that the technician should show up he didn't when I called Sears I was waiting 40 minutes and the person who answers my call she didn't know anything about my appointment!!!! after 15 minutes talking with her she gave another appointment for Saturday and I called a third party company and they told me that sears don't know anything about the appointment and they have to reschedule that appointment for 2 more week!!!. Please don't use Sears home warranty.

Guillermo B.
1 Star

June 29 2018 7:07PM

I made an appointment for my A/C by phone for Friday June 29. The day that the technician should be show up he didn't. When I called Sears I was waiting 40 minutes and the person who answers my call she didn't know anything about my appointment!!!! After 15 minutes talking with her she gave another appointment for Saturday and I called a third party company and they told me that Sears don't know anything about the appointment and they have to reschedule that appointment for 2 more week!!! Please don't get Sears Home Warranty.

Guillermo B.
1 Star

June 29 2018 2:10PM

Bad, bad, bad. 3 technician came to my home in 2 months to fix my cooktop but they were not able fix it. After 2 months they told me it does not cover with my Sears Home warranty service. Think twice before anybody wants to buy Sears home warranty

Robin K.
1 Star

June 29 2018 1:59PM

We waited 2 weeks then paid for a repair which wasn't repaired at all after the technician left. Called (all over the world) to try to get satisfaction. Said we must wait another week for someone to come back out. Tried to cancel the home warranty and they told us we would have a cancellation fee plus have to pay them for the repair they DID NOT make. This is a compete con job of a company. BEWARE!!!

Barbara D.
1 Star

June 28 2018 8:56PM

Do not spend a penny for this Sear services people, just give you more high blood, these people is liar, unprofessional, lacked of experience and dont care about their service, these people get pay by the company anyway, why the ** should they care, my washing machine broke, Sear schedule people out, collected my $75 deductible and did not fix, 2 weeks later I've called them no answer, left message on 3rd weeks I called them back again and service provider said Sear will contact us, 5th weeks passes by no one call, I contacted Sear and Sear people said they are waiting for service provider update the info in their system, I've called service provider again no answer, left message no return phone call, I called Sear on 7th weeks.

Sears said my case still open and waiting for updates, 2 months has been pass, nothing happen but they still withdraw my money from the bank. On the 10th weeks Sears called and offers me the new machine, I accepted the new machine. They schedule to come out and install the new machine following week. After another week past no one show up with machine, I called Sears they said the machine is missing and they could not located where is the machine.

I requested to speak to supervisor, the OP told me there is no supervisor available the OP told me supervisor will call me back.. waiting and waiting and waiting another 2 weeks past by no supervisor call, I have to call back Sears and they told me they don't have the time frame for this incident and the OP suggest me to wait until they find out and re-open my case. As of today 6/28/18 after 5 months of fighting, complaining, frustrated, upset... and we still dont have the washing machine, but this people still taking your money every month. I need help. Don't know what to do. If I cancel the service the Sears people might not give me the washing machine... OMG!! I dont trust Sears anymore, this is a big lesson to learned.

Stanley T.
1 Star

June 28 2018 1:15AM

I have a Sears Whole House Warranty. This is my second year. Had only a minor repair the first year. This year, my central air conditioning inside unit went out. Sears promptly sent out a contracted repairman. The claim was made on June 6, 2018. It is now June 28, 2018, and still no air conditioning unit. I might add temperatures in my location easily reach 100 degrees daily. I have called numerous times and talked to Billy, Paul, Mike, and finally a supervisor named Donna. They tell me the order has been placed, and to call Motelli who provides the air conditioning equipment for them. Motelli says the order hasn't come in. What? After 22 days and counting? The contracted repairman is very understanding and tries to help as much as he can, but even he is frustrated. I was relying on the Sears name to give me good service, but obviously, my trust was misplaced. I'm beginning to think this is a scam. DO NOT BUY THIS SERVICE!

Billie L.
1 Star

June 27 2018 12:21PM

Terrible , never in my life have an experience like this. First I had a $3800 refrigerator, I called since the water from the ice machine was leaking. My refrigerator was only 2 years old. I called, the technician came and he tried to fix it, saying he is coming back the next day. He comes back the next day, I was not home only my mother was home 88 years old. Without permission or advice, he comes, remove a part and leave. I came home I see the refrigerator was not working. No one asked me if I was Ok with it. I waited 3 days, then I called the technician saying, "how come my refrigerator was not working and is Off?"

He said he ordered a Piece, and he will let me know when it will come. So I lost at least $600 food which went to waste. Wait. 3 weeks goes by. My family of 6 people was without a refrigerator, ordering out and throwing out so much food. Waited... Nothing. I called again, then they told me that the piece already was delivered to the technician... again nothing. Called again... then they were tracking the item... 2 more weeks went by. Still they never called me. That again I call them!! "What is going on? where is the piece?" Guess what. They told me. They could not find the piece... (Remember my refrigerator is only 2 years old. Still in sale out there). Hmmm is that strange?

So I asked what you want me to do >>???? They said "we are going to bring you a new refrigerator." They gave me only 2 options very cheap options, and asked me to approve one of them. So I go with my husband to the store, check them out. Approve one of them. Call them to let them know. Again 2 weeks later they bring me home the wrong model and was damaged from outside, I told them to take the refrigerator back, is damaged, is the wrong model. Called them again and advise them to please bring me the right model since they messed up the order. Again 2 weeks later I was not home the delivery comes and bring again the wrong model, they open it up. put in on the plug and left. Then my son called me and send me a picture since I was at work. I called them saying is the wrong one. The warranty department said "we do apologize but we can not do anything since is plugged."

This started on January and now is June. 1. I lost a $3800 refrigerator which I loved. I was not advised or asked if I was OK with the piece being removed. Which made this refrigerator trash. I called 311, they came to pick it up. 2. Lost a lot of $ since I had to throw out a lot of food. (I was never advise from the technician on what he was doing). 3. spend a lot of $ on ordering food out for 3 months, (since The warranty company did not know how long was taking to be fixed or replaced). 4. Aggravate myself on the phone, with customer service that switch me from one to another, and everyone of them was apologizing, and understanding my point of view... but each one of them was unhelpful to the situation. Again lost a lot of time without results. 5. I got stuck with an unapproved refrigerator, after I called them several times to remind them to please bring the approved model.

(Again everyone apologized and you can tell that no one cares). 6. I paid a deductible every time the technician came. I paid the deposit in the beginning of the contract, and every month a payment of 60.00. 7. I Called to cancel the contract GUESS how many times... 5. And every time they said that a manager or supervisor will contact me back. never did. 8. Did I Tell you that in all this story NO ONE called. Never.... 9 So I am stuck with this contract until January of 2019. With a company that do not care, with the company that the only goal is to get paid. And do not fulfill their part of the contract. SHAME ON YOU.

Aida Q.
1 Star

June 27 2018 12:10AM

I had a gas leak identified by the gas company and I contacted by Sears Home Warranty to report the problem. The person on the phone told me that I was covered and was sending a plumber out that deals with gas. The contract company identified the problem but told me that I had to pay $450.00 which Sears told me was not covered by the contract.

After the assessment Sears representatives said that the jobs is not covered because we have had earthquakes in our area; therefore it was not covered. So i contacted the Geological Earthquake Society as well as the gas company. They both stated that we did not have an earthquake of that magnitude so your company should cover. Anyway, it was not until two weeks later.

I proceeded to repair the gas leaks myself after getting the run around. In the meantime, I contacted the Insurance Commissioner for the State of California who told me that the repairs should be covered. Anyway, Sears agreed to pay for the repairs but three weeks later still has not paid the company. They constantly give you the run around stating it in reviews but will pay after it come out of reviews. In the meantime, I have take off seven days to deal with this issue and it still is not resolved.

Zachery J.
1 Star

June 26 2018 2:08PM

Sears Home Warranty Sucks. May 17th we called to have A/C checked. No service person called but problem wasn't critical. By 1st of June upstairs unit went into full failure. Call to Sears resulted in their dispatching another service provider. June 7th service tech says we have a bad evaporator coil but Sears must approve replacement. No word for several days. Call repairman he says Sears says they are researching it. June 12th call Sears and Sears says they are "researching it". Call repeatedly and on June18th Sears says they can't find one except from Trane and it will be $150 extra charge. I say we are miserable, it's been almost a month, sure but hurry. Constant contact with both Sears and repair man and we finally get word on June 22nd it's ordered but will be to repairman soon. June 26th we are told it will be ready by Friday June 29th. #SEARS #SEARSHOME #SEARSHOMEWARRANTY SUCKS

Walt S.
1 Star

June 25 2018 9:38PM

Biggest waste of money. Reported a drain stopped up and after 2 weeks of waiting no one has been sent to do anything. Paid for months together nothing when I needed it to. I'll save my money I am canceling my warranty.

Robert B.
1 Star

June 25 2018 7:01AM

My AC unit has been broken since 03/29/18 and have not been repaired yet. Sears have had a service provider come out he checked the ac and ordered the part but the part was too big. The service provider then stated to Sears that the part that I needed which is a coil is no longer available so the unit is going to have to be replaced. But of course sears have the provider order another coil and it did not fit. So Sears said I will have to pay 2,685.00 for non-covered charges in order for them to replace my ac, so why is I'm paying 55.58 a month for a warranty and 100.00 when the service provider comes out. I repeat what am I paying for, It should be something we can do to get the proper service we need from Sears. They most definitely don't hesitate taking my money out of my account every month.

Mary C.
1 Star

June 22 2018 12:44PM

Sears Home Warranty is a joke. Their "service" is awful. I've been without a cooktop stove (range) for month. They can never give me a satisfactory answer as to why it takes them more than a month to order parts for my range. They are rude and uncaring when I call them. When I leave a message on their site, they don't respond at all. All my complaints go into their trash bin. I would give them a zero star rating or a negative star rating if that was available. They quickly collected their $100 deductible from me on day 1 and left me without a stove a month ago, and counting. I have nowhere to go.

Shahla H.
1 Star

June 21 2018 10:52PM

Sears came out to clean my central air unit and the man that came out ended up damaging our unit. Had another repairman out bc it stopped working and we were told the guy that serviced the unit bent all the fins and now the compressor is bad and that it’s on its last leg.

Called Sears to tell them and see what they are going to do to make this right bc my central air worked fine before they touched it and they told me to file a claim. I filed the claim 3 days ago, still haven’t heard from anyone. I even called 3 times today and they keep giving me the run around. I pay $55/mo and $100 deductible but they don’t stand by their word. If it’s unrepairable, they’ll replace it.... NO THEY WONT! Lies! Don’t let them lie to you.

I’m cancelling this crappy warranty and going with someone else with good reviews. Also a few months back, my washer and dryer broke down. 4 weeks later and a ton of repair guys and they still weren't fixed. 1 repairman even told me Sears will not replace the units, they’ll just keep sending repairmen. I finally had to buy a new washer and dryer bc they couldn’t fix it right and I was spending a TON of money at the laundry mat. I will NEVER recommend a Sears Home Warranty to anyone bc they do not stand by their word. Sears suck, that’s why all their stores have closed!

Invest your money with another company. It will save you a lot of headache and frustration. You will only get the run around and you will keep getting transferred from person to person with no resolution.

Tracey G.
1 Star

June 20 2018 1:15PM

My washer broke down that was supposedly covered by SEARS HOME WARRANTY. I set up the date they checked out and stated that the washer needed numerous parts to be replaced. Sears advised me to call once the parts arrived via UPS. Once all the bbn parts arrived the first available the date was on 06/21, one month later. Then I received a call that in the 06/21 date was cancelled and to rescedule for 06/27. Sears used to mean something. The customer service was terrible.As I was talking to the representative she just put me on hold and then hung up. Don't join Sears Home Warranty. You will be disappointed.

Jorge G.
1 Star

June 19 2018 7:14PM

They make all sorts of promises to get people to sign up, but uphold none of them-notably regarding what they will cover and what they won't particularly regarding provided services and replacements. Many times our family had someone come out and say "we can't do anything" and still charge us the service fee for nothing. To add to this their customer service line is a nightmare. 3 times we were mysteriously disconnected while talking to someone. When finally someone didn't disconnect they said we would hear back in 24 to 48 hours and a whole week passed with no word. We called back and once again were given a complete run around. In the end we paid money and got nothing in return. I cannot urge strongly enough to not use this service.

Jen V.
1 Star

June 19 2018 7:14PM

They make all sorts of promises to get people to sign up, but uphold none of them-notably regarding what they will cover and what they won't; particularly regarding provided services and replacements. Many times our family had someone come out and say "we can't do anything" and still charge us the service fee for nothing. To add to this their customer service line is a nightmare. 3 times we were mysteriously disconnected while talking to someone. When finally someone didn't disconnect they said we would hear back in 24 to 48 hours and a whole week passed with no word. We called back and once again were given a complete run around. In the end we paid money and got nothing in return. I cannot urge strongly enough to not use this service.

Jen V.
1 Star

June 19 2018 1:44PM

About my air condition it’s been a month today that I call them to fix my air condition so I’m very disappointed of them!!! Bad service ever! Every time I call they always say they’ll call me back and they don’t, worse service ever!!

Thelma A.
1 Star

June 18 2018 3:54PM

I was extremely disappointed to know that after paying for this service for a year and never using it, I was told that there is a time period allotted for heating / air maintenance. Of which, I am out of season. This meant that I didn't schedule the maintenance for my air conditioner in early march so, I can't schedule again until August. It is now June. Of course these are things you don't think about until you really have to use them. I am grateful that my unit is working properly but I felt with a hot summer approaching, it was time. Unfortunately my timing and Sears, for the service I paid for, did not match. (Nearly a thousand dollars and I can't use the service!) #unhappy customer.

Felecia A.
1 Star

June 18 2018 1:46PM

This isn't a Sears product and you should not expect Sears quality or service. It's a hodge podge of other companies including Cross Country Home Services. Bait and switch all day long. Even the technicians from A&E are fed up.

Neil G.
1 Star

June 15 2018 2:45PM

Our microwave quit working. Called Sears home warranty. Repairman said cost of repair was more than replacement and he would contact Sears who would contact me. They never called. We have called them at least 10 times. They always have an excuse ."It's in research", "We've got a lot of ac complaints because of hot weather," "We've sent e-mails to research," etc. They can never connect you with a supervisor. It's been 5 wks. since the service call. We are fed up. Going to make complaints to BBB and Florida Attorney Generals office.

William D.
1 Star

June 15 2018 1:30PM

Folks- It does not get any worse then this. First, I cannot believe Sears endorses this company that calls themselves professionals and who tries to make you believe they are there to service your needs, you pay for every month. When you call the Customer Service for help, expect a huge delay in your life (48 hrs.) to get someone outside the company to service or make a house call to diagnose the problem. Oh, $100.00 for telling you and Sears Home Warranty your air conditioner is not working. Now, I'm on 72 hours without air, COPD and 85 deg. in my house with about the same in humidity. My next call is to the Sears Holding Group- (847) 286-2500 to explain to a corporate executive about my experience and why I will never buy at Sears again. I will also tell he or she my next call will be to my local hospital to get advice on my condition and why it is growing worse. When will they let you rate: -5 stars

John W.
1 Star

June 14 2018 3:56PM

I signed up for the Appliance policy when I moved into my home and discovered the dishwasher was broken. I called the 1-800 on the dishwasher which was for the Sears Home Warranty Plan. I inquired how the plan worked and I was told it was the $50ish per month for the plan with a maximum of $500 in month 1, then the plan increased to $10,000 per month in month two and going forward. I asked what the terms were, and the gentleman explained there was no obligation for their plan.

I could simply sign up and if I no longer wanted the plan, cancel at any time. I took the appliance plan and paid the $50ish for the down payment and schedule the service call to work on my dishwasher. I was told I had to pay a fee for diagnostics which would be about $80. I agreed and set up the appointment. The FIRST visit, the person showed up, looked at the dishwasher and told me I needed a new motor. He said he would order the part and it would be delivered to my home.

When the part arrived, I was instructed to call back and reschedule a new technician. I did as instructed when the new motor arrived in a week. They set up another appointment for a week later, the technician showed up, and he stated that the dishwasher needed not a new motor, but a new control board. He stated he would order the part and it would be shipped to my home, once it arrived, I was instructed to call back and set up another appointment. I did as instructed and called when I received the new control board.

I waited another week and a half and the technician showed up and said he could not install the board as he was worried there may have been a cockroach infestation since he could see some residue on the back of the dishwasher (home was vacant for 2 years before I purchased it). The technician told me to call an exterminator to be safe so they would not short circuit the control board if there was any possible cockroaches in the home. He said once the exterminator was done, call back for a new appointment.

I did as instructed, and after waiting two more weeks, another technician was scheduled to come to my home. On the day of the appointment, the technician no showed on my appointment. I called back into Sears, and they state the technician called and said he was too busy to come today and would have to reschedule! Thanks for letting me know, I took off work to wait on this person and no one had the courtesy to even call! Finally, I reschedule again, on the spot, for another appointment.

Once again, they set it up for 2 weeks away. The person finally shows up and finally I get my motor and control board installed and the dishwasher working after two hours. I was severely upset at now I was given the run around and made to wait, wait and wait some more and take a total of 5 different days off of work. They don't seem to care that they cannot do their job in one or two visits. However, with that being said, informed Sears I was cancelling due to their lack of reliable service and was no longer interested in keeping their warranty.

I was charged for my second month of coverage, yet handn't even gotten my only repair completed when I scheduled it the very night I began my service. I was told that in order to cancel my service, I must pay them a $190.00 cancellation fee unless I waited until March of 2019. I inquired why I owed them any such "fee" since I was promised this plan could be cancelled at any time? The woman on the phone informed me that was incorrect and I had agreed to a one year serve agreement. I informed her that, in fact, I had NOT agreed to any such terms and had been lied to by phone if that was the case.

I demanded to speak to her supervisor and straighten this matter out. I was told there was no manager to speak with and would have to wait 24-48 hours for a call back while the put in my request for the call back. I finally agreed and gave them my information for the call back. I am now writing this review 10 days later, still no call back, still no resolution, and the company still under the impression they have me in some kind of agreement where their service sucks, their employees lie to get you to agree to start service, and then once they have your bank account information, claim you cannot cancel without paying a penalty. Ironically, when I signed up everything was "recorded for quality assurance", yet no one can seem to figure out where that recording would be that would clearly have the agent lying and telling me there is no contract, termination fee, nor is there any obligation to keep their warranty.

It seems too convenient to me that this recording is suddenly nowhere to be found. DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY.

Shaun M.
1 Star

June 13 2018 9:52AM

After 6 months and many repair visits by what I'd call inexperienced technicians, my dishwasher is in the same state as is was in January - not working. When I call the 855-256-2467 number listed on the Sears Home Warranty website it's basically like starting everything over. Do not sign up for this rip off. I asked the membership desk to cancel and they told me I cannot cancel until August - but my guess is if I don't call at the exact right time they will automatically sign me up for another year. I am now going to call my bank and ask them to stop the auto-pay. If I cannot do this, I will cancel my credit card and get a new credit card - number and all. What a major headache. It should be zero stars, but that option is not available.

Mick F.
1 Star

June 12 2018 11:34AM

This place is so unreliable and dysfunctional. Do not ever use Sears home warranty. They will take your money, but will not provide the service you need. So far I have been struggling for them to repair my wall oven. It has been more than three months. Finally they bought a new oven last week and that happened to be the wrong size and seems like I am looking at another three months before they replace it. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY ON SEARS HOME WARRANTY. THEY ARE NOT REAL.

Hoyt H.
1 Star

June 11 2018 11:58AM

I would not refer Sears Home Warranty to anyone, not even a member of ISIS. THEY SPEND MORE TIME TRYIN TO FIND THE CHEAPEST PROBLEM RESOLUTION Thantrying to correct the breakdown. I’m handicapped and I have a 12 yr old with cerebral palsy that requires total care. I’ve been without my washer, ceiling fan, and central air condition for three (3) weeks. Sears has a long list of excuses and apologies when called, if you’re lucky enough to reach someone who speaks enough English so that you can u derstand, and don’t get ‘accidentally ‘ disconnected. DO NOT TRUSTSEAR’S with your ho e Warranty needs. You’ll be THOROUGHLY DISAPPOINTED!

Norma S.
1 Star

June 11 2018 11:58AM

I would not refer Sears Home Warranty to anyone, not even a member of ISIS. THEY SPEND MORE TIME TRYIN TO FIND THE CHEAPEST PROBLEM RESOLUTION Thantrying to correct the breakdown. I’m handicapped and I have a 12 yr old with cerebral palsy that requires total care. I’ve been without my washer, ceiling fan, and central air condition for three (3) weeks. Sears has a long list of excuses and apologies when called, if you’re lucky enough to reach someone who speaks enough English so that you can u derstand, and don’t get ‘accidentally ‘ disconnected. DO NOT TRUSTSEAR’S with your ho e Warranty needs. You’ll be THOROUGHLY DISAPPOINTED!

Norma S.